BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming

This Business is not BBB accredited

A Water Heater Wizard

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 545-9362 2612 Lakecrest Pl, Loveland, CO 80538 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.waterheaterwizard.com ! There is an alert on A Water Heater Wizard !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Water Heater Wizard
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 10, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated: 02/01/2009 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Wren, Owner Mr. Gary Wren, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Gary Wren, President
Principal: Mr. John Wren, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Water Heater Repair Stores Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers Hydronic Heating Water Heater Dealers Boiler Dealers Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Water Heater Wizard Inc
Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2105 Boise Ct

    Longmont, CO 80504

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2612 Lakecrest Pl

    Loveland, CO 80538 (970) 545-9362

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Water Heater Wizard repaired a toilet leak with a joint made from steel brass. The joint leaked and caused $8,000+ damages per ***** Insurance. As above. The plumber came to my rental house on Thursday afternoon, October 11th and "fixed" a leaking joint on my toilet (it is an antique one). My tenant left the house the next morning and returned Friday at 6:20 pm to find the joint burst open and had been spurting out water all day. The damage was extensive. I called the plumber. He wouldn't refer someone to help clean up the water and said he would come up the next day. No call, no show. I emailed the company Monday, October 15th and asked them to have the owner call me because of water damage resulting from a faulty repair. They never contacted me.

Desired Settlement: I'd like my $1000 deductible paid.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2012/11/08) */ The customer has a very old toilet that has the tank mounter 6 or 7 feet up on the wall and the toilet on the floor. We were asked to stop a leak at the tank where the supply water enters. We repaired the leak, using the existing hardware (added teflon tape), and tried to test it, no leak but could not have full presure due to the tank ballcock (shuts off the water when the tank is full) was missing. Customer should have informed us the toilet was not functional BEFORE work was started. Called owner, she said her husband had removed it and would install it. Left supply water turned off. Customer called and said pipe burst 2/3 of the way from the floor and the tank. She said her husband replaced the ballcock in the tank and turned on the water supply, all was well. Later tentent returns to find water all over, $8000 damage. Husband worked on toilet before and after we did and was the last to work on it. When he left, all was well. Due to where pipe burst, problem not caused by repairing connection to tank. Suspect pipe was very old. Very old pipes, hardware and appliances are subject to failure at anytime. Working on them can cause stress causing them to fail soon after. This is a failure of the parts not the workmanship. Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2012/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My antique toilet in my rental property had a small leak in the water supply line. My husband and I drained the toilet to assess the problem and, upon inspection, my husband decided it was better to have a professional do the repair or just get a new toilet. I opted for a new toilet. After draining the toilet, I accidently brought the toilet bullock back to my house. I called Water Heater Wizard, and hired them to put in a new toilet and purchased a new toilet based on their recommendation (I can provide a receipt of the purchase and return if necessary). However, on Thursday afternoon, when ******, the plumber (from Water Heater Wizard), saw the original, antique, toilet he said he felt he could easily repair the leak and that the toilet was in very good condition. I returned the new toilet and had him (****** the plumber) repair the original toilet (the bathroom is antique d├ęcor and the antique toilet was an aesthetic compliment to the bathroom). ******, then said he had to "go to his supplier to get a part to do the repair" When he returned from the supplier, I had left 338 West 9th St. He told the tenants "it was ready to go once we replaced the ballcock" he also called me and said "it was all set, all I had to do was replace the ballcock". NEVER ONCE did ****** say we needed to call him once we attached the ballcock. My tenants are willing to write a letter of testimony to that fact. He said it was ready to go once the ballcock was replaced. My husband replaced the ballcock, flushed the toilet once and went home. Friday morning both my tenants left for the day. When the wife returned at approximately 6pm, water was spewing from the water supply line in the exact spot that was allegedly repaired by the plumber. It had apparently been spewing water for much of the day as the water damage was extensive. I called ****** Friday night about the leak and I was very upset. He said it wasn't necessarily his fault, the piece he put in could have been faulty. When I asked him what I should do, could he recommend someone to help remove the water, he said he would come at look at it Saturday morning (the next day). He never recommended anyone, never called, never came over. That Sunday, I sent a "message" via Water Heater's web site asking the owner to call me about the flood at 338 West 9th Street. They never did. Curious why I never heard from them, I called the next Thursday and talked to ******'s partner, ******. He was very polite, very concerned and this was obviously the first he had heard of the problem, almost 6 days later. I then received the attached letter, dated 10/18/12. The letter isn't accurate. ****** left the house so he could "get a piece from his supplier" to repair the leak. The toilet WAS functional and as I explained, we had removed the ballcock when we were assessing the situation and accidently brought it home when we cleaned up. The only problem with the toilet prior to Water Heater Wizard was the slight leak in the water supply and I didn't want to let it go unattended. All this aside, I hired Water Heater Wizard to repair the toilet and the repair failed within 24 hours. We followed ******'s instructions by replacing the ballcock. That is what he told us to do. The pipe leak was from the exact spot that ****** had allegedly repaired. My tenants will testify to that if necessary as will my neighbor who is head of maintenance for ******************************************** - a very large retirement community in Windsor. He came over Friday night (the night of the flood) to help figure out what to do. On October 16th, I received a letter from ****** estimating the repairs at $8024.53 (please see attached letter). My complaints are -The repair failed after less than 24 hours causing a large amount of damage -When I called Friday night (I can provide a copy of my calls from my Iphone if necessary) ****** did not provide any help and did not come over on Saturday like he said he would -No one followed up until I got the other owner, ******, on the phone, his response was appropriate initially. Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2012/12/06) */ 1) The fact that it was not leaking after the husband replaced the ballcock says it was not a workmanship issue (he flushed the toilet and no leak). 2) Normally the last person (husband)to work on an item assumes the liability for additional problems. 3) It sounds like a part failed, we do not make parts only install or repair them. 4) We no longer are in business, closed the doors 11/2/12. 5) I have opened a claim with *********************, claim #XX-XXXX-XXXX. Rep is *********** XXX-XXX-XXXX X3735. 6) I still do not think this is our problem, but contact *********** for possible pay out of your deductable.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1