BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Massage Envy?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Massage Envy

Phone: (970) 488-3689 Fax: (970) 488-3686 1514 E Harmony Rd Unit 2B, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.massageenvy.com/clinics/CO/Fort-Collins.aspx View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Massage Envy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Massage Envy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Massage Envy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 09, 2006 Business started: 12/01/2005 in CO Business incorporated: 12/01/2005 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dave Michel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Michel, President
Business Category

Massage Therapists Estheticians


Additional Locations

  • 1514 E Harmony Rd Unit 2B

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 488-3689

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested to be reimbursed from the time that I sent in a letter showing that I am no longer using services and believe I signed a copy of their form at the time as well, this was October 2012. I kept calling and sent another email as my card was still being charged. I notified my card as well. I went in February to use a massage since they kept charging and a note was to be made again that I was no longer wanting to have the monthly service. I accepted a payment from Mar thru July based on ***** stating the Corporation would not reimburse any more because I went in February. A reimbursement was finally made in August, however after I was told it would be processed that day I had to call yet again to be reimbursed, over 22 days later. I have provided thorough documentation over three times showing that I requested cancellations over and over, yet this was not enough. I made a special trip to drop off documentation on the third time and signed their cancellation form again. I was told by staff that they had some trouble with prior managers and was apologized to. I remained very polite and nice to everyone throughout this process, but was continuously treated as though I was in the wrong. After all of this, they still charged my card again, for September 2013 after receiving a 5 month refund on August 30, 2012 and possibly October. Even though I did use massage in February, I feel that I am owed monies back to Oct 2012 less the February visit. The therapists are wonderful, underpaid, but wonderful. The paperwork tracking of their files, management and local ownership is lacking business etiquette, and could use some good old fashioned honesty. Be cautious of the monthly charges, and document, document document.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the most recent fee charged plus the ridiculous credit card fees that were charged for the hold and then late fee, as we do not use this card at all of $84. We now need to be refunded from Oct 2012 thru January 2012 which is from when I first cancelled contract and does not include my February visit, totally 5 months at $49, $245. 245+84=$329 via money order or certified check only. The credit card on file is no longer available.

Business Response:

****** ******

BBB Dispute #*******

We agree that there were difficulties and issues with the
communications with ******. 

In July we determined that we would make an exception and
refund the 245.00 in charges from July 18, 2013. The charges were in dispute
regarding the cancellation of the client’s membership.  The first time we attempted to refund the
charge there was an error. The error with the credit processing company was not
realized at that time.  The charges were
then credited back to the card on file on August 30, 2013.

The charge from September 18,2013 is completely our
fault.  We wanted to be sure that the
credit card credits from August 30 got properly refunded, and there was not
another error. We thought we had followed up and cancelled the account.  We did not realize until this dispute that
the charge had been processed. This was our fault and the $49.00 has been
refunded back to the original credit card when we received this complaint.

We are willing to work with your credit card company and the
BBB to see if we can lessen the hold and late fees.

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I have worked with Massage Envy for a year on trying to get my account cancelled.  There was different information provided in regards to cancelling the membership.  I was told it needed to be in writing and so I sent a letter.  This was all during my pregnancy and was not able to follow up as I would have liked and assumed that the business had cancelled my account.  They did not always bill my card monthly on occasion it would come in a lump sum, thus not knowing that my account was not cancelled.
Then again, Massage Envy did not follow through with the refund until I follow up yet again. I am only willing to accept refund for the ridiculous credit card fees of $84 that were charged for the hold and then late fees, as we do not use this card at all. Then refund from Oct 2012 thru January 2012 which is from when I first cancelled contract and does not include my February visit, totally 5 months at $49, $245. 245+84=$329 via money order or certified check only. The credit card on file is no longer available.

Regards,

******  

Business Response: Response to *******:
 
On August 30, 2013 a refund of $245.00 was processed.  Please see the attached receipt verifying the refund was processed as requested
As stated in our previous statement we will be happy to contact her credit card company and work with them and the better business bureau to determine if we can somehow mitigate the $84.00 in late/hold fees the credit card company is charging.  In order to mitigate these fees we will need a copy of the credit card statement reflecting the charges.

I have attached a copy of the credit receipt. If you did not receive it please contact me.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: did not like the customer service and wanted to cancel my membership and they Refunded my money to a closed account and failure to fix this promptly. I joined massage envy over the phone the location is in Fort Collins. The only reason I chose that location was because a massage therapist named **** works there and I really like him. I made an appointment with him about 3 almost 4 weeks out which was the only time he was available. I informed the staff that he is the only one I ever want to see. When I made the appointment I asked the girl if they did reminder calls and she said yes. I was happy to hear since I am a busy person and would probably forget since it was so far away. Well on the day I scheduled they called and said do you know you have an appointment right now, and of course I was shocked since I never got a reminder call. I told them I never got a call and they said we called you so I looked at my phone, no call and no message. When it was time to reschedule that missed appointment I had to wait another two weeks to see ****. By this time I am pretty upset since they made sure they had their money and had automatically taken two payments out of my account, mind you I never signed any paperwork authorizing this although I knew they were doing it. At this point I was pretty upset and told them I wanted a refund and did not want to be a member any more since I did not believe the front desk was a good staff and I have paid for two moths and have yet to receive any service. I also told the girl make sure you don't refund my old card that account is closed and she told me that card number was not on file any more so of course I believed her. Well two days later there was only one refund in my account, I immediately called and they told me that it takes a couple of days and I informed them that I already got one refund why not the other. It was at this time I repeated myself telling them again I really hope you did not refund to my old card and they assured me that they did not. Well they DID and now I have spent too much time on this having to call them multiple times and then they tell me I have to call my bank and wait for money that they owe me. I called my OLD bank and they said they never got any money and wouldn't since that account has been closed. I then called massage envy to tell them and they said huh weird. I was put in touch with a regional manager named Larry who was absolutely no help and kind of had an attitude with me telling me they are doing every thing they can, which is apparently nothing since ever time I call they are still trying to "figure it out" figure what out, they owe me $59 and have yet to refund my money and it is going on 12 days with no solution yet

Desired Settlement: My money back now, tired of waiting for a solution that they cant seem to find. They should also consider a monetary adjustment for the time i have spent dealing with this at my job.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Business Response:
In regards to the complimentary reminder call, our records indicate that our employee placed the reminder call. The night before the appointment our records indicated that we spoke with someone at the phone number we have on file. In regards to refunding the clients membership dues, we followed Visa policy and refunded the charges to the credit card the original funds were debited. At no time were we informed that the account was closed. We took further steps and contacted Wells Fargo, (Customers Bank) and were told per Wells Fargo policy the account remains active for 30 days and would accept the refund. Upon learning this we passed the information on to the client. The client contacted Wells Fargo and was informed the refund was rejected. We followed up and found out Wells Fargo did not close the account properly and the 30 day period was not activated. We are in contact with our credit card processing Services Company to determine where the funds currently are. When asked if we could refund in cash, check or to a different credit card we were told no by the credit card processor We are working diligently to correct the issue and process the refund. The clients contract was cancelled prior to completion, which is a step we took to meet the client's needs. This is an action, which is against company policy, but we felt justified in this case. We continue to apologize for delay in processing. If we had known the original credit card was no longer active we would have pursued another solution. Once the refund was originally processed, our hands were tied by the agreement the client and we have with Visa. On July 12, 2013 I called the client and let her know that we were going to reimburse her via check. This essentially gave our business a double loss for this transaction. Client seemed happy with the reimbursement by check. I advised her I would be in the clinic until 4:30 that day; she did not arrive to receive the reimbursement. At 5:15 I called to let her know that I was leaving and would be in on Sunday the 14th from 10-3, and Monday from 7:30-4. As of July 23, 2013 our credit card processing company does not show a rejection code from the client's credit card. The investigation into the rejection has been escalated to their investigative department. July 24, I called the clients local bank that issued the card to try and obtain a rejection trace code, per our credit card processing company. The local branch gave me a 1-800 number to call; they will not release a trace code number to me. July 25, I advised our credit card processing companies that the bank will not provide me with a trace code. Since the bank that issued the credit card will not provide me a trace code, we have no further action we can take. As of July 25, 2013 the client has not visited our location to receive the reimbursement.

7/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a yearly contract. I could not cancel until expiration date. They charged me after it expired and said it auto renews. I signed a contrat in June 2012 for monthly massage. I was not allowed to cancel even tho I don't use it and move out of state for the winter. So I said lesson learned...never again. I called them in May or June of 2013 and told the receptionist that I did not want that contract renewed and she assured me it was canceled automatically on expiration date....They have just called me about my 10 messages on the books and I told them I am no longer interest in them as my contract was over. She informed me it was still valid and I would be charged again in August since it is an automatic renewal. This is not they way a legitimate company does business. There is no cancelation provision and when a contract is for a year I should not have to "notify them in writing" especially since I called their office to make sure I would not be charged. I am out $590.00 and will never feel good about using that business again.

Desired Settlement: I do not expect the 12 months of charges of $59.00 a month although I don't know why a contract cannot be canceled when your circumstances change. But I do not wish to have any further deductions taken out of my account and have them threaten to send me to collections if I refuse the deductions....even after a contract is finished.....

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/24) */ BBB dispute: XXXXXXXX The Massage Envy contract that the client signed sign on 6/12/12 is attached for her review. The first box that was initialed indicates that the membership is auto-renewable. Following the initial term it was set to continue on a month-to-month basis. It indicates that the membership can be cancelled during the initial term if the client moves, or a physician certifies she is not to receive massage. (Please review contract for details of those 2 options for cancelling during initial term.) On the second page of the contract the client signed it indicates that in the event of a change in circumstances, she may apply to temporarily freeze the membership. Per the written cancellation form signed on July 16 also attached, the membership with Massage Envy has been terminated. As an exception to the contract giving 30 days to utilize remaining member massages we have granted the client 60 days. She has until September 16, 2013 to receive the remaining member massages. On September 17th any remaining member massages will be expired. In addition, membership fees that were charged past the initial term have been refunded to the client's credit card. No further payments will be deducted from the clients account per the signed cancellation form. The initial term of the membership was fulfilled so the client will not be sent to collections. ***** ****** Owner Massage Envy Fort Collins

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1