BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/18/1999

Scottsboro Water, Sewer & Gas Board

Phone: (256) 574-1515Fax: (256) 574-1965

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/10/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been a establish customer since April 17, 2000. I moved on July 29, 2013 2607 **** **** *********** AL and ******* ******* and customer service told me that I had to do a whole new account. I paid the water board $125 for a another water deposit. Previous I paid my water bill on July 22, 2013 for $66.33. I then asked why do I have to to have another account, and all I need is my utilities transferred! He told me that I was not paying on the due date. That is why I have to. I didn't said if my bill is late. I paid a late fee. The water board has never disconnected me, and I don't think I should have paid them another $125 just to start a new account. They gave me a credit of $20 to my bill that I paid on August 15, 2013 for $64.99.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back regarding the $125 deposit.
The duplex is at 606 and 608 Ship Ln. Scottsboro, AL 35768. Last year between the months of September 1, 2012 and October 31, 2012 a health inspector came out to the house, according to my neighbor Donnie Holderfield that we were on a septic tank, and we have been paying for sewer. Gardner Plumbing came out, and they were working on the problem. I then told Scottsboro Water Board that I wanted my money back. If we were on a septic tank at 608 and 609 Ship Ln., we need our money back.

Business' Initial Response
Ms. ***** lived at *** ***** ***** She lived in a duplex apartment next to Mr. ************ her neighbor at *** ***** Lane. Last year, raw sewage was discovered in the storm water drainage ditch in front of the duplex. Initial dye tests proved an active connection between the duplex and our public sewer system. We did not find a sewer piping problem on our system. Odor problems and raw sewage in the ditch persisted. Potential causes of the problem were discussed with Mr. Holderfield and the owner of the duplex, including the possibility that one of the apartment's plumbing fixtures might still be connected to an old septic tank. As there was not a problem with our public sewage system, the property owner was advised to hire a plumber to investigate the apartment's plumbing system. The duplex owner's plumber, ******* ******** (XXX-XXX-XXXX), discovered and repaired a broken sewer pipe under the floor of the duplex apartment. Raw sewage was leaking from this broken pipe and running downhill through the yard into the ditch. This duplex apartment is served by our public sanitary sewer system, therefore Ms. ***** claim not valid.
Ms. ***** opened an account with us, under our previous policy, with a deposit of $20. In 2011, our Board approved a revision of our deposit requirements. Ms. ***** applied for service at *** ***** ***** across the street from her previous address. We gave her full credit for her $20 previous deposit against her last month's bill at her previous address. During the past twelve months, Ms. ***** has been as much as 10 days late ten different times. Under our new guidelines, her deposit is $125.00, approximately equivalent to two month's billing. We bill in arrears, that is, our customers use water for a month, we read the meter and generate a bill with a due date approximately a month later. Therefore, our customers normally owe us for two months at any give time. Please let me know if you have any questions on this matter. *** E. *****, General Manager

Industry Comparison| Chart

Utility Companies, Sewage Disposal Systems, Natural Gas Companies, Water Companies - Utility

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.