BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1987

Huntsville Tractor & Equipment, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (256) 837-6767Fax: (256) 837-50034600 Research Park Blvd NW, HuntsvilleAL 35806-1655 Send email to Huntsville Tractor & Equipment, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1987

BBB has determined that Huntsville Tractor & Equipment, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Huntsville Tractor & Equipment, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Huntsville Tractor & Equipment, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a RTV Canopy. The shipping charged was almost what the product cost. When I looked at Fedex for shipping cost, they charged way about cost.
I called and ordered a RTV900 canopy after I was refered to them by a local ****** dealer. When I ordered the item, the man in parts did not give me a total cost, but stated the canopy was around $250. When I recieved the item, no copy of the bill was with the package, however my credit card was charged $418.00. When I called they could only say they use a computer program to figure up shipping and that's what cost so much. I looked up Fedex charges using the size of the package. The most they charge is for next day shipping which is only $112.95. Reqular shipping was 46.32.

Desired Settlement
Make the shipping charges correct, not some outrageous charge.

Business Response
Customer lives in Cross Plains, TN which is halfway between Nashville, TN and Bowling Green, KY which is why the shipping cost was that much. Cross Plains is about 150 miles from Huntsville. We charge the customer what the shipping company charges us. We have no control over the costs of shipping and do not profit off of shipping. We use Fedex, UPS, and many others depending on the size. Feel free to call me if we need to discuss further.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again, when I looked at FedEx and describe the item I am given chose of shipping methods. Huntsville Tractor obvisoly needs to choose better shipping methods. I am wiser for it and will not choose to do business with them anymore.

Final Business Response
i spoke with our shipping department and we used UPS to ship this. The rate was cheaper when he submitted the weight of 22 lbs for the canopy and hardware, but when he added the dimensions of it that is when the rate went up. You have the rate for the canopy of $115.39 and rate of $22.30 for the box of hardware. Again, with the location being around 150 miles from here that is why the rates are what they are. We charged the customer what UPS will charge us. Customer did not specify who to use to ship canopy to him. Maybe it would be best if customer bought from a Kubota dealer that is much closer to him than one that is 150 miles away to avoid shipping costs.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tractor Dealers, Tractor Repair & Service, Tractor Equipment & Parts, Farm Equipment

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/08/1990Business started: 05/01/1967
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1981, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Crain (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Blake Crain (VP)
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Tractor Dealers, Tractor Repair & Service, Tractor Equipment & Parts, Farm Equipment

Products & Services

The company offers the sale of tractors and related farm equipment.

Alternate Business Names
Huntsville Ford Tractor

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Huntsville Tractor & Equipment, Inc.

4600 Research Park Blvd NW

Huntsville, AL 35806-1655

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4600 Research Park Blvd NW 

    Huntsville, AL 35806-1655(256) 837-6767
    Fax: (256) 837-5003

  • PO Box 11100 

    Huntsville, AL 35814-1100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Huntsville Tractor & Equipment, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Tractor Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.