BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/22/2010

Budget Roofing

Phone: (256) 858-0641Fax: (256) 852-6456

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Informed them of our leaking roof that was damaging our kitchen ceiling. Owner inspected, admitted problem,but never fixed.
01-25-16 owner inspected our roof leak. He said roofers did not install vent properly He would fix when roof dried out.
02-01-16 We called asking why no action. Owner
said would be out this afternoon.
02-15-16 we called about no action on roof. Left message. Owner never replied.
02-22-16 Called their office. Left message that they don't keep us dangling. Their inaction is causing more damage to our ceiling when it rains. Owner never replied.
03-05-16 Called the owner and left a message on his cell that if he didn't respond we would file a complaint with the BBB. Within two hours he responded. He apologized said he forgot us. He said customer satisfaction is important to him. He would be out Monday the 7th to fix the roof.
Once again they did not show up.

Desired Settlement
We just want the leak fixed in accordance with the contract.

Final Consumer Response
Budget Roofing owner came out after receiving your complaint notification and repaired our roof leak. Thank you for your support and impressive response to our problem.

06/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shoddy work. Warranty has not been honored. Complete repairs not made.No response since 12/22/15.
January,2013 roof and decking replaced. Roofing nails left & caused tire damage. Reimbursement promised, never made. Leaks worse than before new roof. Ceiling damage. Several calls to company. Repairs attempted. Owner promised ceiling repair. Leaks got worse. Leaking in more areas of house and garage. Ceiling damage worsened. More calls to company. More repairs attempted. Bad leaking in December 2015. and company owner said decking had not been replaced as ordered. Said somebody was going to be held responsible for bad work. We told him that we would have to hold him accountable. He agreed. Said decking and roof and ceiling repairs would be done immediately. No response since 12/22/15. Roof is leaking in most areas of house and garage. Company owner said could be fault of materials manufacturer. We had upgraded to "better but more expensive roof" on advice of Budget Roofing. Ceiling now spotting in more areas. The roof is worse now that it was before replacement by Budget.

Desired Settlement
We are asking for reimbursement by company to enable us to have the roof replaced plus coverage of ceiling repairs. Or complete replacement and new warranty by Budget Roofing.

Business Response
****** spoke with this customer last week. He explained to the customer he would get the repairs done. He did tell the customer he would call her the end of last week but it's been really crazy & we've been really busy. We have only had to go out TWICE. When ****** wenot out he did find a busted 1*6 above her office area. There was minor ceiling damage when ****** (the owner) went out. Unless something has changed since then. We are still willing to go out & take care of the problems. The customer does need to call the office at XXX-XXX-XXXX to set up a time best for her if she wants to be there. She doesn't have to be there but she wants to she will have to contact the office at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Onice the roof repair is complete we will schedule a time for the interior repairs as well. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Budget did some work on the roof repairs on Friday 3/25/16. Then Mr. ***** went through the house with a spray can of some type of ceiling paint until we asked him to stop and wait for the ceiling repairman. There is ceiling damage that we don't want sprayed with ceiling coverup spray paint. He said that was for him to be able to see if the roof is still leaking which at first did sound reasonable but when we had a moment to think and get him stopped he seemed agitated. I asked him if perhaps he could understand why I no longer trust him and he seemed angry and left. In response to the roofing company answer to my complaints. I made numerous calls and several times they were here to attempt repairs. I logged dates and reasons we were given for the leaking and can provide when needed. It was many more times than the two times Budget admits to. It got so bad in the library that water was in the ceiling light fixture. Mr ***** said he would have the light fixture cleaned. Three similar large overhead light fixtures on the same electrical line have stopped working. We don't know if water has caused it but all fixtures stopped working at the same time. Mr.***** said he would get that checked. He seemed to us to think it was from water. We are hoping Budget will finally follow through with promises since this has been a problem since the roof and decking was installed over three years ago. It has been a bad experience to say the least. We like to trust people. Mr.***** seems an amiable and trustworthy person but we are beginning to be concerned about the trust we placed in him. He told us our ceiling damage is "minor" compared to some damages he sees. Which tells us that this happens and customers are not reporting to BBB. To say we dislike ****** would not be a true statement. He is very likeable (if he is not misleading us). However, that being said, we could never recommend Budget Roofing to a prospective customer.

Final Business Response
Good Morning, Unfortunately I don't keep record of our customers schedule. It's the customers place to contact our office to inform us if it's still leaking. I can't do my job if she can't do hers. Ms. ****** will have to come back from the farm to let us do our job. If it is still leaking & she let's it go on, we will not be responsible for the damages. The customer has a responsible just as we do. No insurance claim will be filed. We have never had to file a claim & hopefully never will. We always take full responsibility for our work. Ms. ****** your the one that contacted the BBB, I'm not using them this is the way you choose to go. Feel free to do what you think is necessary. I hate you feel like this was the way to go but we have fully 100% tried to make things right you unfortunately have not. Hope everyone has a blessed day , thanks

Final Consumer Response
We read the response from Budget Roofing. Thank you.
We are right in the middle of planting season here at the farm. It will be a fourteen hour trip to Huntsville and back to deal with Budget. And there is no telling how long up there to get them to do the work. We are concerned that it will be a wasted trip. We have done this in the past when Huntsville and Jones Valley was getting a deluge and we were worried about the leaking into the house. We still could not get them to do the work. But, we will drive to Huntsville as soon as we can.
We are so frustrated with trying for three and a half years that we feel it is an exercise in futility. From the Budget response, it's clear that I angered them greatly by reporting to BBB. We don't expect them to ever do the repairs. My husband called our attorney in Huntsville and we will be giving this all to him. We simply aren't up to dealing with those people. I actually am not at all comfortable with them. We request BBB to continue to support us. We don't know your policy of support after a lawyer becomes involved. We did hear back from the State of Alabama number you gave us asking if our situation has been resolved. Thank you for that information.
This is the very worst company we have ever dealt with. We are hoping that you will warn people about them. We will take steps to do that also. We checked them on BBB before they did the work and saw that Budget Roofing is well regarded by BBB . Ours is not the first unresolved complaint. We discovered that after they did the work on our home. They claimed to be a large company but as we finally found, they have only two crews although they said they had 9000 "jobs" under warranty. Re: response to BBB complaint. They had an A rating and membership in the Better Business Bureau. That has caused us a great deal of trouble. That company certainly does not deserve an A rating. Thank you for trying to help us resolve this. A good roof by a reputable company and extensive ceiling damage repair is going to cost us a lot of money. We certainly cannot stay in the house up there all the time to watch for the water coming inside.

08/25/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Budget did not do the work correctly after several attempts, now i have tacking work due too incorrect work
Budget roofing did some work for the previous owners requested to be completed by the inspector before the sell of the house. The work was done incorrectly and a continual leak that went undetected for almost a year, they came out 3 times, not until the 4th time did the issue get addressed correctly, in process my roof is patched up and looks unacceptable and flashing was nailed into the brick and damaging the house and looks aweful. Budget has said they will try to correct but nothing yet has been done. the roof shingles are mismatched and the flashing looks horrible.

Desired Settlement
I want the roof fixed to match, if that means replacing the entire roof i want it replaced, work was done to cause damage that did not need to be done, I want the flashing to be fixed so that it is correct.

Business Response
A repair / patch was requested from the previous owner that is correct. A (former) employee did a repair quote for the previous owner. The work he quoted was done and it lasted the full year warranty that was giving. The new owners The ******'s called in after the warranty was up saying they had a problem with the work done, it had started leaking. This is after the warranty had already run out. We still sent our guys out to address the problem even tho it NO LONGER had a WARRANTY! We have spent several hundred dollars out of our pockets to address this issue. We could have just stuck with " It no longer has a warranty " and been done with it but we try to make all of our customers happy. The issue is fixed and we paid for the inside to be fixed as well. The ******'s haven't had to come out of pocket at all. We haven't ask them for anything. I also want to address the statements made by Ms. ******.
1- The flashing has to be anchored, which in this case is to the brick. This is did not case any damage to the home at all!
2- Its going to look patched because it was a repair not a replacement. The shingles that are on there has been discontinued as well. We matched it as close as possible.
The flashing is to be painted but with the rain it has been pushed back as well as all the other repairs we have on our schedule. I personally have apologized to Mr.& Mrs. ****** about this and all we could do was make it right, which we have above and beyond what we could have.
If the ******'s want a quote to replace the roof we can do that but The ******'s will be fully responsible to pay for it. All they have to do is contact our office to do so. If there is anything else please just let me know. Thanks, **** *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The statement from **** at budge roofingis not true, she right out lied, the roof was never fixed correctly in the first place and leaked for almost a year till we discovered it, I then went to the attic to discover an ongoing leak so i found the receipt and called budget, when I contacted them the FIRST time to warrenty was still good but after months of trying to fix the leak (unsuccessfully!) the warrent ran out. Budge even told me it was never fixed correctly the first time and made excuses saying the guy was fired shortly after due to poor work. After coming out several times and not fixing the leak after it was again reported to budge,the owner or owners came out and said he knew what was wrong and it had nothing to do with the flashing it was under the shingles and then said he could fix it without replacing the shingles, after my husband waited all day on serval occaisons they came out on a friday at the end of the day, the workders were different not the owner and very upset they had to fit this job in..They then put the mismatched shingles on, left boards in the attic with nails sticking straight up and a big mess, THEN left without even telling my husband they were done or explaining why it looked so bad, my husband then discoved how bad a job they had done, I came home and i turned the corner to my street and I noticed the patched roof right away and all I could do was cry. the patch work is very noticable right in the front of the house on a down slope, and looks aweful, I have had professionals look at it and have said it's the worst work they've ever seen and there was no reason to put mismatched shingles like that. I could never sale my house with that aweful job, it looks so bad I just can not settle for a mismatched roof, if the repair were done correctly the first time it would not look like that. My house is only 6 years old, having a patch job like that is unacceptable. I want it fixed! Budge is responsible and I should not have to put a whold new roof on my house because of poor work! I want it fixed and if they have to replace the roof to fix it then i want the roof replaced. Whatever it takes to fix my roof. I have suffered so much stress from this. If the problem is not resolved then I will be forced to hire an attorny. I can provide pictures of the roof.

Final Consumer Response
the invoice that **** provided is incorrect. Firs I was never given a copy of any invoice.

It was NEVER mentioned to me shingles would have to be replaced. nor did anyone tell me that the shingles then would not even match.

the leak is not where they replaced shingles are, they replaced the shingles because the work was not done correctly the first time and the wood underneath rotted. \

I never authorized them to pull up shingles and replace with an unmatch.

Final Business Response
We done what we were contracted to do. Everything on our end is complete. There is nothing else for us to do. The warranty is up, all work that we were contracted for is complete as well as other roofing repairs & inside repairs that wasn't included in the inspection report. There for there is nothing else for us to do. If the ******'s have anymore concerns they should contact the previous owner. Thanks, ****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Home Improvements, Gutters & Downspouts

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.