BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/06/2008

Brickley Plumbing & Electric, Inc.

Phone: (256) 259-1911Fax: (256) 259-2971203 E Willow St, ScottsboroAL 35768-1825 Send email to Brickley Plumbing & Electric, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/06/2008

BBB has determined that Brickley Plumbing & Electric, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brickley Plumbing & Electric, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brickley Plumbing & Electric, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brickley not honoring quoted price for diagnosing repair of a HVAC unit.
Brickley was contacted by phone along with several other companies about a repair to a HVAC unit, they informed me that there was a $59 charge to come out and diagnose what was wrong with unit and provide an estimate for the repair. This is similar to what all other companies had told me. However upon arrival the technician spent 5 minutes looking at the unit and then told me that it would be $159 to diagnose the issue with the unit. I argued that this not what they had told me on the phone but the technician said that the $59 was just to cover his time to drive out there and gas for his vehicle. I have since contacted another company and they have honored their $59 verbal quote for diagnose the unit. I should have refused to pay Brickley but I advise that anyone using them beware of them not honoring any price is quoted.

Desired Settlement
Refund and for them to change their practice of giving quotes over the phone that they will not honor.

Business' Initial Response
What was informed to the customer over the phone was that we have a $59.00 diagnosic fee for the first 30 minutes to look at the unit and give her a price to fix it. Also she was informed that the $59.00 dollars would not be charged if she accepted he price to fix the unit and she would only be charged the price to fix the unit that the technicians gives her after diagnois. Upon looking at the unit the technician informed Mrs. ****** of one problem with the unit, that the coil temperature sensor was bad, but felt that the unit has other problems and needed to check the unit out further. He gave the price for checking the unit out after the 30 minutes and going futher with the diagnostic, and the price was $ 152.75 which includes the $59.00. It would have not been $152.75 plus the $59.00, just the $152.75 to look at the look further. Mrs. ****** became upset at this point and called the office, the CSR and the Office Manager again explained the $59.00 diagnostic fee to her. The Office Manager informed her that the CSR did explain the $59.00 fee for 30 minutes only to her because she was standing there both times it was explained and it is our standard call routine. The Office Manager also explained the warranty on her unit to her, since she bought it through a friend it only had 5 years parts and no labor warranty probably. The Office Manager then spoke with the technician and agreed to accept the $59.00 from the customer and come back and look up the warranty. The technician spoke with the customer and her husband and explained about the diagnostic fee and what it covers (gas and travel time - to and from the place)that is why it is only for 30 minutes at your place. After the technician returned back work, we called Rheem and Wittichen to check the warranty on the unit and it was 5 years parts and no labor with 10 year compressor. The Office Manager called and give the customer the price to replace the Coil Temperature Switch ($237.50) which the $59.00 would have came out of it to make the total $178.50 that she would have owed upon completion of the work, because she had already paid the $59.00. Mrs. ****** said that she had turned us into the BBB and thought that she would find someone else to do the work. The technican stated on his invoice that he checked the condensing unit and determined that the coil tempeature sensor was not reading properly. We regret that Mrs. ****** was not happy, but at this time we do not see a reason to return her money since we diagnoised one of her problems with the unit. We inform all new customers that we have a $59.00 diagnostic fee for the first 30 minutes so that the tech can check out the problem and give a price to fix what is broken. If they do not like the price that is give to them they only have to pay the $59.00 diagnostic fee but if they like the price that is quoted they only pay the quoted price and not the $59.00 plus the quoted price. We have been using the system for over 8 years. I am sorry that there was a misunderstanding of how you understood the information that was given to you but we do not quote repairs over the phone.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still dispute that I was informed that the $59.00 diagnostic fee was for the first 30 minutes, but even with that fact the technician spent a mere five minutes before saying it would be an additional $152.75 to look for further problems not 30 minute. Furthermore the technician did not diagnose any issue with the unit they may claim this but this is simply not true. ****** has either been misinformed by their technician or is lying when they say he diagnosed one of the issue with the unit. The technician did talk to my husband and informed him that unit had a bad coil temperature sensor based on the flashing LED's on the defrost control board. My husband did not trust this and looked in the manual for the unit and found that the LED's are to flash when the Defrost control is functioning normal. This is when it was decided to call a different company. So in short either ****** was lying to me about saying they had discovered something wrong with the unit or the technician was incompetent either way that is their issue and I deserve a refund. I believe that they are lying to try to cover that they did not do a proper job and was trying to hustle us out of more money. I have to come to this conclusion based on the following reasons for this, first the technician did not tell me that he found anything wrong with the unit until he talked to his manager on the phone and then he came back and said he did find one small problem and then he tried to make up a story about looking up a code based on the flashing LED's to confuse me and my husband. Second the technician from another company said that there was no way that he got that from the two blinking LED's and that the first thing a technician should do is hook up pressure gauges to check the Freon charge. Again another company " 72 DEGREES Air Conditioning and Heating" was called out to diagnose the unit they spent a mere 5 minutes checking the pressure and discovered all that was wrong with the unit is a low Freon charge. They honored their quoted price and was told to charge the unit with Freon and the unit has been functioning properly ever since then.

Business' Final Response
In response to Mrs. ****** reply ****** Plumbing & Electric, Inc. does not back lash any other company, we do not believe in it. We have our standards. If another company performed a diagnostic test on your unit and felt that the unit was low of freon that is fine. Our technician informed you that he needed to do futher test on the unit to find out if there was any other problems with the unit and the price would be $152.75 to do those test and it would take longer than 30 minutes. If you call our office at any given time of the day you will get the same response that you were given both times that you called in. Again I am sorry you did not understand the information that was given to you. Once the tech was at your house he saw that it was going to take longer than the 30 minutes to determine the problem with the unit that is way he gave you the other price. In response to the lights they will flash but it is the pattern in which they flash that gives you the code. I spoke with the tech on the phone and he informed me that he had found the problem already before he spoke with me and he had already spoken with your husband about the problem before he talked with me on the phone and he said he had already give you the other price because this is the reason you called me, you were upset about the price he gave you to look further. To answer your question about the freon charge, we do not always hook up gauges to freon lines in the winter time, because it can give false readings. At this time we stand behind our orginial answer, we found a problem with the unit and informed you of the situation, whether you act on the problem is up to you at this time. This situation with the unit was discussed with the tech and tech support before, during and after the visit to your home.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Electricians - Commercial, Electricians, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/14/1997Business started: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Alabama Plumbers & Gas Fitters Examining Board
11 West Oxmoor Road, Suite 104
Birmingham, AL35209
(205) 945-4857
http://www.pgfb.state.al.us

Alabama Electrical Contractors Board
610 S McDonough St
Montgomery, AL36104-5812
(866) 873-4664
http://www.aecb.state.al.us

State of Alabama Board of Heating, Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Contractors
100 N. Union St., Suite 630
Montgomery, AL36130-0001
(866) 855-1912
http://www.hacr.alabama.gov

BBB records show a license number of 535 for this company, issued by State of Alabama Plumbers & Gas Fitters Examining Board. Their web address is http://www.pgfb.state.al.us. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2015.

Type: Competency License

BBB records show a license number of 1486 for this company, issued by State of Alabama Plumbers & Gas Fitters Examining Board. Their web address is http://www.pgfb.state.al.us. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2015.

Type: Competency License

BBB records show a license number of 00008 for this company, issued by Alabama Electrical Contractors Board. Their web address is http://www.aecb.state.al.us. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2015.

Type: Competency License

BBB records show a license number of 93149 for this company, issued by State of Alabama Board of Heating, Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Contractors. Their web address is http://www.hacr.alabama.gov. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2015.

Type: Competency License

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1984, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Brickley (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Teresa Beam (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Plumbers, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Electricians - Commercial, Electricians, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers installation & repair of plumbing, electrical, heating & air conditioning for both commercial & residental customers.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brickley Plumbing & Electric, Inc.

203 E Willow St

Scottsboro, AL 35768-1825

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 203 E Willow St 

    Scottsboro, AL 35768-1825(256) 259-1911

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brickley Plumbing & Electric, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.