BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In North Alabama

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Ortex Systems, Inc.

Phone: (256) 882-6433Fax: (256) 430-1846View Additional Phone Numbers4608 Commercial Dr NW, HuntsvilleAL 35816-2202http://www.ortexpest.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Ortex Systems, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ortex Systems, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized service

Complaint: I received service that I not only did not authorize but I left a message stating that I did not want the service.
On Friday, January 31st, a lady from Ortex had left me a voicemail mail stating that their company would inspect my house on Monday, February 3rd. The lady said that I didn't need to be home and she also stated that if I didn't want the service I should let them know. I received this voicemail as soon as I got home from work and I immediately called Ortex and left a voice message that I didn't want the service done this year. I repeated that I didn't want the service done and that it would not be necessary for anyone to go to my house on Monday February 3rd. On February 4th or 5th I received a **** for $99.00 requesting payment for the service I did not want or authorize. I have received this service from Ortex for the last five years and on each occasion I called I authorized the service and promptly paid the ****. I don't think I should have to pay for I service I didn't want and didn't authorize.

Final Consumer Response
On Saturday, March 1st I was very pleased to receive a letter from Ortex stating that the charges have been removed from my account. They also expressed their apology for any inconvenience caused. I'm very grateful to the Better Business Bureau for the significant part played in helping me to resolved this very unpleasant experience. It's such a comfort to know that individuals have somewhere to turn when they have been treated unfairly.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/30/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/04/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services, Termite Control

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/08/1997Business started: 04/01/1952Business started locally: 06/01/1995
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department Of Agriculture & Industries
1445 Federal Drive, Box 3336
Montgomery, AL36109
(800) 642-7761
http://www.agi.alabama.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2003, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Blake (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Tim Dellinger (Manager)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Pest Control Services, Termite Control

Products & Services

This company offers indoor & outdoor pest control services.

Alternate Business Names
Ortex Guarantee Pest Control, Ortex Guarantee Termite & Pest Control, Huntsville Pest Control

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ortex Systems, Inc.

4608 Commercial Dr NW

Huntsville, AL 35816-2202

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4608 Commercial Dr NW 

    Huntsville, AL 35816-2202(256) 882-6433

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ortex Systems, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (256) 534-3596
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.