BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In North Alabama

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2013

Cook's Pest Control, Inc.

(256) 650-21902007 Southpark Blvd SW, HuntsvilleAL 35803-4436 Send email to Cook's Pest Control, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2013

BBB has determined that Cook's Pest Control, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cook's Pest Control, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/26/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Was told I was required to use cook's pest control services as though I did not have a choice.
I recently moved into my first house about a month ago. A few days after moving in a sales rep from cook's pest control shows up at my house and ask to come in. I invited him in and we sat down at the table, he then started to go over paper work with me. After a couple minutes of him going through all the paper work I decided that I was not interested in using their services. So I interrupted him in the middle of his routine and asked him very clearly "is this something I have to do", referring to using their services. He answered with a simple "yes". Being as I had just purchased my first home and had already encountered other surprise payments and bills I just assumed this was another one to add to the list. I did not feel I had any reason to believe he was being dishonest with me. A few days later I spoke to my mother about the situation, she informed me that I wasn't required to use their services. I then called cook's pest control to complain and to hopefully be let free of the contract I had signed. After speaking with a women on the phone for a minute or two she forwarded me through to the man who I had called specifically to complain about. I told him my issues and explained to him how I felt mislead, which he in turn denied. After going back in forth with him for a few minutes he eventually told me he would see about adjusting my contact and he would let me know something in a few days. After a couple weeks with no response I called again to check the status of my account, absolutely nothing had changed. So I once again start to explain the situation to the woman on the phone, this time requested not to speak with the sales rep of whom I was complaining about. She sounded confused and unable to deal with the situation. She told me she would call me back later that day which never happened. I've now decided to go a different route since they seem to not take my complaint seriously, brush me to the side, and continue to collect payment from me.

The sales rep's name is Mark. I do not recall his last name nor can I read it on the paper work.
The date he came by was Dec. 22 2012
I was charged $115.00 and signed a contract for 1 year on that date.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******/ DM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@cookspest.com
Pest control service had been discontinued as requested and posted as normally at the end of the month. Our representative understood that the Termite protection service was supposed to remain in effect. The 115.00 charge was for the Termite service. Any charges on the accounts in question will be refunded plus 10% as per our satisfaction guarantee

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services, Termite Control

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/22/2013Business started: 01/01/1928
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department Of Agriculture & Industries
1445 Federal Drive, Box 3336
Montgomery, AL36109
(800) 642-7761
http://www.agi.alabama.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1964, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Beavers (District Manager)Mr. Jim Aycock (President)
Business Category

Pest Control Services, Termite Control

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cook's Pest Control, Inc.

2007 Southpark Blvd SW

Huntsville, AL 35803-4436

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2007 Southpark Blvd SW 

    Huntsville, AL 35803-4436(256) 650-2190

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cook's Pest Control, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.