BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/1976

Cook's Pest Control, Inc.

Phone: (256) 353-6461Fax: (256) 355-0113335 W Park Loop NW, HuntsvilleAL 35806-1743 Send email to Cook's Pest Control, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/1976

BBB has determined that Cook's Pest Control, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This company participates in the BBB's Corporate Sponsorship Program as a Gold Sponsor.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cook's Pest Control, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cook's Pest Control, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product failure or lack of maintenance by company
I've had Cook's Pest Control Centricon System on my home for a little over a year now. Upon cutting down an old shrub which had died today I discovered at the base an infestation of termites. Upon looking i found the nearest bait station to be 3' away. I was under the assumption that this system would provide a subterranean barrier preventing any termites colonies from thriving. Either my system wasn't installed correctly or it hasn't been properly maintained. In the contract Cook's is to inspect and refill the bait stations at intervals throughout the year and one annual inspection. A technician has been trying to schedule our annual inspection for a few weeks now but mine nor my wife schedules been able to accommodate until now. Id imagine upon discovery of this they would suggest me pay them the cost to treat in which case i don't feel responsible their system isn't suppose to let this happen. Why would I pay $1400 or $1500 dollars for the intial year and installation and $300 a year there after for the chance I may still have to pay for an additional treatment. I feel i've been mislead. Or i've been paying for a service which hasn't been provided as promised. My trust with this company is tarnished. I've contacted them and hope to get a response soon. I hope you can assist me in a resolution to this matter. Thank You

Desired Settlement
A thorough inspection of my property due to it being compromised by this issue. A refund of service would not be refuted being that I no longer find this company to be trust worthy. No cost for any necessary actions required in the resolution. A quick resolution to the issue.

Business Response
We contacted the customer Monday morning 5/11/2015 when we received the complaint and the customer scheduled the appointment for Tuesday 5/12/2015 at 4:45 for us to inspect.The customer called back Tuesday morning and rescheduled for Wednesday 5/13/2015 at 4:45.We hope to have the issue resolved then.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I decline this due to the nature of this occurrence. Cooks is providing exceptional service and have responded immediately to the situation. My complaint lies in the ineffectiveness of the product they have installed. I don't see the reason to continue to pay for a product that is ineffective in preventing termites. I assume in my contract with Cooks they are to address these issues as requested. Although if I hadn't cut down the infested shrub and discovered the infestation it's possible Cooks and I would've both assumed the product was providing adequate protection letting the infestation grow until it could've caused damage to my home. I'm aware Cooks provides a 120% coverage for any damages. I just don't have confidence in this product. I'm sure Cooks has taken the necessary measures to eradicate this infestation just not confident another will not occur due to this product. Being the infestation still exist I ask that the issue remain unresolved. My complaint isn't due to Cooks service it's the Centricon product. If the BBB feels that being Cooks has addressed the issue and are working to resolve it then I feel they have more than accomplished that and the issue should be closed.

Final Consumer Response

10/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
charging for services not rendered . stopped sending bills on time.emailed bill of 70 something dollars.when we contacted by phone bill was155.15
recieved email on 9/9 called on 9/10/14.have had termite contract for 19 years or so.till this year they have been checking termite stations every 3 months now only twice a year so why do I have to pay same amount for less service which takes half hour or less.yearly in house inspections are not regular or thorough. they take less than 10 minutes.to date I have paid over 5800dollars .acct #****XXXXXX .why cant they lower my bill.cant get contract from other companies they wont take over my contract.

Desired Settlement
Please lower my bill and start sending it on time to p.o.box you had been sending to for years till now.

Business Response
Mr. ***** was called and explained the current coverage and inspection process on 9/29/2014. He also was concerned about not receiving his bill. The statements have been mailed to the same P.O. Box since 2005 and Cook's is to call Mr. ***** on 12/15/2014 to insure he receives his next bill on time. Customer seems to be fine with the explanations given.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services, Mosquito Control, Bed Bug Inspection Service, Bed Bug Removal, Termite Control, Waterproofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1966Business started: 01/01/1928
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department Of Agriculture & Industries
1445 Federal Drive, Box 3336
Montgomery, AL 36109
(800) 642-7761
http://www.agi.alabama.gov/

BBB records show a license number of 12068 for this company, issued by Department Of Agriculture & Industries. Their web address is http://www.agi.alabama.gov/. The expiration date of this license is 05/28/2016.

Type: Competency License

BBB records show a license number of 12540 for this company, issued by Department Of Agriculture & Industries. Their web address is http://www.agi.alabama.gov/. The expiration date of this license is 04/28/2018.

Type: Competency License

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pete Sirten (Manager)Mr. Jim Aycock (President)
Number of Employees

400

Business Category

Pest Control Services, Mosquito Control, Bed Bug Inspection Service, Bed Bug Removal, Termite Control, Waterproofing Contractors

Products & Services

The company offers pest control services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cook's Pest Control, Inc.

335 W Park Loop NW

Huntsville, AL 35806-1743

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 335 W Park Loop NW 

    Huntsville, AL 35806-1743

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cook's Pest Control, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.