BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
North Alabama

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/1999

ATEC Pest Control

Phone: (256) 533-6754Fax: (256) 533-67623806 Governors Dr SW, HuntsvilleAL 35805-3546 Send email to ATEC Pest Control

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/1999

BBB has determined that ATEC Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ATEC Pest Control's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/12/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Paid 25 for pest control. The tech did a half heared job and now i have a worse problem
The tech didn't seem interested. he put a couple of spritzes in each room, didn't spray around the plumbling, bathroom, stove, fridge,cabinets, baseboards.the crystal he put down is made for wet ground so that it will disolve, he put in my garage and even though we were in a dry spell, he put it outside. I never saw a sick bug. I had to go back and spray everything with raid.
When i called Atec back to complain, the person i talked to didn't act interested either. I was told they would call back. As of this date I have not received a call. I've never had a bug in this house in 15 years till Atec showed up next door( without a warning to neighbors by the way)
When i paid them to come here, I warned my neighbor that i was spraying, but what what they used was so ineffective she hasn't seen a bug yet.

Business' Initial Response
This email is in response to claim #XXXXXXXX for ****** ******. My name is ****** ****** with ATEC Pest Control. I called Ms. ****** on Monday Oct 8 to provide a follow up service to the original service June 12. She agreed to let ATEC provide the follow service on Monday October 8, which was done that afternoon. I have attached both the October 8, 2012 detailed work order that is signed by Ms. ****** and the original service work order dated June 6, 2012. There was no charge for the follow up service. It is my understanding that this satisfies the complaint registered with the BBB. If there are any further questions or concerns, please contact me by email or phone.

Thank you,

****** ******
ATEC Pest Control
XXX-XXX-XXXX

07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Did not get rid of pests as advertised, broke an expensive medical device and refuses to acknowledge.
After discovering that we had bed bugs in July 2012, we called ATEC. They came out July 26 2012 and sprayed & fogged our house. A couple of weeks later, we found more bugs. We called them again, and they came back a week or so later to spray/fog again. This has repeated itself 18 times to date (June 4 2013). They have made tons of excuses, ranging from "they don't know why they can't get rid of them" to blaming us for bringing them into the house. On one occasion (May 6 2013), they double-booked and didn't show up at all, without warning us. We called them one last time today (June 4 2013) and they came at 8:30 am. When we arrived home, my CPAP machine that I need to sleep at night (I have moderate sleep apnea) was found broken and on the floor. I called ATEC back and spoke to a manager, who outright refused that his techs broke anything in our house and refuses to pay to replace the machine. I need this machine to breathe at night, or I am at risk for heart failure or stroke. The person on the phone told me that he believes his own technicians and not us, and refuses to do anything about it.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Bryan Hodges
Contact Phone: 256-533-6754
Contact Email: atecpc@yahoo.com
In response to the complaint from Mr. *****, the home was originally treated on 07/27/12 for bed bugs. Mr. ***** canceled the original contract on 10/10/12 stating he could not pay. The contract was picked back up 12/05/12 with no penalty, and ATEC did retreatments on several occasions with additional charges.
There will be no refund of $835 for the original treatment. The contact was broken and went months with no service therefore voiding the contract.
Mr. ***** spoke with the vice president of ATEC and was informed that each can take a polygraph test for CPAT machine incident. If the result were positive in favor fo Mr. *****, then ATEC would pay for the polygraph and the CPAT machine. If the result were negative, then Mr. ***** woudl be reponsible for charges incurred including the polygraph. Mr. ***** neither agreed or disagreed. The CPAT machine will not be paid for by ATEC unless the polygraph procedure is performed and employees are deemed responsible.
Action to be taken will be that ATEC will release Mr. ***** from his pest control contract with no fee. ATEC will not be held liable for any further action from Mr. *****, his spouse, or an any other family member for services rendered or personal property damage.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did not cancel the contract. I have asked them on the incident in October to delay the service because my wife was ill. It was my understanding that the contract was never cancelled, as I was never told this. If the contract was void, it was because ATEC did not uphold their part of the contract by coming monthly to spray the outside of our home. When I spoke to the vice-president of the company, I was never told that if the polygraph were negative, we would be responsible for the fees.
We have done everything in our power to help uphold the contract. It is our understanding that it was a 1-year guarantee that we would be rid of pests - which we still are not- with monthly service to the outside of our home, which was not done every month.
We are still seeking reimbursement for the cost of the service, which was not performed adequately, as well as the cost of repair or replacement of my CPAP machine.

Business' Final Response
Mrs. ***** canceled the service (not Mr. *****). He was informed that and paid $75 re-instatement fee. Mr. ***** was told about the polygraph if the employees of the ATEC were in fault that the employees would pay if it fault. However, if the ATEC employees were not at fault then the *****'s would pay for the polygraph.
Bed Bugs are never guaranteed to be eradicated and can be controlled. People being transit from house to house makes this impossible.
As the first response states--- no reimbursement on service or for cpap will be given

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

03/26/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/16/1999Business started: 04/15/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department Of Agriculture & Industries
1445 Federal Drive, Box 3336
Montgomery, AL36109
(800) 642-7761
http://www.agi.alabama.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2005, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Hodges (Vice President)Mr. Frank Hodges (Owner)
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Pest Control Services

Products & Services

The company offers pest control and termite services for home and lawn.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ATEC Pest Control

3806 Governors Dr SW

Huntsville, AL 35805-3546

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3806 Governors Dr SW 

    Huntsville, AL 35805-3546(256) 533-6754

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ATEC Pest Control is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.