BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/04/2008

Instant Diagnostic Systems, Inc.

Phone: (800) 355-0691Fax: (888) 990-04831740 4th Ave SE Ste A, DecaturAL 35601-5900

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/04/2008

BBB has determined that Instant Diagnostic Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Instant Diagnostic Systems, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Instant Diagnostic Systems, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
11/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details


Desired Settlement

Business Response
Instant Diagnostic Systems is an Independent Diagnostic Testing Facility. We receive orders from physicians to test patients on Pulse Oximetry and Home Sleep tests. In this case, this patient's physician faxed us an order requesting the patient receive a Pulse OXimetry test. This equipment was delivered to the patient by a durable medical equipment company. The results of the test were sent to the ordering physician (Dr. ***** ********* The patient signed the Authenticity Statement and the Assignment of Benefits form that was accompanied with the testing equipment. Upon request from the patient and/or the ordering physician, we can provide a copy of these forms which would include the faxed order that we received from Dr. ***** ******** We apologize for any misunderstanding this has caused. At this time, we will notify the doctor to discard the test results and we will credit the account to show a zero balance. As for the credit report, we did not notify anyone about the charges, so no action is required.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am satisfied with Instant Diagnostic Systems agreement to credit my account to show an zero balance. I have no more complaints just as long as Instant Diagnostic System honor this agreement.

09/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Told they were contracted with my insurance when in fact they were blacklisted instead.
Date of Service was 4/23/2014. I was told by the scheduler and the person who delivered the device that they were contracted as a provider for Select Health and as such could accept my insurance.

Afterwards I start receiving bills saying my insurance has denied the claim. When I called my insurance they said that IDS is blacklisted with them and will not approve any claim from them.

This is unethical. If the bill was higher I would fight the company more. As it is I paid the bill as it was only $38 and decided to report them.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the money paid and a look into their business practices so that they don't tell people they are contracted with a company when they really are not as that is fraud.

Business Response
In this case, it appears that a durable medical equipment company was indicated by the patient's physician to deliver the testing equipment as a courier. This courier is not affiliated with IDS and should not have made representations about the insurance coverage. IDS has no record that the patient contacted us directly in regards to this test before paying the bill. IDS provides testing to patients nationwide and is contracted as an in-network participating provider with most major plans. This particular plan provides coverage in a small number of states and does not enroll providers of our medical taxonomy code. As requested, IDS will refund the money paid to the patient in this instance and will address the miscommunication with the courier of the testing equipment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am satisfied with their response and their willingness to make sure those that are contracted with them will abide by a code of ethic and not mislead patients. Received a refund.

02/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Failure to respond to multiple attempts to resolve outstanding bill. Failure to notify the patient that they do not participate with the insurance.
IDS did not notify me that they did not participate with BCBSM, causing me to be responsible for charges. I have submitted multiple documents to them and have been told multiple times that someone will research this and get back to me. No one returns calls, I just receive another bill 60 days later. Now I'm receiving a collection letter and can now not even reach anyone in their billing dept. I will be contacting our insurance rep through my husbands employer to attempt to work something out with ins. as I was never notified of non-participation. I feel this was a fraud committed on their part as I was extremely ill at the time and had decreased oxygen levels and trusted that they had verified the insurance. As they are out of network, the entire charge was applied to an out of network deductible. I never have services out of network to prevent this.

Desired Settlement
This debt should be discharged or highly reduced (I am being billed the amount they billed the insurance)

Business Response
***** ****** had a home sleep test that was ordered by her physician on 6/14/2013. Each patient speaks with a scheduler that goes over the testing process and insurance information with each patient based on a script. The script states that the charge for the test is $250 and that is what we bill insurance. That is the most you will have to pay. We cannot guarantee payment by your insurance. Unfortunately this file is too old and we no longer have the recording to verify this information. Because of this, I will offer the patient a discount, which is lower than any of our other contracted rates. I will agree to write off $100.00, leaving a balance of $150.00.

05/13/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I received a bill I wasn't told I was to pay for. Trying to contact them was impossible due to hold times on phone and a Website that doesn't work.
I was given an over-night oximetry test on December 11, 2012. Supposedly it was authorized by a doctor; however, I never discussed this test any doctor. Lincare (the company that distributes the test) showed up at my door one day, handed me a test and said to sleep with it on my finger over-night. They would be back to pick it up the next day. I was never told I would have to pay for it. I took the test as instructed and thought that was the end of it. Today, 4/25/13, I received a bill from a company called Instant Diagnostic Systems (IDS) for the test; however, it was only after doing some calling around that I even found out what it was for. I attempted to contact directly, but I was placed on hold by the automated answering system and never reach a live person. While on hold, I was told I could go to and talk to service representative. Upon searching for the site, I was made aware that their Website has no security certificate; therefore, leading me to believe that this is a scam. The only way I could speak to anyone was to give out my name, address, e-mail address, and phone number with account numbers, also, leading me to believe this was a scam. I'm not giving out personal information to someone that I already believe is scamming people for money, so, I am unable to contact anyone or dispute this charge. I'm also on medicaid and I was told that if I am not made aware that a test will cost me personally, I won't incur any charges. Well, I was made aware of any and didn't really think this was a big issue until now, after receiving the bill.

Desired Settlement
I just want the bill gone and I do not want charges I didn't except posted on my credit report. I would have discussed this with IDS; however, I question the legitimacy of their organization thus far. That is why I am filing a complaint with the BBB.

Business' Initial Response
Instant Diagnostic Systems, Inc. (IDS) is a Joint Commission accredited Diagnostic Testing Facility and we performed an overnight oximetry test based on a written order from Mr. ******'s practitioner, Lareva Clark, NP. We also have a signed attestation statement from Mr. ******, stating that he took the test and gave the opportunity to provide insurance information on this form, which he did not. Our records indicate the patient spoke with a representative today and provided the Medicaid insurance information and the account has been written off as is our normal policy. Iwould like for the BBB and the complaintant to know that we are a reputable business and not a scam as was indicated.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Medical Diagnostic Testing Facilities, Medical Equipment & Supplies, Medical Diagnostic Centers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/13/2007Business started: 06/16/2006Business started locally: 07/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Dept. Of Public Health
201 Monroe St., RSA Tower
Montgomery, AL 36130-0001
(800) 252-1818

BBB records show a license number of 15204 for this company, issued by Alabama Dept. Of Public Health. Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2015.

Type: Competency License

Type of Entity


Incorporated: July 2007, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Sorrells (President/CEO)Customer Contact: Ms. Danyelle Stewart (Business Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Medical Diagnostic Testing Facilities, Medical Equipment & Supplies, Medical Diagnostic Centers

Products & Services

This company is an independent physiological laboratory providing diagnostic testing services & oximetry testing for physicians.

Alternate Business Names
IDS, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Instant Diagnostic Systems, Inc.

1740 4th Ave SE Ste A

Decatur, AL 35601-5900

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1740 4th Ave SE Ste A 

    Decatur, AL 35601-5900(800) 355-0691
    Fax: (888) 990-0483

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Instant Diagnostic Systems, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB


Industry Tips for Medical Diagnostic Testing Facilities


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.