BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Coast to Coast Renewal, Inc.

Phone: (888) 299-7302

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

131 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues48
Billing / Collection Issues62
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service20
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints131

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (131)
10/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
TAKES PAYMENT AND NEVER PAYS ACCOUNT OFF. RENEWALS I DO NOT WANT OR ASK FOR.

Desired Settlement
STOP ALL COLLECTION ACTIONS OF ANY KIND AND STOP ALL ACCOUNTS. THEY HAVE PUT IN MY NAME. TAKE OFF CALL LIST.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding Ms. *****'s concerns to our office with respect to her magazine service.

In reviewing our files, we found that Ms. ***** agreed to purchase this subscription service on April 3, 2014. The details of the subscription agreement were presented at length to Ms. *****, both verbally in writing. With Ms. *****'s continued acceptance, her final confirmation letter was sent the next day for her to review and keep for her records. The confirmation letter restated the magazine titles, the number of issues she would receive for each magazine, her monthly payment plan, the total sales price, and our contact information including a toll free number to customer service.

On June 23, 2015, we received Ms. *****'s final payment which paid her account in full. There is no remaining balance or monies due on behalf of Ms. *****'s account; therefore, we have no reason to pursue collection action of any kind. Ms. ***** will continue to receive her magazines for their full term as provided for by the service agreement with the option of changing them at no additional cost.

We have added Ms. ***** to our "Do Not Call" list to ensure that we do not attempt to contact her again.

Consumer Response
I ****** or ***** ***** have not had any response from Coast to Coast Renewal Incorporated as of this date. I have never received anything I have asked for. I have enclosed a copy of the letter I enclosed to them when I paid the account off. I hope this puts 8 in to all of any business with this company, now or in the future and all accounts with their company is stopped or anything of their sister companies. I want no magazine sent to me even if I paid for them. I hope this is the end to all magazine companies contacting me.
Thank you,
****** *****

Final Business Response
Thank you for forwarding Ms. *****'s continued concerns pertaining to her magazine account with our company, Coast to Coast Renewal, Inc.

As requested, we have contacted the publishers and advised them of Ms. *****'s desire to cancel her subscriptions which include Redbook, Ladies Home Journal, Shape, Puzzlers Word Search, and Readers Digest. Please be advised that the publishers ask that you allow approximately 60-90 days for the magazines to cease delivery completely.

Based on Ms. *****'s statement that she wants all accounts stopped and no contact with any magazine companies leads me to believe that perhaps she has entered into other subscription agreements with others companies in which we have no affiliation. Obviously, we can only speak to the account Ms. ***** has with us as we have no control over the actions of other magazine companies.

In conclusion, the magazines Ms. ***** is receiving form our company will cease delivery within 90 days and we will not contact her in the future.

07/21/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unwanted magazine subscription
First off this is not the only magazine company that I have a complaint about. I initially got tricked into signing up for ONE subscription with ONE company and then somehow in the past 12 years I have acquired 5+ different subscriptions at $50 or more a pop per month. They all call and tell me that my payments (which should be automatically withdrawn from my bank account) did not go through. The caller always calls when I am busy, talks very fast and confusingly and words it to where I don't fully understand what I am agreeing too. They never allow me to cancel and claim that I approved the subscription and need to fulfill my "contract". I never approved these multiple accounts or automatic renewals. I don't read any of the magazines they send me and I cant afford to continue to pay for something I don't need, want or use at all.

Desired Settlement
I want all accounts cancelled and for no more payments to be withdrawn. I would greatly appreciate for all calls and letters to cease and desist.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to forward Ms. ********'s information regarding her subscription service with Coast to Coast Renewal Inc.

I have reviewed our files, which indicate that Ms. ******** was contacted by a representative from our sales division and agreed to purchase this subscription service on March 27, 2014. The details of the subscription agreement were presented at length both verbally and in writing. With Ms. ********'s continued acceptance, her final service agreement confirmation letter was sent the following day. The letter restated the magazine titles, the number of issues for each magazine, her monthly payment plan, and the total sales price.

On April 29, 2015, Ms. ******** was contacted from our special promotions department regarding an offer that was available to her at that time. Ms. ******** took advantage of this offer and made arrangements to pay her balance off in four payments. For making these arrangements, Ms. ******** received a discount off her entire balance.

We were not aware of Ms. ********'s desire to cancel her service until now. It is certainly not our intention to continue a service unwanted by Ms. ********; accordingly, her account reference number XXXXXXX has been canceled and the remaining balance relinquished. Be assured that Ms. ******** has no further financial obligation to our company and we will not contact her again.

Sincerely,
****** *******
Customer Support Supervisor


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you!

04/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was never asked or have my approval for charges. I have never signed up for this service
My information was somehow given to this company and I never signed up but was charged numerous times and was never able to cancel the account setup in my name. I have never received a refund for the ammount paid and was sent to collections because of this account. I have never received any good or services from this company regardless of the fact that I am paying for it somehow. I would like a refund and full cancelation of the account in my name because I never knew or have my permission for my information to be used. Or for my card to be charged I

Desired Settlement
Refund for the ammount paid because of information given without my knowledge or consent. And failure on the companies part to listen to my complaint and cancel said plan. It seemed that I was forced to pay because they would not cancel my plan. I ended up having to cancel all card in my name because charges were being made without my permission

Business Response
Re: Complaint # XXXXXXXX, ******* *****
Dear Sir/ Madam:
Thank you for taking the time to forward Mr. *****'s concern's pertaining to his subscription service with Coast to Coast Renewal, Inc.
I have reviewed our files, which indicate that Mr. ***** was contacted by a representative from our sales division and agreed to purchase this subscription service on September 12, 2013. The details of the subscription agreement were presented at length both verbally and in writing. With his continued acceptance his final service agreement confirmation letter was sent the following day. The letter restated the magazine titles, the number of issues for each magazine, his monthly payment plan, and the total sales price.
Our records further indicate that we have had no contact with Mr. ***** until recently. On March 18, 2015, we received a letter from Mr. ***** requesting to cancel his service. As requested, Mr. *****'s account reference number XXXXXXX was canceled that day. We received this complaint a few days afterwards.
Please be assured that Mr. *****'s account is canceled and he has no further financial obligation. We do not show any refund due as the magazines have been delivered without any returns. Moreover, the last payment received on behalf of this account was in September of 2014.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I'm sorry they were not able to refund th money even though I haven't received th magazines they said were sent. I'm relived to know that it has been canceled and not further efforts will be made to collect money.

12/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered 1 5 year subscription in 2005 not realizing they would renew after I finished paying for the subscription. I have been trying to quit the subscription since I realized this. They keep renewing and charging me. I must have 20 years of 20 different magazines on order. They tell me if i cancel the credit card they will send me to collection. How do I quit this subscription?
Product_Or_Service: magazines
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Stop billing me. They can keep the magazines I already payed for. I just want the billing to stop without hurting my credit.

Business Response

Thank you for taking the time to forward Mr. *********'s information regarding his subscription service with Coast to Coast Renewal Inc.
I have reviewed our files, which indicate that Mr. ********* was contacted by a representative from our sales division and agreed to purchase a renewal service for the current magazine titles he has already subscribed to on November 18, 2013. The details of the renewal service were presented at length both verbally and in writing. With Mr. *********'s continued acceptance his final service agreement confirmation letter was sent the following day. The letter restated the magazine titles, the number of issued for each magazine, his monthly payment plan, and the total sales price.
We were not aware of Mr. *********'s dissatisfaction with our service until we received the information from your office on behalf of Mr. *********. We were surprised to receive this complaint as Mr. ********* contacted our office updated his billing information (Master Card to Visa) and authorized a onetime payment to be debited from his Visa card on November 7- reference file number XXXXXX. Mr. *********'s account is paid in full with no outstanding balance. Mr. ********* will continue to receive his magazines for their duration with no additional cost. Mr. ********* has been added to our "Do Not Call" list for future promotions to ensure we do not attempt to contact him again.
Mr. ********* stated that his account began in 2005 and that he has been trying to cancel stop the service since the time he realized he had it. Mr. *********'s account with Coast to Coast Renewal began in 2013 and his account does not show any evidence of him contacting our office requesting to cancel. This leads me to believe that perhaps Mr. ********* has entered into another subscription agreement with another company which we have no affiliation.
Sincerely,
****** *******
Customer Support Supervisor



11/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We told the company over and over that we do not want to renew the service. They keep calling to about renewing.
We have told them over and over that we do not want to renew. They continue to call saying that they have to go through a process to stop the renewal. We have gone through this process many times. They also say that they need me to give them my credit card number before we can go through the process. They say the have the credit card number but that I have to verify it with them. I am hesitant to give this number out again. Can you help solve this problem?

Desired Settlement
We do not want them to call us about renewal again!!

Business Response
Re: Complaint # XXXXXXXX, ***** ******
Dear Sir/ Madam:
Thank you for taking the time to forward Mr. ******'s concerns regarding phone calls he is receiving pertaining to renewing his magazine subscriptions.
I have reviewed our files, which indicate that Mr. ****** was contacted by our renewal sales division on April 4, 2014. Our records further indicate that Mr. ****** declined to renew his subscription service at that time. We do not see evidence of any other calls made to Mr. ****** after that. Nevertheless; be assured that Mr. ****** has been added to our "Do Not Call" list for future promotions to ensure that we do not attempt to contact him again. Please convey our apologies to Mr. ****** for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Sincerely,
****** *******
Customer Support Supervisor


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
if they have agreed to stop calling me then I am satisfied with their response

Page 1 of 14
03/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been trying to cancel this automatic renewal for over 3 years, yet i keep being charged and recieving unwanted magazines
I was solicited about 5 years ago by telephone into magazine subscriptions. There is a recurring charge of $29.90 monthly on my credit card. It automatically renews every year and it's impossible to stop these renewels. Thus, I have had to cancel the credit card as a last resort, after attempting to cancel by phone on several occasions. When you call, you are coached by a marketer on how to verbally respond to the recorded prompts, ensuring that at the end, the subscription will not be renewed. then you are redirected to a recording. It's super confusing. At the end, you think you've succeeded but after 3 years and several attempts, I'm still getting billed and getting magazines...so i cancelled the credit card. Now I'm getting paper bills from this company! I'm sure I'm not the only furious customer

Desired Settlement
I want the magazines cancelled, refunded 3 years of charges ($1076.40), and no further collection attempts.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to forward Ms. ********** information regarding her subscription service with Coast to Coast Renewal, Inc.

I have reviewed our files, which indicate that Ms. ******* was contacted by a representative from our sales division and agreed to purchase this subscription service on June 10, 2013. The details of the subscription agreement were presented at length both verbally and in writing. With Ms. *******'s continued acceptance, her final service agreement confirmation letter was sent the following day. The letter restated the magazine titles, the number of issues for each magazine, her monthly payment plan, and the total sales price.

Our customer service records do not show any evidence of Ms. ******* contacting our office requesting to cancel or for any reason. In fact, we were not aware of Ms. *******'s desire to cancel until we received this notification from your office. Upon receipt, Ms. *******'s Coast to Coast Renewal account reference number XXXXXXXX was canceled and the remaining balance relinquished. Be assured that Ms. ******* has no further financial obligation and we will not contact her again.

12/11/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
People calling getting you to stop renewal magazine service but then charging your credit card $60 every month for nothing received!
I received a call asking me to renew a magazine subscription that I didn't even know I had. I said I didn't want to renew any magazines. I said Cancel them all. They said I would need to give my card number in order to access the account and then I had to answer some questions. I should answer yes to all and then say No at the end in order to stop magazine renewal.

I wasn't even aware I had a magazine with them but I supposedly had 6 and would be billed $60 a month until my 30 months was up. I had to answer the questions in order for it to not renew.

I never ordered any magazines, nor did I receive any magazines yet they are billing me $59.90 a month

Desired Settlement
I would like to be taken off their call list as i asked/
I would also like my payment of $50 to be refunded and no further automatic billing on my card!

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to forward Ms. *******'s concerns pertaining to telephone calls she is receiving regarding renewing her magazines which she believes to be initiated by Coast to Coast Renewal Inc.

I have reviewed our files, which do not show an account in Ms. *******'s name or her address as provided in her information. Furthermore, in reviewing our calling files we did not find a match to the telephone number Ms. ******* provided; therefore, we show no evidence of our office calling her. Nevertheless, to ensure that we do not attempt to contact Ms. ******* going forward, we have added her number to out "Do Not Call" list for future promotions.


04/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On February 2, 2015, you or someone from your company contacted me about a debt. I do not believe that I owe this, and I dispute it.
In accordance with the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act formally known as and codified under 15 USCA 1692ap, I am asking for, and you are required to provide me with the following information:
a) Why do I owe the money? b) How this amount has been calculated in a way I can understand. c) Copies of the papers where I agreed to pay what you Say I owe. d) (If applicable) a copy of the judgment.
e) The name of the original creditor. f) Demonstrate that you are licensed in my state, and provide this license number to me.
Additionally, please provide this letter to the company for whom you are collecting so that they have notice of my dispute.
Please inform any credit reporting agencies to which you have reported this debt to that this debt is currently in dispute. I will require proof that you have done this.
You are also required to cease and desist from contacting me in this and any related matters unless it is by United States Mail, and only for the purpose of informing me that you are
terminating all efforts to collect or that you are taking specific court of legal action.

Desired Settlement
a) Why do I owe the money? b) How this amount has been calculated in a way I can understand. c) Copies of the papers where I agreed to pay what you Say I owe. d) (If applicable) a copy of the judgment.
e) The name of the original creditor. f) Demonstrate that you are licensed in my state, and provide this license number to me.
Additionally, please provide this letter to the company for whom you are collecting so that they have notice of my dispute.
Please inform any credit reporting agencies to which you have reported this debt to that this debt is currently in dispute. I will require proof that you have done this.
You are also required to cease and desist from contacting me in this and any related matters unless it is by United States Mail, and only for the purpose of informing me that you are
terminating all efforts to collect or that you are taking specific court of legal action.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to forward Mr. *****'s information regarding his concerns pertaining to an account he has with Coast to Coast Renewal Inc.
I have reviewed our files, which indicate that Mr. ***** was contacted by a representative from our sales division and agreed to purchase this magazine service on March 24, 2014. The details of the subscription agreement were presented at length both verbally and in writing. Mr. ***** was given many opportunities during the sales and tape-recorded verification process to ask questions or decline the service. With Mr. *****'s continued acceptance, his final service agreement confirmation letter was sent the following day. The letter restated the magazine titles, the number of issues for each magazine, his monthly payment plan, and the total sales price.
In October of 2014 Mr. *****'s credit card went into a decline status. On October 14th, Mr. ***** spoke with a representative from our billing department and at this time Mr. ***** stated that he was having financial issues and could not bring his account current. Our representative notated his account and advised Mr. ***** that he may receive more calls of the same nature until the matter was resolved. Our records further indicate that Mr. ***** called back later that day and asked to speak with the same representative that he spoke with earlier and was told he was at lunch as would be back soon. Mr. ***** said he would call back later when this representative was back in the office. This was the last contact we have had with Mr. ***** until now.
Please be advised that upon receipt of this complaint, Mr. *****'s account reference number XXXXXXX was canceled and the remaining balance relinquished. Be assured that Mr. ***** has no further financial obligation to our company and we will not contact him again.
Sincerely,
****** *******
Customer Support Supervisor



01/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They began double billing me. They refused to correct it. I cut off payments and now they brought in a recovery service.
In 2012 I signed up for a 5-magazine subscription with Coast to Coast Renewal. They were using another name at the time, National Magazine Service I think. I agreed to be charged 39.97 per month for the subscriptions.

Everything went according to plan until 2013, when they began double billing me and sending me magazines seemingly at random, not 5 per month and not the titles I had picked. I noticed this when my ***** ***** credit card statement showed two payments to Magazine Renewal instead of one. When I called them, they refused to correct the double billing when I contacted them and said I had signed up for 2 subscription packages instead of 1. They also told me I could not cancel my subscription without paying the full amount due over 36 months on both accounts.

I instructed ***** ***** to change my credit card number and stop all payments to Coast to Coast, which they did.

Then this week 12/18, I received 2 pieces of mail from the Interstate Recovery Service Inc saying they had received my account from the original creditor and were demanding payment in full.

The account numbers with Interstate Renewal Service are XXXXXX and XXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I want Coast to Coast to leave me alone. I want either Coast to Coast or Interstate Recovery Service to make sure this matter does not impact my credit rating. And I want to stop receiving magazines. I want the problem to go away.

I do NOT want any money damages. Until the double billing started, I was getting what I paid for and I do not need my money back. Because Wells Fargo stopped payments, I don't need to recover any money from double billing.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to forward Mr. **'s information regarding his subscription service with Coast to Coast Renewal, Inc. We wish to expediently resolve this matter; however, the information we have on file differs from the information Mr. ** provided in his complaint to your office. Specifically, the date his account started, the amount of his monthly payment, and contact or dialogue he has had with our office after the time of sale. Please be advised that the following information was taken from Mr. **'s Coast to Coast Renewal account.
I have reviewed our files, which indicate that Mr. ** was contacted by a representative from our sales division and agreed to purchase this service on September 11, 2013. The details of the subscription agreement were presented at length both verbally and in writing. Mr. ** was given many opportunities during the sales and tape-recorded verification process to ask questions or decline the service. Instead he agreed to the terms and conditions and agreed to complete his payments. With his continued acceptance, his final service agreement confirmation letter was sent the following day. The letter restated the magazine titles, the number of issues for each magazine, his monthly payment plan, and the total sales price.
Our customer service records do not show that we have had any contact with Mr. ** since the time of sale. This includes any calls initiated by Mr. ** or anyone else on behalf of his account. There aren't any notations concerning the "double billing" issue or any requests for cancellation. Furthermore, Mr. **'s order called for payments of 29.90 a month not 39.97 and began in September of 2013. This leads me to believe that perhaps Mr. ** has entered into another subscription agreement with another company in which we have no affiliation.
It is certainly not our intention to continue a service unwanted by Mr. **; accordingly, his account with Coast to Coast Renewal has been removed from the recovery service and canceled. Mr. ** has no further financial obligation to our company as the remaining balance has been relinquished and will not impact his credit rating.
Sincerely,
****** *******
Customer Support Supervisor


01/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is not the original company I talked to. I asked for my original recording and was told they weren't dealing with my account anymore.
This company called me and said I had to extend a contract with them and they are now billing me every month and calling everyday. I signed up with Edison Publishing almost 3 years to receive magazines. I was told I would pay every two months for 60 months. and I was promised a $100 Walmart gift card. I never received the gift card and was charged every month. I recently received a phone call from two different companies saying I needed to renew my subscription for another 2.5 years. The first company was National Magazine Services and then Coast to Coast. When I talked to the lady from Coast to Coast and requested my original recording I was told that they don't deal with my original account. I was forced to change my magazines from what I originally requested because I was told they could no longer get me the subscription I signed up for. This has been a scam from day one and I have already spent over $1000. I was promised paperwork in the mail after I spoke with National Magazine Service and never received anything. I will not answer my phone or speak with anyone from this company because they manipulate you and record everything to try and screw you later. The payments I have been chared have been around $30 per month.

Desired Settlement
As of right now I do not want a settlement or any money back. I just want the harassing phone calls to stop. If this does not happen I will take further action to get back the money that has been taken from me due to the fact that I did not receive the original incentive I was promised, the magazines I was promised are not the ones I received and I have not received my original recording. If I continue to get harassed I will proceed to file with the State Attorney General and the Federal Trade Commission. This has been a huge scam and I want it to stop.

Business Response
Re: Complaint # XXXXXXXX, ****** ******
Dear Sir/ Madam:
Thank you for taking the time to forward Mr. ******'s information regarding his subscription service with Coast to Coast Renewal, Inc. For clarification, the following information pertains only to Mr. ******'s service with Coast to Coast Renewal. We cannot speak to any account Mr. ****** may have with any other company including National Magazine Services.
I have reviewed our files which indicate that Mr. ****** was contacted by our sales division and agreed to purchase this magazine service on April 24, 2014. The details of the subscription agreement were presented at length both verbally and in writing. With Mr. ******'s continued acceptance his final service agreement confirmation letter was sent the following day. The letter restated the magazine titles, the number of issues for each magazine, and the total sales price.
Our records further indicate that on September 2, 2014 Mr. ****** contacted our customer service department and requested to hear the verification recording from his original magazine company. He was advised that we would not have that in our office as we are not the same company; we only handle his renewal service account. By the same token we are not able to speak to any incentives or billing issues with respect to his original service account.
We pride ourselves on our commitment to customer service and satisfaction. Although we are not able to rectify Mr. ******'s concerns on his original account; we certainly hope to on his renewal account with us. Please be advised that Mr. ******'s Coast to Coast Renewal account reference number XXXXXXXX has been canceled and the remaining balance relinquished. In addition, a full refund has been issued back to Mr. ******'s credit card totaling $209.30. Please allow up to seven business days for the monies to post back to his account. Furthermore, Mr. ****** has been added to our "Do Not Call" list for future promotions so we will not contact him again. It is our hope that our actions will meet to Mr. ******'s satisfaction.
Very Truly Yours,
****** *******
Customer Support Supervisor


Page 1 of 12
01/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Magazine Sales by Telephone

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.