BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In North Alabama

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/21/1982

Huntsville Hospital

Phone: (256) 265-1000Fax: (256) 265-2834

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues8
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
05/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: I would like for you to understand that I am paying this bill under protest.
When I first received this bill, I called the billing office right away because I did not understand why L was charged anything for this hospital stay as l have Medicare and Tri-Care for Life Insurance. When I asked what the charges were for the billing office could not tell me so I requested a breakdown of the charges. When I received the breakdown of the charges in the mail I was to understand the charges were for "self medicating drugs". Now this was not my first stay at this hospital and I had never been charged for this before, so again I am confused.
"What self-medicating drugs"? had refused to take the insulin because it had taken me so long to get off this drug. I had my other medications with me. Their was a new drug which Dr. Smith had put me on (Brilinta) which I had not even filled at the pharmacy yet.
When i finally spoke with the business office, I was told that the charge was written up wrong and not to pay for it until the person at the business office checked into it and called me back. She thought it had something to do with the deductible from Medicare which Tri-Care should have picked up. never received a call from back from the business office.
I did get another cell from the billing office and l told them that they should check with the business office.

Now ifs in collection.
I'm very disappointed in your handling of this Whole matter and still don't think I should have to pay anything on this account.

Initial Business Response
I have reviewed the account. Self-Admin drugs according to Medicare are drugs normally prescribed and taken at home. Medicare and Tricare leave these medications as patient's responsibility when the meds are received during an Outpatient Visit. These are Medicare rules not Hospital rules. I will be glad contact Ms. ***** to explain and apologize for any short comings and missed opportunities to help. We should always ensure that the charges are understood. Thanks for letting me know how we can improve.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Huntsville Hospital did not update my insurance information.
I entered into Huntsville Hospital the night of June 21, 2009. I was in labor. I provided them with my driver's license and insurance card. Both were scanned in; however, no one updated my insurance information, as well as address of name, in their system. I say updated because in 2006, I had a baby at Huntsville Hospital. When I had the baby in 2006, I was not yet married; therefore, my last name and insurance information were different. In 2012, I was seen again. At that time, my insurance and contact information was updated. When the claim from 2009 was FINALLY filed, my insurance did not accept it because it was past the 3 year filing date.

Initial Business Response
I have attempted to respond with the information provided. I received two messages stating the email address is invalid. I would be glad to help, my number is 256.265.9578. Thank you

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have called the number provided by the business and I have not been able to reach anyone.

Final Business Response
I spoke with Mrs. ********* on yesterday. I am working to resolve her issue. We will speak again on Friday.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received a letter from Ms. ***** stating I do not owe anything on the account due to an error with Huntsville Hospital system. Therefore, she has contacted the collection agency with my account and told them to cease and desist.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Failure to correct collection error.
on 8/02/2012 I had blood lab work done at huntsville hospital. The incorrect "code" was used and i was over billed. on 11/2/2012 "Jada" (huntsville hospital) said she would fax form to my physican (Dr Iqbal Saeed) to change the code. I was billed $140.56 when it should have been $33.00. on 11/12/2012 8:55am "Lynette" said normally doctor's offices has forms, but she would send information over to update and get quicker response to fax code for change. on 12/4/2012 2:51pm "Sophis" sent information to "Anna" her supervisor (issue # XXXXXX) to correct problem. It has not been corrected to date. 2/12/2013 I recieved a collection letter from "Uptain Group, 4811C Bradford Dr. XXXXX, Huntsville, alabama, XXX XXX-XXXX please help.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@hhsys.org
I have researched the complaint and contacted BC to understand the patient's benefits and deductibles. I have communicated all the findings to Ms. ******, she was satisfied with the outcome.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/21/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: (view complaint letter at website) BBB summary: The consumer alleges he made arrangements with HH to pay $25.00 per month on his bill. He recently was shown that this bill was added to his credit report.

Business' Initial Response
This is the normal process for accounts with our facility. For the amount of the account there is a minimum payment requirement of $225.00 or a lesser short term option of $112.50. I have spoken with Mr.***** to explain our process. I have sent our financial assistant application for him to complete, maybe we can help with his balance. Mr.***** seemed settled with our conversation.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
09/26/2012Billing / Collection Issues
09/13/2012Billing / Collection Issues
08/17/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hospitals, Health & Medical - General, Physicians - Specialists, Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D., Laboratories - Medical

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.