BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

AVEnthusiast

(256) 882-5081View Additional Phone Numbers15141 Lakeside Trl SW, HuntsvilleAL 35803-4806http://av-enthusiast.com/View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

AVEnthusiast is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AVEnthusiast's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AVEnthusiast

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services were 1 month late. Charged for services that were also paid by a third party. Charged $1,200 over estimate. Sold used equipment as new.
Service never completed to as agreed. Charged me to hang jukebox while charging the owner for same service. sold used speakers as new. these speakers are no longer functional. These speakers are supposed to only be 10 months old. Told AVE owner about problems in september. Paid invoice but never had the problem solved. Emailed again 4/29/15. Recieved a not my problem and god bless instead of service.

Desired Settlement
I only want the problems that I still have with my sound system solved. I do not feel that AVE will do this. I do want other people to know that they do a sub par job and will not stand behind their work. They charged the most and then added to total afterwards. They were paid but never completed work.

Business Response
Response to "1 month late": When AVE got on the job the first day we saw that the work ********* was paying for wouldn't make the system "right". So AVE sat down with ********* and told them AVE would start from scratch which would add a LOT of time & AVE would do this at no extra charge. But this will add to the original timeline of 1 week. However we were still finished BEFORE ********* opened.

Response to "Charged for services that were also paid by a third party.": We never double charged. I have invoices I can show you what we charged for. We never charged a penny more for labor than what was originally agreed to although we spent about 2 weeks of additional man hours on-site.

Response to "Charged $1,200 over estimate": The only items AVE charged additional for are items ********* told AVE to charge for. They were items as we worked on the existing system AVE found bad. It was only an additional $285. Again, AVE has ALL invoices & estimates that we will gladly show anyone.

Response to "Sold used equipment as new": ********* needed outdoor bracket speakers ASAP. The only speakers of that kind that AVE had in stock were in-store (meaning kept inside) demo speakers. Complete with FULL manufacturers warranty because they had NEVER been SOLD.

Response to "Service never completed to as agreed": Not only did we complete to as agreed, but we went WAY ABOVE & BEYOND what was agreed.

Response to "Charged me to hang jukebox while charging the owner for same service.": We never double charged. I have invoices I can show you what we charged for. We never charged a penny more for labor than what was originally agreed to although we spent about 2 weeks of additional man hours on-site.

Response to, "Told AVE owner about problems in september. Paid invoice but never had the problem solved.": The job was complete. AVE had invoiced ********* through email & in person several times. ********* NEVER said anything about something not being complete. They told 2) AVE employees that they couldn't find the invoices. The AVE employee handed ********* owner an invoice and he said he would pay it. A couple weeks go by. AVE's owner took his wife to eat at ********* just to get something to eat and before they could get seated ********* owner ushered AVE's owner to the side and said, "I have the money to pay you I just can't find the invoice. So send me the invoice and I'll pay you.", AVE's owner said, "Ok, but I'm just here to eat not discuss an invoice." About a week later AVE called ********* from a different number and FINALLY they picked up. ********* said they would come by AVE 'tomorrow morning' to pay the invoice. AVE asked for a close approximate time he would be here, and when pressed he got ****** and hung up. He came storming in AVE's door about 20-30 minutes later wrote a check and started speaking very loudly about questions he had. I told him at that time if there are any issues AVE would be MORE THAN HAPPY to go out and address them. He said no don't worry about it, he would have someone else do it.

Response to, "Emailed again 4/29/15. Recieved a not my problem and god bless instead of service.": This is a direct copy and paste of the email between ********* and AVE.

From ********* owner: "what are the chances that you come out and fix the ****** used speakers that you sold to JD.. They cut in and out and handle almost no volume without sounding bad. It is the least you can do since you charged me to install and also took money from JD for the same thing. Double charging the customer is not the best thing to do. Please make this right.

From AVE owner: First I didn't double charge anyone. Second they were not used. Third, if you want someone to do something for you, you don't start out by insulting them. I've spent plenty of my time that was not charged for out there.

God Bless,

From ********* owner: First off you charged me too put the juke box up. You accepted money for the same thing from JD. That is a double charge. Second, the patio has yet to work properly since we opened. When I told you, nothing was done. plenty of free work but at least a month late. The speakers came out of your office so that does make them used. It also does not negate the fact that they are blown and cut in and out. Never mind, I will find some one who stands behind their work. Please remember that I paid for the extra work that was not done in a timely manner. God bless to you and live with yourself. dont worry, I will not bother you again. The BBB can sort all of this out.

After that email from them, I stopped communicating directly with them. And just to respond to some of the items in that last email:
The first item has been addressed in a earlier response.

Second item: The patio needed a amp for itself. ********* did not have the money for another amp. So AVE provided them a FREE used receiver. Sometimes that FREE receiver would go into the incorrect sound mode. I showed ********* SEVERAL times which button to press to correct it. So yes, it was addressed, SEVERAL times with NO CHARGE to drive out there and press a button for them.

Third: The speakers worked when sold to them and they worked the last time AVE was out there. Who knows what someone has done to them in 10 months.

Fourth: They NEVER paid for ANY EXTRA WORK! I have ALL estimates and invoices and will be MORE than GLAD to show ANYONE.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The job was to take 2 days. It took over 2 months. Workers would arrive late and leave early without notice. I was told they went to other jobs that paid more. Invoice shows what the job was to be and I paid.it. The owner of the jukebox also paid to have the job done. I never got the receipt for the speakers nor the warranty. They did not even come in a box. The work still is not complete since the jukebox does not work properly. When told about the problem I was told I was wrong. Still do have a properly working system nor will they stand by their word and do it right.

Final Business Response
Response to, "The job was to take 2 days. It took over 2 months. Workers would arrive late and leave early without notice. I was told they went to other jobs that paid more.": The first estimate sent to ********* was to fully rebuild the system. The owner of ********* could not afford to do that work. So AVE did a second estimate just to do the little bit of work ********* could afford. Once AVE got on-site and really got into it they soon realized the system would not operate without being fully rebuilt. So the owner of AVE sat down with the owner of ********* and told him we will rebuild the system for no extra charge, but to do this we would have to perform other jobs and work him in when we could but with the promise of having him running by the time ********* opened. Which AVE did.

Response to, "Invoice shows what the job was to be and I paid .it.": Yes, ********* eventually paid the invoice.

Response to, "The owner of the jukebox also paid to have the job done.": The owner of the Jukebox paid to have the Jukebox installed, that is it. ********* did NOT pay to have the Jukebox installed. AVE listed it on ********* final invoice just to state that AVE did not supply the jukebox.

Response to, "I never got the receipt for the speakers nor the warranty." The Jukebox company paid for the speakers, so they got the invoice. The manufacturer carries a warranty on those speakers to whom owns the speakers.

Response to, "They did not even come in a box.": The speakers did come in a box. AVE took them out of the boxes, installed them and disposed of the boxes.

Response to, "The work still is not complete since the jukebox does not work properly.": AVE installed the jukebox properly. It worked the entire time we were there. It also worked several times when I went there to eat, because people were using it. If it has stopped working, it is NOT AVE's. It is owned and operated by JD Amusement, in which we installed it for that company because they had no clue how to install it and they asked AVE to install it the first day we were on the job site.

Response to, "When told about the problem I was told I was wrong.": When he came in to pay his final invoice was the first time I heard about the jukebox not working. At that time I said it was working before, it is not my jukebox but I'll go look at it. He said no don't.

Response to, "Still do have a properly working system nor will they stand by their word and do it right.": First of all, for me to respond to this I have to assume he meant something other than how it is worded. The system was working properly when we left and for atleast 1 month after we completed the work. That was roughly the last time I was in there. Also, 95% of the equipment in the system was supplied by them. One piece that came from AVE that was used to power the patio was given to them FREE. AVE had been out there atleast 3 times to show them what button to press if the speakers were not on or were playing at a low volume.

This whole thing is stemming from the owner of ********* getting mad because after him ditching my phone calls, emails and texts once I finally got ahold of him he wouldn't give me even a rough time of day that he would come by to pay his bill. After I kept pressing for a day and time that is when he got ****** off.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Theater, Television Sys & Equipment - Closed Circuit, Automation Systems & Equipment, Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Home Electronics - Designers, Home Electronics, Automation Consultants, Sound Systems & Equipment, Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers, Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service, Telephone & Television Cable Contractors, Home Automation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/11/2009Business started: 05/29/2009
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Douglas (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Home Theater, Television Sys & Equipment - Closed Circuit, Automation Systems & Equipment, Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Home Electronics - Designers, Home Electronics, Automation Consultants, Sound Systems & Equipment, Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers, Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service, Telephone & Television Cable Contractors, Home Automation

Products & Services

This company offers home theatre equipment, wiring and installation, distributed audio (home music, digital signage, phone,cable & internet wiring, boardroom and church installations. They also provide retail sales of audio/video equipment and cabling.

Alternate Business Names
Audio Video Enthusiast

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AVEnthusiast

15141 Lakeside Trl SW

Huntsville, AL 35803-4806

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 15141 Lakeside Trl SW 

    Huntsville, AL 35803-4806(256) 882-5081
    (256) 655-8139

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AVEnthusiast is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (256) 655-8139
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.audiovideoenthusiast.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Home Theater

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.