BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/28/2008

Fuller Construction Company

(256) 303-5582View Additional Phone Numbers4885 County Road 150, Town CreekAL 35672-5235 Send email to Fuller Construction Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/28/2008

BBB has determined that Fuller Construction Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fuller Construction Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fuller Construction Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Comment: I recently had some work done at my house by Fuller Construction. The fact that they were registered with the BBB and had no complaints about their work was a significant deciding factor to have them do the job. Sadly, Fuller Construction did a horrible job. I ended up having to remove the flooring down to the floor joists and build it back up. This is what I hired them for! Pasted below is my recount of all the issues they left behind: --------------- I made a list of things that need to be fixed because of Fuller's incomplete job on the bathroom and kitchen. I'm not sure if they consider themselves done or not. When asked "where is the toe molding for under the kitchen cabinet?" they answered, "it's on the front porch." Does that mean that they intend to come back and finish that? They have not contacted us to say that they are going to finish the job. Let's assume that they are done (since I never heard from them again). My observations: * It's clear that they do not know the correct way to score and cut vinyl tile. Some pieces were cut so badly (wavy freehand cut) that they will have to be replaced or patched. * The toilet leak wasn't fixed properly. That's my bad. But, they should have refused to work until that was properly fixed. Replacing the seals and charging ahead with putting the new tile down was not right. The old, wet linoleum must be removed in all cases like this. The moisture will leach up through the new floor and damage the tile within 6 months (My family members have been in the construction business for over 100 years and I have seen the damage this causes. It's the quickest way to destroy a new floor. If my family wasn't five to seven hours away, I would have them come and do the work). At least 9 new floor tiles had to be discarded because water had already accumulated between them and the old floor THE SAME DAY that they "finished" the job! * Construction waste left on the front porch. I will have to haul that away. * I bought more than enough PVC pipe to move the plumbing. I had intended on returning the extra to Lowe's. Where did the excess go? Did they take it? Was there none left? I have not inspected the work under the house, so perhaps it's obvious where it all went. (Having inspected it now... There is no evidence of left over piping) * I bought a sack of PVC elbows because I could not buy them individually. They should have only needed about 6 to run the hot and cold lines. Where did the rest of them go? There must be around 40 left. * I covered the bathroom window with a cotton twin sheet at the end of day 1, it was new and from target for use as a photo backdrop to list items for sale, cost about $5 to $6. They left two paint stained sheets that may suffice to replace it, but it's not the same. They also left an extension cord and a 5 gallon Lowe's bucket. I will apply the value of these items to my "inconvenience fee" that I charge them and report to the BBB. * Joint compound was dried and caked up on the light switch and outlet in the bathroom. I had to remove that material and put the switch cover on. Why did they not do this? * Hole in the bathroom floor was poorly filled and covered with a floor tile. I may be able to level it out over the weekend with leveling compound and a belt sander. I will probably have to replace about 3 or 4 new tiles. * Toe molding on long wall in the bathroom was attached, but not caulked or painted over. * Molding around window was removed and replaced for no reason. That wasn't part of the job and I have no idea why that was done. I will remove the new material around the window, fix the wall to the left where a gap has been, repaint, and put THE OLD WINDOW MOLDING back on (Lead paint and all). If the material is too damaged from being left on the front porch or was damaged from removal, I will have to leave the new wood in place even though I don't like it. (The wood was badly damaged and split from removal. At 60 plus years old, you can't find wood like that anymore. It's sad to lose the character that the old wood had.) * Blinds were not put back in bathroom window. (5-minute fix, but why was this not done to complete the job)

Desired Settlement
At this point, there is no resolution that Fuller could possibly do. I worked two long days to repair what I hired them to do. I can do this work, I just don't have the time. All the more reason that I'm so frustrated that not only did I hire them for the job, they botched it, never came back to finish the job even after we called them, and I spent my own time doing it anyway.

Okay, they could pay me back for the two days work at my rate which would total $1006. Nothing short of that will suffice.

Business Response
I am sorry you where not happy with the work we done for you. But we did it the way we talked about. It was a old bathroom, unlevel, not square, reworked 80+ year old, and you knew it was not going to be perfect. We both talk about putting vinyl over the old you said "OK". There was 2 or 3 drops of pvc pipe maybe five foot in all. We changed the window trim to match door trim. I am sorry this did not workout the way you had thought, wish you would had called me if you was unhappy with our work.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am obligated to correct Fuller's response. We did call to let them know that we were not satisfied with the work. Their response was "if it really bothers you, we can come back." What bothers me more is that after hearing the list of complaints, there was no effort made to clean up or put the remaining quarter round under the cabinets. I also maintain that several PVC couplings and elbows that I purchased were never used and were taken by Fuller.

In the hopes that a future customer will benefit from my complaint here, potential customers need to know that at best Fuller is a laborer. There is no skill or craftsmanship shown in their work, and certainly no attention to detail.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements, Handyman Services, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Garage Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/30/2008Business started: 03/18/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that requires a license from the Alabama Homebuilders Licensure Board for contracts that exceed $10,000.

Any contractor who disturbs more than 6 sq.ft. on any home built before 1978 it must be tested for lead and lead safe work practices performed by a lead safe renovator if Lead is found. ONLY a Lead Safe Renovator can do the required testing and supervise the work. You have to be tested and registered as a lead safe renovator by the State.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Fuller (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Home Improvements, Handyman Services, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Garage Builders

Products & Services

This company offers home remodeling & construction services including additions, garages, porches & decks and vinyl siding.

Industry Tips
Hiring A Licensed Contractor
HOME REMODELING CONTRACTORS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fuller Construction Company

4885 County Road 150

Town Creek, AL 35672-5235

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4885 County Road 150 

    Town Creek, AL 35672-5235(256) 303-5582
    (256) 685-9110

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fuller Construction Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (256) 685-9110
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.