BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/1983

Automobile Consumer Service Corporation

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 824-7059Fax: (256) 851-6828View Additional Phone Numbers2007 Poole Dr NW Ste D, HuntsvilleAL 35810-4900 Send email to Automobile Consumer Service Corporation

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/1983

BBB has determined that Automobile Consumer Service Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Automobile Consumer Service Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues15
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 21

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints concerning interpretation of what the warranty covers. A number of complaints involve documentation of maintenance as required by the warranty documents. A consumer is encouraged to fully review the warranty package upon receipt and contact the company with any questions about coverage. The company does offer a cancellation period of 30 days from the date that the package is received by the customer.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Automobile Consumer Service Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (21)
10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was underpaid.
The Gold Key Protection Plan contract between me and Automobile Consumer Service Corp (ACSC) was signed on May 20, 2011--Contract #XXX-XXXXXX. The first covered repair was July 30, 2013. ACSC paid for the repair on July 31. 2013, less a $100 deductible. Repair provider was ***** ****** Chrysler of Albuquerque, NM, Invoice # XXXXX. The contract called for a $50 deductible, so I had been shorted $50. I called ACSC from the repair shop and spoke to Mr. ******* ******* who said that ACSC would send me a check for $50 if I would fax the contract to XXX-XXX-XXXX. Instead of faxing I e-mailed the contract to Mr. ******* with a copy to ACSC Claims Director ***** ********
By August 20 I had not been paid so I sent a follow-up e-mail to ****** ****** and ******** Mr. ****** responded the same day that the claim had been processed July 31, check #XXXXX. The check had not arrived by August 29 so I sent a 3rd e-mail to Messrs ******* and ******* asking when I would be paid. They have not responded.
ACSC and I have a contract, and I have held up my end. One can imagine what would have happened had I held $50 out of any of my contract payments; ACSC would have cancelled the contract in a heartbeat. All I want if for ACSC to hold up its end but it hasn't, even after three requests. This affair has put me to way more than $50 worth of trouble, but a deal is a deal.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the $50 that the company owes me.

Business Response
I spoke with Mr. ****** today about the issue with the $50.00 that he was expecting from ACSC.
There was a check issued and sent to him on July 31, 2013. Our accounts payable clerk has checked with our bank and verified that the check was never cashed.
We are issuing another check and mailing it today to him.He should receive the check in 7 to 10 days.
I am sending a copy of the check that was sent in July to the BBB to show that it was sent. I have to assume that this check was not delivered due to consequences beyond our control.
We are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused.

07/12/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
First the run-around, then denial of reinstatement!
Two years ago I purchased a warranty with ACSC. I initially gave them $195.00 towards the $2500.00 contract. For two years the money was paid faithful and on time because payments were being automatically debited from my account. I never recieved notification from ACSC that payments were not being made. No call, no letter in the mail, nothing! I contacted MEPCO, ACSC's financing company, and they informed that charges were not being made to my account because my visa card expired. From then on, I faithfully made the payments myself. I got down to the last and final payment of $100.00 when I began experiencing a financial hardship. I contacted MEPCO and ACSC. MEPCO told me to contact ACSC to get the contract reinstated. At the time I was still within my 30 day reinstatement window. When I did, a man name ***** ******* told me to have MEPCO contact him stating it was ok to receive my payment. When I contacted MEPCO, they referred me back to ACSC telling me to have someone contact them stating it was ok to recieve my payment. These people gave me the run-around. I tried reinstating my contract for the whole month in order to give them my last payment of $100.00. When the two companies finally corresponded with each other, ***** ******** the guy who kept sending me back and forth, denies my reinstatement!!! What kind of business is this? I personally feel he purposely ignored my attempts to make my payment. He kept giving false information on how to rectify my situation. By then, all ***** ******** Automobile Consumer Service Corporation could offer me was a denial. I asked him how could they do loyal comsumers like that? ASCS are rip offs, they only want your money where they will later find ways to blind you out of your contract and never have to live up to their financial responsibility. I never even got the chance to use any of my benefits of the contract. :-(

Desired Settlement
I would like either, to pay my final payment and follow through with my contract or receive a refund/compensation for the money that I have already paid.

Business' Initial Response
Before I can research this complaint any further I will need to get a contract number from the Ms. ******.
Our data base only shows one contract under the name of ********* ****** but the address on that contract is in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida and not in Mississippi.
If Ms. ****** could provide me with this information I will be glad to try and help her.

Consumer's Final Response
Please contact me @ ************

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept this proposed resolution because it was one of the two resolutions that I felt comfortable with receiving. I get to keep my contract and my vehicle remains covered. I truly appreciate the quick response and effort that went into helping me with my situation from the BBB and importantly, ACSC. At this moment I am satisfied with the outcome.

04/01/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company refuses to take care of my car repair so I have paid out of pocket to get the car fixed.They are a brokerage company for vehicle assurance
I purchased vehicle assurance on 5/27/2011 and spoke to phone Sales Rep: Shari Smith-Fain because my warranty went out on my car. I was advised by the Sales rep that this was a really good company, they will fix anything, and they have good reviews. I purchased this and agreed to installment payments that now are paid off. I purchased this knowing that my car does not have that many miles on it and that if anything comes up I can rely on them to take care of the repair problem. I always take good care of my car, bout new with approx only 57,000 miles on it PAID. I only drive it to work and back. This is my only vehicle of transportation. I always take it to Five star ford dealership in Carrollton, TX to fix my vehicle for any repairs and maintenance on the car if anything happens. On 3/1/13 I noticed my car was leaking very little oil from the back end and that's when I took my car in to Five star ford to take a look at it. They advised it is due to the pinon seal and flange due to leaking. So I only used this vehicle assurance once to fix the problem for that and they covered for it. I paid the deductible for $100 on 3/4/2013. Now, 2 weeks later I drive out of the drive way from my house to get to work and it makes a clunk noise when I reverse it. I get scared so I have the wrecker tow it to the dealership since. This was on Thursday, 3/14/13. The shop contacts me on Friday 3/15/13 to let me know what caused the issue for the clunk noise on my car. They say they would need to take everything out of the back end the barrings and even the pinon seal that was replaced by vehicle assurance that would all need to be taken out and replaced. Dewey, in Ford Service advised me he would need to wait on vehicle assurance to have an inspector come out to look at it and take pictures of the car. A tech. FINALLY comes out on Monday 3/18/13 to check the car and take pictures of it. I called Ford service and Dewey advised me they are waiting on a fax or a call from them to let him know if they approved to fix the repair or not and when he gets contact from them he will let me know. Dewey in Ford service contacts me 3/19/13 and advised that vehicle assurance(gold key) does not want to fix the repair. I get the estimated cost to fix it at my own cost from the shop and they advised it would be approx. $1500, which also doesn't include the labor the mechanics did to take it apart. I call the claims# on my card, I get a voicemail for a supervisor on 3/19/13, furious I left 2 messages with my name and phone number advised them to contact me back the same day. The third time I called I got customer service that couldn't assist me because I needed to speak to a supervisor, giving me the run around and that I am a gold member. They said to call back tomorrow but they could open my file up and tell me why they denied my claim so they read it out to me and said it was "Due to continued operation from failer to the pinon seal." I was furious why they would not pay for the service that they had done for my car for that pinon seal that they paid for. I did not receive a call that day, and I ended up calling again, not to mention this was all during my own work time on the job, the next day 3/20/13. I spoke to a guy named Randal, and I asked him why they did not return my call the same day my car is in the shop still waiting to be worked on. He says "oh I was out yesterday", really and that is the only supervisor? He had a I don't care attitude. So he did not think the company should pay due to the terms of the contract and said the reason was because of lack of lubrication from the pinon seal. I asked him is it the mechanics fault for that? I just got that replaced by the company you all covered for it! He said "no it is not the mechanics fault" basically they don't know, couldnt help me. They are just getting me for my money. They do not want to help the customer for the repairs. My Contract#GKPNXXXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the price I paid to get my car repaired at the shop.
I also received a call from vehicle assurance today 3/22/13 who advised me that I purchased through them as a Gold Key member and they go through a company called Gold Key Warranty Automobile Consumer Corporation. They are a brokerage. They are the ones who approve the claims. That I still dont understand if it says Gold Key on the side of their website. My card says vehicle assurance, so they go through this company. Still does not make sense to me, vehicle assurance website needs to state this and it clearly does not and I was not even told when I purchased, they advised me to check my paperwork which it does state Gold Key, so now I have to submit another complaint through the correct company, reference this with bbb complaint I submitted for this id#XXXXXXX. If they work together then they still need to follow what the website says for vehicle assurance, work with the customer here!:

They need to own up to their guarantee mission statement that is stated on vehicle assurance website:
"Our Mission: "At Vehicle Assurance, we are committed
to helping everyday people handle their
unexpected automotive repair bills.
We know there will be thousands of automotive
breakdowns every single day so it has become
our Pledge to provide a service that not only
pays those bills, but also provides
a Peace of Mind before they happen."

I am a customer for this company and they are not living up to their statement for Customer Satisfaction on their website:

"customer satisfaction, and keeping our customers on the road, is our top priority. With thousands of satisfied customers on the road today, Vehicle Assurance provides the level of vehicle protection and service you demand."

Apparently keeping me on the road is not top priority. It is not my fault that this has happen I maintain my vehicle I take good care of it. I feel that I should not have to pay this to get the car fixed. This should be on the company to fix it, vehicle assurance got it fixed the first time because it failed. So why didn't you cover it for the same issue when I took it in the second time? I did my part. This car is the only thing I have to drive around. I need my car as I am writing this it is in the shop now. So at this point, I'm tired of the waiting around right now to see who's going to pay so I am going to have to pay out of my own pocket to get this repaired by the dealership at this time I need to drive my own car and I hate not having to drive around and get to places in my own vehicle. There are a lot of things about this company that is misleading to customers. I will not use any service from this company again and I will start looking elsewhere to put my hard working incoming money to that can actually be there for me to fix my car problems and not leave me stranded which is what this company does. I will get service from another company and I will make sure to put in a bad word about this company for other people to warn them to not put in their hard working income toward this and for what they have done for my situation. I myself work in customer service and in the end the customer is always right, this company did not go above and beyond to help me. I hope someone can get to this matter resolved because I do not want to feel that this is just a waste of my time and effort.

Business' Initial Response
I was not able to pull Ms. ******'s contract up in our data base by just using her name. If she will provide me with a contract number or a vehicle identification number I will be glad to follow up on this complaint.

Consumer's Final Response
I put this in the complaint contract # GKPNXXXXXXXXX

Business' Final Response
We have reopened and re evaluated the claim for Ms. ******.
We have contacted the shop and they have indicated that the vehicle has already been repaired and paid for.
If Ms. ****** will mail,fax or email a copy of the invoice to me I will submit it for payment.
My direct fax number is XXX-XXX-XXXX or email it to me at *****@goldkeywarranty.net. Should you need to speak with me for any reason please feel free to call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext:228.
I am very sorry for the confusion with this claim and any problems that may have occurred. The adjuster was simply going by the determination of the inspector that looked at the vehicle when it was in the shop.

12/30/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mixed messages as to why the bill wasn't being paid so I could collect my vehicle. Also refusing to pay a portion that should have been covered.
November 20, 2015 at 11:13, ******* & ******** ****** Lexington Kentucky performed work on my 2007 Jeep Liberty. ******* called Automobile Consumer Service Corporation to get a breakdown on what would be paid and how the the bill would be paid. I as well as ******* was in disagreement with what Automobile Consumer was agreeing to pay, however I needed my vehicle so I told ******* to go ahead with the repair. The vehicle was repaired at 3:02 the same day. Afterward ******* called for payment on there part of the bill. Automobile Consumer then implied they needed a paid invoice. I asked as well as ******* how do you get a paid invoice on a bill that has not been paid? ******* explained that they could send a break down of the invoice for what needed to be done and what the cost would be for Automobile Consumer as well as the customer. The information was faxed and phone calls made in between at least 10 times, maybe more. We continued to go back and forth for 4 days with my vehicle sitting on the lot repaired ready for pickup for 4 days. November the 24th ******* and myself made several more calls to see why they still were not giving their credit card information so that the bill could be paid, Automobile consumer is still saying that they needed a paid invoice. I said look I cant get a paid invoice until the bill is paid. I have my part I need for you all to pay your part. They continued to refuse. I then paid the entire bill out of pocket because I needed my vehicle and Automobile consumer stated that they would reimburse their part of the bill when we faxed the paid invoice. The invoice was faxed. I then waited almost a week and made a call to Automobile Consumer to see if the check has been mailed, the check had not been mailed because their still requesting a paid invoice. I then on November 30th went back to ******* and requested they fax the invoice again and waited on the phone with ***** until he said he got the fax. Doing this entire process I dealt with 3 people at Automobile Consumer...Jimmy, ***** and I forget the other gentlemens name who threatened to hang up on me because I was getting angry. I finally received their part of the bill December 7, 2015. At this point All I want to do is cancel my contract with Automobile Consumer and receive my money back. I cant think of any business that's going to send a paid invoice before the bill is paid and I cant pay out of pocket every time and wait for Automobile Consumer to send me a refund on a $2000.00 contract that I paid November 13, 2012. I feel this is bad business and I would never refer Automobile Consumer to anyone.

Desired Settlement
Cancellation of the contract and a refund on my money due to horrible business. I cant pay their part and my part too when my part has already been paid. I shouldn't have to pay on a contract that's paid and wait for the business to refund my money I have no need for the warranty if I still have to pay On top of my deductible.

Business Response
The claim that this customer is referring to was called in by the shop on November 20, 2015. The shop was authorized to do the repair and was instructed to fax a copy of the final invoice before 3PM central time to ACSC and that we would pay for our portion of the repair by credit card the same day. This is normal procedure for claims payment by ACSC and is the way that we have paid claims for over 30 years. I do not know when the misunderstanding started between ACSC and the shop but the shop was told that we would pay them by credit card after receiving a final invoice after the work was completed. I spoke with the customer on November 30, 2015 concerning the claim and explained to her how we normally pay the shop by credit card and that I would look into the problem. I also asked her to fax me a copy of the invoice and that I would get it over to the claims department for payment. Not long after speaking to her I received a copy of the invoice and personally hand delivered it to the claims department. The claim was processed and a check was sent to the customer on December 1, 2015 for the amount that ACSC had agreed to pay for the repair. This customer has received and deposited the check that was sent to her. A copy of the cancelled check can be made available to the customer and the BBB if requested.
I see that this customer is also requesting that we cancel her contract and that she receive a refund.
To cancel her contract ACSC will need for her to send us a signed letter stating that she would like to cancel her contract and the reason why. She will also need to have her contract number. the vehicle id number and the current mileage written somewhere in the body of the letter. She can send this to: ACSC (Attention Cancellation Department)
2007 Poole Drive Suite A
Huntsville, Alabama 35810
Per the contract her refund will be determined on a pro rata basis considering the time that the contract has been in force and the mileage that is on the vehicle at the time of the cancellation.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In the original complaint I explained in detail the service that took place with this company, As I figured their response would be short to cover up the horrible business that I received. ACSC received a copy of the final invoice numerous times, yet ACSC continued to hold payment until they received a paid invoice. As I stated before I personally asked them how do you get a paid invoice before the bill is paid. ACSC had not not given the credit card number for the shop to be paid. As far as how long ACSC has been in business I don't care if they been in business for 50 years their service is unacceptable and I am not and will not be their last complaint. I personally will not recommend the business to anyone...Period.

I dont feel that the refund should be on a pro rata basis, the contract had never been used and the one time I attempt to use it the service was unspeakable. However
December 11, 2015

I ****** ****** no longer desire to do business with ACSC due to horrible business, ACSC changed the reasoning for not sending the payment so many times I felt like I was on a merry go round not to mention the employees are very rude. Not nearly as soft spoken when I first purchased the warranty on my 2007 Jeep Liberty, ID# 1J4GK48K27WXXXXXX and mileage XXXXX. The one time that I use the warranty for $192 no one would think it would be that hard for the company to pay. ACSC treated me like they were doing me a favor by paying the bill, in assent I was paying with my own money. No favor was necessary. I paid for ACSC to do service. I will also send a letter in the mail cancelling the contract. As the next story will be they never received this letter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can't say that I am satisfied with ACSC and the resolution until they receive my letter. We can go back and forth about this forever and still not be in agreement. ********** I don't care how long you've been in business and the good service as you say that you provided to other customers, I'm glad the others did not not get treated as I did. ***** your behind the desk defending the business and the service in no way happened as your employees and yourself are describing.They dropped the ball period. The guys are stating a lie, It's a complete lie. Yes I said complete lie. The invoice was faxed so many times I was upset that they had to keep faxing it. We'd call and they'd say yes they got it but they needed a paid invoice. I no exactly what they said because I talked to the guys personally. "Paid invoice" is what the guys stated (not finished invoice). If it wasn't a paid invoice they were asking for why did I have to pay out of pocket and wait for you guys to reimburse me? Having to fax the paid invoice twice before my reimbursement was released. Just stop the cover up. there is no excuse. You did bad business. Again you dropped the ball. ***** had you been been one of the people I talked with I would say you knew what you were talking about but you wasn't and again the guys are stating to you a complete lie.

Final Business Response
ACSC Sales Manager Mr. ***** ****** advised BBB there is not any money left in the contract fees to offer as a refund. The contract refund has a $50.00 cancellation fee and is prorated. No money was left to return to consumer.

10/19/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a vehicle transmission issue that required some dismantling of transmission and parts replacement. My service provider was told that there would be no coverage, as only internal partswere part of the warranty. There were internal parts replaced. My own calls were treated brusquely, and I was told the same: that only internal parts were covered by the warranty. I saw my vehicle in the air, and looked at the part replaced, recited the part number to a "claimsagent," and was told it wasn`t an internal part. Plainly, the part is quite internal. Said warranty contract was purchased on 10/27/2011, expires 10/28/2017. Service contract #:FGKSXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
This is a mechanical issue. The service provider of the warranty should cover the cost of the repair to my 2006 BMW 750 Li. vin#WBAHNXXXXXDTXXXXX. Additiional phone #`s XXX-XXX-XXXX.My auto clinician: Automotive Alternatives, Mr. **** ******** phone XXX XXX XXXX.Thanks very much.

Business Response
When this complaint was called in by the shop they stated that the problem was caused by a faulty electrically controlled switch inside the transmission pan. The contract states that the parts that are covered are only internal parts that require lubrication to operate. Since the part that had failed did not require lubrication to operate it was not covered by the contract and that is why the repair was denied.

10/14/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I PURCHASED A 60 MONTH OR 100,000 MILE WARRANTY ON MY 2004 DODGE RAM TRUCK ON 04/18/2011 FOR $3049.00. MY TRUCK AT THAT TIME HAD 146,202 MILES ON IT WITH A LEVELING KIT, COLD AIR INTAKE AND 1 SIZE OVER ON TIRES AND I WAS STILL SOLD THE WARRANTY. ON 08/17/15 THE TURBO CHARGER WENT OUT ON MY TRUCK AND I WAS TOLD THE WARRANTY HAD TO SEND AN INSPECTOR TO CHECK TRUCK. INSPECTOR AGREED THE TURBO WAS BAD, BUT WAS TOLD BY WARRANTY THAT THE CLAIM WAS VOID BECAUSE OF THE LEVELING KIT, OVER SIZED TIRES AN COLD AIR INTAKE. I HAD 210,369 MILES ON MY TRUCK AT THIS TIME. I FEEL THE WARRANTY CO. SHOULD HAVE ASKED ME AT THE TIME OF SALE IF I HAD ANY MODIFICATIONS TO MY TRUCK BEFORE THEY SOLD

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE A TOTAL REFUND OF $3049.00, FOR THE WARRANTY THAT I WAS SOLD TO ME FOR MY TRUCK THAT NEVER QUALIFIED FOR THIS WARRANTY IN THE FIRST PLACE.

Business Response
I spoke with this customer on September 11,2015. He stated at that time that he wanted to cancel his contract. I told him at that time that he needed to send a cancellation letter stating that he wanted to cancel his contract and that he would need to add to the body of the letter the current mileage on his vehicle, the vehicle identification number, the contract number, the reason for cancellation and his signature. He stated that he wanted all of his money back that he had paid for the contract. I explained that since he had purchased the contract in April of 2011 that it would not be possible to give him a full refund and that any refund at this time would be prorated per the contract. Under the contract header in his contract "How this contract may be cancelled, including refunds and charges" it specifically states that the Contract Holder may cancel this contract at any other time and receive a pro rata refund of the total contract purchase price based on the greater of the days in force or the miles driven compared to the total contract term, less the applicable contract cancellation fee.The cancellation fee for the contract would be $50.00. The only time that a customer would get a full refund is during the first 30 days of the contract.
He stated at that time that a pro rata refund was not acceptable and that he wanted a full refund.
We will only consider refunds that are within the guidelines of the contract.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I BELIEVE THEY SHOULD HAVE TOLD ME OVER THE PHONE WHEN THEY SOLD ME THE WARRANTY, THAT MY TRUCK COULDN'T HAVE ANY MODIFICATIONS INSTEAD THEY EXPLAINED THE WHOLE WARRANTY AND LEFT THAT PART OUT AND I THINK THAT PART IS DECEPTIVE. I AGREE I SHOULD HAVE READ THE WARRANTY CLOSELY WHEN IT ARRIVED, BUT HE TOLD ME EVERYTHING ELSE OVER THE PHONE. I COULD NOT HAVE USED THE WARRANTY FROM DAY ONE.

Final Business Response
The contract that this complainant purchased specifically outlines modifications in the definitions and exclusions (#15) sections of the contract.
I am aware that during the sales process that there are a lot of things are being talked about concerning the contract. Normally the agent will go over specific areas of the contract and ask if there are any questions and will answer any questions that the buyer may have. One of the questions that is normally asked in the sales process though is "Have there been any modifications to the vehicle". After the customer has agreed to buy the contract the agent will inform the customer that they should read their contract when they receive it and if they should have any question to call the agent back. The agent will also inform the buyer that he/she has a 30 day period in which they have the right to review the contract and if they wish can cancel the contract within that 30 period and receive a full refund.
After this customer received their contract I would have to assume that he/she reviewed it and was satisfied with it since they did not cancel it within the first 30 days and kept it in force for 4 years and 5 months.
Even though there were modifications to the vehicle in question(suspension lift kit,over sized tires and after market engine air induction system and filter) there are still some covered items within the contract that these modifications would not directly affect and that would still be covered.

10/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the gold key auto warranty that I purchased told my car dealership that it had been cancelled and they refused to cover my car expenses
I purchased the extended warranty for my mercedes benz 2006 suv in 2013 to cover my car up to 200000 miles. my car broke down on sept 5 and was taken to the dealership when they called the warranty company they told them my policy had been cancelled. when I called them tuesday sept 15th they said I had failed to make the last 2 payments and they had mailed me a letter in 2013 of oct that my policy had been cancelled. I never got a letter in the mail or any cancellation notificification from them. I paid them a total of around 3000 dollars for this policy. I had to pay out of pocket for my car repairs that should have been covered by this policy. when I called the company the man refused to help me or to speak to the manager of the company. my policy number is gkpteXXXXXXXX. please help me to get my money back from this fraud company.

Desired Settlement
refund from this fraud company and warning to future consumers

Business Response
I spoke with Ms. ******* on September 15th & 16th about this issue and explained that there wasn't anything that ACSC/Gold Key would be able to do to help her with this issue.
The issue that she had was that her vehicle was in the shop when she discovered that her contract with Gold Key had been cancelled due to non payment of premium.
Ms. ******* contacted me on September 15 and explained her situation and stated that at the time her contract was cancelled (October 19, 2014) that she was going through a divorce and did not realize that her automatic credit card payment had been rejected. She requested that ACSC to collect any back payments that she had missed and have her contract reinstated and pay for the repairs that needed to be made to her vehicle. I told her that I could not promise her anything at the time but that I would talk to the owner of ACSC/Gold Key and that I would get back to her. I called her the following day and explained to her that her contract stated that in the case of non payment of monthly payments that the contract would be cancelled without any refunds. I also explained that too much time had gone by for us to be able to collect any back payments and reinstate her contract.
She stated that she had never been notified that any payments had been missed and that her contract had been cancelled. I looked back in her file and found were a letter had been generated on October 20, 2014 and sent to her address stating that her contract had been cancelled for non payment. She asked me what address was the letter sent to and I gave her the address that was on the letter. She stated that is her current address and that she had never received the letter. I explained that we had followed procedure in this matter and that there was nothing more that I could do or that ACSC/Gold Key would do.
I am sending a copy of Ms. *******'s contract and a copy of the cancellation notification letter that was sent to Ms. ******* in October of last year. In the contract I would call your attention to page 5 under header "Cancellation If Financed" item #2 which states "In the event that your contract is cancelled for non-payment, no refund will be due.
Ms. Alteri has stated in her complaint that she wants a refund from this fraud company and wants the BBB to warn future customers.
In defense of ACSC/Gold Key we have been in business since 1978 and have been a member of the BBB in good standing with since March of 1983. We currently are an accredited business with an A+ rating with the BBB.
In MS. *******'s case we have honored her contract to the letter of the contract and while her contract was in force and in good standing we did pay a claim for the amount of $428.44 in February 2014. If we were a fraudulent company would we not have found a way out of that claim. Instead we paid the claim held true to our contract with her.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Gold Key company never sent me any cancellation letter or notification in the mail. Also I never got any decline on the auto deduction from my bank that it was declined in making the payment. When I called to speak to the manager there he stated he wasn't around and the next day he refused to let me speak with the manager of the company or give me his name. this is poor buisness practices. I paid around three thousand dollars for this fraud policy. when my car went in the shop recently the company would have had to pay $1200 dollar for the repairs and they didn't want to pay. I want my money back that I paid and was totally scammmed by this auto

Final Business Response
As I stated in my last rebuttal. We are following the contract as it was written and nothing more. There has been no fraud committed by ACSC. Our customers expect us to uphold our portion of the contract as it is written when in good standing and ACSC expects the same from the contract holder.
After receiving the credit card denial on 10/18/2014 we followed procedure and mailed out a cancellation notice to Ms. *******. Why she did not receive the letter I do not know. The following is a copy of the email stating that the transaction for credit card payment had failed.

Date: Sat, Oct 18, 2014 at 3:49 AM
Subject: ARB Subscription XXXXXXXX: Failed transaction
To:<***************@goldkeywarranty.net>


The current transaction for your ARB subscription XXXXXXXX has failed. See the TRANSACTION RESULTS section below for details.

SECURITY STATEMENT
It is not recommended that you ship product(s) or otherwise grant services relying solely upon this e-mail receipt.

GENERAL INFORMATION
Merchant : AUTOMOBILE CONSUMER SERVICE CORPORATION

RECURRING TRANSACTION INFORMATION
Subscription ID: XXXXXXXX
Status : Active
Transaction : 15 of 17
Invoice : 629
Amount : 153.43 (USD)
Payment Method : Credit Card

TRANSACTION RESULTS
Response : This transaction has been declined.
Reason : 2
Transaction ID :XXXXXXXXXX

CUSTOMER BILLING INFORMATION
Customer ID : GKPTEXXXXXXXXX
First Name : *****
Last Name : *******
Company :
Address : 6 ******* AVE
City : *** ****
State/Province : **
Zip/Postal Code: XXXXX
Country : USA
Phone :
Fax :
E-mail :

As I said, after receiving this notice we followed normal procedure in notifying Ms. ******* that the problem had occurred.
With this being a recurring monthly payment Ms. ******* should have noticed on her monthly credit card statement that there had been a transaction that was denied and she should have notified us at that time.
We have had many customers call us stating that they noticed a problem on their monthly credit card statement and that a transaction with ACSC recurring payments had been declined. Normally these are caught by the customer and taken care of within 30 days that the problem occurred. Once a cancellation goes beyond 30 days the contract cannot be reinstated.
It has been 11 months since Ms. *******'s contract was cancelled for non payment. That is why the contract could not be reinstated and no refund sent back to Ms. *******.

11/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In 2009 consumer paid $1539 for 5 years coverage on a 2009 Chrysler Sebring. Numerous times the vehicle has been taken to the shop for repairs and coverage was denied each time. On approximately October 6 the vehicle was towed to the shop and it was determined the timing belt was broken. Business is now requesting unrealistic proof of documents before repair will be covered.

Desired Settlement
Consumer seeks a full refund in the amount of $1539

Business Response
On October 7, 2014 Mr. ****** called and talked to me about the the repairs that are needed on his vehicle.I explained to Mr. ****** that the shop had called and said that the timing belt had broken on the engine and that it had in turn caused internal damage to his engine. The shop stated that the engine would have to be replaced. The shop was told at that time that the claim would not be covered by Gold Key because the timing belt was not a covered component.It was explained to the shop that the contract stated that the failure of a covered component caused by the failure of a non covered component was not covered by the contract.

When Mr. ****** called to find out why we would not cover the claim for his engine it was explained to him that the timing belt was not a covered component and therefore the claim would not be approved.

Mr. ****** has talked with the Claims Adjuster ******* the Claims Manager (*****) and me about this claim and he has stated each time that his contract states that the timing belt is a covered component. Mr. ****** has been asked by each one of us for a copy of the contract that he has and also for copies of service history. We specifically asked him for a copy of the history that shows that the timing belt had been changed at 60,000 miles and at 120,000 miles. (According to the manufacturers specifications the timing belt should be changed every 60,000 miles.)

If Mr. ****** will send Gold Key the documents that have been requested then we will be glad to reopen the claim for the timing belt but if he can't or won't produce these documents then we have no choice but to leave this matter as a declined claim.

Mr. ****** is correct in stating that he has had his vehicle in the shop twice previous to this last claim but in both cases the vehicle needed gaskets replaced and on one occasion the vehicle needed a major tune up, all of which are not covered by his contract.

At no time during any of these claims has the Claims Department operated outside the parameters or the language of Mr. ******'s contract and all of the claims that were denied are substantiated by the language of his contract.

Mr. ****** has also stated in this BBB complaint that he would like a refund for his contract.
At no time till now has he asked to cancel his contract and nor has he asked for any kind of refund. If he still wishes to do so then he must call ACSC/Gold Key Customer Service and they will instruct him as to what is needed to cancel his contract and they will also be able to tell him how much if any his refund will be.

If Mr. ****** or anyone at the BBB should have any questions concerning this matter please feel free to give me a call at XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext: 228.

Consumer Response
please see attached copy of consumer contract

Final Business Response
I do see in the document that Mr. ****** provided that the contract does cover the timing belt.
The contract also states that the customer must keep and provide if requested documents pertaining to the service history of the vehicle, i.e., oil changes and timing belt replacement that are required at certain service intervals per manufacturers specifications.
According to Chrysler's specifications the timing belt should have been changes at 60,000 and 120,000 miles. I do understand that Mr. ****** was not the owner f the vehicle at 60,000 miles and therefore he would not have access to any records for the vehicle prior to his obtaining ownership of the vehicle.
When Mr. ****** purchased his contract from National Dealer Warranty on November 25, 2009 he stated that the vehicle had 100,120 miles on it at that time and now it is in the shop with 139,340 miles. There should be service history showing that somewhere around 120,000 miles that the timing belt was changed. Mr. ****** was the owner of the vehicle at that time.
All that we are asking for is the service history showing that he has the required maintenance of replacing the belt at 120,000 miles and service history showing that the last 5 oil changes have been performed in a timely manner. All of these requests are in accordance with the language of the contract that he purchased under the heading of "Contract Holder Obligations" on the second page of the contract. If he will provide us with these we will continue the process of going forward with his claim.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies, Auto Warranty Processing Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/09/1978Business started: 02/27/1977
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1977, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Clemens (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Keith Finley (Sales Manager)
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies, Auto Warranty Processing Service

Products & Services

The company offers the sale of extended warranty service contracts for automobiles and small trucks.

Alternate Business Names
Gold Key Protection Plan, Gold Key Warranty, ACSC Goldkey Warranty

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Automobile Consumer Service Corporation

2007 Poole Dr NW Ste D

Huntsville, AL 35810-4900

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2007 Poole Dr NW Ste D 

    Huntsville, AL 35810-4900(800) 824-7059
    (866) 386-2660
    Fax: (256) 851-6828

  • PO Box 1231 

    Huntsville, AL 35807-0231(256) 851-6777

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Automobile Consumer Service Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 386-2660
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.