BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2002

Consumer Credit Counseling Service of the TN River Valley

Phone: (256) 881-1000Fax: (256) 881-7282

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cannot get ****** to respond to my email or phone calls, and she has not added all my accounts to the repayment plan.
I have tried emailing and calling ****** at CCCS for several weeks, and I have left voicemails. She will not respond. She also has not added all of my accounts to the repayment plan, nor has she called me back to let me know the status of my other accounts and whether or not they were accepted.

Desired Settlement
I would like my **** account added to the repayment plan, and for them to be contacted and see about having some late fees waived and the status checked, as I am now over 3 months past due. I would also like to be notified of the acceptance of my other accounts into the program. I would like any future responses to be in a more timely matter, as this type of thing is highly time sensitive and costs me a great deal in late fees until the accounts are accepted.

Business Response
Client enrolled in debt mangement in August 2013. The **** was not included in the DMP and was not listed on the clients budget. Client was given signed copies of paperwork that shows that **** was not included. As per my conversation with client on 10/2/13, I informed him that I needed the **** statement with complete account number in order to add to program. As of 10/16/13 I have not received the **** statement or account number. I can not add the account to the program without account information. Please contact me if you need additional information.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been trying to contact you, but you do not answer the phone, respond to my voice mails or emails. If I have no way to contact you, how are we suppose to get anything done? When we talked last, I told you I had left the credit card for USAA with you. I also left you a voicemail asking if you found it, because I could not acquire the number from ***** they would not give it to me over the phone. I will go ahead and assume now that you didn't.

Final Business Response
I do not have the **** credit card. **** should be able to provide you with a statement with the complete account number or issue you a new card with a new account number. The **** was not on your budget or on the DMP list. When I receive a statement and complete account number, I can add the account to your DMP. Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you need any additional information.

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Since Feb I have tried to get CCCS of HSV to submit the already signed Autorization Letter (with the Proposal they have already submitted) to USAA.
I was layed off from my former job in February 2014, I seeked assistance with CCCS of Huntsville in order to make sure my credit payments were maintained and affordable while I search for employment. Back in February, I received notification from USAA that a signed authorization had to be submitted with the proposal prior to approval. I have brought USSA's requirements to CCCS's attention time and time again. Here it is now July and I am still receiving calls from USAA that they have not received the Signed Authorization Letter and only the Proposal; therefore, eventhough CCCS is making payments, it is not approved to be paid at that rate because CCCS continuously submit only the proposal and not the signed authorization letter with the proposal. I asked the representative if she has the signed documents they are requessting and she stated that she does but that information is not normally requested by other companies, I told her that this is what they expected with the package before approval. This situation has been going on for five months, just trying to get my CCCS package cleared through USAA. It is not difficult to comply with USAA requirements, it is just difficult for the Huntsville rep at CCCS to take care of her customer in a professional and timely manner. I haved reported this problem to the Birmingham CCCS Ofice and was assured by the Birmingham CCCS Office, that this matter would be resolved but I am still dealing with someting as easy as submitting an Authorization Letter (with the Proposal) to USAA in order for them to approve my payment package. I have a credit report and a Securty Clearance that can and will be affected if this matter is not handled...I just hope it is not too late at this point.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get my account corrected and all the required documents that USAA need in order to update and finalized the CCCS account with them. It is not enough to just make the lowered payments, CCCS has to be approved and they are operating as though it has been approved by USAA; however, every payment CCCS makes, I am billed for the difference because the decreased payments HAVE NOT BEEN APPROVED BY USAA. Please signed the Authorization Letter and send it with the Proposal....how hard can doing that be!!!!!!

Business Response
CCCS has sent the signed authorization and proposal on 3 occasions to USAA. The original proposal to USAA did not contain the signed authorization as very few creditors do require this. Once we were notified of the need for a signed authorization, CCCS sent the authorization to USAA. The first authorization was mailed and two more signed authorizations with proposals have been faxed. The latest fax was sent on the morning of 7/7 to the fax number that was provided by Ms. ********. Creditors can not be forced to process paperwork. I have kept a printout of the fax log for the fax that was sent on the morning of 7/7. Contrary to Ms ********'s beliefs, CCCS has sent in the authorizations. I will contact USAA again today. Creditors usually require 24 to 48 hours after sending a fax to check on the status.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Prior to responding I wanted to make sure that I received confirmation that all required information had been received by USAA; however, I just received another call from USAA stating that additional information on the proposal was left off again; therefore, they are rejecting my application again and the entire package must be updated and resubmitted. The USAA rep spoke directly to a CCCS rep to let her know what was missing again! So now again, I am back behind the process starting gates...remember I have been dealing with this matter since February!!!

Final Business Response
CCCS TRV <*******@gmail.com>
9:19 AM (37 minutes ago)

to Better Business Bureau

I have a letter confirming that as of 7/19/2014 the USAA account is accepted into a debt management plan.

Thanks
*****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit & Debt Counseling, Personal Services, Advertising Agencies & Counselors, Credit - Debt Consolidation Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.