BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/2004

Powerbookmedic.com

(866) 726-33421015 Henderson Rd NW, HuntsvilleAL 35816-3513 Send email to Powerbookmedic.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/2004

BBB has determined that Powerbookmedic.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Powerbookmedic.com's rating include:

  • 10 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Powerbookmedic.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Powerbookmedic.com

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a Top-case with faulty power button. Computer now does not power-up. TC was purchased to replace return key,it was powering up previously.
It appears that the seller refuses to compromise, they already have my payment of $151.29 for a Mac-pro Top-case 13" mid 2012 and it is a defective product . I paid $75.00 to have this piece installed, now the seller wants me to de-install the top-case from my computer which will cost me another $75.00, in addition they want me to pay shipping fees in order to return the item. . The installed top-case included a faulty power-up button. The reason I purchased the product was because the return key was not functioning and I needed it to compose my college papers, my computer was powering up just fine. The seller wants me to pay another $75 to have it de-installed, pay shipping back to seller, wait until they retest the product for them to tell me that it was a bad install. I then would have to purchase another piece and pay to have it installed. During all this period I have been without my Mac, or my school flies because the computer will not power-up and I cannot access my files The seller states that the used piece was tested and in working order. I am already out $225.29 -The product, and the install. The only way that I would save re-install fee is if I have another working piece at the time of the de install and I will not be charged, but will be charged another $75.00 for the reinstall. In total I will have to pay $300.29 in addition to purchasing a working piece. I am in the process of purchasing a working Top-case from another company because I am in college, and I need to access my files as well as my computer.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund for the piece and the price for the install and a shipping label so that I can return the product.

Business Response
As we have told the customer previously, they can return the product for a full refund. We must have the item back before a refund can be issued. We need the item back to verify that it is both defective and the same part the customer was originally sent. This is necessary as many times products that are deemed defective are not, and the problems usually originate with installation errors. Further all of our parts are marked to verify they originated with us, and we need to verify the defective part originated from us.

The customer also started a Paypal dispute for this transaction. Paypal informed the customer they needed to return the product to receive the refund.

Again, a full refund will be issued to the customer as soon as the product is returned.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


01/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sale of Stolen Kindle Motherboard Parts
I ordered a replacement motherboard for my kindle (Order # 293220), and the part I received was listed by the manufacturer as stolen and/or lost rendering the device unusable. I called Power Book Medic and requested an exchanged part and the exchange was granted (Order # 360953). When the second kindle motherboard arrived, I installed it, and once again, the part was listed as stolen and/or lost, rendering the device unusable.

Desired Settlement
I request that a working kindle motherboard be supplied to me in complete working order, and that the company verify the authenticity of their parts before selling them to customers.

Business Response
We are currently looking into our inventory to determine how the customer has received the incorrect product twice. In order to resolve this for the customer, today we shipped the customer a complete used Kindle 3G model at no charge via UPS 2ND Day air. The UPS tracking # for this replacement unit is 1Z23Y5AXXXXXXXXXXX. The replacement shipped to:

Should the customer have any questions, they can contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

We apologize that the customer had issues with this transaction and hope this solution will rectify the issue.

12/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misrepresented repair time and quality of service.
I emailed repair department describing my repair need. Their preliminary quote was $345 to repair the logic board, so I paid to send the computer to the company with the guarantee that it would be resolved in 3-5 business days. After a week of waiting I receive an email saying that they could not fix the computer because they did not have the part to do so and had no idea when they would have the part. They returned my computer and charged me shipping charges again. This computer was my work computer and caused me to get behind in my work by almost 2 weeks and the issue never was resolved.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $70 for the shipping charges.

Business Response
The customer was only charged $35, not $70. The $35 was for the return overnight shipping fee. We have gone ahead and refunded the $35 as a measure towards customer service.

At this point the customer has received a full refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thanks to the business for doing the right thing. In the future I would hope that they let you know what their inventory is before you go through the whole process of sending your machine for repair.

09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PowerbookMedic held my iPod for several months waiting on a part. I asked for iPod to be returned at no cost. iPod returned in unusable condition.
In October of 2013 I sent in my iPod for repair. My screen had been previously cracked following a drop, and though it was still usable, I had my friend do a DIY replacement of the screen. This same drop also damaged the audio output from the headphone jack, but I plugged in a headphone amplifier and was still able to use it for music, as well as all the other apps. My friend's DIY worked alright, my screen was no longer cracked, but it was unable to seal properly to the metal backing, and so I taped it a bit to the back. I still was able to use it and it still worked, but following a previous repair I had performed on my MacBook with PowerbookMedic, I decided to send my iPod for a free diagnosis in to get these minor problems fixed.

The screen repair was possible, but I was informed that headphone jack wasn't the problem, it was the logic board, of which they had no replacement parts in stock at that time. I was advised that one would come in stock soon, and that I could just wait for it.

Following nine months in the repair department waiting for a logic board part that apparently never came, I requested that PowerbookMedic return my iPod at no cost to me shipping wise. I suppose, technically, it was returned, if you define returned as being disassembled and somewhat glued together. Upon opening the iPod, there is a little plastic baggie inside holding some of my original parts. My iPod was returned to me in a much worse way than I had sent it in to begin with, and it's certainly not power-able or usable like it was when I first sent it in.

Desired Settlement
I request that, at no cost to me, my iPod be restored to the same working condition that it was in previously, noting that the audio jack doesn't work. Furthermore, I request that this repair be done in a reasonable amount of time rather than nine months.

Business Response
As the customer stated, an iPod was sent to our facilty for a free diagnosis. Someone else had worked on the device. It had been disassembled and taped together. We informed the customer that it would need a logic board but did not have the part in stock. The customer requested the iPod be returned. The iPod was returned in the same condition it was received. We sent the iPod back at no cost to the customer and the customer has not been charged or invoiced for any services.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The iPod had NOT been disassembled and taped together. As stated in my complaint, there was tape to hold the screen together, however, the iPod was FULLY FUNCTIONAL (with the exception of the audio jack) and POWERED ON when I sent it in. It certainly was not sent back in the condition I sent it in, that is a lie.

Final Business Response
We have sent you a return label to return the iPod to us. If the iPod is disassembled, we will reassemble it and ship it back out within 2 days of receipt.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will be using the return label provided and shipping it out tomorrow. I look forward to receiving the reassembled iPod (or having it shipped back out) within two days of receipt.

09/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Used battery was significantly different from advertised battery on website. Advertised as 80% and received 67% which cannot be used.
purchased used battery so I could sell my MacBook Pro. Current battery indicates "Replace" at the top of the screen which would make the laptop hard to sell. I purchased a used battery from Powerbook medic at the link supplied at the bottom of this complaint. The description for the used battery clearly states the following "For batteries, we classify this as having an 80% or greater maximum battery life." In my situation, I just wanted a battery with anything above 70% which would turn out the 'replace battery' light so I placed the order. Upon installation, I found the battery was 'end of life' and NOT the 80% or higher described on the website. It was worse than the one I was replacing with only 67% battery life remaining the the PBM battery vs. the advertised 80% minimum. I called Powerbook medic and was told they would not pay for shipping to me or from me and restocking fees may apply. After hanging up the phone I emailed their support team and waited several days with no reply. Batteries in this same condition are available every day on ebay for $15 with free shipping. I purchased through Powerbook medic and paid a premium because they claimed a minimum of 80% life remaining on their used batteries.

At this point, I am asking for the full purchase price to be refunded for two reasons. I was told they do not have any other used batteries and I subsequently purchased another from a reputable seller. If PBM would like the 'end of life battery' returned, I will gladly do so at their expense. They did not ship the item I ordered and they are well aware that after I pay shipping both ways along with a 15% restocking fee that it becomes no longer worth the effort.

Thank you.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of $50.05.
I will gladly return the 'end of life' battery if a pre-paid shipping tag is provided.

Business Response
A return label was sent via email today to return the product. The customer should have already have it in his inbox. A full refund can be issued once the battery is returned to us.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Service & Repair, Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Computers - Supplies & Parts, Computers - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/16/2004Business started: 12/01/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bradley Wallace (Owner)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair, Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Computers - Supplies & Parts, Computers - Dealers

Products & Services

The company offers the service & sale of Apple Computers and laptop powerbooks.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Powerbookmedic.com

1015 Henderson Rd NW

Huntsville, AL 35816-3513

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1015 Henderson Rd NW 

    Huntsville, AL 35816-3513(866) 726-3342

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Powerbookmedic.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Computers - Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.