BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
North Alabama

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/30/2009

Landers McLarty Chevrolet

Phone: (256) 830-1600Fax: (256) 430-4271View Additional Phone Numbers4930 University Dr NW, HuntsvilleAL 35816-1804 Send email to Landers McLarty Chevrolet

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/30/2009

BBB has determined that Landers McLarty Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Landers McLarty Chevrolet's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
05/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised price not honored

Complaint: On April 21,2014 I had been viewing vehicles on the Landers, Mclarty, Chevrolet website. In the $10,000 and under section I found a 2008 Chysler Aspen advertised for $6500. I called and inquired about the mileage which they reported was 119,000. I asked if the vehicle had a 3rd row seat, they said it did. She then asked about setting up an appointment I told her at that time I didn't know schedule, but did give her my number for them to contact me. Someone associated with them called me daily and I let the woman that called on Wednesday know I would be in Friday evening or Saturday because of work schedule. On Thursday April 24th in the evening I looked at the site to show a friend the vehicle. I was unable to find the vehicle in the $10,000 and under section I had previously viewed it in. I then called the dealership and asked if the vehicle was still on the lot. He said that it was and I said I was still interested, I said that I was aware of the $6500 price, he said no, the price was $13,000 and some odd dollars. On Friday I received an email from Daryl Sampson "Sam" which was sent Wed evening. It said that the vehicle was still in stock but it was still undergoing inspection and wholesale/retail analysis and check the website the next day for final pricing. I replied with an email that told him of all the phone calls from their salespeople it was only by coincident that I was made aware of the actual price and that the advertising had been false. And that I didn't want to continue to to look at vehicles though their business now or in the future. Someone had called me on Friday and had informed me of all the steps that have to go into posting a car on the website and how mistakes can be easily made. He would like to "work something out", I advised him that unless he planned on allowing me to purchase the vehicle for the original advertised price that I was not interested.He said he wanted to check the inspections for safety and find out how much money they had put into the car.

Initial Business Response
There are disclaimers on every vehicle on the website which states: "While every reasonable effort is made to ensure the accuracy of this information, we are not responsible for any errors or omissions contained on these pages. Please verify any information in question with Landers McLarty Chevrolet, Huntsville." This disclaimer is on every individual used vehicle detail page at the bottom.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/27/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Advertising Complaint Issue

Complaint: I have asked to be removed from all contact lists. They continue to contact me via email and regular mail.
I purchased a new car from this dealership in September 2012. From the beginning, my family and I have been inundated with phone calls, emails, and mailings from them. For several weeks last year, the customer service office would call our home number and hang up. No message was ever left. This continued even after several complaints to the management. Over time, we have requested to be removed from all call lists, from all email lists, and from all mailing lists. Each time, we have been assured that we have been removed from all contact lists. Within the last 3 business days, we have received 2 services notices - one via USPS, and one today (13th August 2013)to my work email account.
We feel this company has crossed the threshold of 'customer service' and 'misunderstanding' to harrassment.

Business' Initial Response
First and foremost, please accept my apology for this oversight. We did remove Mr. ****** from the correspondence list(s); unfortunately, there are two different entities involved and I failed to remove his information from the 2nd screen. However, it has been done and I have a copy of what is in our system, which is his name only as of today's date. If you need a copy of this information, please advise. He should not receive any further phone calls, e-mail or USPS correspondence. If he needs to contact me, please give him the following contact information: Ed *****, Controller, (XXX) XXX-XXXX, ******@landersmclartychevy.com.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/30/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: I have a lifetime ownership warranty (on paint work) from ***** ****** dealership owned/purchased by Landers Mclarty in the past.
I visited ***** ****** paint department last week to have small paint issue resolved. I was told paint department had been move to larger dealership location at Landers Mclarty location. I meet with collision estimator (**** ***** He looked at paint issue and told me plastic was not covered by warranty. I informed him my warranty didn't mention any exclusions. He requested I bring it in for him to review, I did and he acknowledged paint issue (plastic) was not excluded. However, at that time he changed the reason for not covering the repair has now changed - they don't honor ***** ****** warranty work now. He them told me they could repair paint issue at a discounted rate - seemed like a dumb thing to do since he already told me they didn't warranty painting the area requiring touch up paint. Naturally I was very angry when he wanted to explain how they "opted" to buy dealership but chose not to honor a written warranty. I visited several other dealerships who offered to fix paint issue ($50.00 - $100.00) and said they were very surprised by Landers Mclarty position. One even contacted a ***** **** representative to get involved and apply common sense pressure. I considered, but decided I had no interest in further dealings with a business with this low of business ethics and department managers who do not value honor and integrity when dealing with customers. I felt I must file this complaint to make others aware of how this dealership honors a warranty - especially over such a small claim, simply amazing as I type these words.

Business' Initial Response
We just received this complaint Friday. It is being reviewed by out Body Shop Director and we will have an answer shortly. Not sure why we received it again today??

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are reviewing request, they didn't agree or disagree to take any action based on what I read on this reply.

Business' Final Response
According to our Body Shop Director, **** ******* we did buy ***** ****** and honored any warranty work for one year. However, we are sending Mr. ******** a check for $50 to re-imburse him for the cost incurred to have the problem corrected.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised price not honored

Complaint: On February 2, 2013 I went to Landers McLarty Chevrolet to have my oil changed and have a screw removed out of my tire. I also asked them to look at the car because the car had been having an odd smell and had been having a hard time pulling hills. They told me the car needed spark plugs and wires and an injector and throttle body cleaning. They charged me a total of $167.00. ($95.00 for a diagnostic fee since I didn't have the plugs, wires and injectors and throttle body cleaned, $19.95 for the tire repair, and $50.15 for the oil change) Advertised on their website was a special for an oil change, a 27 point inspection and a 4 tire rotation for $29.95 after a $10.00 debit card rebate. I requested service through their online service scheduler requesting the (Oil change, four tire rotation, 27-point vehicle inspection. Conventional Oil change for $29.95); however, I never heard from anyone and called in and made the appointment verbally. I felt like I was overcharged for an oil change that I should have been able to receive for $29.95 instead of $50.15 and that the diagnosis of replacement of the spark plugs and wires and the needing of the cleaning of the injectors and throttle body that I was charged $95.00 for would have fallen under the 27 point inspection which was also included in the special as advertised for $29.95. No one mentioned the special price to me at all the entire 2 hours I was in the service department, and no one mentioned a 27 point inspection at all during the entire time my car was being serviced. I was told that I would receive a credit for the $95.00 if I was to return and have the plugs and wires placed in the vehicle and the injectors and the throttle body cleaned within 30 days from the date of service, which was quoted to me to cost in excess of $500.00. I attempted to contact the service manager, Greg Parde, to discuss this matter but was only able to leave a message and he never returned my call.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Stephanie Hodges CSM
Contact Phone: 256-430-4132
Contact Email: shodges@landerscorp.com
In response to this particular complaint, the ad in question is a web special and the coupon must be presented at the time of service - the customer failed to give us the coupon. As far as the diagnostic fee, that was disclosed on a written work order that the customer signed, however, our goal is complete customer satisfaction, therefore, I will forward a check to ************** in the amount of $113.11.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: new car with water leak inside the car after rain, wash car and my dash lights going dim to bright for no reason, been to dealer 3 times X-XX-XXXX************* was the service gentleman handled my car. I showed him all the issues on the water coming in on my feet. At that time that was only place water coming in, told him about the flashing on my dash controls and rt side door panel was loose. I called spoke with ***** and told him I was aware of the Alabama lemon law. His comment was "Mrs. ****** are you saying that you are tired of this car already?' I told him how unprofessional that he was and I too was in sales and there was no way I would ever speak to a customer like that. The more I thought about that I called his manager and told him what ***** had told me. He apologized but DID HE MEAN IT?
Took car to **************** told them I had water coming in my car. They provided me a rental car for a nite. Picked up car and they found nothing!!! What a waste of time.
X-XX-XXXX Took car and showed to jeff in sales - manager. I had to let him see where it was coming in.
7-11-12
Today I called L*************** told them I had water coming in my car again. I have made numerous calls to them telling them about the water. appointment set up for Monday 16th, 2012. earliest could get me. Water still come in on my car!!!7-12-2012, Water dripping on seat, door window controls, water dripped in on my feet and legs.dash flickering on and off. My cheap floor mat that I bought for the cemetery was soaked, I spoke with **** in service, he said he was taking care of me. XX-XX-XX X:00, rained today, water is in on the passenger side, inside dash lights have been going dim at nite time, Spoke with the general manager mr ******. Told me he called **** the shop manager and I am supposed to bring in the am. ************* my boss spoke with the manager Mr ****** told him to confirm the water in the passenger side of my car. XX-XX-XX I called asked if my car was ready, it is not at this moment, found water in passenger side. I told them to check cruise control. XX-XX-XX. **** in service called me at 7:30 on way in to work, which made me 1 hour late. Car just about empty, 49 miles left on it. I filled up the **** rental car. **** reassured me that all was taken care of. I had several bags, lunch, waters etc and the guy never even offered to help put in my car. Where is customer service?
10-06-12 I was coming to work this morning, it was raining, cloudy and foggy all the way in to Huntsville, and at 8:46 my dash light went dim at the center where the speed odometer is at, the same place I have been complaining, the at 8:57 they went bright again!!! Then at 9:25 I went out to the cemetery to do a grave check the lights were dim and when I put the car in park the lights went bright again! All this week several times it happened and in fact I called in to the customer service at GMAC main office.

Business' Initial Response
Landers McLarty Chevrolet addressed a complaint of a water leak on the left front of Mrs. ******'s Malibu VIN #***************** on repair order #XXXXXX at 13,622 miles on July 17, 2012 and a water leak complaint on the right side on Repair Order #XXXXXX at 15,868 miles on August 23, 2012. On both occasions, Mrs. ****** was provided with an ****** rental vehicle while the repairs were being made. She brought her vehicle in one other time in May, but we were unable to duplicate any of her concerns. ****** ***** spokeg to Mrs. ****** on her August visit. He walked her to the ****** office and introduced her to the ****** representative and asked if he could do anything else for her; she responded "no". If we failed to help her in the transfer of her belongings from one vehicle to the other, it was unintentional and we apologize.

The 2012 Malibu is equipped with Day Time Running lights as well as automatic headlamps and this will change the brightness for the displays when the vehicle switches between the two based on ambient light. We were never able to find a problem with the system but we replaced the dimmer switch just to rule that out.

I can forward all repair orders if necessary.

Please let me know if I can do anything else to help resolve the outstanding issues with Mrs. ******'s 2012 malibu.

Page 1 of 2
03/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: Vehicle delivered on 21-Dec-12 for minor repairs that have taken an excess amount of time (months) to be completed due to delays and employee errors.
On December 21st, 2012, my 2013 Subaru Impreza STI was involved in a minor collision with a curb, causing damage to the right wheels and suspension areas of the vehicle (struts, knuckles, etc). Originally, the dealership told me that my car would easily be repaired by January 11th, 2013, which I inquired specifically about due to a planned activity for the vehicle on the 12th. After growing closer to the deadline, the dealer had still failed to fully evaluate the damage, and was still waiting on certain parts to be delivered from the sister store Landers McLarty Subaru. I was forced to use a rental car at this time, as a loaner vehicle was not offered. The next time I spoke with the dealership, they informed me that there would be a back order on the final part needed to repair the vehicle. The part ended up taking over 17 days to be delivered. At this time, they still had not completed the minor repairs to the body work that occurred during the accident (front lip scraped slightly). After the strut was installed, the mechanics apparently began full reassembly, and discovered that there were broken wheel bearings as well. This caused another delay of several days. Still no body work finished. In the first week of February 2013, the dealership informed me that they had found other broken parts that were not noticed prior. This is to me inexcusable, as it had been over 45 days since they originally obtained the vehicle. All damaged parts could easily have been visible and ordered prior. At the time of this complaint it has been 53 days since delivery of the vehicle to the repair shop, and they are still waiting on the latest discovered damaged parts. They claim that they have begun work on the body, however, since it is so minor of a job it should not be an extended process. Additionally, throughout this process the dealership has been anything but transparent over the issues, having openly admitted mistakes by the mechanics in that they should have found these problems sooner.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@yahoo.com
In response to this complaint, per Alan Taylor, Collision Center Director, this vehicle was brought to our facility December 21, 2012 at which point, the actual target date was January 11, 2013, however, upon further inspection of the suspension, more damage was discovered and we had to order addtional parts. It took (23) days to get the parts we needed from Subaru. The particular part in question had to be installed and the alignment checked to be sure there was no further suspension damage. After the alignment was completed, it is noted that in order to align the vehicle correctly, additional parts were needed, as all suspension damage is subject to process of elimination for parts that cannot be visually inspected for damage. Additional body damage was repaired during the down time in which we were awaiting the arrival of the parts necessary for this repair. There was a total of 32 days for the parts to be delivered to us from Subaru, which is out of our hands. We do not feel that we owe Mr. ****** anything since he was reimbursed 12 days for his rental at $30 per day from Subaru. He is scheduled to pick the vehicle up today.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Whatever. I will be posting negative feed back concerning this entire experience on all social mediums. Obviously this shop is incompetent and I will can assure you neither myself nor any of my friends will have their vehicles serviced at this location again. Good luck with your business!

Business' Final Response
In response to the rebuttal, there is obviously no fact twisting nor omitting any truth. When Mr. ****** called complaining that the right rear assembly was loose, Alan Taylor, our Body Shop Director told him that we would send a tow truck for the vehicle because he could not assess the situation over the telephone and Mr. ****** was not comfortable driving the vehicle. Upon inspecting the vehicle, we discovered that there was an unseated balljoint (this is not uncommon in a vehicle with the amount of damage this vehicle had), which cannot be detected visually (the ball joint is in a sealed unit (boot). We did not take it apart because there was no visible damage. The end result was that we replaced the rear hub assembly, which resulted in keeping the vehicle an additional day. We put Mr. ****** in a rental at our expense and when he picked the vehicle up, he seemed pleased.

In response to the complaint that he waited 45 minutes to be acknowledged when he came in---as soon as he came in, he was greeted by our Collision Center Receptionist, Brenda. She advised me that he was here and I immediately went out and introduced myself. While he was waiting, he was also spoken to by Benji Lewis and Tim ******, so I am not clear on this complaint.

As a result of further investigation, we cannot justify re-imbursing Mr. ****** $500 as requested.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/10/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Detailing, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/02/2009Business started: 04/24/2004Business started locally: 03/03/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Department Of Revenue
50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, AL36132
(334) 242-1170
http://www.ador.state.al.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2009, AR

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Williams (General Manager)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Detailing, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new and used vehicles, auto parts & supplies, auto services & repairs and auto body repair & painting facility.

Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Landers McLarty Chevrolet

4930 University Dr NW

Huntsville, AL 35816-1804

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4930 University Dr NW 

    Huntsville, AL 35816-1804(866) 474-1029
    (256) 830-1600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Landers McLarty Chevrolet is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 474-1029
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.