BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
North Alabama

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2010

Hiley Mazda - Volkswagen - Audi

Phone: (256) 881-1881

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
07/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: I bought a World Auto Pre-owned Certified car, tried to trade it in at another dealership only to find out it was wrecked and has frame damage.
I bought a 2011 VW Jetta (blue, *** 3vwdx7aj9bmXXXXXX) on 06/07/2013. The sales representative was **** ********* I bought it as a World Auto Certified Pre-Owned vehicle and was shown a clear Carfax. I purchased it for $16,988 with a trade of $1000 which left me with a $16,779.39 loan through ******* **** I have a one year old and decided in June 2014 to trade in the Jetta for a larger vehicle at another dealership only to be told it was wrecked in 2011, the front end and drivers side door was entirely replaced, and there is substantial core frame damage. We were offered only $7,000 for our trade. We are stuck with a huge loan and a vehicle that was worth less than half the amount of the purchase price when we bought it. I am stuck with this car but the dealership sold it to me fraudulently and I will not be able to sell or trade this vehicle. VW Corporate refuses to hold Hiley Volkswagen responsible for certifying a car with frame damage. When I dealt with the dealership themselves, specifically **** ******* the VW General Sales Manager, he offered only to give me $12,000 as a trade in value for another vehicle on our lot. This is less than the $14,600 still left on our loan and would mean we are left $7000 upside down in our loan and I would again be doing business with a company that I know has committed fraud. This company makes it very clear their World Auto Certified Pre-Owned vehicles are put through a 120 point inspection. Even though at the time of purchase I was shown a clear Carfax there is no way their mechanics we unaware of the damage to the front end and core frame. The dealership I attempted to trade it into found this body and frame damage within 10 minutes of inspecting the car. This was never disclosed to us. This is the information that appears on Carfax: Vehicle involved in read end collision involving front impact with another motor vehicle Damage reported to: Vehicle damaged in multiple places Left Fender Front Major damage reported Vehicle towed Airbags did not deploy. The damage occured from an accident the previous owner had on 09/29/2011. All that I have requested is that they buy the car back for the amount left on my loan. I am willing to forgo the amount I have already paid towards my loan and the $1,000 trade in. Hiley, specifically **** ******** has refused to address it any further or offer any other resolution beyond his trade-in offer.

Initial Business Response
We have offered the customer 12,000 to purchase the vehicle back and she doesn't have to buy another car from us. She can go anywhere and have that dealership call us and we will pay 12,000 for it from them. It is over market value on the car even if it didn't have a wreck on the carfax. We will obviously honor the World Auto Certification and warranty the vehicle as such throughout ownership. We will not be buying back the vehicle based on customers loan value. Depreciation, interest, sales tax etc is all in that loan amount. I understand customers unwillingness to return to our Dealership but we would do everything possible to make this right towards another purchase.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response they have given is riddled with exclusionary lies.

While the offer of $12,000 for a TRADE was the initial response, and after much pushing we got an offer for purchase it still does not satisfy any reasonable idea of a fair reaction.

We purchased this car on June 7th 2013, and I traded in a VW Passat which did not have major frame damage. This auto group valued this car at $1,000 it was more reasonably $2,500, but they agreed to come off the price of the newer jetta some in exchange. This should cover the depreciation which by the way is not that much, Blue book, and NADA TRADE IN VALUE on MY car are as follows KBB= $13,138 NADA= $13,225.

Clean Retail ON MY CAR according to NADA is $15,875. That again covers the Depreciation, so now you can use my trade in to cover the sales tax of $1,528.92. Oh and on the off chance that they would like to say "We can't sell it for clean retail if there is identifiable frame damage" don't worry about it, you already have once.

I have a 4.9% interest rate, Which you are also trying to use as reason. But since it was my first car loan I don't think that's really reasonable either, since what I owe on the car today is $14,365. And if you were to take it back and sell it you would only be in the hole at best a $1,000. I bet you could make that back this afternoon.

My generous offer was to ask you to buy the car back for the PAYOFF value, of $14,365 And I will forfeit the $3,523 that I have paid into it, and the amount of my trade in. This means I will take the $5,000 hit that has already been dealt. You however should have to give this back for selling a car under false pretenses and potentially endangering our infant, who was the primary reason for trying to get into a SAFER car.

The point is we tried to trade this car in for reduced payments on something big enough and safe enough for our growing family, and were shocked to find out that rather than having $1,000 in positive equity, but we had a car that has frame damage, AND are $7,000 upside down.

Being that I am willing to publicly share this information, I am also willing to divulge that I will never do business with them again, because They are liars, the managers are condescending, and rude, and as you can see are quite willing to lie publicly to cover their own butts rather than to satisfy honest business practices.

Final Business Response
I have been in contact with the customer and we have resolved the matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After speaking with ****, we have reached an agreement and resolved this issue. We appreciate his willingness to work with us.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Salesmen havent a clue as how to properly finance/sell a vehicle. My husband ***** ******** purchased his 2012 Jetta from them in October of 2012.
My husband ***** ******** purchased his 2012 Jetta from Hiley in October 2012. Asked them while the salesman/financial person was setting up finance that we did indeed live within city limits of Huntsville, even though we have Madison address, we have been annexed for years and this appears when running our zip code, asked them why they didnt include our sales tax in loan of car when we asked them to. Salesmen being not trained or just not wanting to be bothered with us, told us to tell DMV that we took possession of vehicle elsewhere to avoid charges. Are you kidding me???? Wanted us to lie to DMV because he's stupid. Needless to say he would not redo financing. Trip to DMV cost us over $800 for the taxes alone. Complained to dealer, they really do not care. So again when Hiley was getting ready in March to do their taxes, they realized they messed up and had to call us to find out how much our taxes were that we paid because they are clueless. Really now im helping them out so they can get their taxes right??? They wouldnt help me when they made th mistake. Today I take car in and it spends 4 hours there. I tell them that the ac in the car doesnt work, for Gods sake its under warranty that I paid for!!!! They tell me nothing wrong with and go through a detailed list of how I should turn c on to cool car down> Well no kidding, not that I have been driving a car for 30 years. Not the first time ive seen ac in a car. They are the rudest, uncaring, untrained bunch of incompetents I have ever spent thousands of dollars with, and they absolutely dont care a thing for their customers!!!!!!

Business' Initial Response
Mr. and Mrs. ********'s car was in for AC concerns. Our technician followed VW's recommendations to test the AC to make sure it was cooling as the car was built to do. He found that all the pressures are good on the vehicle and it has the proper amount of freon. The vehicle was tested at idle and it blew at 41.6 degrees and was tested during driving where it blew at 37.1 degrees which is the proper temp for this vehicle. I understand the local weather has been extremely hot the past week and might have a play in the customers feeling that the car isn't cooling properly. In regards to the sales tax we did charge Madison County sales tax of 2.75% which was $685.96. If customer was required to pay Huntsville City sales tax of 4% the total would have been $997.76 a difference of $311.80. If we were in the wrong on this I apologize and would be more than happy to refund the customer the difference as long as they can provide me with the sales tax documentation. Please feel free to contact me directly.

**** *****
Managing Partner
256-881-1881
******@hileyhuntsville.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/08/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Dealer is refusing to repair my 2004 Passat low oil pressure issue which is covered under WV 10yr/120,000 miles warranty. My 2004 Passat has 80K miles
I bought 2004 Passat from this dealer in 2004. There was a class action law suite against the WV dealer filed in 2011/12 for "Oil Sludge" issue with all 2004 Passat cars. WV settled the law suit for millions of dollars and agreed to extend the warranty on 2004 Passat cars to 10 Yr/120,000 miles for "Sludge" related repair. My car experienced the same problem on Feb 18, 2013. I got "low oil pressure" light on following by "stop engine light" coming on. I towed the car to Hiley dealer. The dealer is giving me all kind of excuses for not fixing the car under warranty. I provided them the service maintenance paperwork I have. It is my view that the "Sludge" issue is VERY common and the likely cause of my car low oil pressure warning light. I would like the dealer to fix it under warranty. My car has only 80,000 miles on it. Dealer is telling me that there is issue with Camshaft and going to change me $3000 to fix it. But again even it is the camshaft it should be covered under same warranty since camshaft journal is the first component to get damaged if oil starvation was excessive due to oil sludge.

Business' Initial Response
Mr ****** is requesting repairs be performed under the Enhanced Oil Sludge Warranty Extension. The warranty extension is the result of a class action settlement and requires certain specific criteria be met to qualify.

Based on the information provided by Mr. ******, he would be required to provide documentation of 4 oil changes since January 19, 2011 using oil complying with VW specification 502.00. Mr. ****** provided documentation of only 3 oil changes during this time period, 2 of which used oil that does not comply with VW specification 502.00.

By virtue of the documentation provided by Mr ******, he does not qualify for assistance under the warranty extension. This is not a decision made by Hiley Volkswagen of Huntsville; we cannot alter or amend the terms of the class action settlement. All documentation was forwarded to the Volkswagen of America warranty department for review prior to informing Mr ****** that he does not qualify for the extension.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Hiley performed very substandard repairs after a recalled problem caught my car on fire.
I have owned a 2002 Mazda Tribute almost since it was new and have taken very good care of it. I parked the car in my driveway on a Thursday evening, Sunday morning during breakfast I saw smoke roll past the window and found the car on fire! I put the fire out with a fire extinguisher very quickly but it sustained some damage. The wiring harness was melted, the brake booster and master cylinder where burned. I called my insurance company and the car was towed to Hiley Mazda in Huntsville Alabama. After nearly two weeks Hiley provided an estimate of $3100 to repair the car which included replacing the above mentioned parts. Later that day I received an email stating that Hiley had determined the fire had started because of a defective ABS module that had an active recall. Hiley stated that Mazda would repair all damages at no cost to me or my insurer. After two more weeks Hiley called and said my car was ready to be picked up that all repairs where complete. I arrived to get my car and they parked it at the service department door. I started the car and opened the hood to inspect the repairs. The engine was shaking like crazy and misfiring. I shut it off and continued looking. Immediately I noticed an obviously "repaired" wiring harness and fire extinguisher residue everywhere. The harness was twice the size in diameter it was originally and had aftermarket plastic wire loom over it with tape and tie-wraps on it. I asked Shane the service advisor why it was running so bad and why the harness was "repaired" instead of replaced like the original estimate had said. She stated that they did what Mazda authorized them to do. I asked to see the service manager and **** ****** showed up ten minutes later. **** said he was shocked because the car ran fine earlier and said he would take care of it. I asked about the dash warning lights that where on, including ABS, BRAKE and check engine, **** said he would take care of it all. I asked about the harness and **** said he would talk to Mazda and agreed the repairs where sub-standard and stated that he agreed with me 100% that I was right and he would be upset too if it where his car. **** then stated that the reason they "repaired" the harness was because a new one was not available any more. I left the car with them to fix it again and went home. I then Googled the harness for the car and got several suppliers instantly. I called **** and told him this and he asked me to email him the links which I did. After a few more days **** called and said the misfiring was found to be faulty spark plugs and coil packs and that he had ordered new ones. He also said that he ordered a new harness and expected to receive it within 48 hours. Three days later **** called and said the repairs where in progress but the supplier called him and said the harness was not available. He said the harness we needed was a "S" suffix versus the "A" that he had ordered. I stated that I would search the internet for him again if that's what it would take. My search revealed that the part number he gave me does not exist. I fully believe that the original part IS the correct harness. Several more days passed and **** called said the car is ready except for the harness replacement and that there was nothing else he could do. I voiced extreme displeasure to ****, and Mazda customer service, who I had been working with from the beginning. All of them told me they were sorry but they had done all they were willing to do. I picked the car up today and brought it home, start to finish it has taken EIGHT WEEKS. The car is repaired to where it is running, but in my opinion, which is Professional since I have been an Electrician for 33 years; this harness repair is not acceptable automotive wiring methods by any standard. What Hiley has done is a Band-Aid repair with plastic covers, tie wraps and tape. Service Manager **** ****** told me that all the coil packs and plugs had been changed, none have. Continued bellow.

Initial Business Response
Have spoken with customer. From our end we fixed car to Mazda's specifications and had this confirmed by Mazda. Customer has chosen to take car to an independent repair facility.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I understand that the case needs to be closed, but only because there is no other option. Hiley only offered to look at the car again after my complaint to the BBB and other media. I am simply not willing to let them have my car again especially for another eight weeks. My opinion is if they couldn't do it right in eight weeks, I'm not going down that road any longer. I am having to pay $500 deductable and my insurer is paying over $2000 to have a competent facility redo Hiley's blunders. Shame on Hiley Mazda. I hope my complaint will be viewable on the BBB website so others can be forwarned of the level of work Hiley considers acceptable, even though Mr **** admitted on the phone that their repairs where indeed substandard quality.

Final Business Response
Mr ******** informed us today he doesn't want us trying to work on the vehicle. The matter is closed and we are sorry we couldn't get this resolved for Mr. ********

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Services, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.