BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/02/1993

Champion Chevrolet, Inc.

Phone: (256) 232-5692Fax: (256) 232-5794921 S Clinton St, AthensAL 35611-3562View Additional Email AddressesView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/02/1993

BBB has determined that Champion Chevrolet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Champion Chevrolet, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Champion Chevrolet, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
04/16/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
04/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took my 2004 Chevy Silverado to Champion Chevrolet in June 2015 paid $500 to $600 for repair (engine going into shutdown mode). Had return vehicle several times due to issue still continuing. The vehicle has now been there for several months. The dealership called and said come pick the vehicle up with no solution or providing a refund of funds spent to date.
Product_Or_Service: 2004 Chevy Silveraldo

Desired Settlement
Would like a full refund and or the dealership to fix the vehicle as promised.

Business Response
Champion Chevrolet did agree to attempt to make repairs to a 2004 Chevrolet with 299000+ miles. Based on irregularity of symptoms, GM tech line recommended we should start by replacing the TAC Module. Regrettably, this did not correct the problem. This is not a case of hooking up a computer and having the problem self diagnose. We must start with the repair that has the best chance of repairing the issue. With GM's help most times the problems are corrected the first repair, however in this case it was not.This process was explained to Mr. **** when he brought the vehicle to our shop. We are not refusing to work on the vehicle, we are telling him it is a process of elimination of possible causes.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is new information. The vehicle has been returned two or three times. The most recent communication from Chevy Rep. around 5 April 2016 was what did I want. I asked for the vehicle to be repair at no additional expense and I have not heard back from the dealership.

04/06/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Champion Chevrolet added bigger tires and a lift kit to the truck and kept the smaller tires which were included in the price I paid for the truck.
I bought a 2014 Silverado pickup from a different dealer. They got it from Champion Chevrolet. Champion added bigger tires and a lift kit to the truck to try and move it. They advertised the truck on their website without the larger tires. Once I decided on the truck I was informed I owed $1770.00 more for the bigger tires and the lift kit. I ask my salesman about the smaller tires which were included in the price I paid for the truck. He immediately started talking with the inventory clerk at Champion. She told him she would need to speak with her general manager. My salesman and the inventory clerk were talking via text messages. My salesman still has all texts related to this issue. Champion also scratched the rims when they mounted the bigger tires. My dealer replaced the rims even though they were damaged by Champion. The inventory clerk finally told my salesman they returned the tires taken off my truck to inventory to resell them. He told her they did not operate that way. He told her I paid for the tires and should receive them in addition to the tires on the truck because I paid for them. She indicated they do things a little bit different than most dealerships. My wife and I both contacted the inventory clerk. I told her I expected the tires that came on the truck. I was not asking Champion to give me anything, only what I paid for. She told us they were returned to inventory for resell. I can't believe it is legal to rip customer's off like this. The general told had we requested the tires at the beginning of the sale we would have received them. My salesman began talking with the inventory about the tire before I took possession of the truck. He said since I signed for the truck I was not entitled to the tires. I feel Champion has been dishonest in keeping tires I paid for and reselling them. This is a ripe off.

Desired Settlement
All I am asking for is the tires that were included in the price of the truck. I paid the additional $1770.00 for the bigger tires and the lift kit. Champion agrees the tires they kept were included in the price I paid for the truck.

Business Response
THE FACTS AS I KNOW THEM ABOUT THIS COMPLAINT ARE AS FOLLOWS:
1) ON JULY 8, 2014 WE INSTALLED A LIFT KIT, CUSTOM TIRES AND WHEELS ON A NEW SILVERADO IN OUR INVENTORY.
2) A FEW DAYS AFTER INSTALLING THE NEW TIRES AND WHEELS, WE TOOK THE ORIGINAL TIRES AND WHEELS AND INSTALLED THEM ON A USED VEHICLE IN OUR USED TRUCK INVENTORY THAT NEEDED BETTER TIRES. THIS IS STANDARD PRACTICE.
3) THE NEW SILVERADO SAT IN OUR INVENTORY UNTIL APPROX. THE FIRST WEEK IN JANUARY, AT WHICH TIME WE RECIEVED A CALL FROM **** ******* CHEVROLET INQUIRING ABOUT SELLING THEM (DEALER TRADE) THIS NEW SILVERADO TO THEM FOR THEIR CUSTOMER. WE INFORMED **** ******* CHEVROLET THE TRUCK HAD EXTRAS (LIFT KIT,TIRES AND WHEELS, ETC.) ADDED TO THE TRUCK AND IF THEY STILL WANTED THE VEHICLE WE WOULD NEED A CHECK FOR $1770.99 TO COVER THE EXTRAS. THEY AGREED TO BUY THE TRUCK WITH ALL OPTIONS.
4) AT THIS POINT NO MENTION OF THE ORIGINAL TIRES AND WHEELS BEING INCLUDED HAD BEEN MENTIONED.
5) ON OR ABOUT 01/15/2015 THE TRANSACTION WITH ******* CHEVROLET WAS COMPLETED. ******* CHEVROLET'S DRIVER PAID US FOR THE OPTIONS, INSPECTED THE TRUCK, FOUND NO DAMAGE TO ANY PART OF THE TRUCK. (INCLUDING THE NEW TIRES AND WHEELS)AND DROVE THE VEHICLE BACK TO THEIR DEALERSHIP.
6) AFTER SEVERAL DAYS WE RECIEVED A CALL FROM ******* CHEVROLET REQUESTING THE ORIGNIAL TIRES AND WHEELS. UP UNTIL THAT VERY MOMENT WE HAD NO KNOWLEDGE OF THIS ORIGINAL TIRE ISSUE. WE EXPLAINED THE ORIGINAL TIRES HAD BEEN UTILIZED 6 MONTHS EARLIER.
7) THIS ISSUE IS BETWEEN ******* CHEVROLET AND ***** *******.
8) CHAMPION CHEVROLET MADE IT VERY CLEAR TO **** ******* CHEVROLET THE TRUCK INCLUDED THE LIFT KIT AND THE TIRES AND WHEELS. WE HAVE A COPY OF THEIR CHECK PAYING FOR THE ADDED ACCESSORIES AS PROOF OF THEIR ACKNOWLEDGEMENT.
9) I HATE THE MISUNDERSTANDING FOR ***** *******, HOWEVER 100% OF THIS ISSUE IS BETWEEN HIM AND THE DEALERSHIP HE BOUGHT THE TRUCK FROM.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Champion Chevrolet did not advertise the truck with the extras. The request for the tires was made before we took possession of the truck. There are saved text messages to the inventory manager. It is false to say it was never mentioned before then. **** **** can only speak for what conversations he had. He has no way of knowing what the inventory manager and **** ******* discussed. I'm sure she erased the text message.

Final Business Response
I AM CONFIDENT MY EMPLOYEE (INVENTORY MANAGER) HAS GIVEN ME ALL THE FACTS IN THIS CASE. SHE HAS BEEN A VERY RELIABLE AND TRUTHFUL EMPLOYEE FOR ALMOST 3YEARS. I BELIEVE SHE HAD NO KNOWLEDGE OF ANY TIRE ISSUE BEFORE ******* CHEVROLET PICKED UP THE SILVERADO. SHE WAS NOT SURE HOW MUCH TIME TRANSPIRED BETWEEN THE TRUCK BEING PICKED UP FROM ******* CHEVROLET AND ******* CHEVROLET CALLING ASKING ABOUT THE TIRES AND WHEELS. KEEP IN MIND AT THIS POINT THE ORIGINAL TIRES AND WHEELS HAD BEEN REMOVED AND MOUNTED ON ANOTHER VEHICLE 6 MONTHS EARLIER.

09/16/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was in process of buying a car from ******* ****** in march 2014 when I noticed minor damage on the front of the car so I asked if the car had ever been wrecked and he told me NO that the car fax was clean. in july I go to trade the vehicle and I was told by nick at lynn Layton ford that the car fax showed the car had been wrecked. I go to champion and speak with mike beck and explain what had happened and asked him if he would either give me my money back,or give me the$1,500 dollar down payment back so I would pay less for the car. he said he had to speak to all parties involved first but would be willing to take the original 1500 down payment and apply it on another car so my wife and I look and find something else. we start the paperwork and I notice he tries using the $1600 I was due back for my extended warranty instead of my 1500 down payment so I ask and he tells me I must of miss spoken I cant do that. when asking for my money back I stated that the car was worth less money having a wreck on car fax and I was told no so I pull up kbb.com and sure enough its worth less money.. mike beck has offered to put my car on the lot and sale it for me I told him that I would have to have $13,700 out of the car in order to get all my money back out of the car and he dismissed the idea. this company was suppose to have me sign a disclosure stating the car was wrecked before I bought it saying I new it was wrecked and did not do so they intentionally hid the information from me in oreder to make a sale. now there telling me mr. ***** will just find you another Chevrolet sonic that hasn't been wrecked and refuse to give me a reasonable deadline in oreder to do so. in the mean time im stuck paying for a car I never had bought if would have known the truth.. I have contacted WHNT News 19 and they told me to reach out to the BBB first.
Product_Or_Service: 2012 chvy sonic
Order_Number: ?
Account_Number: ?

Desired Settlement
I would like for champion Chevrolet of Athens,al. to refund me all money invested on the car. as of now is $2,700 out of pocket until august 22nd when next payment is due. plus pay off of car.

Business Response
Mr. ***** did purchase a vehicle from us and did make a $1500.00 down payment. (required by finance institution) Car did have slight damage as acknowledged by Mr. *****. WE DID NOT MISREPRESENT THIS VEHICLE.
Mr. ***** family have been good customers of ours and we regret he is not pleased with his purchase decision. Champion has tried to trade him out of the vehicle however due to reasons Mr ***** knows about we were unable to obtain bank financing.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did notice the slight damage to the front of the vehicle, when i inquired about the damage i was told by there salesman that the damage must of been so minor that its wasn't reported and that the car fax was clean. There was no disclosure ever offered or signed stateing the car had been wrecked clearly shows champion chevrolet of Athens misrepresented the vehicle. With that i am asking for the$2,700 that have invested in the vehicle that i would not have bought if the information would have been disclosed. To me. They can take the car and any other debts to the financial institute. Only after being told that getting my money back wasn't going to happen by Mike beck did i allow them the opertunity to put me in another vehicle with no success. I have tried in good faith to allow champion to do what's right but there only interested in doing what's best for them. I would just like to have all money's invested in the car back and take my business elsewhere.

Final Business Response
Champion disclosed all the information we knew about the vehicle to Mr. ***** before he purchased the vehicle. Mr. ***** acknowledges we disclosed the damage to him (before he purchased).
We do our best to screen any trade-in we have, however what happens to every vehicle while owned by the previous owner is impossible to document. We disclose everything we know about each vehicle while its in our possession. Again, Champion will use all the resources it has to attempt to trade Mr. ***** out of the vehicle he is unhappy with. As Mr. ***** knows the problem with trading is not with us but with the banks and lending institutions.

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Champion chevy wrecked my car and now act as if they dont care.
My car was taken to champion chevy for a/c issues.the car was repaired they replace the compressor. I picked my car up on tuseday july 8 2014. I drove the car a few miles and noticed the air would get warm while driving and would cool while sitting still. Champion was called back and informed me to return the car and they would work it back in on wendesday morning. During their test drive the tech wrecked my car to the point of a total loss. Champion did not contact me when the wreck happened. In fact, I did not find out until I called them around 4 pm on july 9 2014. the service manager answer the phone i asked how my car was coming all he could say was "oh my god we wrecked your car". i asked where my car was and no one could tell me the location of my car in fact it took until thursday and my insurace agent to find it. I recived a police report and went to champion to see how they were gonna handle it since both parties in the wreck were both 50% liable.I had to provide Champion with a copy of the police report as they had no urgancy of retriving one. They did give me a car to drive until everything was sorted out, so they said. they called monday july 14 2014 and wanted me to return their car and i informed them that i had no other means of transportation and he said they needed they car back at that time i refused to return it. i then called the owner of champion chevy and he just blew me off like he did not care that they totaled my car and patched me over to their general manager who made the smart remark (with laughter in his voice) that "you're the one with the car in the bendem up bangem up" i then informed him "you do relize my car was a total loss, right?" he said "OH" and i thought your insurance was gonna take care of it. my question why should mine since you had the car in your posession and your tech wrecked it. his reply was let me make a phone call. he had his insurance call me back. It took them a week to even notify their insurace of such a bad wreck that had people transported to the er with injuires. now i am currently driving their car but still nothing from this dealership.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for a replacement vehicle of equal value. I want a reliable car that i feel safe putting a 6 year old child and preganat wife in without worries.

Business Response
We regret the accident ever happened and that Mr. ****** was inconvenienced. We furnished all the information to our insurance company as soon as possible. During this time frame Mr. ****** was furnished a vehicle. Settlement offers were made to Mr. ****** that were rejected, when additional information asked for by the insurance company were finally supplied by Mr. ****** a settlement was reached by both parties. I would have liked the process to be much quicker for the benefit of all parties including Mr. ******, but unfortunately insurance companies have legal processes they must follow.
We have been in business in Athens for over 30 years and take customer satisfaction a high priority. .

05/06/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a vehicle from champion and was not told it was wrecked before I bought it.
I was sold a 2012 ford mustang that Chrysler capital financed from champion Chevy. But I was never told it was wrecked before I bought it. I was never showe any car facts or asked to sign anything saying I was aware of the damage to the car that had been fixed. I have tried to work with the dealership an resolve this problem but they are only trying to help themselves. The sales person was ****** ******** and he was even told the same thing about the car. I was told the air bag had been deployed due to sitting still an a person bumped the car. That the air bag was fixed. I just want this resolved an for me to be treated right. Thanks very much

Desired Settlement
All I wanted was for them to buy the car back an give me a truck off the lot payed for. Or for them to buy it back an pay me what I've payed on it

Business Response
Customer did purchase 2012 Mustang on Jan.04, 2014. Before the deal was finalized, salesperson and manager informed customer that the vehicle he was considering did have a Carfax report that showed past damage and air bag deployment.
Before we offered the car for sale our service department performed a complete inspection and found the car in good shape and safe to operate. As part of the inspection we did change oil, changed wiper blades, air filter and replaced two shocks.
We believe customer has buyers remorse due to other personal issues going on in his life.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1983Business started: 01/17/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Department Of Revenue
50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, AL 36132
(334) 242-1000
http://www.ador.state.al.us

BBB records show a license number of 44-00013-16 for this company, issued by Alabama Department Of Revenue. Their web address is http://www.ador.state.al.us. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2016.

Type: Competency License

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Hamm (Owner)Mr. Norman Hamm (Owner)
Number of Employees

19

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Air Conditioning

Products & Services

The company is engaged in the sale and service of new and used automobiles.

Industry Tips
AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION REPAIR

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Champion Chevrolet, Inc.

921 S Clinton St

Athens, AL 35611-3562

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 921 S Clinton St 

    Athens, AL 35611-3562(256) 232-5692
    Fax: (256) 232-5794

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Champion Chevrolet, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION REPAIR
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.