BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1981

Bramlett Automotive Group

Phone: (256) 353-6232Fax: (256) 353-4191

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to provide some service issues after the car was already purchased as they said they would
We purchased a used ****** ***** on 10/28/2013 from ******* ******* from Bramlett Kia. We drove the car earlier that day a and when we returned back to the dealership I mentioned to **** that something was wrong I thought in the tires. He said I will get the service dept to look at and we had to leave and come back. When we got back later that evening, **** said the service dept said the tires were low and they filled them up. There was also a console piece that as really messed up and he would have that replaced. We purchased the car that evening. It was late so I brought the car back the next day on my lunch and told **** that the noise was still there and I needed it checked out. I spent my whole lunch hour waiting for the service to check it out again. Turned out that the back tires were worn on the inside because it was out of alignment. **** said I will get you two new tires for the back and replace the console piece. I said well that is not going to fix the problems with the tires because of the alignment **** said we would do the alignment. He said I will call you when the parts come in. 2 weeks later I am in the dealership to get all these things done and they wouldn't do the alignment without me paying for it. I go to pick the car up and requested to talk to someone about the alignment. I am speaking with the sales mgr and this older man walks out and says no wwe are not doing a alignment for you ive already lost money on this car. I said who are you because he so rudely interrupted my conversation and he said I am the owner. I proceeded to tell him that we were told when we purchased the car that this would be done now you don't won't to deliver. He raised his voice and told me that he had already lost money on this car and he was not doing anything else. I told him I would make sure that none of my family and friends would do buiness with him if that was the way he treated his customers. He told me to get out. He blame on the fact that **** was new and yes he was but he had been selling cars for more than 12 yrs. I was also informed to purchase gap insurance which I did and was told that it would be $450 which was $10 more a month. I asked is this the term of the loan and was told yes by ******* ********, the owners grandson. When I got to looking and figuring, our loan is 60 months and $10 a month for the life of the loan is $600 not $450. They didn't want to correct it either. I have never been treated so badly as a customer especially buying a vehicle. He doesn't even need to be in business if he can't treat his customers better. I want people to know what I encountered while doing business with them. I all got a call from our finance company stating that the vehicle we traded had not been payed for yet. That was 2 weeks ago.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund on the alignment I went and had done which was $140. If the alignment was not done then the 2 new tires would have been useless. I want an apology for the rude behavior that I instilled from him that was uncalled for.

Business Response
On October 28, 2013 ***** and ****** ******* purchased a pre-owned 2007 ****** ***** with 126,431 miles on the odometer. During the negotiating process we agreed to replace a shift indicator bezel valued at $325 at no additional charge to the customer. The customer also complained that two tires had road noise. Upon delivery of the vehicle we gave the customer a $50 gift card to Target as a token of our appreciation for their business.
The following day we brought the car back in and found that the tires had sufficient tread but were cupped slightly from improper rotation. In an attempt to satisfy the customer we agreed to replace two tires valued at $182 at no addtional charge to the customer. The tires were a special order item and took about a week to arrive. When the customer brought the car in to replace the tires they requested an alignment. According to our technicians there was not an alignment problem and the previous tire wear issue was due to improper rotation. We offered to do the alignment at cost rather than our published retail price of $69 but the customer refused.
We at Bramlett Automotive apologize for any confusion that this transaction may have caused the customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because it was late on 10/28/13 when we purchased the vehicle, we were asked to bring the car back on 10/29/13 so that they could clean the car up and fill up with gas. When I returned on 10/29/13 I told ******* ******* (our salesman)that there was still something wrong with the tires or something, wasn't sure what it was just knew it didn't drive right. I spent the entire lunch hour of mine waiting on them to figure out what the problem was. It was the two tires on the back were cupped and I was told by ******* that the service dept. said it was the alignment not being done that caused it to drive this way. He said we will replace the tires and do the alignment but we may not be able to do the console piece. I was very upset because I mentioned this problem before I even signed the paperwork on the vehicle. After they called back to let us know the tires were in, ******* said they were going to do both the tires, alignment and the console piece. I left it on Monday morning 11/11/13 to have this stuff done. My husband was called that morning later and was told they were not doing an alignment but we could pay for one at a cost of $150. We were never offered the alignment for $69. If that was the case we wouldn't have went somewhere else to have it done for $140. My husband told them that we were told they would do the alignment. I guess it was the service manager that my husband was speaking with and he said they didn't owe us an alignment. I was having a medical procedure done so my husband didn't want to get into with them at that time. He told him to go ahead and do the other stuff and we would talk about it when it was picked up. When picking up the vehicle, I asked to talk to the manager and was then rudely interupted by the owner Mr. ********. He told me they did not owe me an alignment and he had already lost money on the vehicle. I told him that we were told this by ******* and he brushed it off as ******* being a new salesman for them. That was not my problem and Mr. ******** eventually told me to be quiet so he could talk. We ended up leaving, the car was not cleaned. Still sticker glue on the inside of the left back window on on the front window and the inside was not vacumned out. As I said, we left and immediately went and had an alighnment done with Pro Align. The specks on the tires were ridiculously off. The 2 front tires were off 2 degrees each and the back 2- 1 was off 2 1/4 degrees and the other one off 2 1/2 degrees. According to Toyota they are not supposed to be more than 1/4 degree off. So you tell me how the service department didnt catch this? I think it is only fair that we get our $140 back that they were supposed to do but then told us the alighnment wasn't the problem. I have never been so rudely treated when buying such a high dollar item in my life. I want what was supposed to be given to me. If this is how they run business in Decatur, I will make sure that everyone I come into contact with will not purchase a vehicle from them. As far as the gift card from Target, so what. I didn't ask for anything but for my car to be fixed when I purchased it. It was almost like they wanted me to sign the paperwork and then not want to fix what was needed.

Final Business Response
On this day of November 25, 2013 we have mailed a check # XXXXX for $140 to reimburse ****** ******* for the alignment on her car.
Again, we apologize for any confusion this may have caused you.
Sincerely,

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Brake Service, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.