BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/22/1965

Bentley Buick GMC

Find a Location

Phone: (256) 536-2475Fax: (256) 534-03902120 Drake Ave SW, HuntsvilleAL 35805-5193

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/22/1965

BBB has determined that Bentley Buick GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bentley Buick GMC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This complaint pertains to my 2002 Buick Rendezvous. My wife, ******, left our vehicle with Bentley Buick repairs shop to repair the horn.

We were told that the repairs would only take one day but they have had our vehicle since July, 11, 2016. The answers we are getting are evasive and do not seem correct. Over ten days is very unreasonable to repairs something that was promised in one day. Current explanations for this inaction are very unacceptable. We are very unhappy customers!

Desired Settlement
A proper repair job at a resonable or no cost.
The repairs seems to too hard for them to properly perform on this vehicle.

Business Response
Because the customer's vehicle had an intermittent electrical issue with the horn, it was very difficult to ascertain the root cause of the problem. We communicated with the customer on Thursday, July 21, that we had the problem isolated and that the appropriate part should arrive on Friday, July 22. Provided the part arrives as scheduled, the vehicle should be fixed and ready for pickup by late Friday afternoon on Friday, July 22. We also communicated to the customer that the cost of the repair would not exceed the original estimate approved by the customer.

Consumer Response
My complaint with Bentley Buick has been settled. Please delete this complaint from your records.
Please call me if you need additional information.

11/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

GMC Bentley does not respond to customers when there is a service issue ht affects multiple vehicles.
My wife purchased a GMC Enclave from Bentley approximately two years ago (2013). A year ago, we received a mailing stating that there was a recall for the airbag lights. We took the car up there for it's intended recall, but it did not fix the problem. We have been calling Bentley Automotive over the course of a year, only with promises of a call back, after our information was taken and everything by a receptionist named *******. We have NEVER gotten a call back, nor a service appointment set up.

Desired Settlement
We demand that we be contacted properly as a professional business should, and all issues that are being avoided be fixed promptly.

Business Response
Customer was scheduled and came in on 11/16/15 to have concerns addressed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Location was unprofessional and dishonest
11/2013 - I take my 2011 Buick Regal to the dealership because the air conditioner stopped working and the front drivers seat warmer stopped working. I also needed an oil change and tire rotation. The dealership determined my ac condenser was damaged ( I later learned this is a common occurrence in Buick vehicles). I was advised it would be $523 to fix the AC. Because it was nearing winter, I elected to wait until the next season to have it done. TUESDAY 6/3/2014 - I call the dealership to make an appointment for service. An appointment for the following day 6/4/2014 at 8:30am was given to me for service. WEDNESDAY 6/4/2014 - I arrive for my scheduled appointment and advise the service representative that I am there to follow up with the AC issue from my service in November. I was advised they would call me as soon as they got it to the back and let me know an estimated time it would be finished. At 3:36pm I had not heard anything so I called to see what was happening with my car. At this time I was told "we are still trying to see what is wrong with the AC". I reminded them that they had already done this process in November and was told "I'm glad you said that" even though I had already reminded them. I was told my car would not be done that day and they would provide a rental so I go to pick it up. When I arrived the service representative ***** asked me to come into his office to provide my insurance information for the rental. While I was there there was also another random customer just sitting in his office while he was gathering my personal information. I didn't think this was professional but I disregarded it. I was given a rental and told my car should be done the next day. THURSDAY 6/5/2014 - at 4:27 I call to check on my car because I hadn't heard anything all day. The first call I was transferred to the service department and then hung up on me (this happened more than once...the phone system they have is TERRIBLE). I finally reached my service person, *****. He advised me AGAIN that they "still haven't figured out what was wrong" I told him yet again that the issue had already been identified by them in November. At this point he replied, "oh...we'll...we....check out all the cars again". I was told yet again that I would hear from them the next day. FRIDAY 6/6/2014 - at 1:16 pm I had not received a call from the service center as promised. I call and was ...again...accidentally hung up on during transfer. I call back and finally reach ***** the service representative and was told "they just don't know what is wrong with the AC". I asked him to look up my car service history while we were on the phone. He seemed surprised to see that the history very clearly stated that the condenser was damaged and needed to be replaced. At 2:48 I receive another call from ***** advising me to keep the rental for the weekend and they would try and figure it out on Monday. At this point I realize they just aren't listening to me at all. MONDAY 6/9/2014 - I receive a call from ***** at Buick to tell me there is a nail in my tire and I would need a new tire. He advised the tire would cost $386. I'm not even going to get into what a terrible price that is. I have yet to be able to find a single tire for my regal that is that expensive. I advised him I would get the tire somewhere else not to replace it. He said ok and that he would call me later that day about the AC. TUESDAY 6/10/2014- I don't hear from Buick all day long. WEDNESDAY 6/11/2014- I have a missed call from Buick (at 3:28 pm) and a voicemail telling me my car is ready for pickup. I call them as soon as I leave work and the service center was closed for the day. THURSDAY 6/12/2014- the calls from Buick start at 6:44am to tell me to pick up my car. I call at 10:34am to tell them I will not be able to leave work that day before they close and to see if I could pick the car up Friday. I was assured that would be just fine. 1:15pm, 1:47pm, 2:01pm, all missed calls from Buick

Desired Settlement
Refund and apology

Final Consumer Response
I have spoken to the business and they provided a satisfactory resolution.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/01/1965Business started: 09/01/1937
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Department Of Revenue
50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, AL 36132
(334) 242-1000

BBB records show a license number of 47-00019-17 for this company, issued by Alabama Department Of Revenue. Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2017.

Type: Competency License

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Trey Bentley (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Grey McCormick (CFO)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

The company is engaged in the sale and service of new and used automobiles.

Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bentley Buick GMC

2120 Drake Ave SW

Huntsville, AL 35805-5193

To | From


2 Locations

  • 2120 Drake Ave SW 

    Huntsville, AL 35805-5193(256) 536-2475

  • PO Box 7169 

    Huntsville, AL 35807-1169

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bentley Buick GMC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 16, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.