BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/10/2013

AllSouth Appliance Group Inc.

Phone: (256) 726-0399Fax: (256) 726-0393

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/04/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

We are now in the seventh week trying to get AllSouth and ULine to replace a new refrigerator that has been proven to be faulty. It has a digital setting for 34 degrees and the literature states that it cools to 34, however extensive testing shows that it does not cool, and only gets to 39-40.
I spoke with *** the manager on Wed and Thur Nov 4 & 5th. He finally confirmed that they had gotten a new one in and they were going to test it and get back to me in a couple of days. Over a week later on Friday Nov 13 I sent a long email asking why I had not heard from them in over a week. I also reminded them that this had been going on seven weeks and referenced a long email thread that went back a few weeks where I stated that this was totally unacceptable. I stated that it is now way beyond totally unacceptable and that I was going to pursue other avenues for resolution. I still have not heard anything from ***, he had his sales staff **** contact me. That is not even courteous.

Desired Settlement
This is part of a brand new construction/installation. This is an under-bar refrigerator and extensive cabinetry was designed and built around this product truly being an under-bar refrigerator. The designer recommended AllSouth and their product lines. If they cannot provide the product that they claim, then there will be MAJOR expense incurred to tear everything out, redesign, new cabinetry, and product from some other company that can deliver an under-bar refrigerator. I will hold AllSouth responsible for this.

Business Response
Customer presented us with dimensions and we located refrigerator that would fit in the opening ,given dimensions the options are very limited.

Upon approval from customer on make and model, we delivered refrigerator to job site on 8/14/2015 as previously agreed upon date.

On 10/01/2015 we received a call from customer stating refrigerator is not cooling . We sent a technician the next morning on 10/2/2015. Technician found refrigerator cold and cooling like any other natural convection type refrigerator.

On 10/05/2015 customer called back, stated that refrigerator is not cooling again. We sent two technicians to the residence the next day on 10\06\2015. Upon complete inspection and measurement, the refrigerator did turn off cooling at preset temperature at the point of cavity thermistor. Upon talking to a customer and listening to their complaint technician explained how unit needs to be tested and where temperature needs to be taken and that temperature inside refrigerator will vary by placement of the sensor . As per customer request, we adjusted temperature offset by two degrees.

On 10/16/2015 Customer contacted us and expressed dissatisfaction with product stating that his beverages are not get cold enough . We assured customer that we will do everything we can to make the product work as it was designed to work by manufacturer and if we have to replace the unit we will. We immediately contacted manufacturer representative and were awaiting their response.

On 10/19/2015 we still did not get answer from manufacturer so we contacted them again and requested the authorization to replace product. On 10/22/2015 manufacturer representative contacted us and told us that they will contact our customer directly. On 10/26/2015 customer contacted us that they still did not hear from manufacturer, so we inquired with them again. On 10/27/2015 we ordered a replacement unit even without manufacturer approval . On 11/10/2015 replacement unit arrived at our store. We contacted customer and after discussion, we proceeded to test the unit to be sure it is cooling as it should .

On 11/17/2015 customer generated BBB complaint and input as their Desired Resolution : Quote: "they cannot provide the product that they claim and that I will have to get a product from some other company that can deliver an under-bar refrigerator. I will hold AllSouth responsible for this"

We delivered exactly the product that was ordered on time without any delays , we sent technicians to see and remedy any problems immediately as soon as the customer complained (very next day) .

On 11/21/2015 after reviewing the BBB complaint we contacted customer and he would not accept product replacement or full refund. Customer stated, (he will) "let us know once he decides what he expects from our company ."

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received this response from the BBB on Thanksgiving Day???
This response is merely a chronological recount of what we have been through with AllSouth, and there are some inaccuracies in how it is presented. Please note, there is not a SOLUTION presented. It is only a calendar with no solution. They have not found a unit that can cool evenly or to a "refreshing temperature". (to quote them) There is no evidence that they have even tried to find another unit that works properly. They made no mention of that in the response at all. They are hoping that we will accept a ULine unit that they have shown with their own temperature experiments does not work well. That can be demonstrated best by me forwarding the email thread that has been generated over the last several weeks.
The ULine website shows photographs of this unit packed completely full. They state 57 bottles or 92 cans. On one of their service visits we had approximately 30 cans in the unit and they tried to double talk my wife into accepting that we had too many in the unit, more than it could cool. The ULine website also states "Maintains temperature to within 1 degree F of the set point to maximize preservation". AllSouth's own temperature experiments have proven this is not true but of course they do not acknowledge that in their response. Again, that will be best shown to BBB by me forwarding the email thread that has been generated. In that, they state the results of their experiment and my response to that, which they never responded to. So, please let me know an email address that I can forward this information to.
If this was a $150 under cabinet refrigerator, I might be willing to accept poor performance, but they charged $1500 for this unit! In fact, I have some $150 under cabinet refrigerators in other locations that do work very well with no problem.
Thank you-

Final Business Response
Dr ****** and AllSouth have been working together to find a solution. Both parties have been in continuous communication and it is just a matter of time that we will have a resolution.

11/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Can't get appliances serviced. We have been without our oven for over 1 month. Still under warranty. They are terrible at servicing appliances.
Purchased over 20K in high end appliances from All South Appliances who stated they would service our area. We have had our Oven serviced 4 different times and it still doesn't work. We have been without an oven for over 1 month. When a service date is set, they have a tendency to cancel it. (Happened twice!) Have to speak to manager in order to get anyone to help us. They are extremely bad at servicing high end appliances and their service technicians don't have the training or expertise in fixing these items.

Desired Settlement
We would like our appliances to work as they should. I am tired of excuses after every service call. When they arrive they need to fix the item. If they can't fix the item, then they need to replace the item.

Business Response
We recieved a call for service on 7/21/2015 and send our technician to their residence on 7/21/2015 .Technician arrived at their residence which is 48 miles away at 9:30 AM. Immediately upon looking at the oven it was obvious that the doors are not closing properly because the unit is not properly installed and not leveled inside cabinet . The unit was showing Error code E124 . The code E124 means - Door switch is in undefined state . It was obvious that that error code was generated due to improper install and until install gets corected the oven will continue to error out . Technician fully explaind to a customer what is the problem and that customer needs to call back the installer to correct the instalation of the oven and even explained what installer needs to do to correct the install. The technician is not equipped with tools and accesories to do installation especially on 328 LBS double oven.

After customer understanding what steps needs to be taken technician left the residence .

We have not hear from customer back till October 2015 . We scheduled a call for Friday 10/30/2015. As we practice every day we give a customer courtesy call a day prior to service if they dont answer we leave the mesage. As it happend customer did not answered and we left message .On Friday our technician was delayed on another call and we immidiatly call the customer that it would be too late for service to take place on that Friday especially because it is 48 miles away. We could not reach the customer and left a voicemail again .Even if the delay did not happen we would be unable to dispach technician if we do not have confirmation over the phone that there will be somebody at the residence .Customer did return a call on Monday 11/02/2015 and we had a opening and we scheduled the service the same day 11/2/2015. When technician arrived to customer residence and inspect the oven he discovered that the oven installation has still not be corected and oven doors are still hitting a frame . As it happend there were two technicians so they shimmed the oven so the doors closes properly and tested oven. They discovered that the oven also have error code E118 . (cooling fan ) . Technicians did not have a part on the truck with them to replace cooling fan . Explaind a customer that we have to order part and we will be back to install .Customer asked if they can use a oven and technician explained that yes ,but it might fault out again .

Very next day customer post this complaint on BBB knowing that we do have a part on order and we would call as soon as it is recieved .

Part arrived on Wednesday and we scheduled a call very next day on Thursday 11/5/2015 .We uninstall the oven replace parts ,reinstall the oven and properly balance inside cabinet .Tested oven at 400F for 15 minutes and oven operates properly.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Outdoor Kitchens, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units, Kitchen Accessories, Laundry Equipment

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.