Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of F.G. Edwards & Company?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

F.G. Edwards & Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 549-2728 Fax: (209) 549-2730 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 5037, Modesto, CA 95352 http://www.fgedwardswindows.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Window sales and installation


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that F.G. Edwards & Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for F.G. Edwards & Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on F.G. Edwards & Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 23, 2004 Business started: 10/01/1996 Business started locally: 10/01/1996 Business incorporated: 01/24/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 718208.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Deann Edwards, C.F.O. Ms. Leticia Hansen, Service Dept/Accounts Receivable
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Deann Edwards, C.F.O.
Business Category

Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows - Repairing Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Contractors - General Glaziers Home Improvements Deck Builder

Products & Services

This general contractor specializes in the selling and installation of windows, patio doors, and french doors. They provide full service window repair and full remodeling services, as well as bank owned rehabilitation.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 539 El Roya Ave

    Modesto, CA 95354

  • PO Box 5037

    Modesto, CA 95352

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The trim on 2 bay windows is defective and was to be replaced; 1 window possibly is defective; installation charge was to be adjusted bcz of less work Used FG ****** to replace all windows in my home. **** did the pricing/estimates in Aug. 2011; installation was in Nov. 2011. The trim/moulding around my 2 bay windows was defective and didn't seal properly; some windows appeared to be scratched; one vent appeared damaged. Milgard replaced the scratched windows. FG ****** was to inspect the vent and possibly order a replacement. FG ****** was also to replace all trim/moulding around the 2 bay windows with trim that sealed properly. They scheduled 3 times to do this, but all visits were canceled or re-scheduled. Last time was March 1, 2012, and I was told company was still waiting for correct trim product and would call when it arrived and schedule to take care of all above matters. I've not heard from them. E-mailed again 3/15/13 and no response. On the installation price, **** included cost to remove all window coverings and prep the area. When they notified me they were pressed for time on the install and had fewer days in their schedule to work on my house, I notified them I could have another company remove old window coverings and prep the area - they responded "Okay." When install was complete, I asked them about adjusting price (*****) and he wanted to be paid in full, with the proviso he would check with **** about whether the price had included the other work and if so, a refund would follow. We were to resolve this when they came back for repairs. They were rushed trying to finish and get back to Modesto - one of his men was getting married and had a bachelor party to get to. I have e-mails documenting that the price included removing all coverings and that this was changed before the install date, so the price should have been adjusted. I worked through Costco (Trusted Home Repairs) and had asked them for help on this. They indicated since FG ****** promised to make good on all the problems (trim, windows, partial refund)I should pay the American Express bill in full. Sorry I did that because once it was all paid, I've never heard from the company and the problems are not fixed or resolved.

Desired Settlement: I want the trim on the two bay windows replaced so it looks good and seals appropriately; the one bedroom window needs to be checked and replaced if defective. Prefer another company do this work at FG ****** expense since they have failed to address the issue and perhaps a local company can get this done. Also,there should be a partial refund of the installation price. The initial price included the cost to remove all window coverings and prep before installation of new windows. FG ****** cut back on the time to install and did not do this portion of the work; but never adjusted the price. Also some minor damage occurred in the installation which another company repaired. I am asking FG ****** to refund $500, which is about half of my cost to cover the prep and repair work.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We strive to provide excellent customer service to all of our clients. I have read the above complaint and would like to state the facts in this matter. ****** ****** was provided several estimates to replace windows based on different scenarios. Once she chose the options the price did not change. Her payment for product $10575.00, labor 4185.00 which was clearly stated in the contract. There were no additions or deletions from contract price. Regarding the window coverings- Our contract clearly states and was signed by Ms. ****** that "All window coverings are to be removed prior ro arrival." We did not charge additional for removing blinds as we do not do this, so there is no adjustment due for this. As far as prepping the area as she states? Our contract also asks for customer to remove all furniture and personal items at least 6 feet from openings which she also signed, we do not "prep" area. Both of these statements Ms. ****** have made are false. There were a couple manufacturer defects such as scratched glass, damaged screen, inferior weld at joint of window. These were turned into Milgard windows and completed in a timely manner. We have signed completion certificates from Milgard for these issues and we are not aware of any additional service items. Ms. ****** is correct in her allegation regarding the trim pieces. We knew of this problem and made several attempts to return but Ms. ****** rescheduled several times and then FG ****** failed to follow up and make sure was completed. We have several e-mails of her cancelling appointments to replace trim due to problems with her mother's health. The vinyl trim product comes from TrimQuick and is not an FG ****** product. We did notify them of a problem with trim adhering securely to wall. Although not desirable it has nothing to do with sealing the window, it is for cosmetic purposes only on interior. We are more than willing to address this issue. We apologize if she feels her job was rushed and that our employees discussed personal business at her job, that was inappropriate. We do not feel we should refund anything as the job was completed per the contract and if she paid someone to "prep" the area and remove blinds that was at her own discretion separate from our contract. We are hoping for a resolution which is satisfactory and fair to both parties. Thank you. ****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have misrepresented the facts and are reluctant to fix what even they acknowledge is workmanship that is below standards (the bay window trim). I don't see any point in continuing to exchange e-mails through BBB - this isn't resolving anything.

Business' Final Response
WE continue to be sorry that this customer remains un-satisfied. We have checked our records and the facts do not appear to be the same as the customer has intrepreted. We are not going to continue to argue what was obviously a mis-understanding. We do not remove blinds and she was not charged additional for that service so there is nothing to refund. Our contract is very explicit in this. This complaint has more accusations that were not even brought up previously so makes me question the validity of any of her concerns. We have never been told of any damage to anything previously. For whatever reason this job did not go well, we will do our best to resolve in a manner that is satisfactory to both parties. Our previous record is spot less so I do not think this is a fair representation of our company. What is the best manner to resolve as we are hesitant to return and have more mis-truths reported about us?