Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Diamond Head Windows and Doors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Diamond Head Windows and Doors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Diamond Head Windows and Doors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 27, 2012 Business started: 07/06/1994 Business started locally: 07/06/1994 Business incorporated 05/21/2012 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 691726.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Todd McKinstry, Owner Ms. Cheryl Freeland, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd McKinstry, Owner
Business Category

Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Windows - Installation & Service Doors - Installation

Alternate Business Names
Breeze Enterprises, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers windows and doors sale and installation services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Diamond Head Windows and Doors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2550 Mercantile Dr Ste C

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95742 (808) 321-5025 (916) 996-5202 (916) 706-1322

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered windows, sliding doors, a security door, and a sliding security door from your Hawaii office from **** *********. Was told it would take 6-8 weeks for order to come in. It took almost 6 months before the order finally came in. When ever I called, I was told by ***** ******** twice that the order must have gotten mixed up. When the order finally arrived, it was incomplete. I was told my sliding security door was not ordered, but it should arrive in 2 weeks. A month later, I was told that the sliding security door was actually made by a local company but would not look good with what I have because it would have to have a separate track, so it wouldn't match with what was installed. Even though I was assured by **** that his company had the sliding security screen door, which he previously had installed for another client and assured that installation would not be a problem and that it looked good with what I was getting. I settled for having the regular sliding screen door instead because the whole process took so long and I was frustrated. I had to call ***** twice before finally getting a refund for the sliding security door (I was charged before my order/installation was complete). The sliding security door was quoted at $1550, which I eventually got back, but they did not include my refund for the tax. I tried to email ***** and the main contact listed but never got a reply or my refund for the tax. I shouldn't have to pay tax on something that was never installed or even ordered. It is even stated per your Purchase Contract.

Desired Settlement: I want the amount that I should have gotten including tax($75). I also want a partial refund/discount on the original estimate, less the sliding security door, for the time and hassle that I was caused.

Business Response: ******,
I have left you several messages to contact you and resolve this issue. could you please call me back. Thank you
****** ********
Diamond Head Windows
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Complaint was not resolved. I’ve been trying to return phone calls to the company and have left messages. We have just been paying phone tag.

Business Response: ******,
I have left you numerous messages every day. I have sent you a refund check for the tax as you indicated, when I wasn't able to speak with you. You can call me any time ###-###-####. As I have said previously I have been leaving messages for you each day. You can also email me, but I have sent you a refund as you requested. Thankyou
****** ********
Diamond Head Windows

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Your last phone message said I was exaggerating in my complaint, which is not true, but you are exaggerating by saying you have been calling me everyday and leaving numerous messages. Yes, you have called and left few messages, but I have also called you back the following day(s), after you left messages, during your business hours, on both your company line and your personal line, but have not been able to get a hold of you either. I'm sorry I missed your calls when you have called, but I also have a job as a Nurse and am not able to answer my phone while I'm taking care of sick patients. As I have said, I have tried to call you too, during your business hours. 

On your first voice message left to me, you said that you would like to compensate me for the hassle that your company caused, but I guess that is not really the case. I did receive the check you sent, refunding me for the extra tax ($75) that I was charged, so thank you for that. 

Trying to resolve this via email would have worked better for me since we could never connect via phone. I would have emailed you, but you never gave me your email address. As I've said I have tried to email via the company website when I first complained but never got a response to that. Hence my complaint via the BBB.

I am glad that I at least got that back, but as a customer I am still NOT satisfied. 

5/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Diamond Head rep came to our door a few nights ago. I told him we were interested because we need some windows replaced. During the conversation he mentioned SMUD's programs related to window replacements. Last night, their Sales Manager came out to do the estimate. Through his quality presentation, he convinced me that I should replace all of my windows and that I would be able to afford it. Before he measured the windows I asked for a ball park estimate of the cost. He said it's typically about "$500 per hole." We have 26 windows, so I was thinking the estimate would come out around $13,000. After he measured everything, his estimate was over $19,000. In other words, his ball park was 50% off. They have an incentive that knocks $100 off each window, so that dropped the estimate to $16,600 -- still about 30% higher than his ball park. I asked him what that would cost to finance for 10 years and mentioned the SMUD program again. He gave a number of $311 per month. I knew immediately that something was off because that meant we would be paying almost $38,000 over ten years for a $16,600 loan. I asked him to confirm that this was through the SMUD program. He said yes. I expressed concern about the high monthly payment, he immediately offered a monthly payment of $240. Again, something was off because this just didn't match up with my understanding of how SMUD programs work. After he left, I ran the numbers through several on-line loan calculators. To get to a $311 payment on a $16,600 loan over 10 years would require an interest rate of 19%. SMUD's efficiency loans are 5.5%--producing a monthly payment of $180. Although I kept referencing SMUD, he never offered me numbers based on SMUD's program. Instead, offering me a program with an interest rate that is unconscionable and lying to me about what he was doing. I called him this morning to cancel the whole thing. He told me his numbers were based on a 7.95% rate. Again, he lied, that would mean a monthly payment of $200, not $311.

Desired Settlement: I have no interest in a resolution with the company as I will not do business with them. Instead I want this to be available to other consumers so that they can understand this company's sales practices. I believe the company is violating California Civil Code section 1770 through deceptive and unfair business practices.The tragedy for his company is that he had me convinced to do more than I had originally planned, but through his unethical behavior, his company will not get my business.

Business Response:

Diamond Head Windows offers free estimates.  Mr. ****** set an appointment to get an estimate on a few of his windows. Our representive *** went out to estimate his project.Mr. ****** wanted a ballpark figure without measuring to do all of them.  We don't feel it is fair to hold us to a guess. That is why we measure everything and show our potential customers all the options that are available and what the cost of those options would be. . As far as the monthly payment, The amount would be calculated by the term of the loan.  Mr ****** makes no mention of the term of the loan.  He is just assuming it was 10 years.   SMUD interest rate is set at 6.9%. There is no way to change that or for us as a SMUD approved contractor to alter the interest rate.  I personally called Mr ****** and made a special trip out to recalculate my estimators numbers.  (They were the exactly the same) I gave him an additional 10% discount for his trouble and a 10 year payment to the penny.  He seemed content and thanked me for the clarification but said he was probably going to do his heating and air first.

After a few days I emailed Mr. ****** to see if he could remove his complant. His response was as follows

 

I'll think about it.
To be perfectly honest, it bothers me that you did not tell me what the cost estimate was that you came up with when you measured the windows. Instead of doing that, you asked what ***'s estimate was and offered to knock 10% off his estimate. After you told me what the financing cost would be at that amount, I asked you what you came up with for an estimate based on your measurements and you refused to tell me. I have a problem with that. For all I know, the $15,000 you offered to me was more than what your estimate actually was.
****
 
Now I have no idea what Mr ****** is talking about.  But I guess after 26 years in the business, I have learned you just can't satisfy everybody.
**** *********
Owner
Diamond Head Windows and Doors

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. ********* suggests that all I got from his Sales Manager was a ballpark estimate.  Yes, I asked for one and based on that ballpark estimate, I agreed to have Diamond Head's Sales Manager measure all of the windows and provide me with a firm estimate.  The final numbers I was given were a firm estimate based on Diamond Head's Sales Manager's measurements -- a number I was willing to go with if the payments were in my budget.  Why do I know this?  Because I'm the one that filled the form out with the measurements while he was taking the measurements.  This isn't an argument over the ballpark estimate, it's an issue with what the final numbers were and the inability of the Sales Manager to provide effective, accurate, and responsive information regarding the financing options.

Mr. ********* suggests that I made no mention of the desired loan term.  He is mistaken and he knows that.  Throughout the conversation with the Sales Manager, I mentioned several times that I was interested in a 10-year financing.  If the Sales Manager didn't hear me or understand that, that is not my fault, but I'm pretty confident he knew I was talking about a 10-year financing.  Why do I know that?  Because as I explained to Mr. ********* on the phone and in person, I ask for payment information based on a 10-year term and then watched his Sales Manager slide his finger along the sheet with financing terms.  I watched him find the dollar amount and slide over to the column for a 10-year financing and saw that the number he found was $311 per month, which as I said in my complaint would have meant an interest rate of 19%.  And, again, I asked if that was the SMUD financing and was told that it was.  As Mr. ********* confirmed when he came out, the SMUD financing for the windows would have resulted in a monthly payment of approximately $175 for a 10-year financing. 

As for Mr. *********'s estimate -- I stand by my email to him.  He measured the windows, ran the numbers through his calculator and then asked me what his Sales Manager's estimate was.  I told him, "$19,200, but with the discount of $100 per window, it was $16,600."  Mr. ********* then offered to do it for $15,000, explaining that there was a commission or something like that the sales rep gets that they would knock off the price.  I responded, "OK, but what estimate did you come up with?"  Mr. ********* did not answer my question.  And it's only now that he claims that his estimate matched his Sales Manager's.  It's that kind of refusal to provide basic information related to estimates and costs that leaves me feeling like I'm not getting an honest presentation from a contractor.  Don't tell me the actual facts, leave me guessing, you're not getting my business. 

What's really disappointing about this is that Mr. ********* has explained to me that he has a problem with his Sales Manager.  I won't share the details here, but I find it fascinating that rather than just acknowledging here that his employee screwed up, he's trying to make it look like I'm the problem.  Well done, Mr. *********.

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
It appears to be a word-for-word repeat of the company's response to my initial complaint.  As such my response rejecting their initial response remains.  The company is twisting the facts to make it look like I was the problem when they acknowledged to me privately that they recognized the problem with the Sales Manager.  As a result, I don't think they have effectively responded to the complaint.  In addition, when the company's owner came out to "fix things" he was also less than forthcoming when I asked him what his estimate was. 

Business Response:

I am still standing by my original response but after reading Mr. ******'s additional comments I am adding  the fact that after I personally went out and cleared up his misunderstanding, he has now made further accusations about how I came up with my pricing. Now he has changed his complaint to my pricing policy. I thought this was about interest and term. I would like to ask for him to provide any documentation backing up his disputes. I offered him an additional discount for his misunderstanding and he now is not happy with how I came up with the estimate.
Furthermore if we are going to continue with these accusations, I would ask that Mr ***** provide the documents to support his claim.

Consumer Response: As the company's owner knows full well, I have no documents because he and his sales manager don't actually leave any documentation behind -- other than their cards and glossy sales brochures, and a verbal estimate regarding the total cost.  Furthermore, I'm not complaining about the firm's pricing policies, I'm complaining about two things.  The Sales Manager's inability to provide me with accurate information that was responsive to my clearly stated requests and the company owner's inability to answer my question regarding what his estimate was.  It's not a complaint over their pricing policy because I have no idea what their pricing policy is.  And that's the problem.  Misleading information, inaccurate information, and lack of transparency.  All it took was for the company to acknowlege its mistake, instead the company keeps trying to point the finger back at me.

4/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: sales rep. was eluding that the windows were harboring black mold (Stachybotrys). He performed no swab test. I do not appreciate a untrained lay person coming to my door ignoring a NO SOLISITORS sign and ask me if I am interested in free stuff. When I replied no, he asked again not even free stuff? I said no. Then he went on to say that there is black mold present in the front window which he was eluding to (stachybotrys).

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a written apology from the owner of this company and payment for a test to determine the type of mold present in the window.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We do not have any record of a customer named ****** ****** in our records. It could have been a door to door marketer that petitioner is referring to. If he noticed some mold on the window I see no harm in bringing it to the attention of the home owner. This can be documented as an apology for the record. We see no reason to conduct or recommend any mold test. We are not in that business. Furthermore I dont have any record of our crew working in the area petitioner lives. COuld he give me an idea of who it was so I can talk to them about this issue?