Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BuildYourSite.com

Phone: (800) 446-7846 View Additional Phone Numbers 1330 21st St Ste 203, Sacramento, CA 95811 http://www.BuildYourSite.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BuildYourSite.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BuildYourSite.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on BuildYourSite.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 08/21/2007 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tem Balanco, President Mr. Tony Balanco, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tem Balanco, President
Business Category

Web Design Internet - Web Hosting Internet Services

Products & Services

BuildYourSite.com specializes in building websites for small business.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

BuildYourSite.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1330 21st St Ste 203

    Sacramento, CA 95811 (800) 446-7846 (916) 307-5023

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In end of August after searching many web builder site, after talked to the live chat who was very nice and answer all of my question i decided that I will go with their service, they offered to build the webpage for $399.00 which I agreed,after I started to listing my product i noticed in the Paypal shopping cart the product photos regardless what size I'm using impossible to set so the photos clear just like any normal site, after my constant complaint finally someone admit it that indeed the problem is in their end, and the developer "need to do lots of code" and as of today i been told again that they working on it but they don't know when it will be fixed. Now today also find out that I'm not able to transfer the site which I paid for. Now I have a non-usable website - i been told that if i make the photo small they show up in the gallery right - yes unless a customer click on it, then see nothing but a smudged,in absolutely dilattente mode. Today I again been told Subject: [QGC-76443]: Asking about the photos AGAIN!Date: Nov 12, 2014 1:34 PM"Hello,This is something that is on currently on our developers list. We are working to implement it as quickly as possible, however, we do not have an exact date at this time."Sorry this is UNACCEPTABLE!!!!

Desired Settlement: I would wish that they let me know when they fix the problem with a date (I do not believe that wasn't any time since end of September to create "lot's of code") I am not paying for something what i maybe never be able to use. I started to complain early september but i was naive that will be fixed and only started to save a few of my complains and answers end of September,then i still believed that it will be fixed but today it become clear that it will not be fixed soon

Business Response: Hi,

The customer hired us to design a web site an 8 page web site. We ended up adding ended up adding over 30 pages at no additional charge. Also as part of the design service we add up to 5 products to the shopping cart for clients to help get them started, but for **** we ended up adding the first 20 items for her. The hosting service was completed the client was happy, she asked us to publish the site which we did.

The way our service works is client would make changes on their own after the initial design, on several occasions **** contact us for support and we assisted her with things that she needed help with.

A few months ago the client contact us about a feature in our shopping cart system called "Catalog" view. There is a bug with this feature which will distort the some of the images. We actually went into the clients web site and we changed the shopping cart so that it uses the traditional view instead of the "Catalog" View. In addition to this we added some additional product galleries above the shopping cart which will allow the customer to view large gallery signed product images.

Here are a few screen shots. ************************************************* *********** ********
*************************************************

The client was following up with us every few days, we did inform her that this wasn't an easy task and that it was going to require that we overhaul a lot of code to fix that one image display issue. This is an issue that we are continuing to work on. We did provide the client with a work around for the time being while we address the issue, we simply can not push the update until it's fully available. I have had phone conversations with the client explaining the issue and that our developers are working hard to get the issue resolved, but it's simply not an easy fix. We have given the client a few months of free service, we have also changed the layout so that it's not affecting her clients ordering experience.


Best Regards,

**** *******
***************** | *****************
###-###-#### Ext 800

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: For several reason,

Yes agree that pages was added which I appreciated,- then again I never was told that the 4page option was available for half of the money- but i didn't even mentioned since i was happy with the customer service-

A few months ago the client contact us about a feature in our shopping cart system called "Catalog" view. There is a bug with this feature which will distort the some of the images not some but ALL IMAGES...

Complaint after complaint i was directed to the video how to resize the pictures - i told over and over again that I know how to work with pictures. Finally after when I send you a picture and I asked  PLEASE SHOW ME after how to make this clear THEN was admit that indeed the problem is in the program and not my wrong doing

After my first complaint i been told that I not suppose to have the "catalog" view so it was changed to something else what was even made it worst, complained again several time and then now it was changed back to catalog, i do feel that i was given a run-around without any solution I did NOT get several months "free" service except one because I ASK FOR IT.

Need to understand how this looks like in the client eye...don't think that if you would be the customer would accept either.

Again after all I do not want any problem at all I WANT MY WEBSITE FIXED or tell when it will be done. I guess that probably I'm the lucky person to have the bug - therefore it is not in the FIX IT NOW.

Again let me make it clear I would be happily withdraw my complaint if I would know WHEN can I accept to this done because otherwise I am happy with the design.... and I want to be a long time customer

Business Response: ****, 

When you signed up for the design service you signed the e-sign document which contain both plans, you initialed the plan that you signed up for, so this is not correct. You specifically selected the 8 page option, like I mentioned in my previous response we ended up adding up to 30 pages and you paid for 8! 

Here is a copy of the e-sign that you fill out and signed it shows that you saw both plans. 
*************************************************

We did give the client a free month of service, but what we also ended up doing is changing the clients cart layout for all of their pages and we also added a gallery option to each page which displays the larger versions of the images which I provided screen shots for in my previous reply. 

Here are a few screen shots* *****************************/2014-11-13_1725.png (contracted gallery) 
*************************************************

This was done as a work around for a problem that our developers are working and that we should have resolved very soon. We have explained this to **** several times over the phone and via email, we are working very hard to fix this issue, but the bottom line is it's something that is requiring us to rewrite the code for this feature. In other words it's not an easy fix. The modifications that we made to the clients web site would by changing the cart layout and adding the extra galleries is a work around which allows the client to have the same experience as she would with the "Catalog" feature. Again the issue is with the "Catalog" feature in the cart, we fully expect to have this feature in place very soon maybe as soon as 1-2 weeks; this is something that we have been working on from the day it was reported. 

I understand that the client want's it fixed right this second, and we would like it fixed right this second, but Unfortunately that isn't always possible because of what's involved. We are doing everything possible to get this fixed soon, but do to the nature of what's involved there isn't anyway to tell exactly how long it will take because our developers are having to rebuild this feature. 

I have been given an eta of about 2-3 weeks we have been working on this feature for some time, I really hope it's less time, but it's very difficult to tell. 

- ****

Consumer Response: ****, i'm not argue with you, i've talked you personally and you offered the $399.00 option only... but it doesn't matter i do not care or complain what you did, but complain that since early September i dont have "bug-free" website.

I know since I'm in sales for at least 20 years and I learned very early stage the the very basic and important part of the business is a nice clean photo, and this is my only complaint.

Talked to my friends without I let them know that it is my site, asked their opinion, only 1 said that the pictures doesn't bother her,all other come back "what's wrong with the pictures.

So who may visiting the website doesn't care what is behind the curtain so to speak, I am sure that re-doing something might be not easy
but -and yes you telling me that takes that long, - what based on my conversation with developers, they agree not to believe, what I believe that over this months time to time maybe some work done, and the more important thing is on the "work bench"

So please as I said I plan to be a very long time customer, and the minute it is fixed I will be more then happy to close this complaint with a positive mark. Please make the fixing priority to the developer. I agree with the 2-3 weeks but I am very unhappy that I will
miss the opportunity to have a fully loaded web site at the most imported time of the year the Holidays!

Please inform me if I keep listing items with the current format, all my picture need to be reloaded or that will be fixed?If have to reloaded i don't see any use to even bother but I do not wish to pay the monthly charge either, till is done.

Business Response:

****, 

I have answered your questions below. 

****, i'm not argue with you, i've talked you personally and you offered the $399.00 option only... but it doesn't matter i do not care or complain what you did, but complain that since early September i dont have "bug-free" website.
Answer: You may have asked me for a recommendation and I suggested the 8 page option based on the number of pages that you wanted, but ultimately you made the decision which package to go with I have included a copy of the signed agreement.

I know since I'm in sales for at least 20 years and I learned very early stage the the very basic and important part of the business is a nice clean photo, and this is my only complaint.

Answer: Of course I agree, the issue was with the catalog view, as I mentioned before we changed the display and we also added the other gallery options. Please keep in mind that this was a bug that was brought to our attention and our developers have been working on it ever since. 

Talked to my friends without I let them know that it is my site, asked their opinion, only 1 said that the pictures doesn't bother her,all other come back "what's wrong with the pictures. 

Answer: ****, the answer is 

So who may visiting the website doesn't care what is behind the curtain so to speak, I am sure that re-doing something might be not easy but -and yes you telling me that takes that long, - what based on my conversation with developers, they agree not to believe, what I believe that over this months time to time maybe some work done, and the more important thing is on the "work bench" 

Answer: I don't think I follow the comment here? We keep going back to the issue, we are working on addressing the issue, we have provided the following work arounds. 1. We changed the layout. 2 We added a gallery of large images that visitors can browse. 

So please as I said I plan to be a very long time customer, and the minute it is fixed I will be more then happy to close this complaint with a positive mark. Please make the fixing priority to the developer. I agree with the 2-3 weeks but I am very unhappy that I will
miss the opportunity to have a fully loaded web site at the most imported time of the year the Holidays! 

Answer: As I had mentioned before this is not an easy fix, it was it would have been done already. We have been working hard at fixing this issue. We might be able to have it fixed sooner, but there is no guarantee of that. I know that we are close, but just really not sure how close. We fully expect to have this resolved very soon. 

Please inform me if I keep listing items with the current format, all my picture need to be reloaded or that will be fixed?If have to reloaded i don't see any use to even bother but I do not wish to pay the monthly charge either, till is done.

Answer: Yes, continue to use the existing format that we have put in place for you and once this if fixed this will be auto applied to your items. 

Thank you for your patience while we continue to work to get this resolved. I have issued a credit of 2 months of free service to your account.