BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Noack Pump

Phone: (209) 948-8817 Fax: (800) 656-7867 View Additional Phone Numbers 4500 E Fremont St, Stockton, CA 95215

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Noack Pump include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Noack Pump
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 26, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1921 Business started locally: 01/01/1921 Business incorporated: 07/24/1985 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Ostrom, President Ms. Pam Ostrom, Sect/Treas
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Ostrom, President
Business Category

Water Wells - Pumps Sales & Service Fence Contractors Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies Home Inspection Service Pumps - Service & Repair Water Filtration & Purification Equipment

Service Area
Sacramento, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Merced, Madera, Northern Fresno, Eastern Alameda, Western Amador Counties
Alternate Business Names
Diamondback Enterprises, Inc.
Additional Information

8:00 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday with 24 hour service available through live answering service at all times the office is closed.

Products & Services

This contractor specializes in the sale and service of water pumps, treatment of water systems and erection of vinyl fences.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4500 E Fremont St

    Stockton, CA 95215 (800) 446-6225

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 446-6225(Phone)
  • (209) 948-1959 (Fax)
  • (530) 243-7652 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Noack come out and rebuild the pump system on our new home at a a cost of $4,200.00 on 3-22-2013. To Date , the system has not worked correctly Noack replaced the Main Pump,2 Tanks and Valves on 3-22-2013. After installing the new equipment, the Installer left the old plumbing and tanks , along with packing debris thru out the yard. The System had leaks in the plumbing associated with the Tanks located in the rear garage shop area and left the shop area flooded with dirt debris.The New pump has an Inductive Humming Noise loud enough to be noticed by the Next Door Neighbors. The pressure dropped to 21 Lbs with just one faucet working. ***** came out and inspected the unit and discussed the issues with me. We agreed that if I paid the remaining balance of $2,000. owed, He would have a technician come out and attend to all the Issues and install a main shut off valve.A technician has come out twice to attempt to correct the leak issue. No other issues have been corrected as of 5-2-2013.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a technician come out and correct the issues ***** promised to address. First , insulate the pipe and any other conduit devices that are causing the Loud Inductive Humming Noise associated with the pump. Second Replace the Pressure Relief Valve at the pump that makes a Loud popping noise when the pump comes on. Third , why , as ***** puts it, "all the sprinklers should be running at the same time" when the system can't support more then one sprinkler area at a time, let along all Four?? And Finally , install a Main shut off valve.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
It is our normal position that once we have been threatened with litigation, that we will no longer comment on a case. On Thursday, May 2, 2013, Mr. ******, upon being notified that I was hospitalized, advised my grandson *****, that I was not a man of my word and that if this matter was not resolved by Friday May 3, 2013, he was referring the matter to his attorney. Obviously, it was not resolved by Friday and I returned to work on Tuesday and found your complaint which was sent via fax on Friday. For the record, the contract was entered into on February 28, 2013 and installation was scheduled by the owners for March 8, 2013. We returned on Monday to clean-up the site as the owners were moving into the vacant home while we were attempting to work. There is no floor drain in the garage where the tanks are installed so yes there was water. Since that time, we have been on site no less than 6 times totaling over 23 man-hours. We have insulated the piping WHICH WE DIDN'T INSTALL in an attempt to cut down on the harmonic vibration. I did the inspection prior to the new pump and the piping vibrated then it vibrates more now due to the increased volume of water being pumped. The instructions on watering were that enough sprinklers should be running so that the pump runs all the time while they are watering-our service man reset their pressure switch to 40-60 from 30-50 so they wouldn't run the pressure so low. This also aggravates any vibration. I would be more than happy to work on the system provided that (1) we receive a written acknowledgement that no attorneys are involved and (2) Mr. ****** is not present when we do our work.

Consumer's Final Response
This case has not been resolved. I have been patient with this company as you can see by my log of events. (attached) I'll give them another month to respond and then consider my options.

Business' Final Response
In response to the latest laundry list: 1.Pictures from our last visit showed no leak or moisture under the tanks. If there is now moisture, we will be happy to take care of it under the same conditions as outlined in our first response. If there is no moisture, a standard $90.00 service call will be charged and paid for at the time of the visit 2.Running a single set is what should have been the landscaper's design-to run one set of sprinklers continuously. We have already reset the pressure upwards to maintain pressure in the house. 3' We will be glad to replace or reset the pressure relief valve under the same conditions as our first response. 4.Our original agreement was that ****** was to furnish the material to place between the Piping and the wait. We installed what he furnished. The purpose was not to insulate the pipes but to isolate them from the walls. ` ` 5.Having been in the pump business for over 50 years, I can honestly say that the statement made is false; there is no standard for tank installation, We install just as many In garages, sheds, Pump houses, pool houses, behind houses, `in front of houses, and along the side of houses as we do next to wells. The other fact is that the way this ` house is Plumbed, the water still has to go through the problem piping in the garage to get to the house and to the irrigation system Moving the tanks does not solve the noise problem it just creates other problems, 6.We will be glad to install a shut off valve under the same conditions as our first response. 7. We have never seen air in the system so this must be a new problem as it has never been brought up before. There are perhaps 6 different ways air is getting into the system starting from a failed diaphragm tank to a pump that is breaking suction. We cannot comment without looking at the site under the same conditions as previous stated. While Mr. ****** claims to be a civil, his response and actions with my grandson hardly exhibit that. I stand by my original request,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told I would NOT be charged $50 extra for Sunday service. I was billed the extra amount and the owner will not stand by the original quote. 8/17/2012. Our well pump had quit working. We called Noack Pump & their representative, **** told us the regular charge for Sunday service was $140 but he would only bill us $90.00 since he was already in our area on other calls. **** arrived, tore the pump controller apart, switched the relay's around and then told us he thought the pump was probably bad. He told us he would have a price on a new pump for us 1st thing in the morning. He left wires and parts hanging from the controller. I called mid-morning and spoke to ****. After a couple of conversations during the morning he told me he would charge $350 to pull the pump. At that time, he would give us an estimate for repairs. While we were on the phone, he again said the charge for the day before would be $90, not $140, and we were welcome to get estimates and have the repairs done by others. We got an estimate and had the repairs done by another company. A week or so later, we received a bill for $140 labor. I thought my partner had called the company to tell them we were charged incorrectly and waited for a corrected bill. After receiving a phone call this morning that a lien was going to be placed for the outstanding charges, I called and spoke to **** in the office. I explained that the bill was incorrect and also told her I would send a check for $90 plus service charges. **** told me that **** was no longer with the company because he had quoted other customers incorrect prices. she said she would note the file and talk to the owner about the billing dispute. **** called me this afternoon & told me the owner said the company policy was to charge $140 for weekend service and they would file a lien next week if the bill for $140 + service charges was not paid. I asked to speak to the owner but was told he was not available. I am sending a check for $90 + service charges today. I left a request to be contacted by the owner.

Desired Settlement: Credit for $50.00 to clear the balance of the bill.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
First, the call came in on Sunday August 12th at 8:44am through our answering service, ****** was coming back from Auburn and it was relayed to him at 10:17 am. He spoke with **** ***** and gave him the $140.00 weekend call out price. There were no other calls for that day. ****** made the call and offered to lower the price to $ 90.00 cash as the pump had to be pulled. The customer had no information on the existing pump and ****** offered to check our records Monday as **** wanted a price. Yes he left everything disassembled as it didn't make any sense to reassemble and disassemble it the next day. Second, on monday the 13th, ****** *****, (that's what she identified herself as) called and was quoted 350.00 including the $140.00 sunday sc to pull the pump. This was the same information given to **** ***** two hours earlier. Once the pump was out we could determine the pump that was in the well plus the water depths to make sure the new pump was correctly sized. She opted to go elsewhere. A bill was sent out on 8/17/12 for the $140.00. Statements were sent with service charges on 9/24,10/15,&11/15. No one ever called. We called and talked to **** on 11/13 and 11/19. He never disputed the $140.00. Advised that his wife would get the check out. Next call was from a ****** ****** who identified herself as ****'s "partner". She claimed ****** had told her she would only be charged $90.00. Lastly, since ****** is my brother, I called him. He confirmed that he offered them a $90.00 cash price for the Sunday service call but they could not pay. He further advised that he wrote up a charge for $140.00 and turned it in with the work order for billing. He released it for billing when they told him he was too high for the service call and pull. Rather than screw around with these people, we wrote off the $50.00 and placed all their names on our do not respond list with an explanation to other pump companies in our area that belong to the credit union. ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Part that was installed defective, Noack is refusing to come out again to solve the problem. Supervisors are also refusing to speak with me. Monday 9/10/12 at approx. 3pm Noack came out to fix our well, Noack installed a new part and left with a check payment of $154.xx (Check number ***). In the morning, we had no water pressure again. The technician came out that night at approx. 7pm, replaced a different part and left around 9pm without confirming the well was in full working order because it was dark out and he did not have a light. Payment in the form of a check for $60.00 (Check number ****) was given. On Wednesday morning, (9/13/12) our well still was not operating properly because the new switch they installed appears to be defective. We were told by Noack at 10:09am the tech would be out that evening. At 03:06pm the tech called and asked us to contact Old Republic to get a recall order. After contacting Old Republic, we were told the tech would be out Thursday to continue repairs. Thursday morning, I called Noack at 10:13am and was told the tech had been instructed by his boss to not come out Wednesday night and that were now placed at "The bottom of our schedule" because they had already been out two times. Noak then claimed our service request for Wednesday/ Thursday is now a different order number from Old Republic, not a recall. Per Old Republic, this is false. The original claim has not been completed and all return appointments are recalls for the original claim. Noack then refused to send a technician out on Thursday as originally agreed, claiming they would not have someone available until until Friday. This was confirmed by Old Republic and a general Friday morning appointment was agreed upon, in spite of the fact that we have been with horribly unreliable water pressure for the last 4 days. Noack then suggested we call another company, "If it's really that bad." We were using our Home Warranty so our hands were tied as to what company we could use, and payment had already been rendered for services. Old Republic advised us that Friday was the best they could do. We had no choice but to wait until the next day. Friday morning (Today) I called Noack at 11:09 to confirm a time for today's appointment and was told that we were, "Not on the schedule." When I noted that we had agreed on a Friday appointment after a no show on Wednesday and being "Bumped to the bottom of the list" on Thursday, Noack states, "You had an appointment yesterday that you cancelled." We absolutely did not have an appointment for yesterday and surely would never have cancelled it if we did. The job Noack came out originally to do (Fix our well and water pressure issue) has not been completed. We have paid them for the two visits they already made and both checks have been cashed. Noack now refuses to come complete their job (As evident by 3 abandoned appointments) and we still have horribly unreliable water pressure. An attempt to contact ****** ****** (President) was made. First at 11:26, the secretary stated ****** was not in the office. When I requested to be transferred to his voice mail, the call was ended. I immediately called back at 11:28 and a different employee answered. Upon requesting to speak to ****** ******, the employee shouts, "Hey ******, it's ****** ******." A voice in the background replies, "Tell her I'm in a meeting." At this point, I cannot help but conclude that Noack has zero intension of returning to complete the job they have already been paid to do.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund as I have zero confidence in Noack's ability to follow through with a job they start and do not want them returning to my residence. I will be seeking another company to complete the task as per Noack's request. The switch I paid for is defective and the tank needed to be drained to install it, thus fixing the waterlog problem that was initially diagnosed. Therefore, no additional labor was required to fix the waterlog. In addition, the $60 that was paid on 09/12/2012 for a service request charge should not have been collected by Noack because, per Old Republic, the $60 is only to be paid once per claim.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states : We have reviewed the complaint as filed by Mrs. ****** and respond as follows: First, the ******* are not our customers: Old Republic Home Protection was our customer and called the shots as to when and where we went and how often. They also determine what and what not is covered under the policy the homeowners have. Second, we never once left the premises that the ******* were not in water. The problem was that the ******* left the simple problem of a water logged tank continue for such a long period that it weakened many parts of their system - none of which were covered by Old Republic and many of which will fail as the stronger parts are replaced ahead of them. Third, on Wednesday afternoon, I personally informed Old Republic we would not be going back to this job because the construction on the roads made it a 4 hour round trip and they needed to get someone closer. I also informed them that if they couldn't find someone closer, we would TRY to get someone back on late Friday. ORHP was also reminded we had other of their calls to do right here in Stockton, Lodi, and Galt. We took the original call because their normal contractor for the area couldn't cover it. On Thursday, Mrs. ****** called our office claiming her animals were dying. We had already spoken to her husband two days prior and he had informed us that the alpaca had died of old age and not from any lack of water. Mrs. ****** was told to contact Old Republic and have another pump company assigned to her project. She became abusive and hung up on us. On Friday, Mrs. ****** called and wanted to know when we were coming because no one showed up yesterday. She was told by the same person she talked to on Thursday that she had said it was an emergency and she needed someone today (Thursday) because her animals were dying. Mrs. ****** answered "ARE YOU ******* KIDDING ME? YOU'RE NOT COMING?" Our office manager told her she cancelled the Old Republic order yesterday because she needed someone yesterday and we couldn't do it yesterday. Mrs. ****** hung up on us. As to Mrs. ******'s comment that she called back and heard me in the background say I was in a meeting, she must have really good ears because I was 180 miles away working in my own public utility district Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. On the first trip out, we drained a water logged tank, replaced an air release valve and gauge on the tank, and the pressure switch and nipple which were burned due to constant on and off process caused by the water-logged tank. We also noted that the pump motor was drawing high amps (the pump and the motor are really the only thing covered under the policy). On the second trip out, we found and repaired a burned wire in the control box. We also drained the system and installed some customer parts. The complaint for the third trip was that a water softener was leaking and "something else is wrong". None of these items would have been covered under the homeowner policy. Each callout paid for by ORHP decrease the amount available under the policy to replace the pump and motor which is another reason we wanted another company closer to the problem to respond. There were no defective parts, we asked her to find another company closer early on, and, again we were dispatched and directed by ORHP. We owe Mrs. ****** nothing but the best of luck. Again, each and every time our service person left the job, the site was in water. ****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
My other replies are long winded but this is the essence of the entire complaint. Upon further consideration, I feel it is important to note that Noack had already been paid when they refused to come back out and began telling us to look for another company. I already paid Noack. There is absolutely no reason whatsoever that I should have to call and pay a second company to respond and complete the job Noack was paid to do but did not finish.

Business' Final Response
Company states (JLS): Old Republic paid us less any fees paid by ******. We have closed file.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1