BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

SCSMP Enterprises, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 576-0458 View Additional Phone Numbers 1027 N Emerald Ave Ste A3, Modesto, CA 95351

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SCSMP Enterprises, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SCSMP Enterprises, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SCSMP Enterprises, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 28, 2010 Business started: 05/08/2007 Business started locally: 05/08/2007 Business incorporated: 05/08/2007 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sam Corona, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Corona, Owner
Business Category

Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
SMP Enterprise
Products & Services

SCSMP Enterprises, Inc. specializes in vacuum cleaner sales.


Additional Locations

  • 1027 N Emerald Ave Ste A3

    Modesto, CA 95351

  • 2851 Geer Road

    Turlock, CA 95382

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 669-4999(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Door-to-door sales representative misrepresented terms of contract for purchase of Kirby Vacuum. What he explained verbally was not what appeared on contract. I have canceled the contract within the 3-day period, but wanted to advise BBB of this company deceptive business practices. The sales representative took the cover page of my bank statement, which I want returned. He also took an old vacuum which I want returned.

Desired Settlement: Return of my bank statement and my old vacuum.

Business Response: The terms of the contract with ***** ****** on March 26th, 2014 was explained in thorough detail with the sales manager when she purchased the machine that day. She spoke with the finance company to reassure ***** ****** of all the terms within the contract, including the 3-day cancellation period. ***** ****** verified with the manager and finance company she understood the contract and its terms. The cancellation was within the 3-day period and finalized with the finance company on April 4th, 2014. The bank statement and old vacuum has a confirmed scheduled appointment to be dropped-off on April 8th, 2014. The contract states we have 20 days to return any personal documents, down-payments, and merchandise.

Consumer Response: So far, SCSMP did return my bank statement page and my eureka trade-in vacuum, however, the finance company (or they said it was from them) called me to confirm my cancellation after someone named Sam from SCSMP called me first. My bank ensures that they cannot take payments from the account no matter, so i suppose i will know after 5/10/14  or when i receive notice of cancellation in the mail, which i did request from ***** when she called from the finance co. ucsfco..if that was really from them. she said i will receive a notice in the mail but nothing came so far..thank you for your help.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ******** ******** am writing this letter on behalf of my friend, ***** *******. *****'s primary language is Spanish; she has some difficulty in communication. Therefore, I am requesting all correspondence on this matter be written. The following is based on my knowledge of the situation. I contact you today in order to rescind contract on the above entitled contract. The contract is not valid, as it was signed by my son, who is mentally incompetent and incapable of entering into such an agreement. He suffered brain damage after an accident in June 1998, and does not have the mental capacity necessary to understand the nature of his actions, the least of which is entering into a contractual agreement. A representative from SCSMP Enterprises, attired in extremely skimpy shorts, came to my house on or about the third week in July of 2013. This person spoke to my son and told him that "she needed to sell product in order to make money to feed her children". While this sale tactic is alarming on its own, it is especially deceptive and manipulative when directed at an individual that is easily recognized to be mentally incompetent. We were not aware of the charges for the dirty vacuum left until the payment book was received on August 11, 2013. Finance company was called as they were only contact information we were aware of. I tried to explain the circumstances to the representative and the response I rudely received was, "if this was not paid, (my son's) credit would be damaged". We were not aware of a contract prior to this, as *** did not advise me of the contract. When bill was received from finance company, my son could not recall where he placed the contract, as trouble with his memory, often accompanied with incapacitating headaches is something he deals with as a result of his brain damage. He experienced such a headache that day. Please see letter attached from his neurologist, Dr. ***** ******* confirming mental condition that I tried to explain to the finance company. I trust this is not how your company wishes to do business - by taking advantage of the mentally impaired. Now that this has been properly brought to your attention, I would like to have this matter resolved immediately. We would like to return the vacuum in its original condition as left by the representative and rescind the contract. It is available for pickup at your earliest convenience.

Desired Settlement: Cancel the contract and take back the product.

Business Response: Final Business Response
The equipment has been picked up and the customer is not liable.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Saleperson advised us 8/21/13 that we were approved for the Kirby vacuum and took our vacuum and $20 as a deposit. On 8/29/13 the salesperson came and stated that there was a recall on the vacuum because the cord catches fire and was to bring a new one the next day and did not. When we contacted the company regarding the replacement we were informed that we were NOT approved for the Kirby. At that point we displayed our outrage at being told a lie as to why he was picking up the Kirby. No one at the company knew anything regarding a recall at that point we advised that we wanted our money and our vacuum including a voided we gave for future payments back. They advised us that we would receive these items back the following week. Today 9/4/13 I contacted the company and was only able to leave a message for a callback which I did not receive. We feel this very bad business with the lies and I still have not recieved my items back from them. We will no longer conduct any business with this company and we have been Kirby customers for the past 10 years, but with this experience we will look elsewhere for our vacuuming needs. Product_Or_Service: Kirby Vacuum Cleaner Account_Number: 005-CA-04/12

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: We would like what we gave back with out any more delay. Or will we be forced to seek legal counsel.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
The customer's equipment has been returned to ******,and all other matters have been resolved.

Final Business Response
The customer's vacuum return was delayed when the customer stated the vacuum we returned was not hers. She later called our office to apologize and verify it was in fact, the correct vacuum. The $20 check has been sent in the mail and should arrive shortly.

9/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract Issue On Aug 2, 2013, two Kirby agents showed up in my house at about 6:00 p.m. to demonstrate a Kirby shampooer at no cost and no obligation. In the end I obliged to sign the contract because they were very insistent. By the way, I noticed that the date in the contract was Jul 31, 2013 and I pointed it to the agents but said nothing so I signed it on the date I signed the contract which was Aug 2, 2013 and I put the date next to my signature. The agents took away my old Kirby vacuum (still in excellent condition)in exchange to a new Kirby shampooer vacuum for $900. Since I am an elderly in my eighties, I consulted this to my daughter and she said to return it immediately because it is too expensive. I know there is a 3-day grace period for returns. So, I called the next day Aug 3, 2013, the day after I signed the contract, which by the way the agent wrote Jul 31, instead of Aug.2, 2013 and NO ONE ANSWERED the phone! So I left a message. No one got back to me at all. I also wrote a letter and to no avail. An agent from SCSMP, who was rude on the phone, called me back and said the day I contacted them was over the 3-day limit and there was nothing they could do about it. How can that be? I called the following day I signed the contract and no one answered the phone whether intentional not. That is just a big lie because they just refused to answer the phone.

Desired Settlement: I would like this product to be returned since I have not used the product. I would also like my old Kirby vacuum back.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The customer, ****** ******, had purchased a Kirby dated July 30th, 2013 with an agreed understanding of a three-day cancellation period.The cancel the contract, ****** must "mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of this Cancellation Notice or any other written notice, or send a telegram" to SCSMP Enterprises, as stated on the contract. No record of a phone call within the three-day cancellation period was received. The contract clearly states ****** may cancel "NOT LATER THAN MIDNIGHT OF 08-02-13." If ****** ****** has any questions regarding the Kirby machine or contract, she may give me a direct call at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is that these people showed up at my house as I was coming home from work on January 10, 2013. The gentlemen that was at my door mentioned that they were not selling anything, that it was a simple demonstration. They told me that they would clean a carpet in one of my bedrooms, free of cost, that I just needed to give them 15 minutes. 20 minutes later another gentlemen showed up, and cleaned a small portion of the carpet. They were explaining the product, and didn't finish cleaning the carpet. 3 hours later, I told them that I could not make a decision on the cleaner because I had to pass it by my husband, and verify the info with him. By this time it was 5:40pm, I had to get dinner ready, and my husband was on his way home. Well a couple minutes later, another man showed up at my house, and to be honest, I have no idea at what time I said yes. I felt pressured, and just wanted to get them out of my house. I signed the contract, and they told me that I still had the option to cancel if I wanted to. I thought this was perfect! I can speak to my husband, and if he doesn't want it, we can just cancel. Well they took the contract and left, then they came back and told me that he tore up the contract because it was incorrect. He had me sign a new one, and said it was the same thing. He mentioned that the cancellation deadline was 01/15/2013, which was the day I cancelled.

Desired Settlement: Cancel Contract, pick up their vacuum, not damage my credit. I cancelled in the right amount of time.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The customer, ****** ****** purchased the Kirby machine on 01/10/13. The final day to cancel her contract was "NOT LATER THAN MIDNIGHT OF 01/14/13" as stated on the contract. The finance company has confirmed and verified Mrs. ****** did not cancel within the optional cancellation period. She did call trying to cancel at a later date and we explained that she could not cancel by law. We notified her that the contract had been finalized and the finance company has already funded the transaction. Attachment of contract will be emailed.

Consumer's Final Response
In respect to the contract, I did see that it was a 3 day right to cancel. However, it was my understanding that the 3 days did not include the weekend. This is why I cancelled everything on Tuesday thinking I had the 3 day right to cancel. I also took the time and called SCSMP Enterprises, and they mentioned there was nothing more they can do because all the documents had been send over to the finance company. I obtained contact info from the representative there, and contacted the finance company. When I contacted the finance company, they mentioned that I still was able to cancel because nothing had been processed yet. After speaking with the finance company I called SCSMP, and explained to them what happened. SCSMP mentioned that they would call the finance company and get back to me. When I received a return call from SCSMP, they again told me that they could not cancel the contract. I explained to them that I had just gotten off the phone with the finance company, and they assured me that they could cancel the contract.I have no idea what SCSMP told the finance company, but when I called them back again, I got no answer, and no one has called me back anymore. I explained to the sales man that I could not make a final decision without my husband, and he assured me there was no problem in cancelling. Well, clearly that is not the case, because the cancellation policy was not explained correctly. Thank you, ****** ******

Business' Final Response
Saturday is a business day, and it clearly states on the contract the final day to cancel was "NOT LATER THAN MIDNIGHT OF 01/14/13." If the customer had called the finance company in time, they would have immediately cancelled ****** ******'s contract with her phone call. Instead, the finance company funded our company and never mentioned ****** ****** attempting to call.

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We returned our Kirby Vacuum within the 3 business days as stated in the contract however this company did not report it to the finance company. On 12/26/12 we purchased a Kirby Vacuum Cleaner. The next day on 12/27/12 we noticed that a purse was missing from our house. We used it the day we purchased the Kirby and we did not go out of our house at all. We checked the credit cards on the internet and there were thousands of dollars purchased using these credit cards. We attempted to contact SCSMP Enterprises and they did not answer their phone and their office was closed. We made a police report and they are investigating the incident. We were able to get a hold of them on 12/28/12 and they said they were going to send someone on 12/29/12 which was on a Saturday. We told the representative what occured on this day and he told us to sign the bottom of the contract where it says "I hereby cancel this transaction" and so we did. The reprsentative was appeared surprised about the theft and said that it most likely was the employee Margeet that stole the purse because he was new and his partner Ian that was there that day has never had issues with anything like this. He gave us our old vacuum back. Now on 1/4/13 we got a letter from the finance company stating we are under contract. I called the finance company and they stated that this contract was never terminated and they are going to conduct an investigation on why it was not. The vacuum was returned to SCSMP Enterprises well within the 3 business day requirement and we are not responsible for payment.

Desired Settlement: I want the business to be responsible for this vacuum. We fulfilled our part of the contract.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The account has been closed. The financing has been terminated. Customer is not responsible for any payments. If the customer has any questions, we can be contacted at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Consumer's Final Response
Consumer provided a copy of the notice of cancellation. Dated 12/26/12, and signed as cancelling on 12/29/12.

11/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesperson **** promised to give me a refund if i wasn't happy with vacuum. Within seven days i wanted a refund and was told I couldn't get one. September 7, 2012 I purchased a Kirby Vacuum\Shampooer Model-Sentria, Serial No. XXXXXXXXXX , *(Account#XXXXXXXX Buyer-****** ******) Sales Rep. ****/crj.kk/crj Price$900 Payment Method-$33.66 a month (for 36 months) Payments are due:starting,10-07-12 1st Payment-$33 Oct.7 2nd Payment-$33.66 Nov.7 It was a used vacuum\shampooer and I was told by salesperson luis that if it didn't work good or if I didn't like it, I could return it and get my money back. First day, it was used it was working fine. Second day, I tried using the Shampooer and it wasn't cleaning the carpet at all. It made it worse and spreaded dirt out on the carpet. Third Day I used the vacuum and it started to make the carpet smell burnt. After that i stopped using it and four days later I called to return it on Sept.14,2012 and the representative told me i couldn't return it. So now I'm stuck paying for something that does not work. As a consumer I know I've been taken advantage of because of what I am stuck with and what the Salesperson **** promised and now that was taken back from him. So please help me get my money back. I have a family of ten that the money can be spent on, on much more needed things. Sincerely, ****** ******

Desired Settlement: I want my money to be returned to me and I want them to take their vacuum\shampooer back. That would be the solution.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** has not contacted us about any trouble with the equipment. If there is any problems with the machine, he may contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX. The contract is now under the finance company, United Consumer Financial Services, in which there is a three-day cancellation period. Mr. ****** failed to contact UCFS or SCSMP Entrprises within the cancellation period.