This business is not BBB accredited.

Robert Tompkins Tree Service

Additional Locations

Phone: (530) 354-0308 1201 Patricia Dr, Chico, CA 95926

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Robert Tompkins Tree Service include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Robert Tompkins Tree Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Robert Tompkins Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 2008 Business started: 01/19/2007 Business started locally: 01/19/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00889724.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Tompkins, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Tompkins, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service

Additional Locations


    1201 Patricia Dr

    Chico, CA 95926


    PO Box 473

    Orland, CA 95963 (530) 354-0308


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did NOT perform the services he was paid and did inferior work for what was done....has been over 72 hours and still not contacted me to settle this On September 19, 2013 I spoke to Robert Tompkins over the phone concerning the cost and time factor and what he would do for the cutting of 1 eucalyptus tree. He told me for $1600 he would start that day and be finished by September 20, 2013 and would cut the tree down and into 15" lengths and the big rounds he would also cut in 1/4 and leave the stump with cleanup of all the debris. The evening of September 19 when I returned home from work they were cutting the tree and he told me his crew would be finished the next day by noon, I said that worked out great since I had to return a rental car just after 12:00pm and that way I could pay him when he finished and before I left. On the 20th it was obvious the crew would not be finished before I had to leave to return the rental car. Mr. Tompkins was insisting that I pay him as he didn't want to have to wait for me to return and he stated they would be done. I paid him $800 cash and $800 check and left to go to Chico....within a 1/2 hour I checked with my bank and discovered he had already cashed my check. When I returned home I was shocked to discover that he did NOT perform the work he said he would. Some pieces of wood were 3 and 4 foot lengths, hardly any were cut in 15" lengths and the bigger part of the tree wasn't cut all the way through, but left in a 4 foot length with several cuts partial through the wood, which I soon discovered was how a lot of the wood was length, just partial cut. Eucalyptus trees if not cut into lengths when wet is extremely difficult when it starts to dry and will "chew up" a chain saw horribly and dulls the blade and in some cases just break the chain. I took several pictures. Also all the debris was NOT raked up and I had a pile of sawdust and leaves and then it rained the next day which made a slush...ONLY 1 of the bigger rounds was cut into 1/4 as promised. The single guy left from the crew packed up when I returned home and loaded his chain saw in his truck and just left without talking to me at all. I made a couple of attempts to contact Mr. Tompkins and finally after I sent a text message because I discovered they had taken a pge wire down and didn't even tell me I wanted to know what was going on and WHEN he would return to finish the work because he wasn't suppose to have been paid until the work was finished.... I work with his uncle and my ex-stepdaughter works for him and because of this I believed him when he said the work would be done by noon and he couldn't wait for my return and wanted to pay his people. My concern with the wood just being left as it was is that it is along the road and people have already stopped and helped themselves. I have a big pile of uncut wood and wood that has partial cuts in it sitting in my yard. On Sept 20th Mr. Tompkins told me to "trust him" that he would take care of it and he had already contacted pge and that wasn't a concern, I wanted to know about getting my wood finished cut as I had paid him to do and he said to trust he would get to it. It has been OVER 72 hours and I have not heard another word from him. I have contacted someone else who wants $300 to finish cutting the wood into 15" pieces and said if I wait much longer and the wood dries because of the damage to the chain saw in cutting dry eucalyptus they would have to charge more. If needed I will go to small claims as I am a senior citizen and I do not intend to be taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $300 refunded to me that I will have to pay to someone else to come in and finish the job that Mr. Tompkins failed to perform....if this isn't settled soon I will have to file in small claims and I am afraid due to the wood starting to dry it will cost more to have the job properly finished that I paid Mr Tompkins to do and he didn't perform the services.....I repeat the wood was NOT cut in 15" and the bushy leaves were not all hauled away which means a trip to the dump....