Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BP Tree Services, LLC

Phone: (916) 722-6321 View Additional Phone Numbers P.O. Box 418162, Sacramento, CA 95841 http://www.bptreeservices.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BP Tree Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for BP Tree Services, LLC include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for BP Tree Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BP Tree Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 28, 2004 Business started: 02/02/2004 in CA Business started locally: 02/02/2004 Business incorporated 08/02/2012 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 831766.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bill Pyatt, Owner, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Pyatt, Owner, CEO
Business Category

Tree Service

Products & Services

BP Tree Services, LLC offers the following product(s): Company offers full pruning, mistletoe removal, stump grinding, and tree removal services.


Additional Locations

  • P.O. Box 418162

    Sacramento, CA 95841 (916) 722-6321

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had used BP Tree Services in the past. I had them come to trim some trees and ***** *****, the owner suggested a row of trees to act as a barrier between my pasture and the adjoining park. The work began promptly. While they were planting, I noticed they were not adding the amount of garden soil they stated in the bid. I brought this to their attention (the crew) and *****. They planted the trees crooked, which I called and asked to have them evaluated. I got no instruction on the care of the trees and made at least 15 calls over two months. They had filled 1/4 of the pond on my property and I was also asking them to excavate it back to original size. No answers, no contact was received. My Sweetheart **** contacted them, and did get a call back. He met with ***** and ***** agreed to excavate the pond, and replace the tree. When the crew arrived, they again did not add adequate garden soil. The tree looked sick and I mentioned this to them. They were very rough with the tree, dropping it, lying it on its side, etc. This tree also has died. We have tried for five months to contact the to no avail.

Desired Settlement: All the trees look unhealthy. I would like an evaluation of the trees to find what the issue is. I want the dead tree replaced.

Business Response: ****** I am very sorry to hear that the tree(s) are not thriving. The trees were planted correctly with adequate soil and all proper precautions were taken including excavating up to 8 Ft to allow proper drainage for the hard pan in your area. We already replaced the one/same tree at no cost after the warranty period expired. The fact that its health declined a second time leads me to believe that there may be an underlying issue in the soil. I will contact another arborist to coordinate another evaluation/2nd professional opinion of the trees with you and ***** and we will see what comes of the evaluation and go from there.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I appreciate you sending an arborist.  I am unfamiliar with this program, so an arborist is a good option to begin. 
I will contest your answer though. I was told when you excavated you would mix 50/50 soil. This did not occur. I let you know your staff were merely dumping two bags of garden in the hole, no mixing ob the original job.  I also let your staff know the tree you replaced looked ill when brought to my house. It did not look like the same tree type as it was completely feathery and droopy.  I also let your office know. You did not answer my communications regarding this issue. The reason it was replaced after the warranty period was because YOU did not respond after four months of contacting you. You occasionnally answered a text, which we showed you on ****'s phone.  You only contacted me after **** ******* contacted you. You are who suggested this tree type, you knew my soil.  Also, when the tree was replaced, I had your staff review the hole with me and the tree was placed in complete clay.  They each evaluated all four sides of where the tree was removed (it came out in exact shape it went in, with hard clay all around) and were going to tell you per my request, there was no garden soil,  complete clay. It was obvious to them there was no mixing and they stated a bad job was done and they would report that to you....as I **** did via telephone within days of it being planted.  I believe the other trees will survive, they are merely growing very slowly.  An arborist should be able to tell me what care is needed to save them.  You have provided excellent service in the past and I would like to resolve this issue.




Business Response: ***********,

We want to resolve this issue as well. **** with ****** **** **** is one of the best and I'm trying to coordinate schedules with him for the evaluation. Right now,  I am leaning towards refunding the money and not replanting. I believe that there is an underlying issue in either the soil or the drainage and another replacement might meet the same fate. Let's see what **** says and well make a decision together. Either way we will make it right for you.

Consumer Response: I accepted the previous response of having an arborist sent to review the situation with the most likely resolution to be refund.  Even though I accepted that response, NO ACTION OCCURRED by BP Tree.  BBB, please DO NOT CLOSE THIS COMPLAINT until I have received a refund of $600.  That is the replacement cost. I have had two independent arborist review my trees and both came to the same conclusion with NO prompting from me.  They both stated the trees were not planted correctly, which was my initial complaint when the trees first struggled.  I watched the planting and they were not planted the way described to me.  Please immediately refund me $600 to ****** ****** **** **** ****** ****** *********** ** *****.  This will not be closed until I am able to cash a check.

Thank you.

Business Response: Dear *******,


Please be advised, check **** has been mailed. If you do not receive it this week, please call our office *************

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put my name into the BP Tree website to request free wood chip delivery. According to their website, they would call me prior to delivery and receive verbal confirmation, the amount would be about 5 cubic yards, and the wood chip photo showed nice wood chips with little bits of green debris. BP Tree did not honor any of these parameters. On Friday, January 16, I missed a phone call at 8:45am; no voicemail message was left on my phone. I returned the call to the same number at 9:15am; there was no answer and the voicemail was full so I could not leave them a message. Despite the fact that I never gave verbal confirmation, I found a pile of approximately 18 yards of mixed wood ships/pine needles dumped on my driveway when I returned from work that day. This was far too much material for a residential area, significantly more than advertised on the website. We used as much as we could, but we can't deal with it all at this residential property. I called BP Tree on January 27 to try and discuss the matter. My story was taken down by a woman and she said someone would get back to me. I called again on February 2 and again told my story, calmly asking for some remediation. I was told I was talking to a customer call center and they would have someone else call me back. I still have not received any call back from BP Tree.

Desired Settlement: Someone (BP Tree or other contractor) will retrieve (remove) the remaining pile of wood chip/pine needle debris from the driveway pile at **** ********** ****** ***** ********** **. There is about 10 cubic yards.

Business Response: I apologize for the lack of communication. We are addressing the issue with our answering  service. In regards to the free woodchip delivery that was requested on our website, we received the below request on January 14th to drop the load in the driveway. We typically call ahead but do not require positive contact to be made with recent requests (2 weeks).

From: ****** *****  ******** **** ********** ***** ***** ***** ********* *** ***** ***** ****** ******************* ********** ************ **** ** **** ****** ************
Location of Delivery: We will be using the wood chips in the front flowerbed and
the backyard flowerbeds. The load can be put on the driveway and we will
disburse it from there.

We use the same disclaimer on all of our advertisements for this "free" product. It can be found below the request form on our website which also states that we deliver when our trucks are "at capacity" which is approximately 20 cubic yards, not 5. These woodchips are a highly desired product and I am happy to place a local ad on the internet if the customer would like. People will likely come load up the remaining 10 yards of woodchips into truck beds for personal use. We are not able to mobilize the equipment and manpower to pick up leftovers of a free product that was requested for delivery. In response to the complaint about consistency of the woodchips under our FAQ found above the woodchip request form we clearly state that we can not predict what woods will be used in a delivery, pine is specifically listed as a possible species commonly used. All material from tree removals and/or trims are processed through a high capacity chipper and therefor often contain leaves and small debris in the woodchips. 

"DISCLAIMER: BY RESPONDING TO THIS AD, YOU ARE ACCEPTING A FULL LOAD OF WOOD CHIPS (NO HALF-LOADS).DUE TO THE HEAVY VOLUME OF REQUESTS, YOU WILL NOT RECEIVE A RESPONSE FROM US UNLESS WE HAVE CHIPS AVAILABLE FOR YOU SAME DAY OR NEXT DAY. CHIPS ARE DISPERSED BY LOCATION OF NEED AND REQUESTS ARE SAVED AND LOGGED FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO CANCEL YOUR REQUEST IF YOU DECIDE THAT YOU WOULD NOT LIKE A DELIVERY. DO NOT REQUEST WOOD CHIPS IF YOU DO NOT WANT THEM. ONCE DELIVERED, THEY WILL NOT BE PICKED UP FOR ANY REASON."

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I believe the record should show that the business changed their website to match their response after I filed the complaint.  As you can see in my original filing, the photos of the website clearly show the business did not honor their posted advertisement.  While I have managed to dispose of the excess debris myself and no longer need the business to fix the problem, one should be careful to get clear commitment in writing from this business before hiring their service.

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BP TREE SERVICES OFFERS A FREE OF CHARGE, DELIVERY OF FREE WOOD CHIPS. THIS IS DONE ONLINE; URL ************************************************* COMMENTS ON WEBPAGE: concerning the delivery, We can provide you with a truckload of wood chips at no charge. Arranging for a delivery of wood chips is as easy as Requesting Free Wood Chips. Once we have your request, we'll add your name to a waiting list for your area. When chips are available in your neighborhood, a representative will contact you (usually the day before) to confirm delivery. Please remember to leave sufficient contact information. We must obtain verbal approval prior to making a delivery. If we cannot contact you, we will deliver to the next person on the list. ISSUE: We were not home on Saturday/Sunday 8/30 & 8/31 when this company appearantly made a delivery of chip along with large peices of Concrete, bricks and other debries mixed with the chips was left on my driveway and yard. We received no telephone calls as stated in the written contract from there own website. It states if we are unable to contact you we will not deliver and will go to the next person on the list. I have made contact by phone on 9/2 to ******** a representative who phone me back after leaving message with the answering service. She stated they did have crew out in the area over the weekend a would get back to me. I have left messages each day of this week in attempt to get a date when they would return to pick up the broken up concrete and debris left. I belong to an association and the area where debris was left belong to my association. They would not give me anyone elses name when I continued to call the number listed on the webpage and same number here listed by teh BBB. I have photo's of the concrete and debris left behind by this dumping I also hope there is not additional damage to the driveway. I need this scheduled to be taken off the property or I will be forced to hire a 3rd party to have it removed. Thank you, ****

Desired Settlement: I would like the BBB to locate a party responsible to assist in this concern if possible. I deem the writing on the website a contract which was not follow and they left garbage in form or old broken concrete, bricks and rocks which was also not part of the contract.Thank you,****

Business Response: Company states we have contacted the customer and have resolved the issue with them.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired BP trees in January 2013 to cut down a large pine tree in my back yard. The contract included hauling away to three and all matter of the tree including grinding the stump. The contractor's grinding tool was not working but he assured me it would be fixed in a month and he would return to complete the work. The cost of the job was $1,800.00. I paid him the full amount. Two months went by and I contacted him again to find out when he was going to return. He said he was still trying to fix the grinder. Another month went by and I had now left a dozen messages with his service caller. Finally I left a message that I was going to have to hire an attorney if he failed to set a date and complete the work. He contacted my wife saying he would be there that week. Three months have transpired. I had an attorney send a letter to him requesting he complete the work. He refused to accept the letter, or at least did not acknowledge it. I just want the work completed. I have contacted a few other contractors to get an estimate for the grinding and found it to be about $500. I will file a small claims suit against the business, which is a one-person business for the money I will then use to hire another contractor to complete the work he did not do.

Desired Settlement: Either the contractor completes the work or refunds $500 so that I can have another contractor complete the work.

Business Response: Our customer is completely correct. We've had a series of unfortunate events occur to our stump grinder over the past year. After the last incident, which was theft of the machine from our yard, we've been playing catch up. The machine was thankfully recovered and the damage from the theft has been repaired. We have unintentionally let this customer fall through the cracks and will correct the situation. I have put Mr. ********** on the schedule for this coming Saturday, March 22, 2014, at which point we will grind his stump. 
Thank You-
**** *****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. We will not be available this weekend, but we are very interested in getting  this job completed. Please contact us to set up a date for this to happen.

Sincerely,

**** **********

Consumer Response: BBB contacted the business and he agreed he still owed the work. He said e would be coming that Saturday to complete the work. i was going to be out of town that weekend and asked that it be scheduled for the next weekend. I never heard a reply back from him. I called and left wo messages to confirm his work the following Saturday - no response. I called again today (Monday, March 31st, and asked for a call. So far there has been no reply. i want to keep the complaint open until the work is actually completed. I expect to hear from Billy to schedule a date for the completion and have it completed within the month of April.
Work scheduled and complete by the end of April.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that the business visited his home on 5/4/2014 and completed the stump grinding.

4/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: He Has yet to complete work and **** not returned calls. Owner text discusting text to my cell phone when we inquired about the 10% coupon. ON April 9th a redwood tree fell through our homes roof. As it was being televised via news. ****** ***** from BP Tree Service saw the news and came to our home during the ordeal. Fire crew, news crew and tree guy. We shook hands with Mr. ***** on a verbal amount. I told him we only had $$ dollars per tree per my insurance and all seemed good. The Tree crew showed up. They were swift and worked hard and furious. No complaints there. All that was left of that 28 year old redwood was a large stump and root system. We had a separate date for stump removal. No show on original date for stump removal. When I called I was told they had a grinder stolen and were backed up on stump removals. In the meantime our insurance agent is working with Mr. ***** on the overinflated tree removal bill.(not what we talked about & shook on!) Now I start getting calls regarding my bill from BP Tree service wanting payment. However, my stump is still in my yard and my insurance was working on the invoice. Once more I call and make arrangements for the stump to be ground and payment to be made. Friday, 7-21-13 @ 4:30. However, I was not able to get a vehicle moved from my driveway in time for the equipment to get to the stump. I called BP Tree service that Friday @ 6:45 am and left a message with his answering service person. "Please let ****** know I was not able to move the trailer and he would not be able to remove the stump today. However, it is very important he knows he can still come by and pick up a check and I have a coupon for 10% discount from the penny saver." Later that day my husband and I started getting text from Mr. *****'s cell #. The texts were rude and derogatory. Very unprofessional! Stating we were trying to screw him out of payment. His texts were threating us to make payment or else... This was confusing and shocking considering the message I left with his service regarding picking up check and rescheduling the stump grinding. After going back and forth via text, Mr. ***** agreed to giving us a discount and gave us a date and time his guys would remove the stump. At this point I did not want to see Mr. ***** again. I left a check on my door and let him know he could pick it up. The check was picked up within the hour and cashed. The crew did not show the following Sunday. No call, no show, and no one returning my calls.

Desired Settlement: I would expect a date and time in whitch they will complete the work stated and paid for in full. Remove the stump left from tree removal.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This is news to us. Mrs. **** was going to call us when her vehicle was completely removed from her driveway, and we have not received one call or message. Since this is the first report of the vehicle being moved, we can get the stump done this Sunday, July 21st per her request. The work performed by our crew was/is considered to be "Emergency Storm Damage" repair. It is first priority on our schedule, and requires a specialized crew and equipment. All work was discussed in detail and approved by Mr. **** before commencement of job. We were working hand in hand with their Homeowners Insurance agent and were told they had already received payment for our invoice but had not forwarded it to us, or called to tell us that they were withholding it. After actually going to their residence and speaking with only Mrs. ****, we came to an agreement that we would discount the invoice by $1500 because she was upset, literally crying, that she is "broke". After waiting over 90 days to be paid and considerably discounting the invoice, we promptly deposited payment.