BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

West Coast Transmissions

Phone: (916) 348-3962 5630 Roseville Rd Ste A, Sacramento, CA 95842 http://www.westcoasttransmission.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for West Coast Transmissions include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on West Coast Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 31, 2009 Business started: 10/01/1988 Business started locally: 10/01/1988 Business incorporated: 01/27/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Zane Lovelace Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Zane Lovelace Jr., Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
West Coast Transmissions, Inc.
Products & Services

West Coast Transmissions, Inc. provides automatic and standard transmission repair.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5630 Roseville Rd Ste A

    Sacramento, CA 95842 (916) 348-3962

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to report this issue I'm still having in my car after it's been repaired three ( 3 )different times at the same transmission shop. My car 2003 ***** *** was worked on, invoice dated 11/26/2012 for replacing a remanufactured Transmission by company called West Coast Transmission for the total cost of labor and parts of $3277.60. With in a month I was having a shudder vibration sound coming from transmission. I took my car back to the shop on, invoice dated 12/14/12 to have them diagnose the problem while it was still under warranty. Well, they said they couldn't find anything with the transmission and my car most likely have spark plugs and wires issues. They apparently documented on the invoice that it was a misfire. I'm not a professional mechanic but I do work on cars and have that much of sense and knowledge to tell if it's a misfire. Let me highlight this, my car was tuned up with spark plug and wires 6 months prior to taking it to the shop invoice dated 11/26/2012. So just to get me a piece of mind I took my car back to my mechanic to have it diagnose it if it's really a misfire. He chuckled and said he could hear it on idle if it was misfiring. But he diagnosed it anyway and couldn't find anything wrong with my engine or any of ignition problems what the transmission shop described. He clearly documented in the invoice that it wasn't a misfire at all. But again I asked him to replace new spark plugs and wires anyway which he did at the cost of $226.37 invoice dated 12/22/12. So I took my car back to West Coast Transmission and showed them my mechanic's invoice he worked on that it wasn't a misfire. Their response was oh. really it was oh. So one of their technician test drove it while i was waiting there. He couldn't find any issues but they told me just drive the car there's nothing wrong with it. So unfortunately, I drove my car home with devastation and disappointment. -CONTINUED ON ADDITIONAL DETAILS WITH WORD ATTACHMENT!

Desired Settlement: I kindly request to have my vehicle fixed ( properly ) this time with zero cost and along with extended warranty since it wasn't fixed right at the first time or the second time nor the third time . If they cannot come my agreement then I would like to get total refund from West Coast Transmission. There were two separate invoices, one in amount of $3277.60 and the other one is $500.00. So the total comes to $3777.60 all together. -CONTINUED ON ADDITIONAL DETAILS WITH WORD ATTACHMENT!

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/14/14,I went to West Coast on Roseville rd. in Sacramento, I brought my Buick,Rendezvous there to have the transmission replaced. The total cost was $1800, the guy who handles this service, I forget his name. He told me he wouldn't fix or touch the vehicle until I gave him at least $800 down towards the total cost. I gave him $500 on 3/14/14. At the time of signing, he didn't inform my husband and I, that if the vehicle is there for a certain amount of time, while awaiting more payments, that he would fix it, and have it towed or sell to a yard, without my consent and full payment or at least the $800 down. The day my husband went there to give the $300 to make it a total of $800 so the guy could at least start on the car, they told him that the car was no longer there, and that the guy fixed it and towed it to a yard. They said, they tried calling my husband, and that his phone was disconnected. I can prove his phone was not disconnected in that period of time. I almost lost my job, due to no transportation, it caused me a lot of hardship. We tried calling them a few times, and would not give us any clear answers, the operator would only take my messages, and promised to get a call back and never did. I gave up for a while before doing something about this issue because I had to come up with another car so I can keep my job, and had very little time to take actions sooner. I don't know what else to do about this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would either want my vehicle back, or $1500, That would include the price of the vehicle and the down payment I never got back.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,
 
This customer disappeared for 3 months after dropping his vehicle off. We could not get ahold of him at all during the 3 month period. Finally, we had the vehicle towed, handing it off to a tow company thinking it was abandoned.
 
According to tow company, come to find out, the previous owner of the vehicle, they were still on the title. ******* never went to *** and put title in his name. Previous owner had to pay tow impound and yard storage fee’s.
 
We have since spoken to *******, came to an agreement, and he now has possession of his vehicle back with no further storage fee’s or ramifications. This matter has been settled.
 
**** ********
West Coast Transmission, Inc.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, this resolution was unsatisfactory, but will let it go this time.

6/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the companys website says they offer free diagnostic and i went in and they said its actually 98 dollars i think they are saying this to get people in the door

Desired Settlement: i want them to honor what they offer

6/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service