BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Mel's Transmission Repair?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mel's Transmission Repair

Phone: (530) 273-4640 124 Scandling Ave., Grass Valley, CA 95945

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mel's Transmission Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mel's Transmission Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mel's Transmission Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 03, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1969 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1969 Business incorporated: 02/02/1995 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Marlyn Hall, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Marlyn Hall, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
Melmar Hall Enterprise Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 124 Scandling Ave.

    Grass Valley, CA 95945

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Slamming in the rear and or powertrain, no power when needed, not changing gears when it should, rearend leaking and fixed twice and now again,(possible rear-end gears damaged which was not original problem), Truck rans vetter with old tranny, which leads me to believe that a new one was not necessary. **** (owner made comment on old fly-wheel wasa put aside because he felt the one put in might not be correct one. This tells me I did not need a new fly-wheel. **** admitted that he use old part numbers (book) to order parts for truck, and that things were not matching up. This is why every time I take the truck back, they can't find the problems. The truck has been to the shop 6 times and each time I get it back, its worst. **** will not admit he put in the wrong transmission,and is causing me great stress while taking back and forth while he searches for ways to avoid addressing this issue. More damage is being done to other areas of the truck, which is becoming extremly dangerous to drive, for me and othe on the road if that rear-end locks up. **** has tine and time returned this truck back to me knowing that there was an issue and has stated that he can't figure out what is the cause. He has several times released the vehicle not taking the appropriate test drive which would clearly show problems. He has cost me all my money, my whole summer, now winter, any assistance from people, and stress to my current mental state which has deminished due to his lack of professionalism on this matter. I am near to being stranded, and close to a nervous breakdown. I relly want another shop to fix these issues at his cost.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this shop treat this vehicle like day one and have the correct transmission and any replacement parts put on, the rear-end check through-out and fix at his cost if damage done,and I'd like to be re-imbursed for the cost of taxi rides to and from his shop. I want a detailed discription on parts and work done for future references. I want **** to test drive this vehicle up hills, on highway, and in a manner which living in the mountains would present actual driving condition.

Business Response: Vehicle was brought in for a service (08/14/13). The pan was full of excessive material, so after contacting customer, customer decided to go with a rebuilt transmission. After transmission was removed, some of the teeth were damaged on flywheel. Replaced flywheel with customer's permission. Customer recieved vehicle back with light vibration that was pointed out to us. After research, flywheel in box was wrong. Customer returned vehicle (08/29/13), we replaced flywheel with correct one at no charge. At the time of changing flywheel, converter was sent out at customers request and changed to a low stall to address the lack of power. At the time customer came to pick up vehicle, **** & ***** went for a road test, customer drove the vehicle on the road test very aggressively, was going up the freeway at 80mph in wrong gear, when he was shown that the vehicle was in 2nd gear and that the vehicle will stay in manual 2nd gear when shifter is in manual 2nd gear, he appeared very aggravated. After work, customer has been to 2 other transmission shops in our area, both shop couldn't fine no fault with the transmission. Vehicle was brought back (12/13/13) after having some engine work done at another shop and a pinion seal changed at another shop. We have tried several adjustments to try to take care of Kevin"s complaint and replace the pinion seal at no charge. We feel we have gone out of our way to address Kevin's complaints. Customer has never once arrived in a taxi to pick up his vehicle. Customer was given a copies of repair orders for all work done on this vehicle. The only thing we ever did to the rear differential was replace the pinion seal that the customer was unhappy with from another shop. We are sorry for the late response, we just recieved your letter. If you have any more questions, please contact us.

Sent on: 3/31/2014