Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mel's Transmission Repair

Phone: (530) 273-4640 124 Scandling Ave., Grass Valley, CA 95945


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mel's Transmission Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mel's Transmission Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mel's Transmission Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 03, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1969 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1969 Business incorporated 02/02/1995 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 217141.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Marlyn Hall, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Marlyn Hall, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
Melmar Hall Enterprises, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 124 Scandling Ave.

    Grass Valley, CA 95945

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Slamming in the rear and or powertrain, no power when needed, not changing gears when it should, rearend leaking and fixed twice and now again,(possible rear-end gears damaged which was not original problem), Truck rans vetter with old tranny, which leads me to believe that a new one was not necessary. **** (owner made comment on old fly-wheel wasa put aside because he felt the one put in might not be correct one. This tells me I did not need a new fly-wheel. **** admitted that he use old part numbers (book) to order parts for truck, and that things were not matching up. This is why every time I take the truck back, they can't find the problems. The truck has been to the shop 6 times and each time I get it back, its worst. **** will not admit he put in the wrong transmission,and is causing me great stress while taking back and forth while he searches for ways to avoid addressing this issue. More damage is being done to other areas of the truck, which is becoming extremly dangerous to drive, for me and othe on the road if that rear-end locks up. **** has tine and time returned this truck back to me knowing that there was an issue and has stated that he can't figure out what is the cause. He has several times released the vehicle not taking the appropriate test drive which would clearly show problems. He has cost me all my money, my whole summer, now winter, any assistance from people, and stress to my current mental state which has deminished due to his lack of professionalism on this matter. I am near to being stranded, and close to a nervous breakdown. I relly want another shop to fix these issues at his cost.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this shop treat this vehicle like day one and have the correct transmission and any replacement parts put on, the rear-end check through-out and fix at his cost if damage done,and I'd like to be re-imbursed for the cost of taxi rides to and from his shop. I want a detailed discription on parts and work done for future references. I want **** to test drive this vehicle up hills, on highway, and in a manner which living in the mountains would present actual driving condition.

Business Response: Vehicle was brought in for a service (08/14/13). The pan was full of excessive material, so after contacting customer, customer decided to go with a rebuilt transmission. After transmission was removed, some of the teeth were damaged on flywheel. Replaced flywheel with customer's permission. Customer recieved vehicle back with light vibration that was pointed out to us. After research, flywheel in box was wrong. Customer returned vehicle (08/29/13), we replaced flywheel with correct one at no charge. At the time of changing flywheel, converter was sent out at customers request and changed to a low stall to address the lack of power. At the time customer came to pick up vehicle, **** & ***** went for a road test, customer drove the vehicle on the road test very aggressively, was going up the freeway at 80mph in wrong gear, when he was shown that the vehicle was in 2nd gear and that the vehicle will stay in manual 2nd gear when shifter is in manual 2nd gear, he appeared very aggravated. After work, customer has been to 2 other transmission shops in our area, both shop couldn't fine no fault with the transmission. Vehicle was brought back (12/13/13) after having some engine work done at another shop and a pinion seal changed at another shop. We have tried several adjustments to try to take care of Kevin"s complaint and replace the pinion seal at no charge. We feel we have gone out of our way to address Kevin's complaints. Customer has never once arrived in a taxi to pick up his vehicle. Customer was given a copies of repair orders for all work done on this vehicle. The only thing we ever did to the rear differential was replace the pinion seal that the customer was unhappy with from another shop. We are sorry for the late response, we just recieved your letter. If you have any more questions, please contact us.

Sent on: 3/31/2014