BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elk Grove Transmissions & Auto Repair, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elk Grove Transmissions & Auto Repair, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elk Grove Transmissions & Auto Repair, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 10, 2002 Business started: 04/26/2004 in CA Business started locally: 04/26/2004 Business incorporated: 04/26/2004 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Aquila, Owner Mr. Robert Davis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Aquila, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Elk Grove Transmission Muffler & Brake
Products & Services

This company specializes in transmission repairs, but also offers full auto repair services.


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While visiting us in Elk Grove, CA, our daughter's (******* *******) 2001 Honda Odessey transmission failed. It was repaired at Elk Grove Transmission on 7/12/13 with a 2year/24,000 mile warranty, whichever comes first. On 12/20/13 in ********** where ******* lives, her transmission, which was rebuilt with new parts by EG Transmission, failed. The faulty new part(s)installed by EG Transmission(**** ******)caused the failure, and it had to be rebuilt at a cost to ******* ******* of $2642, 5 months, 7539 miles later on 12/24/13. ******* lives in *** ******* ** 800 miles away and ****(EG Transmission) suggested the car be towed down to Elk Grove or the transmission shipped down to Elk Grove, rebuilt, and then shipped back to **********. Note: Someone would have to remove it, pay to ship it, ship it back, and then pay to reinstall it, in the meantime while renting a car. I told **** that that was impractical and expensive and I said,"So if anyone has a transmission rebuilt by you they shouldn't drive more than 50 miles from Elk Grove for 2 years? That's absurd." Our daughter and ***** (******* ********** ** *** ******* **) had many phnone calls back and forth with **** over the issure. **** (EG Trans) would only cover the bad part(s) which destroyed the entire transmission that he installed. This was subtracted from a a new rebuilt transmission in ********** (*****) and ended up costing our daughter an additional $2642 ($3405 - $763= $2642.) **** in EG would only pay for the failed part on the condition our daughter first fax him a letter releasing him from all warranty issues, which she did by coersion, or she would not receive anything from EG Transmission. A fair and just response by EG Trans. should have been to stand behind their original warranty of 2 yr/24000 miles. They should have applied their warranty to the rebuild in WA since their new(faulty) part(s) destroyed the entire trasmission. The original should last should have lasted much longer.

Desired Settlement: **** ****** should have stood behind his warrany of 2 yr./24,000 miles whichever came first. Why should our daughter have to pay for 2 transmissions at 5 months/7,539 miles. Ideally, the transmission should last about 100,000 miles. Elk Grove Transmission might be technically in the right legally since a waiver was signed, but ethically I think **** ****** from Elk Grove Transmission did our daughter a disservice. Signed, ***** *****

Business Response: The repairs were done at Elk Grove Transmission, van was towed in and not moving! Found hard part damage and burnt clucthes. We rebuilt transmission with parts listed on our ro#**** car was roadtested and worked great when we finished repairs. On her way home when she arrived in the town where she lives the new axle we installed sur clip had failed and popped out causing a no movement condition, ******* ******* towed to her local automotive shop and said the axle had failed, we had a axle delivered up there and paid to have a new one installed to fix the problem. Even thow our warranty states all warranty work must be done in house!

 
When the transmission failed down the road months later ******* ******* contacted me saying car quit working. I recommended her take it to a transmission shop who specializes in only transmission for diag, she took it to a auto shop who did the diag and condemed the transmission was bad. What I explained to her over the phone was I will help out as much as possible due to our warranty is in house only.. she authorized auto shop to pull transmission and take to a transmission shop to open transmission to find out failure! What I explained to ******* was we can have all parts warranted and delivered to the transmission shop where she took it to.. When it came down to when they had an estimate for her they told her they would not allow me to supply parts? I explained to her there would be 2 ways to try and help her out. You could bring me the transmission and we could fix it under warranty, or have parts delivered to them under warranty through my parts vendor. As the customer was getting more and more rude with me I explained I'm trying to help as much as possible with our warranty is an in house warranty only. Then ******* *******'s parents got involved with me trying to deal with a 3 way conversation only confussed all matters worse! Telling me we are not a stand up shop and dont take care of buisness I told them that the problem was between me and ******* they got out of teh conversation. To rectify the problem I offered to pay parts and parts only of the new repair estimate which she agreed and typed a letter stating that once we did this to fix the problem it would release us of our warranty and warranty would be with the new shop. Which she was happy and typed the letter. I paid for parts and repairs were done and she was happy and on her way. Sometime latter I got a call from my credit card company saying there was a dispute transaction wanting to be paid back , I explained to them our original repair to the van was completed and car has been out for months. Problem solved with credit card company at that time. The parents paid the bill and tryed to get there money back after me and ******* worked out our agreement listed above.
 
With all this being explained I tryed to make her as happy as possible due to our in house warranty. I think I went over and beyond to handle the problem! 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1