BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

The Tire Depot

Phone: (916) 985-2722 720 Riley St, Folsom, CA 95630 http://www.folsomtiredepot.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Tire Depot include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Tire Depot
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 22, 2012 Business started: 03/15/2011 Business started locally: 03/15/2011
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ali Asad, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ali Asad, Owner
Business Category

Tire Dealers Brake Service

Alternate Business Names
Folsom Tire Depot
Products & Services

This company offers sale of new and used tires, alignments, shock and brake services.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    720 Riley St

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 985-2722

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Tire Depot failed to properly repair a wheel damaged when they replaced a tire. My rear tires were replaced by The Tire Depot on December 28, 2012. I noticed both rims had black streaks on them 3 days later and one rim had a 2 inch scrape. I notified the Tire Depot, they resisted acknowledging the damage had been done by them. After contacting them over a period of a week, ( and finally getting the chance to show them the damage and how it probably occured) they then proceeded with repainting the rim via third party repair business. The repair business could not achieve an acceptable color match and could not get support or compensation from The Tire Depot for additional work needed to continue painting ther rim. The Tire Depot rescinded entire payment to third party repair business for the work performed. I attempted to contact Tire Depot through 7 phonce calls and going to the 720 Riley St. Folsom, Ca location 4 times over a period of 8 weeks from early January tofirst week of March 2013. They would not provide the owners contact information and would not cooperate. The general manager of the Tire Depot (*****, last name unknown)personally threated me with physical assault if I returned to the The Tire Depot on Sunday March 3 2013. At first ***** did say that he thought the problem was corrected (he was lying), I told him it never was and that I needed to be compensated immediately. He yelled expletives an inch from my face, dared me to file a lawsuit and then walked away still yelling. This occured in front of his business early Sunday morning March 3 2013. The car is a 2010 BMW M3 with 23k miles. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a New rear rim, Original Equipment BMW. THe cost is $847.00 and can be purchased from any authorized BMW Dealer.

Business Response: Detailed photographs of the damaged rim can be provided upon request. Detailed, close up photographs of the repainted rim can be provided upon request. Detailed, close up photograph of the original stock rim as compared to the repainted rim can be provided upon request. This photograph shows the difference in color between the repainted rim and original color rim from BMW. Document showing the viewpoint/statement from Niello BMW of Sacramento, Ca. service and repair employees agreeing that the colors of the rims do not match.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Negligence to inform me that my tire stud was broken. Poor business ethics. Sold me a tire that was of poorer quality than what they replaced. On 12/26/12, I went to the Tire Depot in Folsom CA to get my tires rotated. I had bought my tires from the Tire Depot the previous year, and so I got free tire rotations from them, and had only gone to them since. However, they had "switched" computer systems since my last visit, and failed to carry over my information. So there was no longer proof that I had purchased the tires from that particular store. They proceeded with the tire rotation anyways, taking my "word" for it. While my car was on the lift, they told me the front tires were too worn down for them to rotate them to the rear. That "legally" they could not put them back on my car, for my own safety. I saw that the tires were still good enough for the amount of time I needed them for, but they simply would not comply. I asked them to put the tires on, but they refused. In my personal judement, the tires had plenty of life in them left to get me to the summer. In their own judgment, however, it would put my safety at risk. The tires were still infact under warrenty, but since the Tire Depot did not transfer my information when they switched to a new computer system, they denied me the warrenty. They said they had no "proof" that I had kept up with the tire rotations, or that I had even purchased the tires from there to begin with. So, being that I had no choice but to submit, I agreed to purchase two "used" tires that cost $45.00 each, to replace the "worn" tires that were too "dangerous" for me to drive with. I ended up paying over $100.00 dollars when I hadn't counted on paying for anything at all. The used tires worked fine until on 1/24/13, I noticed the tire pressure on the right rear replacement tire was very low, (it would not even read on the tire gauge). So I filled it up to the proper tire pressure, according to what my other tires were filled at. On January 26th, I was driving into Amador County, and just outside of Drytown, I got a flat tire on the highway. It was my rear right tire, the replacement tire the Tire Depot sold to me. It was blown in many different sections of the tire. When the AAA technician took off the cap of the rim, he and I both noticed there were only 4 lug nuts holding my tire on, and not 5 as there should be. One of the tire studs was broken, only half remained. I knew right away the people from the Tire Depot were responsible, considering they were the only shop to work on my tires over the past years, since I had purchased my tires from them orginally. I figured they must had broken it when they replaced my tires, on 12/26/12, because they never notified me or brought to my attention of the broken stud before I noticed it for myself upon getting the flat tire. Since they broke the stud, they are responsible for replacing it. They argue that I don't have proof that they were the ones who broke it. However, if it were not them (which it was)then they are also responsible for telling me about the broken tire stud, and not letting me drive off the lot with no idea. Other tire shops I talked to said they always notify the customer of anything abnormal they notice about the car. Whether on the reciet, or in person verbally. But the Tire Depot neglected to bring this to my attention at all. When I went to the shop on 1/28/13 they told me it was "not their problem" that the stud was broke, and that the "used" tire that blew was not under warrenty so that was neither their problem either. This shop is demonstrating the most shady business practice I've ever had the displeasure of dealing with. They should have never sold me the used tires if they could not garuntee them for more than 30days. I am certain I would not have gotten a flat had they just rotated the orginal tires as I asked them too, considering the tire blew and was not punctured. They have been the only shop to work on my tires over the last couple years. They are not proffesional, they took advantage of me, and now are denyieng any responsiblity for the outcome.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the amount of money I paid for the used tires, that were less inadequate and less acceptable than the tires they replaced. I would also like to be compensated for the cost of getting the wheel stud replaced, since they were the ones who broke it. The tires were $45 each, the wheel stud and labour averaged to $100 from quotes I got from two other shops. I do not trust this shop to work on my car any longer, and want no other affiliation with them.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

1