BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Radial Tire Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Radial Tire Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Radial Tire Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 28, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1970 Business started locally: 01/01/1970 Business incorporated: 04/01/1969 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Leonard Orrick, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leonard Orrick, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Randy Orrick, Manager
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Radial Tire Service offers tires and auto repair for all vehicles.


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Radial Tire Service , damaged wheels while installing. After, several failed attempts to match wheel color they are refusing to :A. Purchase a new Wheel.B. Purchase a New Set ( if one wheel can't be located ).c. Purchase rims from me. ( prof of purchase has been provided )I have contacted the establishment from whom I purchased the wheel and they have agreed to sell 1 wheel . The Wheel establishment has contact Radial Tire Service on my behalf to inform them that they have a wheel. No action has been taken by Radial Tire Service. Radial Tire Service has had my wheels since May 14, 2014.

Desired Settlement: Radial Tire Service has had more than enough time and opportunities to place the wheel; they can keep the wheels and issue me a refund for the amount of $900.00.

Consumer Response: Customer states the company has issued a full refund and the issue has been resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased 4 new tires. incorrect install caused major damage On 06/16/12 I purchased 4 tires from Radial service, From the time I picked up my car it felt like something was wrong while driving. I tried it out on the freeway and around town for a few days. I asked friends if new tires can make your car drive funny,and some of them said it probably will take some time to get use to. Finally on 06/21/12 the shaking got to be to much and I realized that i needed to take the car back. I was planning on doing just that on the following Saturday. However, before I could.....I was driving on Eastern ave,making a right turn on Marconi ave, heading east. My car became impossible to control, I heard this awful crashing sound, I thought i just got hit. Ny car slid from the far right hand lane and ended up in the middle turn lane.Needless to say I was extremely upset, not knowing exactly what happened. I called 911 the advised me to only get out of my car if it is safe to do so, I was able to get out and looked at the damage. The right, front, passenger tire, completely came off and was under my car. THe CHP came and a tow truck. I had my car towed back to Radial Tire. THey said that this was not their fault because the lug nuts are still intact and I have an old car. Yes I have an old car. 1999 Toyota 4 Runner. I have kept the maintenance up on this car, consistently. In fact in March 2012 I just had the 120,000 mile check up. I have the paperwork that shows everything is fine and I just needed an oil change with a recommendation for new tires in mid summer. I did not have ANY problem with my car until I took it into Radial Tire. I was told that I had a cracked ball joint. I was also told that if tires are not balanced correctly or if the car is aligned incorrectly that it ads stress to the ball joint, and cracking it. If I had any hint of trouble with my car I would have take it in. What I have been told by other mechanics is that you will normally have a warning of the car feeling like it is out of alignment or shaking or something. There was nothing until I took my car in for new tires. , At the very least Radial Tire should have replaced the one tire and rim, They should be responsible for the entire tire failure, since my tires were not installed correctly.My first phone call to them they hung up on me. When my car was towed to them without having a mechanic look at it they instantly said they were not responsible. Apparently they are also psychic. I am grateful that I did not hurt anyone and I was not seriously injured. I was just knocked around when my car fell and slid.

Desired Settlement: Radial Tire should be responsible for all repairs related to this incident. They contacted the mechanic that did my 120,000 mile check up and was told that I only had an oil change. I have the paper work to show that everything was checked, I also found out that the tire people and the mechanic are friends.....I cannot believe that they just wanted to dismiss what they did. I think they are counting on the fact that I'm old and they can intimidate and ignore what they have done.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Hello Mr. ***** In response to ****** ******'s complaint about us being responsible for her ball joint failing I have multiple sources of information on this type of problem. First of all, Mrs. ****** contends that "her tire came completely off." This is a false statement. At no time did any of her tires or wheels come off before, during or after her accident. The tire was securely fastened when it arrived at my shop on a tow truck. She told me the tow truck driver put the tire back on so I asked him directly "did you put the tire back on the car?" The driver said no he did not and that the tire was still attached to the car when he arrived at the scene. I saved his name and the company he works for to verify this information. Also, if the tire did come off the car the lugnuts would have been missing and the studs they attach to would be completely ruined. All 6 of the lugnuts and studs were in perfect condition on her car. I could tell right away by looking at her car what happened when the tow truck pulled onto our lot. Her year of Toyota 4 Runner doesn't have what is called a failsafe ball joint design. The ball joint is above the lower control arm which leads to the ball constantly being pulled apart from it's socket. When it fails, it will totally separate causing the arm to drop to the ground and the entire suspension to fold under the car. In 2004, Toyota switched to a failsafe design which compresses the ball into the socket instead of trying to pull it apart. The ball is now under the control arm. If the ball joint fails with the new design the control arm can't fall to the ground which prevents catastrophes such as what happened to Mrs. ******. I encourage you to google "ball joint failure on Toyota 4 runner" and you will read all sorts of episodes of the problem with Toyota's earlier design. In fact, the very first story listed in the google search described her symptoms before the failure almost verbatim to that of Mrs. ******'s before the failure. There were dozens of comments to the story all relating to their own ball joint failure on the older Toyota 4 Runners. When Mrs. ****** brought her car to our shop on the tow truck, she was convinced somehow it was our fault that her car had an accident. I was relieved she wasn't hurt but also very relieved that a tire didn't come loose, because a tire shop's worst nightmare would be for a tire to come off. I recommended she take her car to the dealer to have it fixed and I offered if for any reason they find it was though our negligence that her ball joint failed we would pay for the repairs. I never heard back from Mrs. ******, so I assumed the mattered was cleared up, but when the complaint letter showed up from the BBB I called Maita Toyota to talk to the service writer who worked on her car. I asked him if there was any correlation between installing tires on a car and a ball joint failing and he said there is zero correlation, that the two are totally unrelated. His name is Bob Picchi, service adviser at Maita Toyota. I called a number of other Toyota dealerships and posed the same question to their service managers. Even when I asked "could there be a remote chance that installing new tires on a car could cause a ball joint to fail" the responses were all the same, an emphatic "no." I'm afraid when you have a 13 year old car with over 100,000 miles, the car is susceptible to breakdowns. Unfortunately, Mrs. ******'s Toyota was designed without a failsafe ball joint design which I personally feel should be a recall issue. We, at Radial Tire, have always strived to give our customers the best possible service. I have been with RTS for over 30 years and I have 3 fellow employees with 25+ years each at RTS. Most of our techs have been with us for over 10 years which is very rare in the tire industry. We all take a lot of pride in what we do, so when someone falsely accuses us of having a tire come off it is very hurtful to all of us. Hopefully the information I have given you helps clear up the issue as to how and why her ball joint failed. Sincerely, ****** ****** Radial Tire Service

Consumer's Final Response
Perhaps Mr. ****** should have started his response with "Once Upon A Time" Mr. ****** has no knowledge as to what happened at the scene of the incident He says he asked the tow truck driver was the tire off? and the tow truck driver said no The tow truck driver had to put the tire back on in order to tow my car. I have pictures Mr. ****** and witnesses: My ex-husband his wife my daughter my granddaughter her cousin about a half a dozen people at Tricks gymnastics and did I fail to mention the CHP officer on scene. You can verify any and all information with the CHP and my 911 call. See attached picture (CHP officer in background) I am not physically able to take the tire off slip it under my car so the I can slide across two lane of traffic just to have the thrill of seeing if I can avoid getting hit or avoid hitting someone. The one making a false statement Mr. ****** would be you I too did some checking before writing my original complaint. I checked the internet as well as Maita Toyota for information regarding ball joints. I contacted several mechanics in the area. I would not have written a complaint had any of the information I received came back as negative. You can Google ball joint failure due to incorrect balancing and aligning and you will see that it places stress on the ball joints. This was also the statement I received from Maita Toyota. So I guess it depends on who you talk to Mr. ******. By the way where does Maita purchase their tires from? I will agree that I have an old car. I have records to show that I have continuously maintained my car. My car had a 120,000 mile check up in March which will show that there was nothing wrong. The mechanic shop was Marty Vanich. Mr. ****** call Vanich and was told. All I had was an oil change this is true because that is all that was needed. Apparently Mr. ****** and Mr. Vanich are well acquainted But I have the paper work to show that is was the entire 120,00 mile check up. Im not sure if Mr. Orick takes pleasure in trying to be intimidating or what. but his aggressive posturing and stance scared the **** out of my granddaughter. Here comment to me was "I thought he was going to push you or hit you" I had explained to her that Mr. ****** like others at times use their height and hostile behavior to assume himself into a more powerful position. I don agree that I do not have the knowledge that Mr. ****** has regarding mechanics and automobiles. Unfortunately llike many other women I have to put my faith into those who supposedly know best. and get taken advantage of by companies like Radial Tire Service and Mr. ******. I do know that there was nothing wrong with my care before taking it into RTS. I wish I had checked with my neighbor before going to RTS She had a similar experience with RTS. I wish I had checked with my neighbor before going to RTS. She had a similar experience the RTS and in particular Mr. ******. Her tire didnt fall off but had other issues that Mr. ****** who instantly denied any responsibility. What a shame that there are so few honorable companies anymore.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1