Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of PaperClips Tax & Business Services?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PaperClips Tax & Business Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PaperClips Tax & Business Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 26, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated: 08/09/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Tax Education Council

http://www.ctec.org/
Phone Number: (877) 850-2832
info@ctec.org
The number is 128225.

California Tax Education Council

http://www.ctec.org/
Phone Number: (877) 850-2832
info@ctec.org
The number is 174769.

California Tax Education Council

http://www.ctec.org/
Phone Number: (877) 850-2832
info@ctec.org
The number is 000482.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rishi Prasad, CEO Ms. Ashika Prasad, Operations Manager Mr. Risnay Prasad, President Shiuana Smith
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rishi Prasad, CEO
Business Category

Tax Return Preparation Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Bookkeeping Service Payroll Service

Alternate Business Names
Paperclips Business Services Paperclips Inc.
Products & Services

Paperclips Tax & Business Services provides Tax Preparation and Planning, Corporation Forming, and Credit Repair services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Trustworthy Tax Service Tax Preparation

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2456 Rio Linda Blvd Ste 300

    Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 641-6060

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2811 Florin Rd.

    Sacramento, CA 95822

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3590 Tice Creek Way

    Sacramento, CA 95833

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 15770

    Sacramento, CA 95852

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 399-6060(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tax preparer gave the wrong bank account information when submitting 2011 Franchise Tax Board payment. On April 19, 2012, I contacted Paperclips Tax regarding my payments for the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) ($656.00) and IRS payment ($1067). I advised them the amounts were not taken out of my bank account. I was told to wait and there is a delay sometimes in the system and it might take a few more days to process. On April 24, 2012 I got a letter from the IRS stating my payment has not gone through due to the fact my bank has rejected it. I contacted paperclips and they had repeated my savings account number correctly but stated they had selected checking instead of my savings account. I was told by them to immediately pay the IRS and FTB (due to the fact the same information was entered when paying the FTB). (Note: Had to take out my own time to pay the IRS and FTB and had to accrue extra costs due to using my debit card over the individual websites.) On July 20, 2012 I got a letter from the FTB to call them at XXX-XXX-XXXX and speak to Tyrone Gregory regarding a balance of $36.56 due July 31, 2012. I spoke to Tyrone and was advised I owe this fee by July 31, 2012 due to the fact my taxes were filed late for account number XXXXXXXXXX. PaperClips Tax was responsible to file my taxes utilizing my Bank of America account. My bank rejected the payment due to the fact PaperClips tax did not utilize the right account when submitting the payment. I payed PaperClips $100.00 to file my taxes and make the payments to the IRS and FTB which PaperClips failed to do. I requested for PaperClips to at least pay my late payment fees due to the fact it was their fault and they refused to do so. They stated they will credit me next year when I file my taxes. What makes them think I will file my taxes with them for making a mistake when I trusted them to file my taxes on time this time around?

Desired Settlement: I would like for PaperClips to refund me my $100.00 that I payed them for preparing and filing my taxes. There is no way they can compensate me for the time, extra costs, and hassle I have been put through due to their mistake.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: R. ******, Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX XXXX Contact Email: *****@gmail.com Consumer, gave the account number for her refund, which was 100% correctly input into her income tax, but she failed to tell us that the account was a checking account. She inadvertently gave us a savings account # as the account, instead of checking. Error was on the consumer, and our Company out of courtesy, emailed and replied to her that any charges incurred will be refunded or applied towards her 2012 Taxes. First time discount was already given in the amt of $132.00.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am glad I reached out to the BBB and made this complaint because it truly shows what a fraudulent company Paper Clips and Tax Services is. I would like to personally thank the company for not taking any fault in their mistakes and blaming me (the consumer) for the illiterate mistake the owners wife has done by inputting the wrong account number. I did not know the business was able to see through the phone to be complaining I was half asleep when they called for the account number, but if that is how they want to defend their illiteracy for not be competent enough in notating the correct account information than that is perfectly ok with me. I was not provided with an invoice from Paper Clips and Tax services. I doubt there will be an issue from them in producing one since they are known for providing fraudulent documentation. If BBB does take a look into ****** ******'s background they will see he has been dealt with the law in the past regarding fraudulent documentation, filing false taxes, and social security number issues. I am not sure what the business is claiming regarding face and hair makeup. My family does do a wedding business (specifically photography) which is under my brother's name and he does claim it in his taxes which he did not get prepared by Paper Clips and Tax. My parents got their taxes prepared by Paper Clips and Tax and did not claim the business due to the fact they are not owners, co-owners, or a proprietor of the business. If the business is claiming I conduct business "on the side" being a tax prepare Mr. ****** ****** should have not filed fraudulent taxes on my behalf and should have reported the income. Claiming he has been in the business for over 30 years, he should be aware not reporting all of the income to the IRS is considered a crime. The business is making false claims of me doing a business so called "on the side" trying to create an illusion from the original problem which was the business not owning up to their own mistake made. As far as the business claiming I am making false claims out of jealousy this is ridiculous. Not only has this business not been admitting their mistake now they are making false accusations of me conducting a business, the business itself not reporting to the IRS my false business, and now stating I'm jealous. I am requesting the IRS audit me so I can prove this illiterate and ill mannered business owner I am not at his level to file fraudulent information like he has in the past with other clients. I am not trying to give any ones family business a bad name such as the business claims. I am just a consumer filing a complaint against a business who will not own up to their own mistakes made. At least I am not making false claims Mr. ****** ****** such as you are and claiming I own a business on the side trying to take away from your mistake. Shows what a bad business you are that for $39 you would make such false lousy claims just to keep your rating up with the BBB. Piece of advice to the business, owning up to your mistake and telling the truth will not degrade you it can actually help you grow into a better business and people will be aware that you are a business that keeps consumer satisfaction rather than taking the blame away from your business and assigning the blame to the consumer.

Business' Final Response
Unfortunately, client is 100% incorrect. Service was provide on time and every step was taken correctly. Their Income Tax was prepared correctly and NO mistake was done. Only thing is Client provided a wrong account number. Auto debit payment for IRS was supposed to be withdrawn from her checking account, but the acct number she gave belonged to her Savings account. IRS was unable to withdraw funds, now she is blaming us. unfortunate and she is 100 incorrect. Our policy is to repeat twice and make sure account number and kind of account is correct. We have being doing this Business for over 30years. Mistakes do happen as far as input goes. She gave us a wrong acct number, and now blaming us because IRS charged her penalty because she filed the return on the last day and payment got delayed. Taxes was done correctly, Her fault because later she proved another account to us which was checking account. Nothing we can do. Sorry, she have to pay, she can request IRS and explain IRS the situation and she will not be charged. There is no refund from us, we already gave her 1st time discount. Client is a Daughter of our Family friend, and was referred to us. If she looks at the invoice, there is $132 discount. We prepared her Income tax, 1040 long form and 540 long form. Charge is $232.00 based on her Tax return. We only charged her $100, because Client did Face makeup & Hair for my wife and got paid cash. She did not do a good job and she was told.Evedently, she did not like it and now she is complaing against our Business. She does "Facemakeup and hair Business" on the side and makes cash income, which is not reported to IRS, her parents are also doing "Wedding and party business" on the side and income is not reported to the government. Like i said she is daughter of family friend and she is upset on being charged by IRS in the amount of $39.00. She simply needs to pay this amount and request for waver from IRS, she will get that money back. We told her, we will give her additional $39 discount on the next years Tax, even thou it is not our fault. She was half a sleep when we called her for the account number and kind of account number. After IRS was unable to withdraw, she called our Office and gave me another account number, totally different from the first one. She herself got confused where saving or checking account. Nevertheless, mistake was done, no big deal, again she may call or write to IRS for her $39 dollars. Sorry, it have to go thru BBB, all out of jealousy . As much as we want the Business, we rather stay away from family and friends. We in turn can not refer to her side cash business, because she is not reporting all her income to IRS. She is aware now and she needs to do amended tax return to report all her income. She herself works for the Government and must be honest. She is making a big deal for her own mistake. $39 dollars or her $100 fee which she paid us is not a big deal. Her Taxes was 100% prepared correctly. (She needs to refund $80 to my wife which she got paid for lousy facial/hair she did). Sorry, this is more of personal issue and she is trying her best to put our Family Business a bad name.