BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

K & R Pools & Spa

Phone: (916) 224-0770 Fax: (916) 543-3423  

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for K & R Pools & Spa include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on K & R Pools & Spa
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 08, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Ken Husarik, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Husarik, Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pools - Private Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair

Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Roseville, CA 95747

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a swimming pool construction agreement on 6/18/2014, and gave a deposit with a personal check of $1501.00. The agreement was to begin the pool construction process on June 23, 2014. After many attempts to have a clear itemized documentation of what would be included with the cost of the swimming pool and multiple failed promised start times, I begin to worry that I was not involved with a legitimate contractor. I called to see if the permit process had begun, because to date, I still do not have any documents that indicate the process was requested. I did not receive the final engineering plot plans or final contract. The City of Elk Grove states they have not had contact with Mr. ******* ******* owner of K & R Pools. He lied to me and said he had permits and I owed him money for these things, including the engineering process (which I do not have). On Monday, July 14, 2014 when I was finally able to reach Mr. *******, I explained to him that he had caused me such reservations, and distrust that I would not be going forward with our agreement since he could not give me complete information nor confirm an actual start and end time for his services. I asked him to return my deposit or if he felt that I owed him money for above mentioned items that it was only fair that he produce a detailed invoice and billings which have occurred and then we could negotiate what the refund should be if not all, since he failed to fulfill his agreed upon work. He also works under the company name of ********** ***** ********* ****** with his son ******* ******* and I can not locate a business license for the company which is who cashed my check for $1500.

Desired Settlement: I believe that this company is in middle of bankruptcy from the public records I've come across and he has taken my money for his own needs and has unfairly represented his company and took advantage of me. He has put me off with repeated excuses, which I have documented and lied to me about the process and what he had accomplished so far. He has not given any explanation for cashing my check.I would like assistance in have my funds returned.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Concrete surface is cracked and flaky, has been since installation. Solar heating is faulty/leaking and wall has large cracks that need repairing. Have been trying for a year to get *** back to fix the problems with no success. He either ignores our calls or says he will come and doesn't turn up.

Desired Settlement: We would like *** to come back and correct the problems with this job as per our many requests. He knows the issues already.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor has failed to fix all of problems he has created within our pool and fixing leaks as well as structural defects. Contractor has failed to fulfill his contract and is no longer answering nor returning phone calls with any and all payment records and problems.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking either a refund of money to be able to hire another contractor to finish his job or his company come out and fix the necessary issues ASAP.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I did the repair for the homeowner on Saturday, 10, 2012 and sent ****** two e-mails to respond back to me if there are any other problems and have not heard from ****** as of today November, 19, 2012 Thanks ******* L ****** K and R Pools and Spas

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1