BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Swan Pools

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 994-7926 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 691448, Stockton, CA 95269 http://www.swanpools.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Swimming pool and landscaping contractor

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Swan Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Swan Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Swan Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 30, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1954 Business started locally: 01/01/1954 Business incorporated: 12/11/2002 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas J. Willard, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas J. Willard, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Landscape Contractors

Alternate Business Names
In the Water dba Swan Pools
Products & Services

Swan Pools provides full swimming pool design, construction and landscape.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Hiring a Contractor in California

Additional Locations

  • 1800 W. Fremont St.

    Stockton, CA 95203

  • 3645 Del Mar Avenue

    Loomis, CA 95650

  • 5492 Pirrone Rd

    Salida, CA 95368

  • PO Box 691448

    Stockton, CA 95269

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 334-6189(Phone)
  • (209) 543-8095(Phone)
  • (209) 943-7665(Phone)
  • (916) 684-2470 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swan pools sold a new pool for $28,750 with a 10 year warranty on our equipment and an additional 5 year extended warranty in June of 2007. As of February 2014 our pool pump failed. After multiple attempts to get our product warranted, they refused stating that they are no longer in business. After attempting to have all contact done by email for my records, the owner called me (no email) and said he could have someone do the repair however I would have to pay for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my equipment to be cover for the full warranty, 10 years which is on the bid and the additional 5 year extended I paid almost $900 dollars for. I would also like to be refunded for the extra work needed to be performed by my pool cleaning company while the pump is out of order. I have all documentation from the original installation proving my claim.

Business Response: This customer wanted us to replace a pump that was out of warranty. First of all, he misunderstood an extended warranty certificate he received at the time we signed contracts. It extended the standard warranty to 5 years from date of purchase. He sent us copies of a "bid" sheet he received showing 10 year warranty on pump. Unfortunately, the contract doesn't indicate anything about a 10 year warranty. We can only go by what is included in the contract. He also filed a complaint with the CSLB and I will e-mail our response to that complaint separately. This customer's complaint is unwarranted and we would like it removed from our record. Our contracts clearly state that all agreements must be in writing; in fact we have a separate form to that effect which every customer both initials and signs. The customer is a licensed contractor himself and should be well aware that a "bid" is not a contract.

Sent on: 3/3/2014 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I have attached some documents that clearly state a 10 year warranty and additional 5 year extended warranty. My pool equipment is still not working and the pool water quality is getting worse. This company didn't even send someone out to look at the issue. I hope this company decides to do the right thing and get this issue resolved. I have also contacted the CSLB. If i do not get this issue resolved I will call an attorney.

Sincerely,

****

Business Response: This letter is in response to Mr. ****'s rejection of our previous response.
I have attached a copy of our contract with Mr. **** for your review. Nowhere in that contract does it indicate a 10-year warranty on any of the equipment.
There are several places on the contract where it clearly states that "all agreements must be in writing" and that no verbal agreements or representations other than those included in the contract will be honored.
Additionally, we are not bound by a "bid" that we have never seen until Mr. **** brought it to our attention. A bid is not a contract and is not a binding document. No swimming pool builder warrants equipment for 15 years, which is what Mr. **** is claiming to be the case. His warranty was "extended" to five years, not "added" by five years. The document he refers to is provided by the equipment manufacturer to Swan Pools for our use to extend our customers warranty to five years as opposed to the usual one or three year period.
We would be happy to provide a bid to Mr. **** to repair his pump if he wishes.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Your business practices are clearly shady! I will never have anyone that works for this company touch anything. Your sales person "an employee of your company" clearly implied a 10 year warranty on my equipment with an additional 5 year extended warranty at a extra cost of almost $900.  Your business practices are more than questionable, and just might be illegal! I am considering contacting an attorney.

Sincerely,

****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/22/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They built my pool with a warranty. We have called them 4 times since to have something fixed and they say someone will call but never do Swan pools built our pool, during the building process we were never kept informed of the next step, after leaving multiple voicemails; we were finally able to speak to ***** and *** *** Finally the pool was built and I admit that it looks beautiful. Once we were ready to swim (roughly a week) we called *** (the owners), cell phone on Sept 7th to tell him we had questions as well as a few minor issues with the pool. We waited a week (Sept 14th) and called the office and left a voice, they never responded, my wife called the office a few days later (Sept 20th) and ***** answered and stated "*** will be in touch with you". We waited another few days (Sept 24th) called again and ***** said *** is in your area and should call or stop by in a day or so. Well here we are Sept 27th, still no response or anything. We want the small issues with our pool fixed, but also are worried that they will not honor the warranty as promised in the contract. I had issues with them during the building and they got a little bit snippy with me, but when you are spending 30K, you would think a company would care about customer service. Also, they need to understand that this is a construction project and as they stated to me "things go wrong" well they have. They told me earlier when I complained that they were going to red flag my account to expedite any issues, but I think it was to ignore me. I shouldn't have to wait 3 weeks to get an answer, or wait until they are in my area. They are good at grabbing your cash, but sure not when it comes to customer service, or backing their product.

Desired Settlement: I want them to back their warranty. Also it would be nice for them to take some customer service classes, but I know that won't happen. I expect to be called back in a reasonable timeframe (XX-XX). I'm tired of the open promises and excuses, this is a joke. And they wonder why I got upset during the construction phase. Apparently, I have high expectations, well I think 3 weeks for them to contact me is not a high expectation, but shows their low standards when it comes to service after they got the cash. I will be filing a complaint with the State Contractors Licensing Board if I don't get the action that I want from this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We received this complaint on 10/7/13 due to the fact that it was addressed to our physical location and not our mailing address; we have not been in the office on a regular basis recently because the person who regularly works there has been off on a leave of absence. That is why this may be a bit late in responding. As soon as we received the complaint we contacted the homeowner, Mr. *******. In the meantime we had met with him at his residence and made a minor repair to the pool that he had requested so that by the time we got this his warranty issue had been handled. We assured Mr. ******* that all of his manufacturer warranties would of course be honored and that he could rest assured that we were available to him to address any issues or concerns that may arise. We have completed his project and have fulfilled our contract with him. We apologized to him for any lack of timely response to his calls during and after construction and re-confirmed our commitment to him. We feel that this meets his desired resolution and we will consider this complaint closed unless we hear otherwise from your office.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1