BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Swan Pools

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 994-7926 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 691448, Stockton, CA 95269 http://www.swanpools.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Swimming pool and landscaping contractor

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Swan Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Swan Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Swan Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 30, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1954 Business started locally: 01/01/1954 Business incorporated: 12/11/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas J. Willard, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas J. Willard, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Landscape Contractors

Alternate Business Names
In the Water dba Swan Pools
Products & Services

Swan Pools provides full swimming pool design, construction and landscape.

Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1800 W. Fremont St.

    Stockton, CA 95203

  • 3645 Del Mar Avenue

    Loomis, CA 95650

  • 5492 Pirrone Rd

    Salida, CA 95368

  • PO Box 691448

    Stockton, CA 95269

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 334-6189(Phone)
  • (209) 543-8095(Phone)
  • (209) 943-7665(Phone)
  • (916) 684-2470 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swan built our pool in 2005, and it included a lifetime structural warranty. Our pool has developed cracks along tile lines in several places. We finally got one person to come look at the issue two years ago,(**** ***) and he said it wasn't his problem. He gave us his card, but several attempts to reach him have been futile. Tiles are now falling off in different locations due to erosion from the cracks. It has been a very long as well as extremely frustrating process trying to get them to address this issue. One office refers us to another office, and back and forth it goes. We have tried to resolve this with them, to no avail.

Desired Settlement: We want Swan to come out and honor their warranty and fix this problem.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the subject complaint and our response is as follows:

 Swan Pools was contacted on 3/26/12 by Mr. ********, nto to inspect cracks in the pool, but to set up an appointment for an estimate to add a slide to the pool and to provide an estimate to re-plaster the pool and spa.

 Upon inspection of the pool it was noted that the tile had cracked on the wall separating the raised spa from the pool.  This is not a warranty item as it appears to be caused by earth movement, which is not included in our warranty.  The area in question is well above water level.

We have complied with all the terms of our contract and are willing and able to provide the customer with a price to make repairs; however no warranty violations exist.

If you require anything further from our office (documents, copies of contract, etc) we will be happy to provide them .

Again, we are always ready, willing and able to make any repairs covered by warranty; however, we cannot repair non-warranty items at no charge.

It is our belief that the complaint is unwarranted and ask that the file be closed.

Thank you,

*** *******
SWAN POOLS

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

We paid Swanpools over $60,000 for a pool and attached hot tub. The structural wall separating the hot tub and the pool (it is a two-tiered pool) has cracked all the way through.  The defect is at water level in the hot tub, causing water to leach through the hot tub wall into the pool, destroying the integrity of the wall.  It is covered by the guarantee. 

When Mr. *** came to our home and we showed him the tiles that were falling off, he told us that our guarantee on the pool was void because of some change in the ownership of Swanpools.  That seemed odd to us at the time.  And it does not appear to be true.

At the time we didn't understand the nature of the structural problem.  Subsequently, we have had a pool engineer and another pool company come look at the pool.  Both have indicated that it is a structural design flaw and that it is covered by Swan's guarantee.

The repair will involve removing sections of concrete,  removing the tile, tearing out a portion of the structural wall, repairing the wall, then refinishing the pool.  To fix the structural defect it is going to cost at least $14,000.

Mr. *******, the owner of Swanpools, signed our Swanpools Lifetime Structural Guarantee.  We are eager to see if he will honor that guarantee.

Business Response:

We are in receiptof the customer's reply to our response and once again are responding that this is not a warranty issue.  The pool was built in compliance with all building codes in effect at the time of construction and was inspected during the course of construction by the City of Manteca to verify that.

Additionally, when we were first called out to the job by the customer it was to provide a price for adding a slide and possibly re-plastering the pool.  The customer never got back to us after that visit.

We are attaching numerous documents and photos ; we believe damage to the pool is not caused by structural issues but most likely from freeze damage, improper yard drainage or earth movement, none of which are warranty items.  Our contract cleary states our warranty and exclusions and exceptions to that warranty.  Other documents clarify that the owner is responsible for yard drainage outside the pol an those forms are signed and/o initialed by the customer.

It appears that moisture has gotten behind the tile and has caused them to loosen, allowing water to get behind the tile.  The evidence of efflorescence as shown in the photos indicates moisture behind the tile.  If owner did not provide proper yard drainage outside the pool the water would have no way to drain away and would eventually cause the tile to pop or loosen.  We believe the tiles may have loosened from exposure to freezing temperatures, allowing moisture to get behind them and cause the eventual damage.  If the tile was improperly installed we believe the damage would have occurred within 6 months to a year from the time of installation and not 7 to 10 years later.

If the owner has written reports from an engineer and/or a pool builder, as stated in their response, we need copies of those documents for our review and consideration.

Swan Pools is ready, willing and able to provide and supervise any crews necessary to complete the work; the work can be done at exact cost with no profit to Swan Pools.  We have done this on past projects; for example in 2013 we had a customer who had gotten a bid for $4,000.00 to complete a particular item and we were able to provide them with a crew who did the work for $2,000.00.

Swan Pools has been operating in California since 1954 and in the San Joaquin Valley since 1980; we are not a company that avoids responsibility and are always ready to help our customers in any way we can.  We have consistently been voted "Best Of San Joaquin" pool builder by the public for the past 15 years and have always been in good standing with the Contractors State License Board and Better Business Bureau.  Having said that, we cannot accept responsibility for non-warranty items.

We would be happy to meet with the customer to review the job and provide assistance as to what needs to be done.

It is our belief that this is not a valid complaint and request that it be removed from our record.

 

SWAN POOLS

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

First, thank you for your time, assistance and efforts in this matter.

We accept the offer to have someone representing Swan Pools come to our home.  We only ask that it be someone who is qualified to assess the structural problem with our pool.

This is not about a few loose tiles.  The structural wall between the hot tub and the pool has failed, it has cracked all the way through from the hot tub to the pool, and it has shifted.

Given our experience thus far with Swan Pools on this issue, it is our expectation that this matter will ultimately be resolved in the legal system.  At the conclusion of that process, either Swan Pools will fix the structural defect, or the document that we received with the completion of our pool titled Swan Pools Lifetime Guaranty will be exposed as being a worthless piece of paper.  If the latter happens to be the case, potential buyers of their pools should be notified and warned.

We respectfully request that the Better Business Bureau keep this case open until we have fully resolved this matter.  This will likely take some time.  We commit to report back to you on the final resolution.

Signed,

A very disappointed and dissatisfied customer.

Business Response:

Upon receipt of your telephone call today we are responding as follows:
 
After our initial response to the complaint was rejected by the customer we responded again and indicated that we would be willing to meet with the customer to review the project.  Mr. **** *** and I met with Mrs. ******** and advised her that the issue is definitely not structural.  I asked to review the reports from the engineer and other pool contractor that they referred to in their complaint but she was unable to provide those as she said they were in her husband's file and he was on a business trip.  We told her that this is not truly a warranty item but that for purposes of goodwill and to resolve the complaint we would be happy to replace and/or repair any damaged tile and grout at no charge.  After that meeting we returned to your site to advise you of the meeting but the page indicated that there was nothing required for us to do at that time.
She said she was not able to make a commitment to have us do that until her husband returned from his trip and that she would have him contact us when he returned.  To date we have not heard from either Mr. or Mrs. ********.
 
Thank you,
*** ******* 
SWAN POOLS

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swan pools sold a new pool for $28,750 with a 10 year warranty on our equipment and an additional 5 year extended warranty in June of 2007. As of February 2014 our pool pump failed. After multiple attempts to get our product warranted, they refused stating that they are no longer in business. After attempting to have all contact done by email for my records, the owner called me (no email) and said he could have someone do the repair however I would have to pay for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my equipment to be cover for the full warranty, 10 years which is on the bid and the additional 5 year extended I paid almost $900 dollars for. I would also like to be refunded for the extra work needed to be performed by my pool cleaning company while the pump is out of order. I have all documentation from the original installation proving my claim.

Business Response: This customer wanted us to replace a pump that was out of warranty. First of all, he misunderstood an extended warranty certificate he received at the time we signed contracts. It extended the standard warranty to 5 years from date of purchase. He sent us copies of a "bid" sheet he received showing 10 year warranty on pump. Unfortunately, the contract doesn't indicate anything about a 10 year warranty. We can only go by what is included in the contract. He also filed a complaint with the CSLB and I will e-mail our response to that complaint separately. This customer's complaint is unwarranted and we would like it removed from our record. Our contracts clearly state that all agreements must be in writing; in fact we have a separate form to that effect which every customer both initials and signs. The customer is a licensed contractor himself and should be well aware that a "bid" is not a contract.

Sent on: 3/3/2014 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I have attached some documents that clearly state a 10 year warranty and additional 5 year extended warranty. My pool equipment is still not working and the pool water quality is getting worse. This company didn't even send someone out to look at the issue. I hope this company decides to do the right thing and get this issue resolved. I have also contacted the CSLB. If i do not get this issue resolved I will call an attorney.

Sincerely,

****

Business Response: This letter is in response to Mr. ****'s rejection of our previous response.
I have attached a copy of our contract with Mr. **** for your review. Nowhere in that contract does it indicate a 10-year warranty on any of the equipment.
There are several places on the contract where it clearly states that "all agreements must be in writing" and that no verbal agreements or representations other than those included in the contract will be honored.
Additionally, we are not bound by a "bid" that we have never seen until Mr. **** brought it to our attention. A bid is not a contract and is not a binding document. No swimming pool builder warrants equipment for 15 years, which is what Mr. **** is claiming to be the case. His warranty was "extended" to five years, not "added" by five years. The document he refers to is provided by the equipment manufacturer to Swan Pools for our use to extend our customers warranty to five years as opposed to the usual one or three year period.
We would be happy to provide a bid to Mr. **** to repair his pump if he wishes.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Your business practices are clearly shady! I will never have anyone that works for this company touch anything. Your sales person "an employee of your company" clearly implied a 10 year warranty on my equipment with an additional 5 year extended warranty at a extra cost of almost $900.  Your business practices are more than questionable, and just might be illegal! I am considering contacting an attorney.

Sincerely,

****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/22/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They built my pool with a warranty. We have called them 4 times since to have something fixed and they say someone will call but never do Swan pools built our pool, during the building process we were never kept informed of the next step, after leaving multiple voicemails; we were finally able to speak to ***** and *** *** Finally the pool was built and I admit that it looks beautiful. Once we were ready to swim (roughly a week) we called *** (the owners), cell phone on Sept 7th to tell him we had questions as well as a few minor issues with the pool. We waited a week (Sept 14th) and called the office and left a voice, they never responded, my wife called the office a few days later (Sept 20th) and ***** answered and stated "*** will be in touch with you". We waited another few days (Sept 24th) called again and ***** said *** is in your area and should call or stop by in a day or so. Well here we are Sept 27th, still no response or anything. We want the small issues with our pool fixed, but also are worried that they will not honor the warranty as promised in the contract. I had issues with them during the building and they got a little bit snippy with me, but when you are spending 30K, you would think a company would care about customer service. Also, they need to understand that this is a construction project and as they stated to me "things go wrong" well they have. They told me earlier when I complained that they were going to red flag my account to expedite any issues, but I think it was to ignore me. I shouldn't have to wait 3 weeks to get an answer, or wait until they are in my area. They are good at grabbing your cash, but sure not when it comes to customer service, or backing their product.

Desired Settlement: I want them to back their warranty. Also it would be nice for them to take some customer service classes, but I know that won't happen. I expect to be called back in a reasonable timeframe (XX-XX). I'm tired of the open promises and excuses, this is a joke. And they wonder why I got upset during the construction phase. Apparently, I have high expectations, well I think 3 weeks for them to contact me is not a high expectation, but shows their low standards when it comes to service after they got the cash. I will be filing a complaint with the State Contractors Licensing Board if I don't get the action that I want from this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We received this complaint on 10/7/13 due to the fact that it was addressed to our physical location and not our mailing address; we have not been in the office on a regular basis recently because the person who regularly works there has been off on a leave of absence. That is why this may be a bit late in responding. As soon as we received the complaint we contacted the homeowner, Mr. *******. In the meantime we had met with him at his residence and made a minor repair to the pool that he had requested so that by the time we got this his warranty issue had been handled. We assured Mr. ******* that all of his manufacturer warranties would of course be honored and that he could rest assured that we were available to him to address any issues or concerns that may arise. We have completed his project and have fulfilled our contract with him. We apologized to him for any lack of timely response to his calls during and after construction and re-confirmed our commitment to him. We feel that this meets his desired resolution and we will consider this complaint closed unless we hear otherwise from your office.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service