This Business is not BBB accredited

Sage Pools, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 683-7665 Fax: (916) 683-7704 9160 W Stockton Blvd Ste 140, Elk Grove, CA 95758 http://www.sagepoolsinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sage Pools, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sage Pools, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 11, 2007 Business started: 07/21/2008 Business started locally: 07/21/2008 Business incorporated: 09/08/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 919493.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 919493.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shawn Sage, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shawn Sage, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Products & Services

This company offers pool repair, service, and construction services.

Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9160 W Stockton Blvd

    Elk Grove, CA 95758

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9160 W Stockton Blvd Ste 140

    Elk Grove, CA 95758 (916) 683-7665

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2013 we entered into a verbal agreement with Sage to work on pool. Work was delayed, of poor quality, and they would not communicate. The cut-n-paste (below) of a certified letter sent to Sage Pools describes some of the main details of our complaint. I WROTE: August 15, 2013 Mr. ****, Per your "final demand" letter dated August 8, 2013, let it be stated clearly for the record that I offered to pay you when we spoke by phone a few weeks ago. I will not, however, pay for the pool cleaning portion which is itemized at $600. I explained all of the details of that situation to you on the phone. Again, your service man, ***, promised me that the extensive stains on the pool plaster would be removed by a bleaching process if the pressure wash did not remove them. The stains are still there and my security cameras will show you that the bleach process was never performed. I also have photos of myself cleaning the fountain. Moreover, I asked your service technician, ***, to have you contact me back in May when he attempted to hand me a bill at "the completion of the job." I told *** that I would not take the bill from him, but to ask you, Mr. ***** ****, the owner, to give me a call and to come by to see the pool. I finally received the invoice via email from **** on July 23rd, but I still didn't hear a word from you until you called me about two weeks ago. And now you're sending a "Final Demand." We can let the Better Business Bureau or some other third party determine if you're acting in good faith. My offer, minus the pool cleaning portion, is way more than fair considering the extremely poor service from Sage as evidenced by Text and Email Chains that we both should have in our possession. We had to cancel a graduation/going to college pool party in May because Sage didn't complete the pool as promised. There is no written and/or signed contract or clear estimate even though my first three emails to you in May were requests for numbers and pricing. Sage Pools has wasted a lot of my time; and replying to you right now is wasting even more time. Your name calling and overall bad business practices are things that I have never experienced with any other business. If this goes to mediation, I'll request to pay you far less than the $2,220.22 that I have offered you. Contact me if you would like to resolve this matter. Sincerely, ***** ******* **** *********** ***** Elk Grove cc: Better Business Bureau

Desired Settlement: A reduced balance due as I described in my letter above.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, president Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@sagepoolsinc.com ***** had us come out to do a cleanup on his pool at a house he bought that had been foreclosed on at one point. From there he kept adding more work and equipment to the work he wanted completed. All work was completed and his complaints came when it was time to pay. We have equipment installed, time of my employees and materials that we have been paid nothing on. ***** told me on the phone he would sue me (what for I have no idea). And said I could lien his house, but he didn't care because he owned his house outright and was never moving. We sent a final demand letter and are now moving forward with taking ***** to small claims court. ***** can take $300 off the total bill we sent him as that is what my time and filing charges will cost me. I will wait till noon on September 24, 2013 to receive

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I never said I'd bring a check. I will put in on my American Express Card. The owner, *****, didn't have the courage to call me and **** rudely hung the phone up as I explained to her that the payment delay was not my fault. I'm glad that they finally agreed to the amount that I offered months ago.

Final Business Response
We have worked out a resolution with *****. He will pay $2,220.22 and we will consider it a final payment. He was supposed to have that check to us last week. However, we have not received that payment.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After almost 2 years the equipment is not working correctly. Promise are not kept, calls not returned, apt not honored Almost 2 years ago (June 2011) Sage Pools were hired to install new heater, sweeper pump, electival panel. Parts were delivered with in the week but not all. Causing a delay for installation until after July 7th. It was several weeks before all the equipment was installed. The repair person was pulled away from my job to do other jobs by the company; he was also late for apts or didn't show at all. Once he finished with the installation, he came by when I was not home and called me to say all was done. However, the lights did not work, the Piping not painted as required. Existing Blower for Spa not working properly and the solor was not hooked up. Calls, promises, etc and finally around Xmas he stated he was on is way over to fix my list. However I was working and couldn't leave the shop. He stated he needed the remote, but it was in the house. Therefor he did not come by. After the first of the year about 8 months the lights did still did not work, the solor was not connected, and the sweeper pump leaked due to inproper installation. Spa blower not working as designed. I called and I was told parts needed to be ordered after 2-3 weeks the pump was finally fixed. but non of the other items. I told the company I didn't want their repair person to come back... I wanted someone who know the equipment to fix it the way it was supose to work and promised. I paid the 3K from the original agreement. Time passed, conversations back and forth, finally 2 months ago I call and stated that the sweeper pump was leaking again. A new repair person was sent and stated that the equipment was hooked up wrong by the firt service person. The light were hooked up backwards (which he fixed in about 20 seconds)the sweeper pump was in the wrong place and the wrong equipment was used to fix it from the 1st leak. The solor wireing was never connected and the blower for the Spa was not producing the bubbles as it was designed to so. Althought fixing the solor on the roof was not part of the original installation, the service man said he would fix it for $125. I asked that we fix the issues at hand first and then the solor on the roof. It took 2 1/2 more weeks for a part to come in and in the mean time the equipment was turned off and the pool became green. I couldn't keep up by hand sweeping the pool due to high winds causing leave, etc. to fall into the pool. During this time I was promissed repeatedly that some one was coming out to fix the problem and they either didn't show up (no call received) or if they did call it was to tell me the would have to reschedule the apt. becasue again the part did not come in. As one thing would be fixed, then another problem occured: I still can not change to service mode and run the equipment more specifically the pool sweep. I went into the store and spoke with Sean Sage (he introducted himself as the owner) and he promissed that he and the rep for the Pentair would come to my house on either Tues 5/28 or Wedn 5/29 no one came and no call or no one returned my call. The solor is currently working. But I still can not override the auto to service mode. The pool sweep just flashes and does not turn on. The equipment is not working properly and I've received no response from Sean or anyone else regarding the issue of the "service" mode. I have given up on the spa blower, it clear they can not fix the issue.

Desired Settlement: I want the equipment to work as promised with no additional cost to me. I paid the $85 service charge to fix the leaking sweeper pump 2 month ago, I expect to pay for the Solor repair of $125. But nothing else. I am not asking for reimbusment for all the chemicals I had to use to get the pool conditioned nor will I ask for compensation for the water lost due to the leaking solor and I'm on metered water. I just want the original agreement honored, equipment to work/function properly with no additonal charges.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We sent the equipment manufacturer, Pentair, out and they said that everything was working fine. Not sure what is not working. Please let us know what is not working and we will send a tech out to fix. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
Sage Pools has my phone numbers and can call to set up a face to face appt to resolve the equipment issue. Also, the solor is leaking again.

Business' Final Response
We have been out twice, and the manufacturer has been out once. We are not able to identify a problem with the equipment, and neither were they. We will call the customer on Tuesday, Sept 3rd, to set up a final appointment to walk through and inspect the equipment.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A repair man came to inspect my Jacuzzi and asked for an $85 check with a promise to come back the following week to fix it. It's still broken. When the repair man didn't call or show up I called Sage Pools and the person I spoke with told me they were really busy and the guy supposed to show up to our house called in sick. He told me he would call me back within an hour. He didn't. I called back the next day and was told I'd be called back. I wasn't (week of April 8). A few days went by ad I went into the store and spoke with the sales man and he said he would call me in a few hours. He didn't. The week of the 22 of April. I went in again and said he (same man) couldn't find the paper work. While I was shopping there he came out and told me that he found the paper work and that it had been filed as if the job was already completed. He apologized took me into his office and showed me that he put the paperwork right on top and that it would be the first job to get completed. He mentioned a meeting he was going to have the next day with staff and that he would bring it up at the meeting, get it resolved and call me back. I never received a call. I went in he explained that they were really busy, told me he'd call me but of course he didn't. I went in and spoke to the manager, Shane and he provided me with the email of the owner and advised me to email him directly. I emailed him on May 17, explaining the situation, asking for a response and a refund. He replied within minutes saying he would "check into it and get back to you." On May 23rd after no response from him I asked him if he had a chance to check it out or if I should contact Better Business Bureau. He replied the next day "I'll have our guy out next week. We will call you with a time and day'" I have not received a call. The Jacuzzi is still broken.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund for $85. Thank you.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have $85 charge to come out and look at problems with pool and spas. In the event you want the repair done, we will have to come back out and do the repair at additional cost for labor and parts. Which I'm sure is obvious. IF you want us to finish the repair, we can schedule you in at additional cost for time and parts. Please let us know.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The problem with this response is that we have been trying, since March, to get someone to come out and complete the job, but Sage Pools has repeatedly ignored us. Or when I go into the store they promise to get it done, send me home and ask me to wait for a call- a call that has yet to come. The man who came out charged us $85 with a promise to come back the following week to repair the Jacuzzi. This never happened. We called and made numerous attempts to have the repair man come back out- Sage has repeatedly ignored our calls and promised to have someone call to fix the problem but this has not happened and that is why we contacted the BBB. I have the emails from the owner stating the issue would get resolved, that he would have someone call to schedule a time to come out and fix it. This call also never came through. We also never received the work order copy with the information for the repairs that needed to be completed. They have provided poor customer service, which I'm sure is obvious. ***** **** was the man who keeps promising to get the job done/return calls as well as the owner. All we want at this point is our money back.

Business' Final Response
The service fee is not refundable. As a courtesy to the customer, we can send a service person out one time to review the repairs needed and the costs. We will not charge a trip fee. If the customer decides to proceed with repairs, he will be responsible for normal parts and labor.

4/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a pool built by Sage Pools 8/2011. We have had ongoing pool deck/concrete issues including discoloration, cracks and tile/seal issues. We have brought our complaint to the attention of Shawn Sage of Sage Pools and he guaranteed us that he would have the cracks and discolorations fixed. He sent out a person while we were not home and the employee made it worse. We have asked Shawn Sage to fix all the problems with the concrete and he even came out to look at them. He again assured us he would fix them, but has never come out again to attempt to repair the cracks or resurface the discolorations or to fix the pool tiles and seal around the lip of the pool. We had Sage Pools service out pool for a year and the chemical imbalance caused the deposits and discoloration. It has been a year of empty promises to remedy the issues and we have gotten nowhere. We would like to have these issues resolved as soon as possible. In fact we went into Sage Pools on 8/31/12 and talked with the staff and they agreed we should have these repairs done and it was definitely a problem with the install and pool chemicals.

Desired Settlement: We want to have our pool deck repaired as well as the tiles and seal in the pool as soon as possible. The cracks are unsightly as is the discoloration and deposits that are a direct result of installation and chemical balance.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@sagepoolsinc.com I am at a loss as I'm not sure what this is about. The ******'s have never contacted me directly about any displeasure with anything. ****** has contacted me about getting a do-it-yourself solar kit for his pool and I have't heard from him or his wife since then. I remember going to see his concrete a long time ago and told him concrete cracks. It has to as it's always expanding and contracting. In fact our contract details this. See the exert from our contract below. Section III Guarantees and Warranties 1. Conntractor warrants that the swimming pool will be free of defects in workmanship and material for 3 year(s) from the date of completion except for the following items: A. Concrete walk ways and decks are NOT warranted against cracking, chipping, lifting, settling, or discoloration. To help reduce cracks, The Buyer might consider one or all of the following: (1) Have the thickness of the concrete increased from the required minimum of3.5" thick to 4" thick or mote. (2) Install larger size rebar and place them closer together to increase the strength. (3) Use a concrete design of 3/4" rock @ 2500 psi or greater. (4) Have control joint spaced tighter together and place expansion joints every 10' x 10' in larger areas and closer in tighter spaces. (5) Set multiple # 4 x 2' long pieces ofrebar on a 45 degree angle at all inside and outside comers. In most cases there will be additional costs associated with choosing any or all of these alternatives. All concrete whether colored or non-colored, will model or have a slight unevenness in color; it is inherent in all cement products. Humidity, heat, wind, length of time the concrete has been in transit, amount of water that has been added to be able to pump the concrete for placement, will have an effect on the final color and strength. For these reasons the Contractor makes no warranty of merchantability or fitness for any particular purpose and expressly disclaims liability for consequential or incidental damages whether based on warranty or negligence. I remember sending out the concrete sub contractor to meet with the Youngs and see if they wanted him to try and patch anything. ****** had talked to me about how he might want to stain the concrete at a cost of $1 -$3 per square foot, but never did with us. As per CBC2010 (California Building Code) the cracks, which are minimal, are well within industry standards. We were servicing the pool on a weekly basis and after this I checked to see that they cancelled in May. We service huncreds of pools. Talking with our tech and the inside service manager, both said there were no complaints and the balance was excellent. Realitively, an easy pool. The Tech does remember ****** on the phone one time complaing to the contactor building his garage about dropping something on the concrete and staining it. Our chemicals were always in balance and deposits on the tile are part of hard water, which is just part of Sacramento water. Again we haven't serviced the pool since May, so who knows who is servicing it and what they are doing. That sounds like his problem. This is all ridiculous. Mr. ****** had a lot of work being done by unlicensed contractors on the premise and I would think that his problems are probably with them. We certainly have done a great job and have no need to repair anything. We are asking that this complaint be dimissed immediately and be taken off our record. Thank you. ****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
I have not been contacted by Sage Pools. I would like to have the case reopened until a resolution has been reached and the work has been completed