This business is not BBB accredited.

Rodriguez Bros. Pool Plastering, Inc.

Phone: (916) 441-2900 View Additional Phone Numbers 1450 Sproule Ave, Sacramento, CA 95811 http://www.rodriguezbros.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Rodriguez Bros. Pool Plastering, Inc. include:

  • Failure to have a required competency license

Factors that raised the rating for Rodriguez Bros. Pool Plastering, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rodriguez Bros. Pool Plastering, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 01/03/1978 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 431776.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00631102. On 10/2/2014 BBB confirmed that the license from Contractor's State License Board expired.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00344315. On 2/23/2011 BBB confirmed that Rodriguez Bros. Pool Plastering, Inc. had not obtained a necessary license from Contractor's State License Board.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Candy Rodriguez Sr., RMO/CEO/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Candy Rodriguez Sr., RMO/CEO/President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Plastering Contractors

Products & Services

Rodriguez Brothers Pool Plastering, Inc. is a licensed swimming pool contractor for commercial and residential pools and spas specializing in pool plastering and resurfacing.

Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1450 Sproule Ave

    Sacramento, CA 95811

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pool was replastered_January 2008.Some time after the bottom developed rough brown spots. Contractor must repair the workmanship defect. Rodriguez replastered the pool January 2008. After a short while brown rough spots showed up on the bottom. I asked them to inspect. They sent someone to repair. Many more spots have developed since. I asked them to ispect and they did and promised to send some one. No one has come. I initially thought that it might be chemical balance issue but the company who handles the chemical advised that it is not cheical balance matter but the pool itself.

Desired Settlement: Rodriguez Brothers should repair or replace the plaster so this issue does not keep on reappering.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
your chemical readings were high. I felt it was necessary to get the rest of your sample analyzed at ******** by a Professional. Attached is the results to their findings. If you have any additional questions regarding your chemical reading please contact the ******** Pool Supply for the have more knowledge about chemicals then us. Sorry for the inconvenience we hope you may have this problem resolved. (Please see attached documents.)

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The issue is poor workmanship resulting in Calcium Carbonate scaling over the surface of the pool bottom and not the water chemistry. My pool cervicing company has forwarded an indepent article about this problem and I have forwarded the same to the BBB as well as the ****** Bros. According to this independent article, this issue develops when a good bond is not achieved during REPLASTERING of the pool. If ****** believes that the problem can be cured just by fixing the water chemistry or by other means short of a major repair, I am willing to try it. Sincerely, ****** ******

Business' Final Response
We have addressed the complaints per Mr. ******'s request. Upon Mr. ******'s request we have been out to his residence on two separate occasions, to address the same calcium nodules, which is typical in a pool with water chemistry that is out of balance. We have proven it to be quiet evident that there is a water chemistry issue. There are mineral deposit evenly built up on the pool light lense and ring. We have seen this time and time again over our 37 years in the pool industry, and it doesn't take a chemist to see there is a serious issue with the pool water. Though we have addressed this issue at hand and have explained the reason for his plaster having issues, he has refused to listen. On our last visit our suspicion of the severely out of balance water was concluded. We had taken a sample of the water, and it had proved to have no chlorine and the PH balance was way out of balance. So not to be biased in our report we had taken an extra step and submitted a sample of the water to ******** Pool Supply to have the water analyzed by a well-known professional. ******** was flabbergasted by the improper balance and neglected water balancing. They also found it hard to believe Mr. ******'s Pool was being serviced by SwimChem, a Professional Pool Service. I then notify Mr. ****** again that it is indeed the improper water balancing that is the cause of the calcium nodules; he still refuses to address this. We even had handing Mr. ****** the smoking gun, per say, and still he will not acknowledge the significance and importance of the issue at hand. It is truly a shame that Mr. ****** refuses to listen to the reasons seeing that we have been at this for 37 years. Unfortunately there isn't anything we can do to satisfy Mr. ******. His issues will continue as long as he refuses to listen to our recommendation to balance out his chemicals, it's logical and elementary. In conclusion If Mr. ****** continues with his current pool service, and disregards our advice the effects of the buildup will continue to increase over the lifetime of the plaster. Furthermore his warranty has lapsed pertaining to his pool plaster, and even if it was still under warranty it still does not cover negligence due to improper balancing and up keep. It is always upsetting to us having unhappy customers. We pride ourselves in top notch work, honesty, and commitment to the customers. In conclusion we were not able to come to an understanding with Mr. ******. Sincerely, ********** ****** Jr.