BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Premier Pools & Spas?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Premier Pools & Spas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Premier Pools & Spas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Premier Pools & Spas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 29, 1990 Business started: 04/01/1988 Business started locally: 04/01/1988 Business incorporated: 12/12/1989 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 589234.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Keith Harbeck, President Mr. Dan Wourland, Construction Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Harbeck, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pools - Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
Premier Pools Incorporated
Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 11250 Pyrites Way

    Gold River, CA 95670 (916) 635-1831

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 635-1831(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been calling to have someone come out and see/repair an area of concrete around our pool that is falling off. Our pool was completed December 2013 and is under warranty. We started calling in June and now in October we have yet to get a return phone call. We have been given the direct line of the person in charge of concrete warranty work, and he has not called us back either. Four months is an excessive amount of time to wait for a repair, and to not even get a phone call back is extremely frustrating.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have someone from Premier contact us to arrange a time to come take a look at the damage and make the necessary repairs in a timely fashion. I think 30 days is a reasonable time frame to have the repairs completed. If Premier cannot comply, I am willing to have a concrete contractor of my choosing complete the repair and be reimbursed for the cost by Premier Pools.

Business Response: Per ***** ***** of Concrete Concepts , on 10/15/14 the areas of concern were addressed and repaired. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my pool remodeled and resurfaced by Premier in May 2013. The "Saphire Galaxy" plaster looked great at first, but within 3 days it started to develop white spots. Premiers pool contractors, Precision, were responsible for the chemical start-up and maintenance. They were sent out to inspect the pool, saw the spots and did 2 acid baths in 2 weeks. Spots got worse and eventually spread all over the pool. Premier then sent out their PebbleTech representative, *** *****. He told us that he thought the spots would go away once spring came around. They didn't, in fact, they got worse and more spots started to occur. Then he said, if they weren't gone by spring that he would come out and assess the situation again, and if necessary, send out a diver to come and sand the spots. We followed up with him to let him know the spots were still there and he never returned our calls after that. I then called Premier and asked them about the sanding and taking care of the spots. They did not return my calls either. Then I called our sales person, who sold us the plaster type and color, ***** Nava, and he said he would call the front office of Premier and have them call us, and againno call back. After 10 months of trying to solve this situation I called the manufacturer of Pebble Tech and filed a formal complaint. THEN Premier started to call me. They finally sent a diver and when he did his sanding test, there was no difference. He concluded that sanding would not help and just make it worse. Then a team came out and sanded anyway and then acid washed. Now it just looks worse. There are still spots and "bald spots". All of my glass tiles on steps are scratched, as well as, a couple on the water line. I am still waiting for my chemical start-up. They drained it, did the acid wash and sanding, filled it, and never came back! Now the bottom has streaking, white and dark spots, and all the edges of the steps are "bald". I have been trying to work with them for a year, and this was the outcome. Very frustrating

Desired Settlement: I want Premier to re-do my plaster and replace all of the scratched glass tiles on my steps. If they cannot guarantee this dark color will not be problematic after they re-do it, I want a different colored plaster or my money back. I also want to be reimbursed for the chemicals I have had to use in this last round as I am still waiting for them to come and do the start-up chemicals.

Business Response: Premier Pools has sent our Plaster Supervisor as well as **** from Precision Pools to inspect the plaster. Both have said the Pebble Fina looks great. The Pebble Tec rep has said if Mrs. ***** is still dissatisfied, he would be willing to look at the pool again the next time he is in California.

 
 In regards to the scratched tile, unfortunately we need to plaster in between these tiles, which requires troweling over them. Although we are careful when doing so, some scratches are unavoidable. Our own display spa at our office also has scratches on the step trim tile. Because of the oversight on the start up, I have arranged for Precision Pools to service the ***** swimming pool for 30 days at no cost to her. I have also offered to reimburse her for any chemicals she purchased for the weekend in question.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 This is not true. When PebbleTec Quality Control Manager, ***** *******, came out to look at the pool he said in his own words "It just looks like a bad job" and "had someone who knew what they were doing acid washed this pool it wouldn't have looked so bad" and "wow, look at the bald spots they put on the edges of your steps". When plaster supervisor came out, he said it's the "intended look" of a dark bottom pool and that it should have the variation in texture and tone like a natural pond or creek bed, but I'm not in the mountains. I am in my backyard and I want a solid, consistent look in my pool. Not blotchy white spots everywhere. He also said that in the past at other pool companies he has worked for they didn't even warranty dark bottom pools because they were too unpredictable and the surface was an issue. Why wasn't I told this?!…..so I'm sorry, "it looks great" simply will not do.
 
As for the acid wash that happened two weeks ago, the white spots are coming back in full force and I have new streaking and marks from the acid wash itself. I am tired of the quick fix methods being used to avoid the real issue.
 
I understand the unavoidable issues with the step tiles and I can live with that, but not the spotty plaster.
 
I appreciate the 30 day chemical start-up as well. **** has been very communicative about his services, which is a breath of fresh air.
 
If Premier is going to have a decided outcome on this situation I suggest all of it's "players" be on the same level. To hear different views about the quality of my pool is extremely frustrating. One guy says it looks like a "bad job" the other guy, says it's the "intended look" of a dark bottom pool and that just doesn't add up. Is this how a national company is run? 
 
All of the time and materials that Premier has spent trying to put a bandaid on this botched job has certainly cost more than just simply doing the right thing and re-plastering. Not to mention my time. I have taken days off work and spent hours sending emails and trying to get someone on the phone to talk to me.
 
I want a re-plaster in a different color or my money back from the plaster portion of the pool remodel.

Business Response:

This is our most recent correspondence with Mrs. *****.  She responded that this was an acceptable resolution. Attached are both the report from the manufacturer and the from Mrs. ***** signed indicating that she was aware that there are issues with any colored plaster finish. Any work we perform will need to be done in the fall once temperatures cool down. 

Our intent is certainly not to stress you out.  However, there is a process to go through anytime any customer feels there are issues with their swimming pool.  And yours is no exception.  We have done our due diligence and reviewed the situation and everyone that has been to your pool has drawn the same conclusion.  I am sorry that you disagree with their conclusions.

 Any colored plaster pool is going to have issues.  For this reason we have every customer sign an Interior Finish Agreement before we will install their finish.  Again, your pool was no exception.  Attached is copy of the agreement ***** reviewed with you and had you sign indicating you understood the inherent issues with the finish.  For you to say  “I was never informed that this was a problem with dark bottom pools,” is simply both unfair and untrue. 

 With that said, we are still willing to assist you should you desire to have the pool surface redone.  As always we want customers to love their pool and as such we would be willing to install a new surface for you at a greatly reduced cost.  If you would like to have a new interior finish installed, we can do so for $1,200.  To do so, we would need to install the same product and the same color. This is well below our cost to do so but is an offer we are extending to you. 

My concern with this is that there are no workmanship or product issues currently and yet you are not completely satisfied with the interior.  As such, if you decide to have a new interior installed it is my opinion that you should upgrade from Pebble Fina to Pebble Tec or Sheen.  These interiors although they cost more, are much more durable and are not as prone to the issues you are currently displeased with.  Upgrading to a standard color (not dark) of Pebble Tec or Sheen would cost an additional $1,540 for a total of $2,740.

 Please advise as to how you wish to proceed and we will be happy to accommodate.  

 

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my pool remodeled and resurfaced by Premier in May 2013. The "Saphire Galaxy" plaster looked great at first, but within 3 days it started to develop white spots. Premiers pool contractors, Precision, were responsible for the chemical start-up and maintenance. They were sent out to inspect the pool, saw the spots and did 2 acid baths in 2 weeks. Spots got worse and eventually spread all over the pool. Premier then sent out their PebbleTech representative, Dan Scott. He told us that he thought the spots would go away once spring came around. They didn't, in fact, they got worse and more spots started to occur. Then he said, if they weren't gone by spring that he would come out and assess the situation again, and if necessary, send out a diver to come and sand the spots. We followed up with him to let him know the spots were still there and he never returned our calls after that. I then called Premier and asked them about the sanding and taking care of the spots. They did not return my calls either. Then I called our sales person, who sold us the plaster type and color, ***** ****, and he said he would call the front office of Premier and have them call us, and againno call back. After 10 months of trying to solve this situation I called the manufacturer of Pebble Tech and filed a formal complaint. THEN Premier started to call me. They finally sent a diver and when he did his sanding test, there was no difference. He concluded that sanding would not help and just make it worse. Then a team came out and sanded anyway and then acid washed. Now it just looks worse. There are still spots and "bald spots". All of my glass tiles on steps are scratched, as well as, a couple on the water line. I am still waiting for my chemical start-up. They drained it, did the acid wash and sanding, filled it, and never came back! Now the bottom has streaking, white and dark spots, and all the edges of the steps are "bald". I have been trying to work with them for a year, and this was the outcome. Very frustrating.

Desired Settlement: I want Premier to re-do my plaster and replace all of the scratched glass tiles on my steps. If they cannot guarantee this dark color will not be problematic after they re-do it, I want a different colored plaster or my money back. I also want to be reimbursed for the chemicals I have had to use in this last round as I am still waiting for them to come and do the start-up chemicals.

Business Response: We are in the process of scheduling a Supervisor to visit the ***** residence in order to address the issues and concerns. This will be scheduled with the *****'s directly so they can make arrangements to be present.  Once that has been done, Premier Pools will decide how to proceed and what guarantees can or can not be made. I will take full responsibility for the missed start up date that should have been scheduled for last Friday 5/23/14. If Mrs. ***** will send the receipts for the start up chemicals we will certainly reimburse her. I will be emailing her directly as well.

Consumer Response: We are still in need of the full chemical start-up. We put what chlorine and shock we had in the pool over the weekend as it was very hot and the water was sitting untreated for now 7 days. I will give Premier the costs of chemicals used.

 
I will wait to hear from the mentioned supervisor and schedule a time to meet and review plaster issues. I will also be waiting to hear from Precision to schedule the chemical start-up. 
 
I would certainly like the start-up chemicals to happen sooner than later now that we are into the hot weather.
 
I will keep this exchange updated on the progress regarding the issues with the markings on the PebbleFina. This is not an acceptance on that aspect of this complaint.
 
I appreciate the quick response.

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Premier Pools is in the process of doing a pool remodel for me. They have stopped communication and action. My pool was to be completed in December 2013. They poured oncrete in December and the freezing weather caused blsters on 2/3 of the patio and pool decking. And it is cracking. The concrete is not curing smoothly; it is exceptionally spotted and discolored everywhere. ***** wants to repour one area and patch the remaining holes or put a topcoat over all. That is not acceptable to me. I contracted for a nice, new even colored deck where all concrete matches. Patched concrete never looks perfect and repouring in the middle of the patio will be noticed.Premier Pools also plastered the pool and it looked nice at first, but it developed discoloration in the deep end shortly after it was completed. I don't know why. Premier Pools had their equipment man to the house for the pool sweep and they had a pool maintenance company adding chemicals. ****** came out to look that the surface and said he would send the pool maintenance company back out. No word since. The timer for the pool sweep doesn't work. And I shouldn't have to pay for the plaster before they will do it.

Desired Settlement: I want all of the concrete repoured so it will match and look new. That is what I paid for. I want the old concrete removed without a jackhammer or sledge hammer so there is minimal disruption to the new tile and pool plaster. I want the pool plaster to be a uniform color again (without patching.) If the water is drained I want the pool maintenance company to perform 30 days of start up chemical service again right after the water is replaced.Replace the timer.

Business Response: Premier Pools and Spas has agreed to a no drain acid  bath that is scheduled to take place the week of 3/31/14. This work had been agreed to previously but due to scheduling conflicts with our subcontractor, and to avoid any further delay we decided to put it on our schedule instead.  I will also have my technician check out the timer when he is out to do the acid bath. Work orders have been created for Mrs. ******'s concrete concerns. We will be contacting her with a resolution and plan of action within a week.

 
**** ********
Service/Warranty Manager
###-###-####

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because it does not complete the resolution...It is a status update. I appreciate that Premier Pools has started to address my concerns. 

Sincerely,

******

Business Response: We are currently in the process of addressing Ms. ******* ********. We are scheduled to visit her residence tomorrow 4/8/14, to address her concrete ********.

 
**** ********

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  this is not a resolution, but I will leave the gate unlocked for their visit.

Sincerely,

******

Business Response: Company states that they are in the process of scheduling a date to remove and repour the deck.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I am available the entire month of May for the new concrete to be poured.  I trust the job will be complete by June 1, 2014.

Thank you so much.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pool is higher than existing backyard concrete. Supposed to be "Built in", but addmitted engineering defect by salesperson & various crews on site. From the time we signed the contract, the salesperson/project manager, **** ****** displayed a cavelier and disrespectful tone to all of our concerns, from employees sitting down during paid excavation, through completion of the pool, which I told him was designed too high and was "above the existing cement". At one point during the process, **** stated, "I am not charging you for the extra dig days, so please don't tell your neighbors about your issues". This was the night before he was to sign with our neighbor. I thought that was a prety big gesture just for his dig crews "wasting" a few hours of dig time, but I thought... "**** is going the extra mile to make the customer happy". However, weeks later, I received a call to pay for 2 days of extra dig (which they actually spent 1.5 days of extra excavation and I tracked by the hour). At that point, I called **** to explain my displeasure that I had an above ground "Built in pool" and at that point explained all of the issues that his team had cuased that needed to be fixed.. He said he'd do everything to make it right, from installing some rock to mask the height differences, to planting ground cover to hide the issue. I sent a detailed email with our request to make the pool "asthetically acceptable", and he sent a crew to make it right. Today he called and said he wouldn't finish to our request and stated that this was not in the contract. I find it absolutely aggregious that I now have an "above the ground built in pool" and that Premier can't live up to their commitment to "Make it right". While it is absolutely true that our existing cement was uneven, it was never intended that the pool deck would be above the existing cement at all points, not a single point of the pool deck is even with our existing concrete deck. (**** ***** acknowledged this in a telephone call to me... Cement and other Premier employees also stated that this pool should not have been above the existing cement). His exact words were "You and I know that the pool is above the existing ground and that was a mistake, but we can make it so that no-one else knows this is the case. I will make it right". There is no making it right with a pool that was engineered incorrectly, but I can accept a complete and good faith effort for Premier to live up to their final commitment, even if **** has misrepresented his authority to disposition items in the past. I should have known better, but after meeting the Premier owner at their showroom, I was impressed and truly believed that they were very reputable and would not behave like used car salesmen... Very deceptive and disingenuous behavior by our salesman/program manager, not to mention that he did near zero to ensure continuity between contractors (he didn't inspect prior to major milestones) and made it such that I literally had to micro manage the excavation & deck/concrete framing. Additionally, Ryan made derogitory remarks to me on the phone, "calling me a whiner" and telling me that I was a "Pain in his ***". Subsequently, he told me that I was right about the pool being "engineered incorrectloy and above ground" and that I was also right about the concrete forms and tile installation being done incorrectly (corrected after I complained and prior to cement pour). Honestly, I was offended by each of these remarks and felt that they were quite inappropriate and offensive.

Desired Settlement: Premier's owner should figure out how to ensure that I am not a completely disgruntled customer. I will never be pleased with the quality of the product I received, nor the deciet and misrepresentation from **** ****** but I can at some point, look to the future and enjoy my pool. At this point, I view Premier's options as: 1) Remove all of the existing cement decking, pergula and bring the existing cement up to the level of the pool decking. 2) Remove the existing pool and rebuild with the pool lowered to the correct level as intended with a "built in pool". 3) Finish the installation of the rock transition barrier to the expectetions as stipulated in our email sent to **** ***** that outlined how we wanted the "remidiation" to be completed and consistent with the expectations that included scheduling the final rockinstallation, only to have **** call on the day scheduled and tell us that this wasn't part of his "deal"... Eventhough it was clearly spelled out in our email to him asking for "remidiation". On the final installation day, at around 2pm, **** stated that he would do the installation to our request, but that we would have to pay to get it completed. He stated that Premier's owner stated, "****, if you do the rock installation to the their request, are you going to pay for it?" Menaing, that **** cannot commit to this, even after it was scheduled. Option #3 is the simplist and the least expensive way for Premier Pools to "make it right"... However, there is nothing that can ever change the fact that Premier built our pool above any existing design point that would have made it consistent with the existing concrete, and admittedly a design flaw... I cannot forget this fact, nor the fact that **** ***** consistently misrepresented what he would do to complete the pool. It is my belief that, if the owner considers **** ***** an ambassidor for his brand name, he should ensure **** does not ever treat customers this way in the future. In addition to executing to one of the above options, I would expect that the owner of Premier Pools would call me to personally apologize for the poor customer treatment we endured. However, I do not expect that this would be part of the settlement, just the right thing for him to do at this point.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We are going to take care of the decorative rock for the consumer as well as repair some damaged stucco for free. This should resolve the consumer's issues at this time.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pool was not completed within contract timeline. The contract states that the pool will be completed within 6-8 weeks once pool digging begins. Pool dig began on June 3rd. As of today, July 29th, the pool is not complete per contract guidelines even though they have demanded and received final payment.

Desired Settlement: I do not think they should be a member of the better business bureau due to their business practices. Not only did they fail to honor their contract but their customer service is absolutely horrible. This company is a disgrace to businesses.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
All work orders have been completed on this project. The owner of Premier Pools has spoken with homeowner and to our knowledge resolved this complaint.

9/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to repair defective/cracked concrete Over the last 10 months we have repeatedly asked the contractor to repair cracked and discolored concrete pool decking withno results. Contract visited the site and agreed to repair but has failed to follow through with the repair

Desired Settlement: To reapair defective concrete so that final sealing can be applied

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The sub contractor, *********** met with the homeowner on 8/19 to discuss concerns and perform repairs. The homeowner is still concerned with one of the hairline cracks, so *********** has agreed to remove and repour a section of concrete in question. *****, the owner of *********** talked to the homeowner yesterday, 8/27/13, and told him that they would perform this repair.

10/22/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our pool's reservicing is coming off after less that 1 year. Premier Pools privided a written 3-year warranty. They will not correct problem. 06/13/2011 contracted with Preimer Pools to reservice and color coat our pool. Louie Nava (916.346.0595) signed for Preimer Pools. Total price was $3295. Job included tilt cleaning and 30 days pool service & start up. Job was completed and paid in full 06-20-2011, check # 2769. Premier Pools sent Precision Pools (916.536.9569)for the 30 day service & start up. We have been using Precision Pools services weekly since then. On 07-09-2012 I called Premier Pool reporting that the Tahoe Blue coating was coming off in servial sections of pool. Premier Pools lady said that someone will call and inspect. on 07-19-2012, Domic came by and said that the pool chemicals are off and that he saw nothing overywrong with the pool. He did try to remove some of the white showing through the Tahoe Blue coating with a gal. of acid. Nothing. He said that he would get back with us on 07-23-2012. 07-23 no call from Domic, called Premier Pools, left message for Domic to call - no call. 07-24 no call from Domic, called Premier Pools, left message for Domic to call - no call. 07-25 no call from Domic, called Premier Pools, left message for Domic to call - no call. 07-25 Josh from Precision Pools called and said he was coming over to check pool's chemicals. Josh said that the plaster was coming through the color coating and a acid wash might help. Josh used a gal. of acid to was a section of pool step but could not remove white marks. 08-06-2012 called Premier Pools and left message about a warranty problem. Late in day Kirza call to say that there was no coverage. That the looks of the pool is the way it is. After several minutes Kirza said that she would have the area supervisor take a nother look at our pool. To date NO ONE from Premier Pools as calles, come by, or offered to correct their problem. Since then I have had three other pool remodelers look at our pool. They said that the plaster base is coming through and should be replace or reserviced. The three contractors, Sage Pools, J F Pools, and C & R Pools suggested about $3500 to correct problem. Premier Pools has made no attempt to contact us or correct their workmanship.

Desired Settlement: We would like our pool coating corrected. When Premier Pools finished their job it looked outstanding. We could do nothing but praise their work. However, within six or seven months, white lines and entire section started showing through the color coating. We have used Precision Pools weekly services since the pool job was completed. Since Prtemier Pools sent Precision Pools to start up our pool they must be good. Precision Pools claims that pool chem. is not maintained, yet their man is providing all chem. services. We want our pool back. The pool looks like sh...

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Yes, Premier Pools did tell Mr. ****** that his plaster problems were not warrantable. What Mr. ****** failed to mention in his complaint was that he had his house pressure washed and painted not long after we re-plastered the pool and his pool is within 5' of the house. He also neglects to mention in his complaint, that he was told by the owner of ********* Pools, which is the company he uses to balance his chemicals on a weekly basis that the discoloration was caused by a chemical reaction from the stucco and paint that was left to sit on the bottom of his pool. I'm assuming he also neglected to tell the three other contractors he had out to look at his plaster, that there was stucco and paint left sitting in the bottom of his pool and clogging his filter as well. On 7/19, we sent our Tech Supervisor, *******, out to inspect the pool plaster at Mr. ****** residence. ******* responded to us, that in 15 years in the pool industry he had never seen this type of thing. We then decided to call ********* Pools to talk to them about the issue. That is when we learned of the stucco and paint that had been in the pool. When we told ******* about the stucco and paint, he responded, "well, that makes sense why I have never seen anything like that". ****, the owner of ********* Pools (chemical company) met with Mr. ****** regarding his plaster concerns. During that meeting, ****, noticed that there seemed to have been something that had settled on the bottom of the pool, causing a chemical reaction with the plaster, which ultimately caused this discoloration. What led him to this determination, was that the pool looked ok on areas of the bottom (mostly in deep end) where the kreepy krawley (cleaner) had been cleaning the pool but in other areas where the cleaner wasn't cleaning the pool looked very different (most notably the steps and benches and shallow parts of pool). Note: Per **** the cleaner doesn't operate properly and mainly stays in the deep end. He also noted that he cleaned chunks of stucco out of the cleaner. **** recommended that they check the filter. When **** opened the filter with Mr. ****** present, he pointed out to Mr. ****** that the filter cartridges were packed full of paint and stucco. He told Mr. ****** that this is what caused the discoloration, and that he should clean his filters immediately and contact his painter to let him know that he damaged the pool. (Usually when painters pressure wash a house prior to re-painting, there is some sort of cleaning agent added to the pressure washer, which I am assuming also ended up in the pool.) In Mr. ****** own words, "when Premier Pools finished their job it looked outstanding. We could do nothing but praise their work." He also notes that the problems began six to seven months after we finished the plaster. If these discolorations were due to a defect in material or workmanship they would have shown up immediately. The fact, that they didn't, shows that sometime between the pool looking "outstanding", when we were finished plastering and six months later when the problems occurred, something else happened, which was, pressure washing, his house and not adequately taking preparations to make sure the run off didn't go in the pool. Premier Pools feels this isn't a warrantable defect on our part in any way. If the BBB would like the contact information for ********* Pools, we would gladly provide it.

Consumer's Final Response
Oct 4, Keith Harbeck, owner of Premier Pools inspected our pool. He was unhappy with the condition of our pool and asked if we could do some work on it. We told him that we would be gone for a week or so, but yes plase do something. Oct 9/10 John from precision Pools drained and acid washed our pool. Oct 16 Harbeck inspected the reworked pool. We both agreed that it is an 90% improvement. We thanked Harbeck for coming and doing something to fix the problem. He also said that early in Nov he would send his man to clean the pool's tiles. Mr Harbeck suggested that his pool man should maintaine our pool and the same conditions as before. Oct 19, Josh came by to check the chemical levels, the pool is still clodey. He said that he was turning our account over to Eric who will be calling us. Again We thank Mr Harbeck for taking action about our pool. It nice to know that business people do care about their crews and want to do the right thing. THANKS MR HARBECK

10/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We notice our pool,primarily our steps became spotted and discolored after a Premier Service Tech place a substance in our pool. On June 28, 2012 my husband sent a letter to Premier notifying them that our pool had become discolored after one of their service technicans placed a powdery substance in the pool. The pasty substance seem to have clung to the step(s) area. A pool Technican came out on July 9th but he provided us with no real solution other than to ask that we pour a gallon of weekly supplied chlorine into our pool every Friday. He said chlorine can sometime improve the color of a pool.

Desired Settlement: On August 29, 2012 I sent a Certified Letter to ****** ******, CEO. I informed him that the discoloration/spots on our pool have not improved at all. When I had not heard from him I called on 9/5 and left a vm asking ****** to contact my husband as he is easier to reach. He called early last week and said he or someone would contact us by Monday 9/10. He has not called and I have left several messages. I left two messages yesterday 9/12. We are requesting the pool be drained to the steps and the color restored. We would like this done before our new city water metering service starts.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The owner of Premier Pools went out and met with the ******. We aren't entirely positve that this is a result of any wrong doing on our part but we are going to try sanding the spots. We had a technician out there yesterday 10/1/12. He met with the homeowner and did a test. He did a spot acid wash and sand which seemed to help. Per my technician the homeowner said if we did this to the whole shelf he would be satified. We will be scheduling this work to be performed and calling the homeowners with the schedule dates.

10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: plastered my pool and chemicals they started with caused pool to calcify then they acid washed it to try to fix problem and took to much plaster off

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement need pool replastered or refund

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Premier Pools does not agree with this complaint. Multiple people (supervisors, owner, 3r parties) have been out to look at this pool.It looks beautiful. Mr. ****** made a complaint with the CSLB who is investigating the complaint right now. We feel so strongly that this is a frivolous complaint that instead of agreeing to Mr. Heilmans request of More than full reimbursement,or replastering the pool, we requested the CSLB to have their investigator look at the pool to make a decision. I left a message for this investigator this morning to find out what the status is.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) they offered me 1000 to buy me off job is not acceptable needs to be redone or reinburst

Business' Final Response
As stated before, Premier Pools does not feel this is a valid complaint. Rather than except Mr. Heilmans demand of replaster or full reimbursement we have requested the CSLB to do their own investigation to determine whether or not they feel this complaint is valid. As of 9/19/12 we have not heard back from the CSLB as to there findings. Therefore I'm assuming they haven't completed their investigation. Once they have completed the investigation we will be able better able to respond.

9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried to contact Ryan our Premier Pool representative on numerous occasions and they have not addressed my requests.  A detailed listing of: o Detailed billing of amounts paid o Pool warranty information o Services rendered  Electrical problems o Master bedroom is on the same circuit breaker as the pool and additional outdoor electrical Premier Pool installed  Chipping around the edges of the pool tile  Pool light does not work Work began April 2012 Purchase price $44,000.00 approximate Sales representative is Ryan Payment method was check

Desired Settlement: repair the following:  A detailed listing of: o Detailed billing of amounts paid o Pool warranty information o Services rendered  Electrical problems o Master bedroom is on the same circuit breaker as the pool and additional outdoor electrical Premier Pool installed  Chipping around the edges of the pool tile  Pool light does not work

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Premier Pools has a construction manager scheduled to meet the homeowner on 9/7/12 in between 4:15 and 4:30 to address their concerns. We recommend for all homeowners to call the office directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX regarding concerns or warranty issues, instead of relying on salesman to relay messages.