BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Dutch Guy Pool Service, Inc.

Phone: (209) 277-9561 13708 Channel Ln, Waterford, CA 95386

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dutch Guy Pool Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dutch Guy Pool Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dutch Guy Pool Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 27, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2007 Business started locally: 01/01/2007 Business incorporated: 01/19/2010 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ernest Steggink, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ernest Steggink, Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 13708 Channel Ln

    Waterford, CA 95386 (209) 277-9561

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company did not state at the time of hiring to clean pool that in the winter he only comes 2 times a month. Owner stated at the time of hiring that he would clean pool 1 time a week. As we got closer to winter stated he would ony clean 2 times a month but charge the same dollars.

Desired Settlement: For two months I paid full 95.00 a month for once a week. I believe he owes me and refund of 95.00 for only working half the time.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The complaint of Mr *** is completely unfounded. I did let him know at the start of his pool service that during the months of Dec and Jan, I come out every other week to service his pool. I also let him know that the cost of draining his pool water into his sewer inlet would cost $150 - (Calcium hardness was too high) When I send him the invoice, he stated that I never said anything about the cost of draining his pool. I reduced the cost to $100,- to keep him happy, since he must not have heard me tell him this while he kept on talking about suing his old pool service company for charging him for work that was never done. (filter cleaning and testing of water) The notice of the "Winter Bi-Weekly Service" was also included and send out on his invoice for service for the month of Oct (send out on Oct 31) and Nov (send out on Nov 30) 2012. This is what it says word for word, included with everyone's invoice for these 2 months. Item : Winter Bi-Weekly Service. Description: Yearly reminder: Dutch Guy Pool Service fees are based on four visits in a month which equal 48 (1x a week) a year. However, there are 52 weeks in a year. Therefore, in the month of December and January (coldest months of the year, with the least algae growth), I will make my visits every other week, while leaving enough chemicals in your pool to overcome the non-service weeks, while your monthly fee will remain the same. Please call XXX-XXX-XXXX for questions or concerns. Thank you for your patronage and understanding. Sincerely, ****** ******, Dutch Guy Pool Service, Inc. This is what I do to make up for when there are 5 weeks in the months while the service agreement is set up for coming out 4 times per month. This happens no matter when they start the service in the year. I have been doing it this way since 1/1/2007 and not one customer called or complained. This gave Mr T. S. the opportunity to voice his concerns which he never did. Even while talking to him (12/31/2012) in his own backyard, about the Demo sweep I put in his pool for the whole month of December.(and January aswell). These were the dates I came out to his location in December 2012 and Jan 2013. 12/3-12/17-12/31-1/15-1/28 (5 times in two months) There is a card kept in the timer box on which I write -when/-what time/-Chlorine content/-PH level/-(Water) Clear and Clean. Since his original pool sweep was broken from the first day service started, I suggested to him several good pool sweeps. The fist one was "The Pool Cleaner". On 11/19/2012 I put "The Pool Cleaner" pool sweep in his pool after asking permission to do so, to see if liked it and to see that it did a good job keeping his pool clean. I did not hear anything from him until I removed it on 12/17/2012. He then said (per text message) that he did not like it and wanted to try the Zodiac MX-8, which I suggested next. Again, I did not hear from him till I removed the unit on 02/05/2013. He said he liked it and asked for the cost. I told him $698,- +T. And since he said that it would be hard for him to afford the unit, I offered to take 3 equal payments over a 3 month period to which he agreed per phone conversation on 2/11/2013. I put a brand new pool sweep in that same afternoon. Three days later he leaves an angry voicemail (buyers remorse) and writes me an email about finding the same pool sweep at a lower cost on the Internet. He was upset because he felt I should have told him about the lower pricing of Internet companies. Like he did not know this after all he bought his filter cartridge set from an on-line store since it was cheaper then purchasing it from me. I can not compete with Internet pricing since they buy huge quantities at much lower cost than me and with high volume sales they can make up for the small profit margin. He then threatened to leave bad reviews all over the Internet if I did not match their price for the sweep. After responding to him per email (copy included) and per phone conversation, I felt it would be better to terminate his account and go our separate ways. I pulled the sweep from his pool the next morning. He did receive an invoice for the 2 weeks of February service (which he was happy with) for which he had not paid yet. I hope this info sheds some light on the true reason of Mr T. S. Complaint. Thank you. Sincerely, ****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The original contract that I signed was once a week service. This is the issue. He slander regarding internet pricing is slander. He did want to charge me 140% over internet pricing as I checked on line. I asked him to remove the pool sweep and cancel his services.

Business' Final Response
The signature that you placed on the bottom of the "Service Agreement" (NOT Contract),it says: "The undersigned has read our SERVICE AGREEMENT and our billing policy and would like to start service". So in plain English, you just signed that you READ the AGREEMENT and BILLING policy. (starting with the words: "ESTIMATE for full service") You did not sign a legaly binding contract of any kind and you were not (by contract) forced to use my services for a duration of time. They could be cancelled at any time by either party. However you are legaly responsible to pay the bill for the service at the time of canceling which you failed to do. In your E_mails you stated that you were "PLEASED WITH THE POOL SERVICE" however you still owe for Jan 2013 ($95,- plus $25,- NSF bank charges)and for the two weeks into Feb 2013 ($47,50). I also gave you NOTICE on both your Oct/Nov 2012 invoices of my BI-Weekly service for the months of Dec and Jan. This gave you 3 months to voice your concern. You chose not to, but instead you filed a complain with the BBB to complete your threat of leaving bad reviews all over the internet for not matching an internet price for a pool sweep. When you said that you could not afford a new pool sweep, you were not kidding. Remember, I was willing to have you make payments to help you out. But I can do better than that. So, this is what I am willing to do. You do NOT have to pay me the service fees for Jan and the two weeks of Feb, including the $25,- NSF charge. Afterall, it seems that YOU need it more than I do(paying it forward). God Bless You.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1