BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Cookie Cutter Pools

Phone: (888) 825-7665 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 6687, Folsom, CA 95763 http://www.cookiecutterpools.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cookie Cutter Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cookie Cutter Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cookie Cutter Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 10, 2008 Business started: 06/01/1974 Business started locally: 06/01/1974 Business incorporated: 04/05/2006 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Evans, President Mr. Justin Evans, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Evans, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Products & Services

Cookie Cutter Pools provides residential, commercial, and Industrial pool service.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Hiring a Contractor in California

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 6687

    Folsom, CA 95763 (888) 825-7665 (916) 532-0133 (916) 873-7772

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 532-0133(Phone)
  • (916) 873-7772(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to provide quality pool tiling installed Sep 2012. Grout has disintegrated and company failed to respond even after many calls and a letter. Swimming pool installation began July 2012 and completed September 2012. In December 2012 grout from waterline tile began to break down and fall into pool. The grout left a large gap between tile and coping running halfway around the pool. Contacted Cookie Cutter owner who said he would send someone over to take a look. When no one showed up after two weeks, I called again and the owner said he would get back to me. After another week, I called again and the owner promised to call me right back and I never heard from him. I sent him a letter on February 4th and have not received any response. Meanwhile, I don't know if water is getting into the gap and damaging the pool structure.

Desired Settlement: I would like Cookie Cutters to repair the tile issue and ensure that there is no damage beyond the tile and grout.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The customer contacted us with her concerns regarding the deck lifting from the pool and creating a large gap. We responded both via a phone conversation and a letter (available upon request). Additionally, we sent our concrete subcontractor out who met with the husband and explained what was happening. The husband indicated he was satisfied with the response. The separation is not uncommon. The pool is designed so that the deck can move from the pool structure to allow for soil expansion without causing damage to the pool structure. We informed the customer that the gap may go away after the soil dries out, however, if it does not we would re-caulk the gap this summer if they desired. We have gone out and inspected the pool and saw no grout problems around the tile. If the customer believes they are having grout issues beyond the previously mentioned "gap" area (which we have and will continue to address as needed), we will send our tile installer over to meet with them to discuss their concerns.

Consumer's Final Response
I am writing to reply to the pool builder's response. In January of 2013, I contacted the pool builder to report what I believed to be a tile/grout issue that was causing a 1/2 inch - 1 inch gap between the pool deck and waterline tile in my 4 month old swimming pool. At that time, the pool builder promised to send someone out to look at the issue. After several weeks of having no one from the pool builder or any of the subcontractors show up and none of my followup calls returned, I wrote the pool builder a letter on February 4, 2013. I received a response via letter from the pool builder dated February 19, 2013 stating that the issue I reported was due to deck lifting. I was puzzled at the response since the builder nor his subcontractors had come by to look at the problem I reported. When I left a voicemail message for the builder to discuss his letter, I did not receive a return call. Finally, in mid-March 2013, a month after I filed the BBB complaint, my husband received a call from the builder's concrete subcontractor making an appointment to inspect the pool. He came by, inspected the pool and explained to me what was happening. During that inspection, the contractor promised to return to caulk the gap, in two weeks, not this summer as the pool builder stated. At that point, I was hopeful that the matter would be addressed soon. However I am concerned about the builder's statement that the gap wouldn't be recaulked until the summer since this is contrary to what the contractor promised me. To date, I am still waiting for the contractor to return to address this issue. Further, I'm surprised at the pool builder's statement that my husband met with the contractor and indicated that he was satisfied with the response since it was me, not my husband that actually met with the contractor. I am also worried that waiting until summer to caulk the gap would be a significant safety risk since the gap is large enough for my young children to put their hands into.

Business' Final Response
Unfortunately I did not receive the rebuttal information sent to me on 4/4/13 but did receive a letter dated 4/17/13 with the rebuttal information. I went out to the home on 4/23/13, inspected the areas of concern and spoke with the complainant's husband. The gap size varies in location and is at most 3/8's of an inch. The complaintant's husband indicated that the gap has gotten smaller. This gap is the result of poor drainage in the back yard. As I had indicated in my original letter to the owner on February 19, 2013 gaps are normally caused by soil expansion and the best remedy is good yard drainage. As the yard dries out, the gap shrinks (which is what is currently happening). The complaninant's husband and I agreed to give the soil another 30 days to dry out and we will come back out and re-caulk as necessary. However, unless the owner puts in yard drainage, she will continue to have this gap issue. Our contract is clear that yard drainage is the responsibility of the homeowner and is NOT the builders responsibility. We would recommend that the homeowner address the yard drainage to decrease the deck lifting.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract was for a 600 sq ft pool and Cookie Cutter Pools built us a 400 sq ft pool and charged for a 600 sq ft pool.Safety issues with electrical Contracted with Cookie Cutter Pools Feb 8, 2012. Promised pool delivery date of 4 weeks. Understand need to have HOA approval can take time. Did not expect pool in 4 weeks. Actual delivery of 5 months. Charged for 600 sq ft pool. Provided with 400 sq ft pool. Started work without a permit. Fined by City of Fairfield for failure to have permit. Delay waiting for permit. Changed structural design but again did not have inspected and new permit issued. Addtional delays. Electrical and water lines legally need to be 24" below surface. Landscaper hit lines buried less than 2 inches below dirt. Could have resulted in serious injury to landscaper. ****** of CCP aware but chose not to disclose. Contract stated diving board to be provided by CCP at cost but no diving board provided. We had to purchase and install our own after the pool was complete and concrete poured. Solar to be arranged by CCP. Failed to do so advising us that we needed to contract with our own solar company. We did. Sloppy work by plumber. Had to move pool equipment as placed on stairs outside bedroom window. Very poor communication with ****** ******- owner. Had to repeatedly call without a response. Had to arrange to be home during most of construction as the sub-contractors did not know what needed to be done or any special instructions. Advised CCP would install water feature but we had to purchase water feature, prepare for installation and install water hoses. Very damaging to not only our yard but the neighbour's yard as well with broken sprinkler head and damaged grass. We expected some damage but were not prepared for the lack of consideration for our neighbours. Entirely no need to drive Bobcat on their lawn and damage sprinker heads. Damage to our flower beds by sub-contractors throwing bricks, rebar and rocks in beds. Wall damaged during excavation and removal of ramp was to be repaired and stuccoed. We had to repair and stucco at our own cost. At the end of the contract we asked ****** not to return to our property after we discovered the live electrical wires just below the surface as we were afraid that more damage might be done or safety would be further compromised by his lack of attention. We completed the plumbing at our own cost as ******'s plumber did not return to hook up the gas or water. At no time was their oversight by the owner ****** and in fact after the contract was signed, we only saw him one more time despite the numerous complaints and problems.

Desired Settlement: The difference between a 400 sq ft pool and 600 sq ft pool is $4000. I would like this refunded. We had to purchase our own diving board, hire a plumber to complete the work, hire a contractor to complete the stucco and contract with a solar company to complete the work that was promised. We held some money back to pay for these services but the cost of the pool size difference should be refunded. My husband has missed many days of work to oversee this project because ****** ****** was completley uninvolved despite his promise to be onsite most of the itme and his promise to make this the experience of a lifetime. It has been a disaster and a very stressful experience. I would not recommend this company to anyone and wish someone had advised us about his work practice.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The pool square footage was never measured by cookie cutter pools. We still don't know what the square footage is. We had to move and shrink the pool on the day of the excavation because of the requirements of the homeowners association. The day the pool was dug, the permit was ready to issue. However instead of pulling the permit that day we did a re-submittal because the pool size and location had changed and it was brought much closure to the house which required extra engineering. The City of Fairfield never fined us. The gas and water were never hooked up by us because you didn't want us to come back onto the property. Also the small stucco patch from the wall repair was not completed by us for the same reason. We have no mention or any sort of agreement to install solar heating on the pool in either the bids we presented to you or the contract that we have written with you. I don't understand why you think that solar heating is part of your package. We poured e lot of extra concrete decking that we were never paid for and installed a whole drainage system that we never billed you for, we also added a bunch of brick rows in the decking that we also didn't bill you for. Our records indicate that we are owed $7460 for the work performed. We will be willing to forgo the whole amount as compensation for dissatisfaction. $4000 covers the difference in the pool size that you claim. $3460 is more than ample to cover your other complaints and we will agree that all the extra concrete and drainage will be free of charge.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1