Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Adams Pool Specialties?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Adams Pool Specialties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Adams Pool Specialties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Adams Pool Specialties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 23, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated: 07/23/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 767721.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Gross, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Gross, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Leak Detection & Repair Swimming Pools - Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
Dave Gross Enterprises, Inc.
Products & Services

Adams Pool Specialties specializes in, tile, masonry, plumbing, electric, interior finishing, pool maintenance and pool decking services.

Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 388-2000(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired ***** *** in May of 2011l to re-plaster our pool in a Tahoe Blue color. A year later, we noticed discoloration and different shapes appearing on the bottom of the pool. We called *****, ****** came out to look at the pool and blamed the chemicals for causing the problem. They refused to correct the problem. Now, three years later the plaster is wearing off, there is no color left. I believe they used the wrong ratio of cement, sand and water. Our pool should not look like this. I want a refund to correct the problem, since ***** refused to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the amount I paid, so that we can have it re-plastered by another company. I heard this happened to another customer during the same time frame, they were going to take them to court.

Business Response: Please see attached records from 2012 forward on the customer's pool.  The letter I rec'd from ***** **** on 9/19/14 clearly indicates her understanding that the pool finish was admittedly damaged by her pool service person, ***** ******.  We had multiple inspections, conversations and email communications about her pool finish.  ***** feels badly that her new pool plaster was damaged; however it is not the fault of ***** Pools mixing, material or installation.  What the attachments do not show is that ***** originally installed the new plaster on May 27, 2011.  We were called to inspect for the 1st time on July 1, 2011.  Before our 1st inspection on July 1st, 2011, the plaster finish already appeared to have been damaged and there was nothing that could be done to correct or improve the finish.  The only thing that can be done is to redo the plaster.  I suggested that Mrs **** contact her pool service person about their insurance or bond to cover such a cost since they had admitted to wrong doing that damaged her pool.

Business Response: Please see attached records from 2012 forward on the customer's pool.  The letter I rec'd from ***** **** on 9/19/14 clearly indicates her understanding that the pool finish was admittedly damaged by her pool service person, ***** ******.  We had multiple inspections, conversations and email communications about her pool finish.  Adams feels badly that her new pool plaster was damaged; however it is not the fault of Adams Pools mixing, material or installation.  What the attachments do not show is that Adams originally installed the new plaster on May 27, 2011.  We were called to inspect for the 1st time on July 1, 2011.  Before our 1st inspection on July 1st, 2011, the plaster finish already appeared to have been damaged and there was nothing that could be done to correct or improve the finish.  The only thing that can be done is to redo the plaster.  I suggested that Mrs **** contact her pool service person about their insurance or bond to cover such a cost since they had admitted to wrong doing that damaged her pool.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: it isn't completely true. Yes, ***** ****** admitted putting the wrong chemicals in after the start up, however we were under the impression that ***** worked for ***** ***** at the time. He had just left ***** *****, who had put in our hot tub, the same time the pool was being refinished. The chemicals had NO effect on the hot tub at all! The two surfaces feel completely different to the touch, which leads me to believe it was the product used to refinish the pool. Over the last three years the pool keeps changing colors, and the plaster is wearing off, while the hot tub remains the same. ***** in an e-mail says they will deeply discount refinishing my pool and send a plaster specialist to look at the pool as well. I am waiting to hear back from ******* on this. It would be nice to have someone from your office come and look at our pool. I have taken pictures to another pool company that says in no way did chemicals cause this huge mess. All I want is for it to be fixed and stop the finger pointing. I the consumer DID NOT do this to my pool! But I Have paid for it in more ways than one. 

Business Response:

We can only state information from our records as we did.  I realize now that ***** did think that ***** ****** worked for *****; however, its a little confusing as to why she would think that if she did not pay ***** ***** for the start up procedure.  In addition, I personally sent ***** an email on 7/23/12 suggesting that she contact her pool service company about their insurance and bond to try to get coverage through them to resurface the pool.  I just spoke to ***** and confirmed that we will have the ******** *********'s ******* representative inspect her pool on 10/9/2014 and I will provide her a quote to resurface her pool. 

Business Response:

We can only state information from our records as we did.  I realize now that ***** did think that ***** ****** worked for Adams; however, its a little confusing as to why she would think that if she did not pay Adams Pools for the start up procedure.  In addition, I personally sent ***** an email on 7/23/12 suggesting that she contact her pool service company about their insurance and bond to try to get coverage through them to resurface the pool.  I just spoke to ***** and confirmed that we will have the ******** *********** ******* representative inspect her pool on 10/9/2014 and I will provide her a quote to resurface her pool. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
As long as a reasonable quote is given to refinish my pool. 

 
Thank you,
 
***** **** 

Consumer Response:

The last reply I sent said I would accept Adams Pool's response if the price was discounted heavily and the ******** ******* ********* came to look at the pool.
 
I did not have the pricing until after I sent the response to you. I now have the pricing, it is too high in my opinion, I would be paying Adam's again to do the job, that I believe was not done correctly as far as the product used to refinish our pool. Also, I received an email from ******* stating that the Rep will be coming out tomorrow. The Rep is not the ******** ******* *********.
 
On these two conditions, I will not accept Adam's response and action they said they would take. It is not resolved as far as I am concerned.
 

Business Response: Here are the specifics of our offer to refinish Mrs ****'s pool:

Here are 2 options – Pool Only: (this includes chipping out the existing the finish, the 1st time the pool was sandblasted and plaster was installed over the existing finish, now there are 2 layers of plaster.  This is why it’s now imperative to chip out the 2 layers of plaster to install a new finish – this chip out process is labor intensive and quite a bit more costly)

Chip out Surface – install Plaster med gray          $4,500.00 (regular retail price is $5,623.00) Has 3 year warranty you will be required to sign an Interior Finish Disclaimer form (see  attached)

Chip out Surface – install Pebble Plus by Adams               $6,900.00 (regular retail price is $9,090.00) Has 10 year warranty

Aggregate finish (like Pebble Sheen) includes hand-seeded abalone and iridescent glass mix at N/C

Both of the above prices are only covering our material, labor and overhead costs only; no profit.

I know that may seem really odd to you but our profit margin is surprisingly low in our industry.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
In addition Mrs **** is correct in that **** ******* is not "employed" by the ******** ********* ******* (they do not have employees) but he has been on the Board of Directors for 15years and is the foremost authority in Pool Plaster material analysis.  We have an appointment with Mrs **** today 10/9/14.

after this appointment, we will update our response.  thank you.



Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: they already misrepresented the the plaster inspector. I don't trust anything they say. You don't think they would deceive customers on problems with their pool? This is what insurance is for. Until the inspector gets here with ******, instead of the owner of the company as stated in an earlier email ****** oversaw the work being done. I have spoken with him, and he saw the pool. I have my notes from 6-612. He is bias, not an even played mg field here. I asked ****** not come into the backyard until the inspector saw it first.

Business Response: Business states that they are waiting on inspector's report so they can issue a conclusive response. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:the inspector's report is not back to determine the problem. I will however, inform you the BBB, that neither Adams Pool, nor the pool service company could tell me what was wrong.with our pool. They didn't preform any tests on the surface of the pool. Both companies, assumed it needed to be refinished. That isn't the case at all, it doesn't need to be refinished, it needs to be sanded and polished according to the inspector. I was very happy to find this out, but at the same time,you have two companies in the pool industry and neither one knew what was wrong, and that it only needs to be sanded.There ia a serious flaw in this industry that needs to be looked into. How many others have been in my situation? there should be regulations and guidelines to be followed. No continued education in this field is required, yet they work with chemicals that can ruin your pool. I want Adams to pay for the sanding of my pool.

Business Response: Please see attached report obtained from **** ******* of ******* ********* ************.  As per his recommendation we have supplied Mrs **** a quote for a sanding procedure.  As previously stated (and the inspection confirmed) the plaster material that was installed in her pool was not defective.  The plaster material was affected by chemicals put into the water.  Without sufficient support confirming an approach appropriate for this particular pool's circumstance Adams Pools was extremely hesitant to offer any process other than a complete remodel of the surface.  Now that we have obtained an outside source, unbiased, recommendation and reassurance that sanding of the surface will not further damage the plaster we are willing to offer this service, however, it is not a warranty covered item and is chargeable.  Also, please note that the process of draining the pool and sanding the finish will NOT make the plaster look as if it is brand new, it will "improve the cosmetic appearance" only.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:you are aware that you removed all of the existing tile along the pool stairs. I would like you to lower the price to $1500 due to the removal of my tile.

Business Response: Unfortunately we can not lower our price for the Sand & Polish; it stands at $2,100.00 to be done by Adams.  The tile issue that you are mentioning was never discussed prior to the **** ******* visit (I reviewed all of our communication back to 2012) and our contract did not inform us to re-install new trim tile on steps.  Trim tile on steps and benches in pools can not be saved as a standard practice in the industry.  There is a place on the contract that would be quoted for trim tile installation if that were applicable and the contract was left blank on that line G.  There are other companies that can do the process that we quoted of Sanding & Polishing the pool surface - there may be a smaller operation that can do the process less expensive than us.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

due to to the cost, Adams will have to give me a timeframe of one year. I currently do not have $2100 to pay for the job to be done. If they would like to offer a payment plan with no interest that would work, and Adams would not have to provide a year timeframe.

Business Response: Adams Pools does not offer financing.  The quoted price of $2,100 will remain a solid/unchanged quote for a period of 1 year.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service