BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wild Sports meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wild Sports include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wild Sports
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1990 Business started: 07/01/1975 Business started locally: 07/01/1975 Business incorporated: 06/24/1977 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Diana Fligge, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Diana Fligge, Owner
Business Category

Sports & Recreation Camping Equipment Fishermens Supplies Hunting & Fishing Services

Alternate Business Names
Triple X Wholesale Wild Sports Enterprises, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 9396 Greenback Ln.

    Orangevale, CA 95662 (916) 989-8310 (916) 989-8312 (916) 989-8314

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 989-8310(Phone)
  • (916) 989-8312(Phone)
  • (916) 989-8314(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 2/8/13 my return was denied in a very rude and unprofessional way. The product was purchased on 1/24/13 and was unused. I purchased the first spinning reel Exceler 3500HA on 1/23/13 but it wasn't working at all so I exchanged it for another one the very next day. I didn't use the reel at all because I needed to go on a business trip. When I got back, I checked the exchanged reel. I still wasn't satisfied with the quality of the product and wanted to return it or to exchange for a better one. So when my wife and I came to the Wild Sports store on 2/8/13 at about 2 P.M., we were denied the return by one of the managers. His name was *****. When we asked him about the reason he didn't want to accept the unused product , he rudely stated:"This is not a Walmart". Also he said that I had too many returns (which is not true). I asked him about the store's 30 days return policy which was displayed on the wall near by , but that person told us to get out of the store and didn't want to discuss the policy. Then I asked him to give me a written explanation of the reason why my return was denied. He sharply said that his answer was "NO" and told us to leave the store and mentioned again that his store wasn't a Walmart. My wife and I were very surprised and upset with this type of a customer service and decided to report it to BBB. It is very unlikely that we will ever shop at Wild Sports again. I paid $84.97 for the reel. The method of payment was a debit card

Desired Settlement: Regardless of the fact that Wild Sport store doesn't give refunds, I demand my money back because I will never shop there again.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The response to this complaint is written by our store manager, ****** B. who dealt with the customer. He writes: "On Feb 8, 2013 a man and woman came in to exchange a reel. The customer stated that he had used it and it didn't work properly. I told the customer that we inspect all reels prior to taking it to the cash registr, and after inspecting it again, it was working properly. I told them that I would not take it back because it was working properly and if they wished, they could send it to the manufacturer. He stated that he had 30 days to bring it back if he didn't like it. I told him, no, that we aren't Walmart. I told them that the return policy is for defective products. I also told him that due to his high volume of exchanges - that included, but was not limited to - 2 rods and 3 other reels, that this reel, upon inspection was working properly and we would not exchange it. He then asked for my answer in writing, I said no. They tried to record/tape my conversation without telling me, and then they tried to take pictures of me and the store. I told them not to take photos of me or the store, because it is against store policy, but they continued. I then walked away because they continued arguing." This man and woman have repeatedly brought back merchandise which has been used and is not defective. Since this reel was working properly, we did not allow him to return it.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The only truth in the respond of this manager is that we exchanged one fishing rod for a longer one. also we did buy Daiwa BG90 reel which we are still using. The last reel, which we tried to exchange for a better quality reel, was unused. These are all main merchandise we bought in this store. The rest of the info stated in the respond is a pure lie. It surprises me that such a falsifier works at the business which sells weapons, etc. I am not willing to read anymore lies that come from this person, but this matter will be addressed.

Business' Final Response
I interviewed each salesperson in our Fishing Department regarding this customer's merchandise exchanges. There have been 3 fishing rods and 3 fishing reels that he and his wife have brought back. Our employees reported that they would make a purchase, then come back a few days later and want to return the merchandise. One rod was exchanged because he wanted a longer one. Another rod we exchanged for him, upon closer inspection, had been used. One of the reels they attempted to return had been used and smelled of fish. We could not take it back in that condition. His wife tried to return it again later, at which time it smelled of fish and WD 40. We, again, could not take it back. Then they wanted to return a Shimano reel that they said didn't work. There was nothing wrong with it, but we exchanged it. After that, they wanted to exchange an Abu Garcia reel that they said made a clicking sound. Many reels make clicking sounds, but we exchanged it for them. They seemed to think that they could purchase merchandise, use it or not, then bring it back. We began in good faith exchanging their merchandise until it became apparent that they were abusing our policy. Their final return, which we rejected, was a reel that they said didn't work. Our manager and fishing personnel checked it out and determined that it was working properly. All reels are checked before leaving the store to make sure they are working properly. Since the reel was not defective and they had returned so many items, we were not willing to do anything more for this customer.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a hand gun. The paperwork needs to resubmit the DROS paperwork. They want to charge me a $50 fee to due this in addition to DROS fee I Asked Wild Sports sales people (***** and ****) if I was eligible to purchase a hand gun as I had just canceled a hand gun purchase. I was told as long as I had waited an hour I was fine to purchase. I purchased the hand gun and went to pick it up after 10 days. The store informed me that DOJ had not canceled the original purchase thus I needed to contact DOJ to get it resolved before they could give me the gun. I spoke with DOJ and they said they were behind in processing cancellations and to just have the store resend the request on Jan 19th and enough time would have passed from the original cancellation for it to be approved. I spoke with **** at Wild Sports and he said that was fine but I had to pay a DOJ reprocessing fee which I agreed to. He than told me he was going to charge me a $50 restocking/cancellation fee due to the additional 2 weeks it is taking. I stated this was not reasonable as had the store given me the correct information I would have called DOJ prior to purchasing the gun. **** said a manager would return my call but he did not so I called back and spoke with the manager Steve. He statted the owner said the fee was non negotiable so I asked to talk with the owner. Steve refused to give me the name or contact info for the owner.

Desired Settlement: I would like to store to resubmit my paperwork to the DOJ and charge me the DOJ processing fee, but not charge me a cancellation/restocking fee.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On Jan 24, 2013 this customer was given a full refund and was not charged the charged the cancellation fee. Please see the enclosed documents showing the refund, our Firearms Purchase Policy that the customer signed at the time of the transaction and the notice from DOJ prohibiting the release of the firearm. We have no control over firearms transactions done at other gun stores. This customer read initialed and signed our Firearms Purchase Policy at the time he purchased the firearm on 12-29-12. He indicated NO to "M" that asks about purchasing a handgun within the last 30 days. He also initialed "G" indicating that there is a fee charged for the cancellation of a firearm. We were notified by DOJ not to release the firearm due to his having purchased another gun within 30 days. The state forms referred to as DROS forms are not just "resubmitted." All new state and federal forms are required to be done. Another DRPS fee is charged and a new waiting period is required. This customer was verbally abusive, demanding and not willing to comply with our stated policies, We are under no obligation to do firearms transactions. He was given a full refund and the cancellation fee was waived.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1