BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that United Spas Manufacturing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for United Spas Manufacturing, Inc. include:

  • 17 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for United Spas Manufacturing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on United Spas Manufacturing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 12, 2001 Business started: 04/27/2001 Business started locally: 04/27/2001 Business incorporated: 04/27/2001 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Nadine Kelly, Vice President Mr. Tim Kelly, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nadine Kelly, Vice President
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Swim Spas

Products & Services

United Spas Manufacturing, Inc. specializes in the manufacturing and delivery of spas and hot tubs.


Additional Locations

  • 5321 Pirrone Rd

    Salida, CA 95368 (209) 495-8228 (800) 682-2772

  • PO Box 935

    Salida, CA 95368

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 495-8228(Phone)
  • (800) 682-2772(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *BUYER BEWARE*After a poor transaction I have learned, BUY your accessories & spa ELSEWHERE!So far their idea of correcting the issues is sending me a free $20 filter, (they say its a $70 filter, but as you read my complaint you will see several of the spa "add-ons" are way over price and once they are delivered they WILL not return the parts so you can shop at a better priced store, and as I read in other complaints they WILL NOT price match. So as a consumer I am out $295 for delivery, $299 for a ozone machine, $99 for stairs that dont match.....All three items would have cost $435.......Hide your wallets people...So far they did give us a new outer cover for the spa due to the one the "sold" me was moldy and cracked, seams torn etc, a generic filter. I met with Nadine on Saturday, 5/31 after responding to a craigslist ad for spas for sale. She went over the options for spas and after going over options and benefits of united, I decided to purchase a model similar to one they had in elk grove where we met, although it was at another location. I was told it was just like the one in elk grove, but had the 30 jet option, which for therapy was what I had been looking for. We discussed the benefits of a used United spa over other spa sales in the area, and that we would have a much better purchase using United vs. others (***** **** ***** *************** etc). Several calls complaining, but end result was sorry you are on your own. After my money was paid, nothing was farther from the truthI have a much longer letter, explaining all of the issues, but only have so many characters.

Desired Settlement: I would like the add ons, price matched ( as stated on several complaints ) or refunded and returned so that I may purchase elsewhere saving my family several hundred dollars, especially with the large purchase price I paid. Again I have much more documentation, but not enough room for all of the data

Business Response: We have resolve this customers concerns and he is 100% satisfied. He will be glad to refer customers to us. Feel free to contact him.

 
Sincerely,
****** *****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

 
Thank you **** ****** and United Spas Mfg. for making a "Good sale but Bad execution" a much better situation. I appreciate the final communications and resolution as a business owner ( ****** **** *** ), and will be recommending United Spa going forward! Nice "save" and now we are happy, long term customers  I will be sharing this not only personally but professionally. Again, thank you!

*****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new hot tub from United Spas in Feb. 2014. It has nevered worked. I have made numerous phone calls. Someone has come out twice to attempt to fix the problem. With each visit they stated the problems were fixed. The same problems continue to occur. Now when I want to talk to the owner of the company, he will not return my phone calls and the employees are hanging up on me. It is obvious the hot tub is a lemon and I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: Take the hot tub and refund my money

Business Response: We switched out the water purifier and everything is working great.  Called customer and she said she is happy and everything is working fine now.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to file a complaint againt United Spas Mfg, Inc located in Salida address below.On 4/6/2014 I purchased a 2013 New Spa with all of the bells/whistles i.e., stainless steel jets, therapuetic seats and lounge, seats 6. LED Lighting, CD/Stereo and waterfountain. Mr. *** Kelley told us, my husband, daughter and future son-in-law that he was trying to sell the 2013 to make room for the 2014 spas. He was very professional and the perfect sales person and/or sales pitch. - 4/15/2014 Mr. ***** called with another sales pitch to sell me a 2014 Black spa with sparkles all of the bells/whistles listed above for no extra charge, the jets and the stereo was much better than the 2013. He confirmed several ***es that the 2014 spa had "All" the bells and whistles ad the original purchase the only difference was the color/yr. - 4/16/2014 the black spa was delivered, bottom line the spa didn't come with all of the bells and whistles my dissatisfaction was known to the 2 delivery men/Mr. *** ***** while the delivery men were at my residence. The spa was dirty, white build up along the top edge of the inner spa/around the headrest areas. The spa didn't have the waterfountain as the original purchase. I asked that the delivery men take the spa back, but they wouldn't.- Jim Black wrote on the invoice that the spa would be replaced with the pearl spa I purchased.- Both Mr. *** ***** & Ms. Nadine ***** told me that they have a no refund policy. I understand the no refund policy if the product that I purchased was delivered but it WAS NOT!!- 4/28/2014 I advised Ms. ***** that I filed a dispute with my credit card company.- 4/28/2014 Ms. ***** offered to upgrade my spa to the presidential model 91x91 with no charge, cost $1000 - voice message saved- 5/3/2013 Mr. *** ***** called to tell me that he's been down this road and he "Always" wins. When he was made aware that I'm proceeding with dispute/small claims he said let's rock/roll, very unprofessional and cocky!!

Desired Settlement: I would like my monies back, $6,490 - They are shady/I don't trust them. Alot has happened since the purchase but not enough space to write everything. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further.Thank you in advance!!

Business Response: With regards to **** *****, We have tried to give this customer exactly what she wants including a 2014 model at the same price with all the original features and she is refusing to cooperate. So we are returning the money and picking up the spa this Friday 5-30-14

Consumer Response: On Friday May 30th the company refunded my money.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased spa cover from united spas on 1/27/2014 delivery datespa cover was delivered by united spas.no paper work or product warrenty or information was given.Per salesman, 1 year warrenty for defects.after 2 weeks the spa covering began to bubble within the vinyl cover, appearing to have moisterior within the vinyl. I had to look for proof of sales invoice, which was emailed to me.i took a picture of spa cover, called owner *** ***** today regarding spa cover. He informed me that I was unable to contact manufacturer as they do not deal with the public regarding warrenties. *** stated that the manufacturer works in their manufacturing plant where they also build the spas. There is no name for this spa cover manufacturer, other than united spas since they work directly for *** *****.They are basing the defect to be due to over use of chemicals and that is not covered under the warrenty. I have used the same chemicals as long as i have owned this spa 9 years. i have been through 1 other cover made from a different company and had no issues with defects rather due to the outer cover falling apart from weather conditions.**** ***** was very rude and kirt with me during our phone conversations, he has no customer service etiquette. I have never been so upset with a company before until this issue.I do not believe this compnay should be able to deal with the public with this type of rudenss and blaming the customer before researching the item and concluded it was the chemicals fault within 12 weeks time. Product_Or_Service: january 27 2014 Order_Number: invoice 59376 Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund refund of entire amount.amount charged 399.99

Business Response: To whom it may concern.

 
We do not get problems with our covers in just a short time.  We apologize for the way Tim responded.  It is unaccpable.  We will be sending the customer a new vinyl for her cover and we will need her to send us the faulty vinyl.   We hope to better serve her in the future.
 
Sincerely,
****** *****

Business Response: To whom it may concern.

 
We do not get problems with our covers in just a short time.  We apologize for the way Tim responded.  It is unaccpable.  We will be sending the customer a new vinyl for her cover and we will need her to send us the faulty vinyl.   We hope to better serve her in the future.
 
Sincerely,
****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told I would be receiving a hot tub cover that would match my hot tub, and did not. Rec'd old & disintegrating one. repeat calls unanswered Initial contact began evening of 11/25. At time texts and calls between myself and female owner to purchase hot tub. I indicated bad timing as I was on my way to ER because my daughter had problem with appendix. Owner continued sale via text and phone calls and at this time I specifically asked if the cover would match hot tub and she indicated "of course", delivery was set up for 1:00pm. Next morning, contact with ******* to purchase NEW instead of "slightly used" hot tub if I agreed to become a contact for Citrus Heights area for additional $100.00. Agreed, and told original delivery would be at same time. Delivery finally came that night at 6:30pm in the dark. Hot tub arrived new, but with some scratches when set up, and damage to sticker on control plate. Told and wrote on delivery invoice that I was not expecting a used cover. Delivery man told me that if it was settled to get new cover, that they delivered almost every day in my area. Invoice I signed said Payment of $3590.00, however signed ONE slip for $1500 on Visa card, other slip NOT signed and received Amex charge on another credit card for $690.00, which is $100 too much. On invoice, it indicates 5 year warranty, and the cover is extremely damaged. The invoice also indicates that the cover is to be mocha and tub to be mocha. Next day called and texted office. Spoke to male owner he mentioned they could replace with another cover in store and waited for someone to call me back. Multiple texts and calls back and forth indicating that I would desire the new cover as was previously indicated. 11/26 multiple contact, 11/27 told will be swapped in text and sent pictures of damages of cover and to told a new cover would be delivered, 11/30 told hot tub was still not heating up and was told it would heat in 5-6 hours but took 3 1/2 days. 12/2 multiple contact attempts, 12/4 was last contact from ******* about my dilemma and desire to receive a new cover as was told me by initial phone conversation that the cover would match the tub and she indicated that the owner would get back to me. Still have not heard back from anyone. Cover is causing tub to not retain heat because it is too large for hot tub, and there are particles falling off cover because it is so damaged causing water to stay dirty. There is mildew and rips and water damage to the cover. The cover is grey and not mocha. Am STILL not receiving the customer service, have been ignored and am extremely disappointed in the accountability of the company.

Desired Settlement: replace used and damaged cover for new cover in matching mocha color to match hot tub as specified in initial conversation from owner.

Business Response: We never promised a new cover. We told Mrs. ********** she can go with a used cover at no charge or purchase a new cover for $395.00. We have also been in complete communication with her, letting her know as soon as we get a better USED cover, in the mocha, we will swap out the cover. We are planning on doing so next week. We will call her the night before delivery and 1 hour prior to arriving. Please feel free to call for any reason.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Invoice & verbal agreement was for matching cover. Was never told cover would be extra charge at initial time of contract, only after damaged and faulty cover in Grey was delivered. Contact almost always is initiated by myself, and before complaint filed, ******* in office said she would be talking with owners and they would get back to me, which they never did. After weeks, I filed complaint. Waiting to see condition of cover to see if resolution is obtainable however, after waiting 21/2 hours after scheduled appointment was just called and told that they "forgot to put cover on truck" and I have to wait another 10 days to receive cover. Needless needless to say the communication throughout the company leaves a lot to be desired. Also, was charged an additional $200 then what was agreed upon. Was not aware until I received credit card bill.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were to fix a leak. After selling us a $600 dollar pump, the repairman left with the old pump and a leak in the tub. We didn't needed a pump. We bought a Hot Tub from United Spa's on 12/31/2005. We used it 2 winters. The third winter it started leaking and we let it sit until we bought another larger one this year. I had discussed buying a new one from United Spa's several time when they would call to advertise service, but we felt it was too expensive for that size of a tub. We were giving the old tub to my son (**** ******** who lives in Clearlake, Ca and wanted to fix it before he took it so I called United Spa's and ****** said they could almost always fix leaks in 1 hr. which was $199 an hr. When the repairman came out and saw the new tub he mentioned "Oh, you got another one?" I explained to him that I tried to buy one from them but it was too expensive for the size of the tub. Then he pulled off the cap (where the motor was) and said. I see the problem. The pump is leaking and needs a new one. I asked how he could tell,He said he could tell by looking at it because it had water stains on it.He said it was $600 for a new one.I called ****, and he made an agreement by phone with ****** at United Spa's in Chico, (which is where we actually bought and picked up the tub) to pay $215 a month to be taken out of his debit card for the next 3 mos. for the motor. I paid for the initial $199 service call on my credit card. When **** got it home, It still leaked below the level of the jets as before. So I'm sure its the same problem. In order to get them to come out again to Clearlake he has to pay another $90 to come out and $199 per hr. to fix it. I didn't notice for a few days after the repairman was here that he had taken the old pump with him. I didn't request it and he didn't ask if I wanted it. We have a pump business and we are required to leave all old parts unless customers ask us to take them, which they usually do, but we always know for sure, so I figured he had left everything there at the hot tub since we hadn't discussed it. After they took out $215 in Sept. Greg called and ask them not to charge his card anymore until it was fixed and they told him "Oh, the secretary will probably go ahead and do it." (which they did in Oct.) I believe we are being held hostage. I truly think the repairman was upset because we had bought another tub from someone else. The repairman didn't even put water into the tub to check it after installing the new pump.

Desired Settlement: Since I don't believe we needed a new pump in the first place, I would like to be reimbursed $600 which is the full amount of the pump that will be pd. by the time this is taken care of. They should not charge $90 to come out to Clearlake to finish the repair they as they have been paid 199 on a prior visit to do the same repairs. I also will not pay the additional hourly rate for them to come back out as they should have fixed the problem the first time.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response
11/12/13 This is to confirm that ******, from United Spa's has agreed to resolveing our issue regarding our old spa by replacing it with a new spa at the cost of $1390.00 at $200.00 per month with no interest. They will deliver the new spa to **** ******* in Clearlake, Ca. on 11/13/13. I am 100% satisfied the this agreement. Thank you, ***** ****** (signed statement attached)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a spa from United Spas a number of years ago and had them service it annually. They started calling me offering to buy the spa back for $500. I planned to move so they then offered to sell me a discounted spa on a trade-in of my old spa. They picked-up my spa on 1/10/13, plus I gave them a $250 deposit. I also gave them a $250 deposit for a pool table. My moving plans fell thru so I cancelled the ordered spa and pool table. They said I had to forfeit my $500 in deposits, which I understand. However they are also refusing to pay me the $500 for the spa they picked up. I feel like they have basically stolen my spa. I want the $500 they had offered to buy my spa previously.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $500 for my used spa that they picked-up 1/10/13.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mr. ********** ordered a new United 6 Trillum Spa on 01-09-13 with the trade in of his old spa included in deal. He wanted us to pick up old spa, which we did, before he received his new spa. He signed an Invoice which states ALL SALES ARE FINAL: NO REFUNDS. he put a deposit on the new spa. We picked up old spa as he requested on 1-10-13. We have been waiting for him to tell us when he wants us to deliver the new spa. We do not have the old spa any more (its been 5 months since we picked it up). We took old spa to dump for customer. I have a copy of the Invoice which Mr. ********** signed. We want to deliver the New Spa to Mr. ********** as soon as possible. I have attached a copy of the Sales Invoice Mr. ********** signed.

Consumer's Final Response
I do not believe that United Spa's response stating my old spa was disposed is honest, part of the old spa may have been disposed but they called me 3-4 times offering to buy my spa outright for $500. Why would they offer to buy my old spa outright unless there was something for them to gain, i.e. recylcing some parts of these purchased spas into new or used spas for resale.

Business' Final Response
As you can see by the sales Invoice his old spa was to be used as a trade in on the new spa. As our Invoice (that Mr. ********** signed) states NOTICE: NO REFUNDS, ALL SALES ARE FINAL. If Mr ********** wants to delay the delivery of the new spa we can do that, He can put the spa on layaway until he can pay in full for the New Spa. If the Price is to high on the New Spa we can sell him a less expensive spa. But again our invoice state ALL SALES ARE FINAL. And the Trade in of the Old Spa was included in the price of the New Spa. United Spas Mfg.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told by ******* (the service man) that all charges and services to date would be $2052.00 to completely repair our spa. We were told by ****** and ****** (the owner) that the $199.00 service call would be credited to the repair work on our spa on 01/24/2013. When we signed the estimate (not an invoice) for the $2052.00, we were convinced without a doubt that the charges of $523.98 would be reversed back to my credit card. In stead I was charged 4523.98 and $2052.00 for a total of $2575.98. There was only one paper involved in the transaction. That paper is very deceiving. Everyone I show it to agrees. It's meant to be deceiving. Several times we reaffirmed with ******* that the charges to date would not exceed $2052.00. we never received an invoice. We have nothing about the warranty promised us.

Desired Settlement: Their paperwork is very confusing, correct that. Send something about our warranty. Reverse the charge of $523.98. Total charge should be $2052.00 as Randall stated. The paper work is deceptive, everyone agrees.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We were out that the ******'s home several times. Each time Mrs. ****** added more items to the order. Instead of doing a separate invoice for each visit, we just added the items into the same invoice. When Mr ****** found out how much the Mrs has spent, they called our office complaining that they had spent too much, over $2000.00. Almost all the componants have been replaced on this spa now. When I spoke to Mrs ****** she had her husband In the background on speaker phone yelling at her about all the Items she agreed to. So I went through the items on her invoice and asked her if she agreed to each item. She said yes, but she didnt know It added up to so much. She said if she knew she had ordered so much, she would have Purchased a new spa. I asked her a second time if she agreed to each item and she said yes again but just was upset about what the total is. We offered her the full credit towards another spa and our spas are 50% off right now but she declined. I also had them oh speaker phone with witnesses in the mom. She agrees to all items and charges separately but does not like the total.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor product Was promised full warranty on used product. Company wants to offer half the promised warranty and sells as is after delivered to property in the dark. Cover had tears I it Nd is too small. New brown wood siding has scratches and marks all around it when I was told a new side was to be put on. All neck cushions r missing at delivery of hot tub. Was told a brand new hot tub for 2650 listed advertised price was available for purchase to find out when I got to share house that that was t available for that price and walked out getting talked into spe ding $1000 more on a used, supposedly fully refurbished piece of junk that's now sitting in my backyard. Delivery driver was four hours late with zero phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Full immediate refund and removal promptly of unit. Or completely new unit costing same price with new lid delivered immediately during the day.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I have a signed invoice that says all complaints are resolved. I have faxed it over to you. I'm sure this all a mistake but either way I want to clear it up to make sure customer is still 100% satisfied as she signed, plus maintain our excellent relationship with the BBB.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/14/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1