BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Hot Tub Super Center, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 315-8827 View Additional Phone Numbers 4415 Granite Dr Ste 200, Rocklin, CA 95677 http://www.hottubsupercenter.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hot Tub Super Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hot Tub Super Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hot Tub Super Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 22, 2008 Business started: 05/14/2005 Business started locally: 05/14/2005 Business incorporated: 04/02/2012 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Barrett, General Manager Mr. William Long, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Barrett, General Manager
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 4415 Granite Dr Ste 200

    Rocklin, CA 95677 (916) 315-8828 (916) 520-6466

  • 703 E Bidwell St

    Folsom, CA 95630

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 315-8828(Phone)
  • (916) 520-6466(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have owned this Catalina swim spa since September 2012. Since then I have paid $450.00 for trip charges to fix leaks and a fuse. They came last week and the leak was not fixed andI have not yet paid another $150.00 for the trip last week and they say they will not come out until I pay that. The spa is under warranty and I understand that they have to charge for long trips but is this not a lot of money to pay for a brand new spa in the first year? Also, it seems I am expected to be able to fix it myself if it a simple fix. They say this will not void the warranty. Can I believe them?

Desired Settlement: I would like to not owe them the $150.00 for the trip that didn't fix the leak.

Business Response: The customer called with a leak issue. My service technician traveled to the customers home and found an empty spa. My service technician began filling the spa, found a leak and repaired it. It seems as though there was an additional leak that started after the spa continued to fill and my service technician had left. From what I have been told the second leak has been fixed. I will waive the $150 charge. Next time please call and deal with the general manager prior to going to the BBB.

Thank You,
***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a hot tub from them which was supposed to include salt system, steps and extra jet pack. We had to call to actually have an invoice sent an And the previous mentioned additions were omitted. When we called company to inform them they stated it was already ordered and they couldn't do anything about it. We had to accept it as is. Furthermore if we didn't accept it, we will be charged $500. This is outrageous. We will not accept a product we didn't order and we will not pay $500 for it!

Desired Settlement: We no longer want to do business with this company. We want to cancel the order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
After custom ordering a $15,000 swim spa to the specifications the customer wanted, the customer chose to cancel the agreement. Following is the customers email to me... "We have the right to refuse or return a product that we do not want. If there is a restocking fee as you said of $500, we will pay it and be done." I responded to the customer as followed... "You already stated you disputed the $500 initial deposit so I do not have funds to support your restocking. Furthermore, $500 does not even cover the freight on the product. Being stuck with a swim spa in September is cash I will have to sit on for 6 months. There is no re-stocking on my contract. All sales are final. We were ridiculously generous ordering a swim spa with $500 down. I require 25% typically but *** convinced me that you were really excited for the unit and convinced me to move forward on the order. You dealt with *** and the Owner of the company visited your house and I ordered the unit following the site inspection. Lead time is 4-6 weeks, which is exactly where we are. If no negative reviews are posted online and no BBB complaints are filed, I will leave it at that. If I discover that slanderous remarks are being made online, then I will be forced to pursue legal action. I do not want to go this route and would prefer to walk away from the situation." The customer agreed, but said a BBB complaint had already been filed. She said she would drop the complaint. Obviously that has not happened, but the customer has receive 100% of her money back, which is more than what she asked for in the initial complaint. Please consider this file closed. Sincerely, *** GM

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new spa for $15,558.47a used damaged demonstration spa was delivered. My contract says in stock special not damaged demonstration model I talked to a salesman ****** ***** on May 25th 2013 at the Sacramento County Fair from Hot Tub Super Center about purchasing a spa. I purchased the spa over the phone on May 27th, our spa was delivered on May 30th 2013. The spa that was delivered was a used damaged spa that was a demonstrating model at the County fair. We were told we were purchasing new spa. Our Contract states "IN STOCK SPECIAL". The spa was damaged when I received it with gouges and the caulking around the tile is torn off and bubbled. Also a artificial flower was shoved in the filter that was on display at the county fair. I asked the employee named ****** if it was new he said yes that he personally unwrapped it at the shop to inspect it. A crane delivered it into my back yard and left so I could not tell him to remove it. Upon installation the delivery crew for Hot Tub Super Centers installed lifters for the spa covers. In doing so, they split the wood on three of the four corners on the spa. On May 31st an employee named *** came and removed the lifters and took 2 pictures of the damage when it had 9 separate damages. *** told me to take pictures myself and email them to the GM *** ******** *** said the spa was not new and that it was the demonstrating model from the County fair. I emailed the pictures of damage with details to the GM *** ******** I have continuously been in contact with the companies General Manager *** ******** He offered me glue to glue the wood, putty to fill the holes, and stain to try to match the color of the panels. On June 6th 2013 the company finally agreed to refund the spa, but with nothing resolved I posted a truthful review online stating our situation. Since the review was published the General Manager *** ******* told me they are no longer going to take the spa back and give us a refund and that we would have to deal with the manufacturer in the future for the warranty. I talked with the manufacturer Catalina and they said this is an issue the owner would have to deal with. I spoke with **** the owner and we partially discussed the issue then he proceeded to call me a liar and hung up on me. On June 14th *** the GM emails me "Due to sensitivity of the situation they have decided that they will replace any damaged panels, re-caulk the tile, and handle any other issues you have. They have also offered an additional $500 discount as a customer satisfaction". I purchased a new spa not this mess. I want the company to remove the spa like they said they would and refund me. The GM told me over the phone it is difficult to fix the siding and it will not look new. This situation has been horrible and I just want to be done with it. I have all emails and pictures and witnesses for proof. The spa being a demonstration model at the fair means the spas motor, jets, heater, filter lights and all the special components were running for multiple days. The public had full access to the spa it self and its controls. If the company repairs the spa I have to drain 1600 gallons of water and then the spa would be out of use for a period of time, I will have to make accommodations for a repair person to be at my home and then have to refill it with 1600 gallons. The caulking will not look the way it should and they can not fix the gouges on the spa itself.

Desired Settlement: I want the spa picked up and I want to be fully refunded. I paid $3111.69 on my visa card and I want this refunded to my card. The remaining $12,446.78 is being financed thru Wells Fargo that was set up by the Hot tub Super Center employees and I want this canceled.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In response to complaint number XXXXXXXX, I have attached 3 pages. The first shows the customer purchased a stock item, not a new order. The second is her delivery receipt she signed approving the delivery and accepting the product as is, making no notes of any issues. The third is the financing paperwork she signed with Wells Fargo. Had her claim be legit, she would have noted on the delivery contract and/or refused delivery/payment. She viewed the product before it was craned into her backyard (a crane we paid for). After install, a tile came ajar. We offered to fix it under warranty. The panels that she complains about were only damaged because she purchased aftermarket units that screw into the cabinet. ******* did not like the way they looked and demanded them removed. I have email confirmation with her, explaining that there will be holes and damage to the cabinet if removed, but we can send putty and stain to make it look as best as possible. She agreed and we credited her 100% of the purchased aftermarket units and made an additional trip out at no charge to remove them. She continued to complain, so I told her we would replace the panels completely ($480 my cost plus labor) and we credited her back an additional $500 as customer service appreciation to attempt to make her happy. I then offered to order a brand new unit and replace it for her. My cost our enormous dealing with this contract and Hot Tub Super Center has done nothing but offer ways to fix issues. Still, ******* ****** is not happy. We want to make ******* happy, and have agreed remove *******'s hot tub. In return she has agreed to drop all complaints and remove all online reviews. She has agreed not to re-post in the future. This is what business's have to do these days. I will loose thousands on this contract, and right or wrong need do whatever it takes to protect the Companies reputation. Sincerely, Tim

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales contract indicated financing of a hot tub for 5% interest and 60 months. Delivery receipt indicated 12.9 interest for 50 months. We purchased a Maax hot tub, model 281, from the vendor Spa Scapes at the California State Fair on 7/18/12. They offered financing on the purchase of 5% interest for 60 months. The terms are written in the sales contract. We gave a $1000 deposit for the order. We had to fill out an application for the financing, and did not receive a copy of it. We had called three weeks after the initial purchase to follow up on the order and financing. No mention was made that the terms had changed and not what was stated in the contract. A Credit card issued by Wells Fargo arrived in the mail, approximately two weeks after the follow up call. It was only the card and no terms. I called to activate the card and asked Wells Fargo what the terms were on the account. They indicated the financing terms were set by the merchant. When the hot tub was delivered on 9/28/12, we received a copy of the delivery, and sales receipt for the balance owed,$5756.76. The terms stated on the transaction receipt stated 12.9% and 50 months term. I called the store on Monday 10/1/12 regarding the financing terms, and spoke to the finance manager. The store refused to honor the terms stated in the contract, and also indicated that the sales person who made the sales had been fired.

Desired Settlement: The financing terms must be adjusted with Wells Fargo to be what the sales contract states, 5% interest for 60 months, or a credit posted to the card charged in the amount of $500.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In response to the interest rate dispute on the McAtee contract I declare that McAtee was told prior to ordering the spa that the plan offered at the Fair was not a contract I have available through Wells Fargo. There was a mistake made by an outside contractor and it was noted to the customer prior to ordering the spa. Correct financing options were discussed and the 12.9% was chosen. A full refund was offered at that time. The customers are retirees on fixed income looking for a low monthly payment. I explained that I do have a rate of 4.99% for 36 months but that the payment would be much higher. The customer chose to move forward with the purchase and the 12.9% financing contract. Following delivery, the customer called and stated that they wanted the 5% interest rate that was on the original hot tub purchase agreement. The customer agreed that we had spoken about the changes, but insisted that I needed to send something in writing and told me I can not have 2 contracts. I explained that a financing contract and a sales contract are separate entities since the financing is through Wells Fargo. I again offered to pick up the spa. The customer stated that he would speak to his wife and call me back if there were any issues. I did not receive a return phone call. Instead the customer called Wells Fargo to dispute the charge and filed a complaint with the BBB. To resolve this matter, I will credit the customer $250. In doing so, the customer would agree to discontinue any slanderous actions towards Spa Scapes, DBA, Hot Tub Super Center. The customer would also agree to find warranty service through a different California Cooperage dealer if he was to have issues within the warranty period. He does have a local dealer in Walnut Creek. Sincerely, Tim Barrett

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: Tim Barrett Contact Phone: 9163158827 Contact Email: sales@htsc.biz The check was mailed on 12/18/2012. I am happy to re-issue a check. It is available for pick up at the store.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1