BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Paramount Solar

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 8781 Sierra College Blvd, Roseville, CA 95661 http://www.paramountsolar.com

! BBB Business Review on Paramount Solar is being Updated by BBB!

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4202 Douglas Blvd Suite 100

    Granite Bay, CA 95746

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8781 Sierra College Blvd

    Roseville, CA 95661 (916) 218-7030 (916) 746-8080

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 218-7030(Phone)
  • (916) 746-8080(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB's Business Review on this business is currently being updated. Therefore BBB cannot provide you with any information at this time.


Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We started this process with Paramount in March, they say May. Needless to say, it is now the end of August and we still have no solar. We were dealing with ***** ******* and he told us that it would be 90 days from beginning to end of process. It is now going on 6 months and we still have no solar on our hous3. They have taken out $1000 for the down-payment, and we have not seen any results. We have not been kept up on the process and nobody seems to know what the other person is doing. This business has not shown us any thing that would make us recommend them to anyone.

Desired Settlement: Just to do their darn job and do it in a reasonable time frame. If they cannot deliver, then we would like a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
According to our records, Mr. ********** signed our Electricity Purchase Agreement (EPA), our purchase agreement on April 24, 2013. We have spoken with Mrs. ********** and she indicated that she would give us until September 15th to have their system installed. She further indicated that she would rescind her complaint if we met this date. We have confirmed that installation is in process. We will continue to monitor its progress with the goal of meeting the September 15h target date.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, they never spoke with Mrs ********** regarding this issue, they spoke with Mr. **********. Second, I did not say that I would rescind this complaint. Third and final, they are still not going to meet the date of September 15th, because the panel upgrade will NOT be installed until September 19th, which means we will not be able to use our solar until the 20th. The only reason we have started the process of any work done on the house is because of this complaint. Had we not complained, we would be no further ahead than we were. Still not satisfied with how this was handled.

Final Business Response
We have continued to be in contact with the **********'s. We did install the solar system by 9/15, however the main panel upgrade wasn't completed until 9/19. We are still communicating with them and anticipate a satisfactory resolution.

8/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertising in "energy payment reduction notice" mailer designed to look like official notice, with long outdated, untrue utility rebate offer. We received an unsolicited "energy payment reduction notice" via USPS (dated July 3, 2013) containing the following false information about reasons to select Paramount Solar. Specifically, the "notice" states: "Your utility company currently offers excellent rebates for California Homeowners." PG&E's California Solar Initiative (CSI) stopped accepting rebate applications effective 5 pm, May 2 2013, long before Paramount mailed this misleading advertising to unsuspecting potential customers. Information Source: www.pge.com/csi/

Desired Settlement: Promise and fulfillment of ethical business practices, specifically in advertising services and products.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We were unable to call Ms. ******* as she did not provide a phone number. As such, the following email was sent to her today, addressing her complaint. We are hoping to receive a response which will allow us to close this complaint. I will update our response upon receipt of hers. *****, Thank you for your complaint. It allowed us to identify a flaw in how we were tracking utility participation in the California Solar Initiative (CSI). We have now implemented a new process to validate each California utility's continued participation in the CSI on a more real-time basis, and prior to creating our advertising. I wish to apologize for any inconvenience our solar advertisement may have caused you, and to reassure you that we take our obligations to promote ethical business practices, and to avoid misleading California consumers through our advertising, seriously. I hope that our response and the changes we have made in our business practices will satisfy your desired resolution to your complaint. I look forward to your response. Regards,

Consumer's Final Response
Hello, *****: I am pleased that you will make changes in your advertising to provide potential customers with accurate, up-to-date information. However, CSI has now ended and no longer accepts residential clients.Thus, my understanding is that there is no real-time basis to validate utility participation. I trust your advertising will reflect that reality. I see in the news that Solar City has now acquired your business, and I hope you will continue to encourage sound and ethical business practices under the new ownership. Sincerely, *****

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email from **** ******* Their representative that called was quite rude and hung up on me after I stated that I had bad credit.. I received an email from **** ****** after contacting the company via their website interest form. Their representative that called was quite rude and hung up on me when I stated that I had bad credit and it would take a bit for me to put the money for a system together. I guess if you can't get a commitment for fast money then you don't give out any information... If you are the one who called... don't bother calling again. I received no information on a potential system for me customized to my needs as stated on their website...

Desired Settlement: It would be nice if they would actually put together the information they promised so I can make an informed decision as to whether or not I want to get into this type of system on my property.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We were finally able to make contact with Mr. ****** last evening. He has been very busy and will be unable to speak with us until the 26th. We will follow up with him and hopefully provide our response by 6/29. Either way we will provide an update.

Consumer's Final Response
Paramount solar contacted me and gave me a very nice presentation of their available product and payment plans. I was very pleased with their resolution of this matter. Thanks you.

Business' Final Response
Our District Sales Manager, **** *********** spoke with Mr. ****** on Friday, 7/26/13. During this call, Mr. ****** was provided all of the information he had originally requested, and as reflected in his desired resolution. Mr. ****** is planning on getting back to Will Fortenberry hopefully by Wednesday to let us know if he will be moving forward with Paramount Solar for his solar needs. At this point, we consider this complaint to have been satisfactorily resolved.

7/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deceptive Sales Practice I was originally offered a 6 kwh solar system for $17,910 by ******* **** from Paramount Solar. The offer included 0% APR financing for 8 years funded by GreenSky. I agreed to purchase the system and allowed GreenSky to run a credit check for the loan which I was subsequently approved for. ******* **** then said the offer was no longer being offered and that the 0% APR loan now included a $25 monthly fee. After questioning this charge, the offer was removed completely. The reason I was given was that GreenSky no longer offered the 0% APR loan. After calling GreenSky, they confirmed I was still approved for the 0% APR loan and that they would still honor the loan but it was up to Paramount to sell me the system. Paramount Solar then refused to sell me the system apparently to avoid incurring the fees they supposedly were unaware of despite trying to pass the fees on to me in the form of the $25 monthly increase. They then offered me a smaller system with a higher APR loan and additional fees which I declined. I now have a credit inquiry on my credit report which lowers my score with nothing to show for it. The bottom line is that GreenSky was still willing to offer me the 0% loan but Paramount refused to sell me the system we had mutually agreed on in order to avoid fees it should have known about. A reputable company would have stood by its offer.

Desired Settlement: Paramount Solar should honor it's original offer of a 6 Kwh solar system for $17,910 at 0% APR.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Our District Sales Manager, **** ******** spoke with Mr. ***** regarding the issues raised in his complaint. We offered to compensate him in the amount of $500 for his time. He has indicated that he will be contacting you to rescind his complaint. Please let us know if you require any additional information.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This was a misunderstanding regarding fees from a 3rd party vendor. Paramount has worked with me to ensure I am satisfied with their custome service. Please close this complaint.

7/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company requires the sign-over of government and APS rebates to Paramount, $860 was to be returned to us for signing before Oct 2012. The company was to rebate refund to us upon hook-up to the grid. This was completed in Mar. Working with ****** ******* (rep) and over 100 emails later and several promises that the money was sent, it has never arrived. There are also, two referrals that we were to receive $400 on upon their site inspections. This too has not happened. We get nothing but the continuous runaround and apologies.

Desired Settlement: The desired settlement is all the money due to us for rebate refunds and successful client referrals. The total to date is: $860.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We did in fact owe ******* ****** a check in the amount of $850.00. We had requested our Accounts Payable department to send it to her, but unfortunately it was delays, which led to her becoming unhappy and filing this complaint. This check was sent and her receipt was confirmed. At this stage she is happy, and has referred four individuals to us. She has expressed a willingness to retract her complaint since everything was resolved to her satisfaction.

11/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Miss lead proposal getting into a contract what not producing the promise saving. I have signed up a promise proposed by Paramount Solar to get down my electric bill to the monthly $10 range. I was specified size of system based on the ***** ***** analysis of my historical electric bill what he pulled with my consent from the LADWP. Now after several month of used of this system finding out the system was miss calculated and my electric bill somewhere half of the normal bill. I contacted ***** ***** and he offered me to pay additional mitigate the problem what he was committed to create by miscalculating the system. This proposed system update is still not getting my bill down to the originally set average $10 monthly bill.

Desired Settlement: I already described what would be my compromised settlement, which was refused.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** stated in his complaint that the solar system did not provide the savings in his electrical bill he expected. We have negotiated an addition to his system which should generate the savings he expected. Paramount Solar will pay the difference in the cost of the addition over and above the amount previously paid my Mr. ******. He is satisfied with this solution, has signed a contract for the solution, and has indicated that he will be withdrawing his complaint.