Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Solar PV, HVAC, windows, insulation, whole house fans, and tankless water heaters


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Skyline Energy Savers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Skyline Energy Savers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Skyline Energy Savers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 10, 1991 Business started: 10/25/1988 Business started locally: 10/25/1988 Business incorporated 06/04/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 549017.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mort Martin, Owner Mrs. Catrina Martin, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mort Martin, Owner
Business Category

Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Contractors - General Contractor - Insulation Construction & Remodeling Services Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Products & Services

Skyline Energy Savers, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Canadian Solar, Hanwah, PlyGem, Rheem

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Visa, Mastercard
Refund and Exchange Policy
We guarantee our work for 1 year labor.  Parts are guaranteed according to the manufacturer.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 2611 Highland Hills Dr

    El Dorado Hills, CA 95762 (916) 933-2773

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I heard their radio ads that said that a person could pay off their solar system in five years. So I called them and made an appointment to have someone come explain it to me.My wife and I had two meetings with Skyline Energys fast talking, high pressure salesman. At the end of the second meeting we were shown a system that we were told would reduce our bills from ***. I said that if I was going to pay for solar, I wanted to not pay anything to ***. We were then shown a system that we were told would not only provide enough energy to not pay *** anything but would create excess energy that *** would credit to our account.(our meter would run backwards). In addition, because we would be generating so much electricity, we were sold a tank-less water heater. We were told that we would have instant hot water at all outlets and we would never run out of hot water. We would save money because the water heater would not have to keep running keeping the water hot.We went ahead with it all. The installers were on time and did a good job of installing the solar panels and the water heater.As we started using the solar system we had to jump thru some hoops with *** getting them to acknowledge that we had a solar system. Then it was a couple of more months before we saw any change in our bills.Imagine our surprise when we started getting *** bills showing true up amounts in the hundreds of dollars. This means that at the end of the year we were going to have to pay a large lump sum to *** for energy we used over and above what our solar system generated.At the end of the 1st year we had a bill of over 800 dollars that we had to pay to *** on top of the cost of the solar system. The previous year our *** bill totaled $1560 for the year. So with a saving of $760 a year there is no way to pay off this system in five years.It would take us almost 20 years to pay this solar system off. Had we known this information we would not have made the investment.Now for the tank-less water heater: We do not get instant hot water at our faucets but have to wait as much time or more than with our old water heater. We can not turn on more than one faucet at the same time or we lose water pressure to the point that one will only be a trickle. In addition, when a faucet is turned on (hot or cold) the water heater makes whistling noises. All of these things did not happen with our old water heater.These issues have been brought to the attention of the owner of Skyline Energy and he has come to the house several times trying to fix these issues. To date they have not been fixed.Skyline did add two more panels to our system for free but it still does not replace our *** bill.The owner told us that the system was not designed to replace the *** bills but just to reduce it by providing enough energy to offset the top tier cost of our *** bill. That is not what our understanding was from the fast talking, high pressure salesman that was at our house. We feel that we were swindled, duped, hoodwinked.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to honor their agreement with us. Install a system that takes us off the grid at no extra cost,that is paid off in five years and fix the hot water heater. Or remove all the equipment installed and return the systems to the original configuration and refund all costs.

Business Response: As the owner of the company, I always meet with every customer before we do the job for them, to make sure they understand exactly what their solar system is going to do.  I met with both Mr. and Mrs. and explained, in detail, that the system we were installing would not replace all of their electricity, but just the upper tiers of their **** bill.  They understood this before we went ahead with the installation. 

They also contracted with us to get a tankless water heater and had questions about that.  I explained exactly how it works, that it's not an instant hot water device that fits under the counter, rather it replaces the water heater in the garage.  It provides hot water in the same amount of time as the old one. 

After the installation, they were disappointed in the performance of the tankless water heater, so we came back 2 or 3 times to improve the problems.  Now I find that they are still not happy with the performance.  We will solve the problem with the tankless water heater, or I will remove the tankless and give them a conventional water heater.

Regarding the solar system, I have already given them 2 extra panels to improve the performance.  He was supposed to call me and let me know how they were doing, but he chose to complain instead.  I have always done everything I can to help and please our customers.  That's why we have always had an A+ rating with the BBB.  I will be contacting them in the next few days to see them and help them.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.